| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/01 20:05:20
Subject: Area terrain; what counts as "in"?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
So the rule book says this:
"Models in area terrain receive..."
I just played a small tournament yesterday and ran into something I didn't expect from a Nurgle Daemons player.
He had models touching the edge of area terrain, not even a fraction of their base was within the boundaries, do they count as being in area terrain? What counts as being in area terrain?
The way my friends and I have played so far in 6th is you aren't in area terrain unless your entire base is in the boundaries of the terrain. I see the argument for part of a base being in since half a rotten tomato is still a rotten tomato. But is there any argument for models only touching area terrain for getting the cover?
The models where touching but not in because the area terrain was on a 5mm raised piece of board and none of them where on top of the board, only touching the edge of the boundary.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
Same guy, same game:
Do flying monstrous creatures who are swooping benefit from area terrain? I can't find anything in the rules to say they don't but it sounds silly to me. Winged daemon princes where swooping and ending in area terrain, no dangerous tests because they're swooping, and then benefiting from the cover save.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/01 20:19:47
Subject: Re:Area terrain; what counts as "in"?
|
 |
Grey Knight Psionic Stormraven Pilot
|
Just touching the area terrain is enough
|
Abyssus abyssum invocat
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/01 20:21:29
Subject: Re:Area terrain; what counts as "in"?
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
I can't find any particular rule to quote, but my group play it as long as part of the base is within the area terrain then it gets the benefit. I've never heard of anyone claiming the save just by touching the base of the area terrain.
As for the FMC's, it is RAW since they aren't vehicles so they benefit from area terrain. It is a bit weird though.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/01 20:25:56
Subject: Re:Area terrain; what counts as "in"?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
But if I'm just touching a building, I'm not in the building.
I believe in 5th it said touching was enough. Now it just says in as a requirement. I'm looking for any sort of rules/grammar support for "touching" counting as being "in".
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/01 20:29:28
Subject: Re:Area terrain; what counts as "in"?
|
 |
Grey Knight Psionic Stormraven Pilot
|
Quanar
Post 2013/09/01 16:21:29 Subject: Re:Area terrain; what counts as "in"?
I can't find any particular rule to quote, but my group play it as long as part of the base is within the area terrain then it gets the benefit. I've never heard of anyone claiming the save just by touching the base of the area terrain.
Yep, I agree, it depend on the area terrain : if it is just a smooth hill, just having a part of the base is enough. But If you are in base contact with an impassable terrain,a cliff for example, you can argue that the fig cannot have a cover save from this area terrain. That's the way I and my friends played it
|
Abyssus abyssum invocat
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/01 20:33:46
Subject: Re:Area terrain; what counts as "in"?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
It seems silly for me to count hills and cliffs as area terrain. Just because they have a clearly defined boundary doesn't mean they have to be area terrain.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/09/01 20:36:09
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/01 20:42:56
Subject: Re:Area terrain; what counts as "in"?
|
 |
Grey Knight Psionic Stormraven Pilot
|
By hill I mean an area terrain with a soft slope that units can walk without penalities
|
Abyssus abyssum invocat
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/01 20:49:10
Subject: Re:Area terrain; what counts as "in"?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Touching != In. You don't have to roll difficult to terrain to end your move in base-to-base with area terrain, so why would you benefit from a cover save by touching it?
However, if your base is a fraction of a millimeter over the area terrain base (i.e., there is overlap), you are "in terrain".
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/02 01:34:25
Subject: Re:Area terrain; what counts as "in"?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
I'm gonna go to the extreme here to illustrate my perspective. RAW as far as I can tell comes down to how we define what "in" means, which will differ depending on which dictionary you consukt. RAI I believe the model should have to be entirely inside the area terrain to benefit from a cover save, unless it's receiving a save due to obscurement of 25% or more from the firer. Requiring the entirety of the model's base to be in or "inside" the area terrain would be my prefference of how to play area terrain.
|
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/09/02 01:36:20
Do you play 30k? It'd be a lot cooler if you did. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/02 02:02:39
Subject: Area terrain; what counts as "in"?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Guardian, and left drone definitely. Wraithknight yes. Riptide maybe. Right drone, definitely not.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/02 02:14:32
Subject: Area terrain; what counts as "in"?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Wishing I was back at the South Atlantic, closer to ice than the sun
|
LUTNIT wrote:So the rule book says this:
"Models in area terrain receive..."
I just played a small tournament yesterday and ran into something I didn't expect from a Nurgle Daemons player.
He had models touching the edge of area terrain, not even a fraction of their base was within the boundaries, do they count as being in area terrain? What counts as being in area terrain?
The way my friends and I have played so far in 6th is you aren't in area terrain unless your entire base is in the boundaries of the terrain. I see the argument for part of a base being in since half a rotten tomato is still a rotten tomato. But is there any argument for models only touching area terrain for getting the cover?
The models where touching but not in because the area terrain was on a 5mm raised piece of board and none of them where on top of the board, only touching the edge of the boundary.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
Same guy, same game:
Do flying monstrous creatures who are swooping benefit from area terrain? I can't find anything in the rules to say they don't but it sounds silly to me. Winged daemon princes where swooping and ending in area terrain, no dangerous tests because they're swooping, and then benefiting from the cover save.
Was he playing all the cons as well as the pros? It's a little hard to tell from the OP, but he could have been playing WMS and had placed his models to the side to prevent them from falling over? and if he was still taking the difficult terrain test in order to move, then I would say 'no harm, no foul'
Cheers
Andrew
|
I don't care what the flag says, I'm SCOTTISH!!!
Best definition of the word Battleship?
Mr Nobody wrote:
Does a canoe with a machine gun count?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/02 06:06:06
Subject: Area terrain; what counts as "in"?
|
 |
Preacher of the Emperor
|
As long as he rolled a difficult terrain movement to get to 'touching', then sure. But then you both need to be consistent with that all game long.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/02 07:04:56
Subject: Re:Area terrain; what counts as "in"?
|
 |
Tea-Kettle of Blood
Adelaide, South Australia
|
If there is even the slightest sliver of the base of the terrain between the model's base and the tabletop that model is in the terrain. If the entire base of the model is within the boundaries of the terrain it is wholly within the terrain. Simply being next and touching terrain does not make you in it.
LUTNIT wrote:Do flying monstrous creatures who are swooping benefit from area terrain? I can't find anything in the rules to say they don't but it sounds silly to me. Winged daemon princes where swooping and ending in area terrain, no dangerous tests because they're swooping, and then benefiting from the cover save.
They wouldn't test for dangerous terrain anyway, Flying Monstrous Creatures have Move Through Cover. As for conceptualising it, think of it as them as swooping low into the terrain to get cover.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/09/02 07:11:22
Ailaros wrote:You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.
"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/02 07:56:43
Subject: Re:Area terrain; what counts as "in"?
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Crablezworth wrote:RAI I believe the model should have to be entirely inside the area terrain to benefit from a cover save, unless it's receiving a save due to obscurement of 25% or more from the firer.
The example on page 19 of the rulebook would seem to disagree with this idea. 2 of the Orks that are considered to be 'in' the area terrain in that picture are not completely inside the bounds of it.
So in your picture, the drone on the far right would be the only model not actually 'in' the terrain.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/02 08:13:09
Subject: Re:Area terrain; what counts as "in"?
|
 |
Tea-Kettle of Blood
Adelaide, South Australia
|
insaniak wrote: Crablezworth wrote:RAI I believe the model should have to be entirely inside the area terrain to benefit from a cover save, unless it's receiving a save due to obscurement of 25% or more from the firer.
The example on page 19 of the rulebook would seem to disagree with this idea. 2 of the Orks that are considered to be 'in' the area terrain in that picture are not completely inside the bounds of it.
So in your picture, the drone on the far right would be the only model not actually 'in' the terrain.
The Riptide might not be, depending on whether or not there is any part of the terrain under the model.
|
Ailaros wrote:You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.
"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/02 19:03:48
Subject: Area terrain; what counts as "in"?
|
 |
Big Mek in Kustom Dragster with Soopa-Gun
|
Riptide wouldnt be, thats just in base contact with the terrain not "on top" of it. Wraithknight is slightly on it.
RAW if hes on it at all, he has it. Though ive never come across anyone trying to play that card since only Jet/Jump MC or a couple choice units could get into it without worrying a danger test or being slowed down. MC autopass danger tests and jump/jet dont get slowed down by terrain, they roll dangers.
Only time ive ever played the hairline rules was staying OUT of it so i could move 5 1/2" to claim an objective rofl otherwise i might have not made it there.
|
An ork with an idea tends to end with a bang.
14000pts Big 'n Bad Orkz
6000pts Admech/Knights
7500pts Necron Goldboys |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|