Switch Theme:

C:SM Relics Burning Blade/Shield Eternal Combination  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Hello have been looking through a lot of the new lists that people are putting up and they are making captain and chapter masters with both the relics.

So reading the codex it states "A model can replace one weapon with one of the following"

So my question becomes can he replace two weapons for 2 relics.

If yes than good to be clear, but if no it will be good to point this out as a lot of people will want to run / are making lists with the above combination.

My current interpretation is that you get 1 or the other and not both.
   
Made in ca
Stalwart Space Marine




delete

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/06/10 21:11:56


 
   
Made in us
Road-Raging Blood Angel Biker




United States of America

I'm not sure what Space Marine Codex you guys are reading but the one that we have here in the United States reads as such:

C:SM page 163 - A Chapter Master in power armour or artificer armour may take items from the Melee Weapons, Ranged Weapons, Special Issue Wargear, and/or Chapter Relics lists. It reads the same for a Chapter Master in Terminator armor and verbatim for a Captain.

No where does it read he may replace his weapon with a Chapter Relic. If I'm missing something do point me to the page please.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/09/09 03:49:18


The God Emperor Guides my blade! 
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

The armoury page where all the prices are listed, under the title for Chapter Relics.
   
Made in us
Member of the Malleus




SLC, UT

Let me help.

C:SM pg. 159 "A model can replace one weapon with one of the following."

I read this as I replace a bolt pistol (one weapon) for one relic. Then I replace a chainsword (one weapon) for one more relic.

To back this up:
C:SM page 163 "A Chapter Master in power armour or artificer armour may take items from the Melee Weapons, Ranged Weapons, Special Issue Wargear, and/or Chapter Relics lists."
I highlighted items because it is plural. Multiple items from all of these lists.

I'm fairly certain multiple relics can be taken by one dude. If you can't, this would be the only 6th ed codex that has this restriction. That seems unlikely.

"Huddle close to your Emperor if he makes you feel safe. He cannot save you, for only Chaos is eternal."

Cross: Noun. A thing you nail people to.

Iron Warriors 3k Yme-Loc 6k
Grey Knights 2k <3 Harlequin WIP
Vampire Counts 3K Dwarfs 2k
 
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

 Sothas wrote:
Let me help.

C:SM pg. 159 "A model can replace one weapon with one of the following."

I read this as I replace a bolt pistol (one weapon) for one relic. Then I replace a chainsword (one weapon) for one more relic.

To back this up:
C:SM page 163 "A Chapter Master in power armour or artificer armour may take items from the Melee Weapons, Ranged Weapons, Special Issue Wargear, and/or Chapter Relics lists."
I highlighted items because it is plural. Multiple items from all of these lists.

I'm fairly certain multiple relics can be taken by one dude. If you can't, this would be the only 6th ed codex that has this restriction. That seems unlikely.


All the others are worded exactly the same way. So if a Space Marine can't, neither can anyone else. It all boils down to if "one weapon" means one weapon full stop, or if it's supposed to mean "for each weapon you swap".

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/09/09 04:05:52


 
   
Made in us
Hellish Haemonculus






Boskydell, IL

I also read it as one-for-one, not limited-to-one.

Welcome to the Freakshow!

(Leadership-shenanigans for Eldar of all types.) 
   
Made in us
Member of the Malleus




SLC, UT

Chrysis wrote:
 Sothas wrote:
Let me help.

C:SM pg. 159 "A model can replace one weapon with one of the following."

I read this as I replace a bolt pistol (one weapon) for one relic. Then I replace a chainsword (one weapon) for one more relic.

To back this up:
C:SM page 163 "A Chapter Master in power armour or artificer armour may take items from the Melee Weapons, Ranged Weapons, Special Issue Wargear, and/or Chapter Relics lists."
I highlighted items because it is plural. Multiple items from all of these lists.

I'm fairly certain multiple relics can be taken by one dude. If you can't, this would be the only 6th ed codex that has this restriction. That seems unlikely.


All the others are worded exactly the same way. So if a Space Marine can't, neither can anyone else. It all boils down to if "one weapon" means one weapon full stop, or if it's supposed to mean "for each weapon you swap".


Chaos Daemons doesn't list it this way. I don't have DA or Tau, but in Eldar and CSM it does read this way. Still my argument for multiple remains, and everyone has been doing it this way since the start of 6th codexes.

"Huddle close to your Emperor if he makes you feel safe. He cannot save you, for only Chaos is eternal."

Cross: Noun. A thing you nail people to.

Iron Warriors 3k Yme-Loc 6k
Grey Knights 2k <3 Harlequin WIP
Vampire Counts 3K Dwarfs 2k
 
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

 Sothas wrote:
Chrysis wrote:
 Sothas wrote:
Let me help.

C:SM pg. 159 "A model can replace one weapon with one of the following."

I read this as I replace a bolt pistol (one weapon) for one relic. Then I replace a chainsword (one weapon) for one more relic.

To back this up:
C:SM page 163 "A Chapter Master in power armour or artificer armour may take items from the Melee Weapons, Ranged Weapons, Special Issue Wargear, and/or Chapter Relics lists."
I highlighted items because it is plural. Multiple items from all of these lists.

I'm fairly certain multiple relics can be taken by one dude. If you can't, this would be the only 6th ed codex that has this restriction. That seems unlikely.


All the others are worded exactly the same way. So if a Space Marine can't, neither can anyone else. It all boils down to if "one weapon" means one weapon full stop, or if it's supposed to mean "for each weapon you swap".


Chaos Daemons doesn't list it this way. I don't have DA or Tau, but in Eldar and CSM it does read this way. Still my argument for multiple remains, and everyone has been doing it this way since the start of 6th codexes.


Daemons doesn't, but Daemons are somewhat unique in their wargear selection methods. And Daemons are very definitely limited to one Hellforged Artefact per model. Tau are very definitely allowed more than one Signature System per model, but none of their Signature Systems are weapons.

I, too, would go for it being a one-for-one swap done as many times as you have weapons. If only because the whole thing falls apart when you include the items that don't actually swap for weapons.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 Sothas wrote:
Let me help.

C:SM pg. 159 "A model can replace one weapon with one of the following."

I read this as I replace a bolt pistol (one weapon) for one relic. Then I replace a chainsword (one weapon) for one more relic.

So you've replaced 2 items with 2 relics. Is that what the rule allows?

To back this up:
C:SM page 163 "A Chapter Master in power armour or artificer armour may take items from the Melee Weapons, Ranged Weapons, Special Issue Wargear, and/or Chapter Relics lists."
I highlighted items because it is plural. Multiple items from all of these lists.

No, you're misapplying the plural. That word must be plural because there are multiple lists (and you are not required to pick a single list).
That has literally nothing to do with a restriction on the list itself.

I'm fairly certain multiple relics can be taken by one dude. If you can't, this would be the only 6th ed codex that has this restriction. That seems unlikely.

Um. No? Pretty sure the other codexes are similarly restricted.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Member of the Malleus




SLC, UT

rigeld2 wrote:
 Sothas wrote:
Let me help.

C:SM pg. 159 "A model can replace one weapon with one of the following."

I read this as I replace a bolt pistol (one weapon) for one relic. Then I replace a chainsword (one weapon) for one more relic.

So you've replaced 2 items with 2 relics. Is that what the rule allows?


It doesn't disallow it. The rule is ambiguous and needs clarification.

To back this up:
C:SM page 163 "A Chapter Master in power armour or artificer armour may take items from the Melee Weapons, Ranged Weapons, Special Issue Wargear, and/or Chapter Relics lists."
I highlighted items because it is plural. Multiple items from all of these lists.
No, you're misapplying the plural. That word must be plural because there are multiple lists (and you are not required to pick a single list).
That has literally nothing to do with a restriction on the list itself.


I disagree. English allows for both interpretations to be true. The plural could apply to multiple lists, or multiple items within the lists.

I'm fairly certain multiple relics can be taken by one dude. If you can't, this would be the only 6th ed codex that has this restriction. That seems unlikely.
Um. No? Pretty sure the other codexes are similarly restricted.

Yes, this has been pointed out to me already. However, the fact that they're all worded the same doesn't appeal to any one argument.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2013/09/09 04:49:20


"Huddle close to your Emperor if he makes you feel safe. He cannot save you, for only Chaos is eternal."

Cross: Noun. A thing you nail people to.

Iron Warriors 3k Yme-Loc 6k
Grey Knights 2k <3 Harlequin WIP
Vampire Counts 3K Dwarfs 2k
 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





It needs to allow it. The rule allows for a one for one swap.
If you do a 2 for 2 swap you have not followed the rule.

Pretty clear. Also, learn how to use quotes.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Member of the Malleus




SLC, UT

I dunno why the last quote is messed up, I've double checked it. It's in their correctly. Anyway...

The rule allows for a one to one swap, but it doesn't specify how many times you can make that one to one swap.

I can swap pistol for relic. That's a one to one swap. Then chainsword for a relic. That's also a one to one swap. In my opinion, it is worded the way it is because you can swap any weapon you have (all other weapon sections list specific weapon i.e. boltgun, ccw, ect.) with a relic.

"Huddle close to your Emperor if he makes you feel safe. He cannot save you, for only Chaos is eternal."

Cross: Noun. A thing you nail people to.

Iron Warriors 3k Yme-Loc 6k
Grey Knights 2k <3 Harlequin WIP
Vampire Counts 3K Dwarfs 2k
 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 Sothas wrote:
I dunno why the last quote is messed up, I've double checked it. It's in their correctly. Anyway...

The rule allows for a one to one swap, but it doesn't specify how many times you can make that one to one swap.

I can swap pistol for relic. That's a one to one swap. Then chainsword for a relic. That's also a one to one swap. In my opinion, it is worded the way it is because you can swap any weapon you have (all other weapon sections list specific weapon i.e. boltgun, ccw, ect.) with a relic.

It does specify by saying you can swap one (singular) item for another. It doesn't say any number for a like number, it says one.
This is important.

Honor Guard - how many banners can you have in one squad?
Command Squad - how many banners? How many apothecaries?
How many heavy weapons can you have in a 10 man tac squad?

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Went over the eldar codex, has the same wording as one of these replaces one weapon.

Than went into the farseer entry and says can take items from remnants of glory.

Therefore they allow you to take multiple or they would say one.

So it gets a little more complicated.

They wouldn't say items if they intended that you couldn't take more than one.

The only way its only one weapon is if your allowed to take 1 weapon swap and any of the remnants that don't swap weapons.

Which is plausible but does add weight to the take as many as you can swap weapons for argument.

   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

It says items because certain relics (and I use the term in general) do not require a weapon swap.

For example, A Farseer, can swap his pistol for the fire sword (trade 1 for 1), and then take the spirit stones and mask of the laughing god (which can be taken without swapping a weapon).

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

It's not exactly the same, but the other wargear lists themselves (Ranged, Melee etc) are worded differently allowing you to perform multiple swaps depending on your kit.
If it was supposed to allow you to take multiple Relics, it would've been much easier to word it thus:

"A model may swap any of his weapons for one of the following items each."

"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

Chaos artefacts say the same thing one for one. You need permission to be taking 3 different relics for 3 different weapons.
One child may take one piece of fruit =/= every child gets one piece of fruit.

It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





I don't have the codex in my hands atm, but the RAW makes it sound like no one is allowed to take the armor relic, unless you swap your weapon for it an carry around a spare suit.

Obviously that is not meant to be the case, so something is not quite right there.
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

DogofWar1 wrote:
I don't have the codex in my hands atm, but the RAW makes it sound like no one is allowed to take the armor relic, unless you swap your weapon for it an carry around a spare suit.

Obviously that is not meant to be the case, so something is not quite right there.


The Armour has a note attached saying that it doesn't actually need a weapon swap.
   
Made in us
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard






Peoria IL

I, for one, see it both ways. I'd like GW to FAQ this one way or the other. HIWPI is just one for one, but I'd rather get it right than get it my way.

DO:70S++G++M+B++I+Pw40k93/f#++D++++A++++/eWD-R++++T(D)DM+
Note: Records since 2010, lists kept current (W-D-L) Blue DP Crusade 126-11-6 Biel-Tan Aspect Waves 2-0-2 Looted Green Horde smash your face in 32-7-8 Broadside/Shield Drone/Kroot blitz goodness 23-3-4 Grey Hunters galore 17-5-5 Khan Bikes Win 63-1-1 Tanith with Pardus Armor 11-0-0 Crimson Tide 59-4-0 Green/Raven/Deathwing 18-0-0 Jumping GK force with Inq. 4-0-0 BTemplars w LRs 7-1-2 IH Legion with Automata 8-0-0 RG Legion w Adepticon medal 6-0-0 Primaris and Little Buddies 7-0-0

QM Templates here, HH army builder app for both v1 and v2
One Page 40k Ruleset for Game Beginners 
   
Made in nl
Loyal Necron Lychguard



Netherlands

It says you can replace one weapon with one Relic.
Seems pretty clear: Only one upgrade.
   
Made in us
Purposeful Hammerhead Pilot




Murrieta, CA

I think you people are reading too much into the rules here. Picking options when list building is done sequentially. This allows you to take one option then take another option that was only possible after the first has been taken.

When selecting a captain, you pick your options one at a time.
1. Select Artificer Armor.
2. Take an item from the available lists. Go to Relics rules. It says you may exchange one weapon for a relic. You exchange bolt pistol for Burning Blade.
2 Take another Item from the available lists. Go to Relics rules. It still says you may exchange one weapon for a relic. You exchange chainsword for the Shield Eternal.

If the One weapon for One relic blurb was in the actual unit entry I would be inclined to agree with only 1 relic per HQ thing. As things stand currently, I lean the other way.

Space Marines (Anything but BA or GK): 6k
Tau: 3k

-Thaylen 
   
Made in us
Sure Space Wolves Land Raider Pilot




If the rule said 'a SM may swap any weapon for a Relic' then you could take the Burning Blade and the Shield Eternal, or whatever they're called (that's a scary combo).

But it says you may swap ONE weapon, not any, not all, not both, just one. Similarly, a Chaos Lord cannot have an Axe of Blind Fury AND a Burning Brand of Skalathrax, can he? Cuz if he can, please let me know, that would be pretty awesome!

But a Chaos Lord of Tzeentch could indeed have a Black Mace and Scrolls of Magnus, because the Scrolls specifically has a rule saying it doesn't replace a weapon. Do any of the SM relics have a little note like that?
   
Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter






Dimmamar

 Thaylen wrote:

When selecting a captain, you pick your options one at a time.
1. Select Artificer Armor.
2. Take an item from the available lists. Go to Relics rules. It says you may exchange one weapon for a relic. You exchange bolt pistol for Burning Blade.
2 Take another Item from the available lists. Go to Relics rules. It still says you may exchange one weapon for a relic. You exchange chainsword for the Shield Eternal.


This is pretty convincing, I think, so long as you add the 4th step.

4. Go back to Relic rules. It says you may "replace one weapon with one of the following." But you've exchanged TWO weapons with TWO of the following. That's against the rule. Problem solved.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/09/09 18:15:57


LVO 2017 - Best GK Player

The Grimdark Future 8500 1500 6000 2000 5000


"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 
   
Made in us
Sergeant First Class





 Sothas wrote:
I dunno why the last quote is messed up, I've double checked it. It's in their correctly. Anyway...

The rule allows for a one to one swap, but it doesn't specify how many times you can make that one to one swap.

I can swap pistol for relic. That's a one to one swap. Then chainsword for a relic. That's also a one to one swap. In my opinion, it is worded the way it is because you can swap any weapon you have (all other weapon sections list specific weapon i.e. boltgun, ccw, ect.) with a relic.


Using this interpretation I can take a power weapon, a power fist, and a heavy weapon in each of my crusader squads. p. 168 "One initiate may take one of the following:" One takes a power fist, one takes a power weapon, and one takes a lascannon.

I don't think that is the correct interpretation...
   
Made in us
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre





Richmond, VA

Wargear section says you can only take one, so...

Desert Hunters of Vior'la The Purge Iron Hands Adepts of Pestilence Tallaran Desert Raiders Grey Knight Teleport Assault Force
Lt. Coldfire wrote:Seems to me that you should be refereeing and handing out red cards--like a boss.

 Peregrine wrote:
SCREEE I'M A SEAGULL SCREE SCREEEE!!!!!
 
   
Made in us
Perfect Shot Dark Angels Predator Pilot





Vancouver WA

i guess i am missing where all the cunfusion is coming from. It may also be that i am applying common sense which may or may not be what the authors intended.

To me it sounds like I can trade my 2 chapter master weapons for 2 other hand held items from the relics list and then the chapter master or captain or whatever can also take the armor of indomitus(or whatever the artificer armor with relentless is called) because its not a weapon but he would be trading his armor for it.

If the points are paid I really couldnt care less how many relics are taken. i would get kind of concerned for the individual as a person if they were like buying extra wargear from the ranged or mellee weapons and then trading that for more relics it would not really effect the game as much as it would make me sad for them.

   
Made in us
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control





Denver

How do DA players do it? Theirs is worded the same way....




Automatically Appended Next Post:
 Baldsmug wrote:
i guess i am missing where all the cunfusion is coming from. It may also be that i am applying common sense which may or may not be what the authors intended.

To me it sounds like I can trade my 2 chapter master weapons for 2 other hand held items from the relics list and then the chapter master or captain or whatever can also take the armor of indomitus(or whatever the artificer armor with relentless is called) because its not a weapon but he would be trading his armor for it.

If the points are paid I really couldnt care less how many relics are taken. i would get kind of concerned for the individual as a person if they were like buying extra wargear from the ranged or mellee weapons and then trading that for more relics it would not really effect the game as much as it would make me sad for them.


The armor has an exception allowing you to take it without replacing a weapon.

The confusion about the rest is because of the way it is written "one model may replace ONE weapon with ONE of the following"

It sounds like you can only ever replace ONE weapon. If you replace two weapons on the model, then you have replaced more than one correct?

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/09/09 19:08:47


::1750:: Deathwatch 
   
Made in ca
Lieutenant Colonel






rigeld2 wrote:
It needs to allow it. The rule allows for a one for one swap.
If you do a 2 for 2 swap you have not followed the rule.

Pretty clear. Also, learn how to use quotes.


I have to agree with rigel2d on this one,

it explicitly states one weapon for one relic,

going 2 for 2 needs a specific rule alowing it, because it is definetly not the same, and no where does it imply or explicitly state that the one for one is actually a ratio.

the quoted plural text for items, refers to multiple lists of wargear/relics/ect, and in no way over rides that "one" weapon may be swapped for "one" relic

no contention on this, that is RAW, and very much RAI from what I can gather from C:sm.

takes a special kind of reading to read "may replace one" as may replace all

as many ahve stated, when a rule says youcan swap one weapon for one _____

and you chose to swap two weapons for two _______'s, you are NOT following the rule.

otherwise I can equipt most of my troops with nothing but special/heavy weapons, as all those entries also state one model may replace ____ with ____,

you really think i can have have 10 special weapons in a 10 man guard squad so long as its a 1:1 ratio?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/09/09 19:20:29


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: