Switch Theme:

Psychic Powers & Reserves  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in za
Annoyed Blood Angel Devastator





South Africa

ok so i'm sure this ain't anything new but i'll take a rehash at it anyway....

but my girlfriend has been playing new eldar using outflanking scorpions and a spirit seer. we looked in the rule book and came across this
PAGE 125 – RESERVES

Unless stated otherwise, a unit cannot charge, or use any abilities or special rules that must be used at the start of the turn, in the turn it arrives from reserve.

so besides screwing over any outflanking cc unit it also got me wondering if psychic powers (ie. malediction and blessings) can or can't be used if you come from reserve ie. drop podding and deep striking as well.

another problem I have which adds a bit of contradiction is that in the rulebook FAQ they say that reserves and psyhic blessings/maledictions happen simultaneously and so you can choose the order in which they are done..... now does the rule on page 125 saying abilities and special rules can't be used put an end to the arguement and no blessings/maledictions or is the FAQ gw's way of saying psychic powers aren't considered abilities/special rules since they seems to be allowed at the same time as reserves.....

alot to process i know any views??

We are the sons of Sanguinius, the protectors of Mankind. Aye, we are indeed the Angels of Death.

Angels Redemptive: 5000 pts
Plague Legion: 2000 pts  
   
Made in au
Tea-Kettle of Blood




Adelaide, South Australia

You can't use any psychic powers that happen at the beginning of the movement phase after arriving from reserves. You can, however, use a blessing on something that has arrived from reserves that turn, that is part of the point of the FAQ entry.

 Ailaros wrote:
You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.

"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" 
   
Made in au
Nurgle Predator Driver with an Infestation



Perth, Western Australia

The FAQ refers to reserve ROLLS. The roll happens at the start of the turn, moving the reserve unit onto the board is after that, so there is no contradiction.
   
Made in nl
Devious Space Marine dedicated to Tzeentch





The Hague (NL)

 l1ttlej wrote:
[...]so besides screwing over any outflanking cc unit it also got me wondering if psychic powers (ie. malediction and blessings) can or can't be used if you come from reserve ie. drop podding and deep striking as well.[...]

Just check page 67 of the BRB, "Manifesting Psychic Powers". It's pretty clear.

12k+ pts Chaos Marines, Heretic Guard and Daemons (The Scourged)
2k pts Tyranids (Hive Fleet Hornet) 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Dra'al Nacht wrote:
The FAQ refers to reserve ROLLS. The roll happens at the start of the turn, moving the reserve unit onto the board is after that, so there is no contradiction.


The FAQ refers to reserve rolls and Outflanking rolls. Since start of psychic powers are used at the same time you roll Outflank sides (which happens when the unit arrives on the table), you can bring your units on then cast start of turn powers. You still cannot cast a start of turn power by a model/unit that just arrived.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




The debate is whether making the rolls occurs at the same time as moving the units on the board. There is a clear lack of clearness there.
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





The clear part is the FAQ mentioning rolls, the arguement is the rolls are done directly before the placement of the units and there is no permission to break that, the flip side is the FAQ gives us permission by saying we can do powers or the rolls first.

There is no permission given to starting the movement phase by bringing reserves on then doing start of movement phase psyhic powers.


The point of the FAQ was to make powers like scriers gaze and the GK reserve power work as before reserves were start of turn and powers start of movement phase reading that the reserves rolls were done before anything making scriers gaze useless.

40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

I'm not sure your stance on this Fragile, but I'll address it toy you anyway.

I have a Farseer on the table, two units of War Walkers Outflanking, and a Crimson Hunter coming in Reserves.
I successfully roll for all three units to come in.
Per the FAQ, reserve rolls, start of turn powers and Outflanking rolls are done at the same time (even though Outflank rolls have to be rolled after Reserve rolls, they all occur at the start of the turn).
I can legally bring in my Crimson Hunter, bring in one unit of Walkers via Outflank, cast powers and bring in my other unit of Walkers.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Personally Happy, I was of the mind that rolls and movement were one action. You rolled for a unit and then moved them on. Therefore you could later target that unit with blessings etc.. Now I am not so sure. Reading that section does not state that movement and the roll done at the same time. The statement that "If the roll is 3 or more, that unit arrives this Turn" makes me think that all the rolls are done first, then movement later.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Fragile wrote:
Personally Happy, I was of the mind that rolls and movement were one action. You rolled for a unit and then moved them on. Therefore you could later target that unit with blessings etc.. Now I am not so sure. Reading that section does not state that movement and the roll done at the same time. The statement that "If the roll is 3 or more, that unit arrives this Turn" makes me think that all the rolls are done first, then movement later.

And yet, it's simultaneous with outflank rolls - which are done when the unit moves on. Meaning that the move and the rolls are simultaneous.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Show where the roll=movement.

Outflanking states they come on as per Reserves, which lacks any rule that says anything other than the rolls.

   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Page 40 says that when an Outflanking unit arrives from reserves, you make the outflank roll.
The FAQ says that the outflank roll is simultaneous with reserve rolls (technically it must be sequential, but for the purposes of the rules they're simultaneous).

Since you make the outflank roll when you move models on, and the outflank roll is simultaneous with the reserve roll, moving models on is also simultaneous with the reserve rolls.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





And moving models on is movement so no longer start of movement phase for casting powers. You are given the choice of doing reserve rolls you are not given permission to start the movement phase then use powers that have to be used at the start.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/09/03 14:29:08


40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Your making a huge leap in logic there. Your equating the roll to see which board edge = Reserve roll. It does not.
   
Made in za
Annoyed Blood Angel Devastator





South Africa

Yea page 67 sums it all up (dunno how i missed that) thanx man

We are the sons of Sanguinius, the protectors of Mankind. Aye, we are indeed the Angels of Death.

Angels Redemptive: 5000 pts
Plague Legion: 2000 pts  
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





Fragile wrote:
Your making a huge leap in logic there. Your equating the roll to see which board edge = Reserve roll. It does not.


He isnt, it does say reserve rolls, outflank rolls etc iirc

I believe RAW the way I play it is correct, but I know there are others that do not believe so. It needs a clearer FAQ but sadly there hasnt been any in a while :(

40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




MarkyMark wrote:
Fragile wrote:
Your making a huge leap in logic there. Your equating the roll to see which board edge = Reserve roll. It does not.


He isnt, it does say reserve rolls, outflank rolls etc iirc

I believe RAW the way I play it is correct, but I know there are others that do not believe so. It needs a clearer FAQ but sadly there hasnt been any in a while :(


And what is an outflank roll ?
   
Made in au
Nurgle Predator Driver with an Infestation



Perth, Western Australia

rigeld2 wrote:
Page 40 says that when an Outflanking unit arrives from reserves, you make the outflank roll.
The FAQ says that the outflank roll is simultaneous with reserve rolls (technically it must be sequential, but for the purposes of the rules they're simultaneous).

Since you make the outflank roll when you move models on, and the outflank roll is simultaneous with the reserve roll, moving models on is also simultaneous with the reserve rolls.

That whole argument hinges on the tenuous assertion that the outflank roll is simultaneous with actually moving the unit onto the board.

In game terms, events being simultaneous would mean that they could be performed in any order. As you cannot move the unit onto the board without first determining which side they arrive from, the events are clearly sequential, not simultaneous.

Basically, I firmly believe that once the actual movement of models begins, you have gone beyond the 'Start of the turn'.
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

Fragile wrote:
MarkyMark wrote:
Fragile wrote:
Your making a huge leap in logic there. Your equating the roll to see which board edge = Reserve roll. It does not.


He isnt, it does say reserve rolls, outflank rolls etc iirc

I believe RAW the way I play it is correct, but I know there are others that do not believe so. It needs a clearer FAQ but sadly there hasnt been any in a while :(


And what is an outflank roll ?

It's the thing that you do and then must immediately move units onto the board. You however don't have permission to roll, do something else and then move them on.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Dra'al Nacht wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
Page 40 says that when an Outflanking unit arrives from reserves, you make the outflank roll.
The FAQ says that the outflank roll is simultaneous with reserve rolls (technically it must be sequential, but for the purposes of the rules they're simultaneous).

Since you make the outflank roll when you move models on, and the outflank roll is simultaneous with the reserve roll, moving models on is also simultaneous with the reserve rolls.

That whole argument hinges on the tenuous assertion that the outflank roll is simultaneous with actually moving the unit onto the board.

In game terms, events being simultaneous would mean that they could be performed in any order. As you cannot move the unit onto the board without first determining which side they arrive from, the events are clearly sequential, not simultaneous.

Basically, I firmly believe that once the actual movement of models begins, you have gone beyond the 'Start of the turn'.

Read outflank. The roll is when the unit "arrives from reserves" ie: is moving onto the board.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/09/03 14:49:32


It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Fragile wrote:
Your making a huge leap in logic there. Your equating the roll to see which board edge = Reserve roll. It does not.

I never said that. Perhaps you missed the FAQ being referenced here?
Q: Blessings are manifested ‘at the start of the Psyker’s Movement
phase’ – does this mean they happen simultaneously with Reserves
rolls, Outflanking rolls etc and if so which is resolved first? (p68)
A: They do occur simultaneously – as such, the player whose
turn it is decides in what order these things occur as per
page 9 of the Warhammer 40,000 rulebook.

Blessings happen simultaneously with Reserve rolls, Outflank rolls, etc.
Outflank rolls happen when a unit moves onto the board.
Therefore a unit moving onto the board happens simultaneous with reserve rolls and blessings.



Automatically Appended Next Post:
MarkyMark wrote:
And moving models on is movement so no longer start of movement phase for casting powers. You are given the choice of doing reserve rolls you are not given permission to start the movement phase then use powers that have to be used at the start.

Absolutely false. The FAQ allows you to make outflank rolls before casting.
What happens when you make outflank rolls?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/09/03 14:56:10


My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





Lol, we have been here before Rigeld, and we wont agree. For arguements sake, it says you can make a the roll as well as doing psyhic powers and reserves rolls at the same time, that is permission enough to take it as you can roll then do a power then do a outflank roll etc.

If you try and say I am breaking the outflank rules, what is your excuse for breaking the powers only at start of movement phase rule?. It is clear that moving units on from reserve is movement.

Either arguement will break a rule. Where is yours so specific that it takes perceedant?, there is no reason.

TL DR, outflank roll is something you can make at the same time as a psyhic power or reserve roll as per FAQ. Note thats Roll only.

40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

And outflank rolls are done when the unit arrives. Therefore, if I have two units coming in, one of which is outflanking, I can bring in the non-outflanker, roll psychic powers, and then roll to see which side the outflanker comes in on.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

MarkyMark wrote:

TL DR, outflank roll is something you can make at the same time as a psyhic power or reserve roll as per FAQ. Note thats Roll only.

"Rolls only " if you ignore the wording of outflank.

It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





 liturgies of blood wrote:
MarkyMark wrote:

TL DR, outflank roll is something you can make at the same time as a psyhic power or reserve roll as per FAQ. Note thats Roll only.

"Rolls only " if you ignore the wording of outflank.


And powers are start of movement, anything moving onto the board from reserves is past the start of the movement phase if you want to ignore that (and what i wrote above!)

40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

MarkyMark wrote:
 liturgies of blood wrote:
MarkyMark wrote:

TL DR, outflank roll is something you can make at the same time as a psyhic power or reserve roll as per FAQ. Note thats Roll only.

"Rolls only " if you ignore the wording of outflank.


And powers are start of movement, anything moving onto the board from reserves is past the start of the movement phase if you want to ignore that (and what i wrote above!)


Which is the same time as Reserve Rolls, Outflank Rolls, etc.

Which means, if you have two units outflanking and both successfully roll to come in, only one can come on the board.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/09/03 17:42:52


Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





MarkyMark wrote:
If you try and say I am breaking the outflank rules, what is your excuse for breaking the powers only at start of movement phase rule?. It is clear that moving units on from reserve is movement.

Nope, it's not clear.
Moving on from reserves is not normal movement. The FAQ and the BRB support my rule statements. What do you have to support yours?

TL DR, outflank roll is something you can make at the same time as a psyhic power or reserve roll as per FAQ. Note thats Roll only.

And again you've failed to present actual rules.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





So is abnormal movment different from 'normal' movement, citation please.

Actual Rules, The FAQ is crystal.

Q: Blessings are manifested ‘at the start of the Psyker’s Movement
phase’ – does this mean they happen simultaneously with Reserves
rolls, Outflanking rolls etc and if so which is resolved first? (p68)
A: They do occur simultaneously – as such, the player whose
turn it is decides in what order these things occur as per
page 9 of the Warhammer 40,000 rulebook.

Reserve rolls, outflank rolls and psyhic powers can be done in any order the player choses as they are at the same time.

40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final 
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

I doesn't matter if the movement is normal or not, what matters is when the roll is in the execution of outflanking. That is the important piece of the rules you seem to be missing.

It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





MarkyMark wrote:
So is abnormal movment different from 'normal' movement, citation please.

Actual Rules, The FAQ is crystal.

Q: Blessings are manifested ‘at the start of the Psyker’s Movement
phase’ – does this mean they happen simultaneously with Reserves
rolls, Outflanking rolls etc and if so which is resolved first? (p68)
A: They do occur simultaneously – as such, the player whose
turn it is decides in what order these things occur as per
page 9 of the Warhammer 40,000 rulebook.

Reserve rolls, outflank rolls and psyhic powers can be done in any order the player choses as they are at the same time.

And what is simultaneous with outflank rolls?
Hint - when do you make outflank rolls?

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in au
Nurgle Predator Driver with an Infestation



Perth, Western Australia

I will repeat a point I made earlier. Events in a game can be simultaneous or sequential. Simultaneous would mean that the events could be resolved in any order. Sequential would mean that one event is dependent upon the result of another.

If an Outflank roll was truly simultaneous with moving the unit onto the board, you would be able to perform the actions in any order you choose. Two events cannot be simultaneous if they must be performed one after another, in a specific order.

Edited for clarity.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/09/04 01:24:11


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: