Switch Theme:

Crew Shaken on Devilfish and seeker missiles  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





At the edge of Oblivion looking out.

So i had my devilish get a crew shaken result and on my turn i had used some marker lights to lite up a target. If i use the seeker missile ability for marker lights and use the 1 seeker missile on the devil fish will the missile have to roll a 6 (snap snot) in order to hit? and can i use the increase bs ability of marker lights to improve that?

9700 pts W:3-T:3-L:3
6700 pts W:5-T:2-L:3
165 pts W:3-L:4
169 pts W:0-L:0

Never stopping never slowing ever moving with a steady unyielding force that crushes everything, from bugs to birds to buildings to mountains to planets.... It moves forward with a unrelenting ruthlessness that never tires.
 
   
Made in au
Purposeful Hammerhead Pilot






Newcastle, NSW ,Australia

If a markerlight is used to launch a seeker missile it is resolved at BS5 no matter what.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
And yes you can use the Pinpoint ability to raise the BS of snapshots

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/10/01 07:48:31


For The Greater Good - Desert Tau Painting Blog!
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/0/670437.page#8273427
Chaos Space Marines 4100 Points
Tau Empire 3000 Points

Blood For The Blood God !!!
 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 IXLoiero95XI wrote:
If a markerlight is used to launch a seeker missile it is resolved at BS5 no matter what.

That's not actually what the rule says...

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Road-Raging Blood Angel Biker






rigeld2 wrote:
 IXLoiero95XI wrote:
If a markerlight is used to launch a seeker missile it is resolved at BS5 no matter what.

That's not actually what the rule says...

It Says it is resolved at BS5. So besides him not qouting the rule word for word i don't see how he is wrong.

------------------------------------------------------------------
Why would you deep strike a lander raider?

Because i can and hey it worked didn't it?

BA-4k+ Gaurd 4K+
Tau 4k+ 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 Lemartes12 wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
 IXLoiero95XI wrote:
If a markerlight is used to launch a seeker missile it is resolved at BS5 no matter what.

That's not actually what the rule says...

It Says it is resolved at BS5. So besides him not qouting the rule word for word i don't see how he is wrong.

Because it doesn't override the Snap Shot requirement without specific exception.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Road-Raging Blood Angel Biker






It doesn't say it is being fired as a snap shot either. It only states its being rolled at BS5. Which is a different profile than the vehicle itself.
So are you saying that a Tau vehichle that has moved flat out cannot shoot a seeker missle, though the only real stipulation with the vehicle states that it must be fired at the same target as the Seeker.

If so i would have to disagree on that point.

------------------------------------------------------------------
Why would you deep strike a lander raider?

Because i can and hey it worked didn't it?

BA-4k+ Gaurd 4K+
Tau 4k+ 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 Lemartes12 wrote:
It doesn't say it is being fired as a snap shot either. It only states its being rolled at BS5. Which is a different profile than the vehicle itself.
So are you saying that a Tau vehichle that has moved flat out cannot shoot a seeker missle, though the only real stipulation with the vehicle states that it must be fired at the same target as the Seeker.

If so i would have to disagree on that point.

You can disagree with what the rules say, but you'd be incorrect in a rules based discussion.
And unless the Seeker rules specifically allow flat out and firing! no you can't do that either. It's like rules matter or something...

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in ca
Nasty Nob






not this garbage argument again. The same crap happened with firing at flyers.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/10/01 12:58:28


ERJAK wrote:


The fluff is like ketchup and mustard on a burger. Yes it's desirable, yes it makes things better, but no it doesn't fundamentally change what you're eating and no you shouldn't just drown the whole meal in it.

 
   
Made in us
Road-Raging Blood Angel Biker






 davou wrote:
not this garbage argument again. The same crap happened with firing at flyers.

i haven't seen that one.

------------------------------------------------------------------
Why would you deep strike a lander raider?

Because i can and hey it worked didn't it?

BA-4k+ Gaurd 4K+
Tau 4k+ 
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

I have to agree with Rigeld 2 here,

On the matter of snap shots:
Multiple FAQ's have come forth and shown that snap shots are a specific rule that always over-writes any 'set to' or 'resolve at' rule-sets. If it did follow the normal order of events, then it would be nothing more then a set to command. While this would mean it is applied last too, it would be applied at the same time as other set to commands, allowing the player whom turn it is to decide which order the set to commands work at. Effectively, you would have permission fifty percent of the time to always over-write the snap shot BS if it was treated as a standard set to modifier.

Therefore a Set To or Resolve At Modifier does not over-ride Snap Shot unless it specifically states it does.

Disabled firing:
I would also have to say the unit firing needs to fill the requirements to fire a weapon before it can use the seeker function of a marker light. This is because the rule uses words such as 'the model immediately fires' and we use all the other rules related to firing a weapon to resolve said shooting attack. There is nothing in the rule set granting us the ability to ignore one of the largest limitations that is put in place before any model can fire a weapon, being eligible to shoot in the first place.

Therefore any situation which causes the model to lose the ability to fire would also prevent them from being able to fire a seeker missile using a marker light.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/10/01 13:57:31


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Sneaky Sniper Drone






Utah, USA

JinxDragon wrote:

Disabled firing:
I would also have to say the unit firing needs to fill the requirements to fire a weapon before it can use the seeker function of a marker light. This is because the rule uses words such as 'the model immediately fires' and we use all the other rules related to firing a weapon to resolve said shooting attack. There is nothing in the rule set granting us the ability to ignore one of the largest limitations that is put in place before any model can fire a weapon, being eligible to shoot in the first place.

Therefore any situation which causes the model to lose the ability to fire would also prevent them from being able to fire a seeker missile using a marker light.


Except that Seeker Missiles are very different from any other weapon. There are no restrictions on the number of them that you can fire, so a skyray can fire it's whole payload if you want. This clearly identifies something unusual about Seekers which (as I believe) could allow it's BS profile to be different than the vehicles.

 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 BlueRift wrote:
JinxDragon wrote:

Disabled firing:
I would also have to say the unit firing needs to fill the requirements to fire a weapon before it can use the seeker function of a marker light. This is because the rule uses words such as 'the model immediately fires' and we use all the other rules related to firing a weapon to resolve said shooting attack. There is nothing in the rule set granting us the ability to ignore one of the largest limitations that is put in place before any model can fire a weapon, being eligible to shoot in the first place.

Therefore any situation which causes the model to lose the ability to fire would also prevent them from being able to fire a seeker missile using a marker light.


Except that Seeker Missiles are very different from any other weapon. There are no restrictions on the number of them that you can fire, so a skyray can fire it's whole payload if you want. This clearly identifies something unusual about Seekers which (as I believe) could allow it's BS profile to be different than the vehicles.

Any vehicle sitting still can fire their whole payload - that's not new.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Road-Raging Blood Angel Biker






rigeld2 wrote:
 BlueRift wrote:
JinxDragon wrote:

Disabled firing:
I would also have to say the unit firing needs to fill the requirements to fire a weapon before it can use the seeker function of a marker light. This is because the rule uses words such as 'the model immediately fires' and we use all the other rules related to firing a weapon to resolve said shooting attack. There is nothing in the rule set granting us the ability to ignore one of the largest limitations that is put in place before any model can fire a weapon, being eligible to shoot in the first place.

Therefore any situation which causes the model to lose the ability to fire would also prevent them from being able to fire a seeker missile using a marker light.


Except that Seeker Missiles are very different from any other weapon. There are no restrictions on the number of them that you can fire, so a skyray can fire it's whole payload if you want. This clearly identifies something unusual about Seekers which (as I believe) could allow it's BS profile to be different than the vehicles.

Any vehicle sitting still can fire their whole payload - that's not new.


Except that Seeker missles do not count toward the number of weapons fired. So a hammerhead that moves its maxium allowed distance to still be able to fire 1 weapon can still fire off both seeker missles.

------------------------------------------------------------------
Why would you deep strike a lander raider?

Because i can and hey it worked didn't it?

BA-4k+ Gaurd 4K+
Tau 4k+ 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 Lemartes12 wrote:
Except that Seeker missles do not count toward the number of weapons fired. So a hammerhead that moves its maxium allowed distance to still be able to fire 1 weapon can still fire off both seeker missles.

Thanks for the clarification - but that still doesn't mean anything with respect to the question at hand.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




JinxDragon wrote:


Multiple FAQ's have come forth and shown that snap shots are a specific rule that always over-writes any 'set to' or 'resolve at' rule-sets.


Not that it is applicable anymore, but the old Tau faq said that a vehicle could snapshot a missile at bs5 (other than shooting a flyer), which did set a precedent.

And considering page 7 of BRB: "On rare occasions, a conflict will arise between a rule in this rulebook, and one printed in a codex. Where is occurs, the rule printed in the codex always takes precedence." I'd have to say, right now, that the missiles snapshot at bs5.
   
Made in us
Road-Raging Blood Angel Biker






Schrodingers_Kitty wrote:
JinxDragon wrote:


Multiple FAQ's have come forth and shown that snap shots are a specific rule that always over-writes any 'set to' or 'resolve at' rule-sets.


Not that it is applicable anymore, but the old Tau faq said that a vehicle could snapshot a missile at bs5 (other than shooting a flyer), which did set a precedent.

And considering page 7 of BRB: "On rare occasions, a conflict will arise between a rule in this rulebook, and one printed in a codex. Where is occurs, the rule printed in the codex always takes precedence." I'd have to say, right now, that the missiles snapshot at bs5.


^ Good arguement

------------------------------------------------------------------
Why would you deep strike a lander raider?

Because i can and hey it worked didn't it?

BA-4k+ Gaurd 4K+
Tau 4k+ 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

 Lemartes12 wrote:
Schrodingers_Kitty wrote:
JinxDragon wrote:


Multiple FAQ's have come forth and shown that snap shots are a specific rule that always over-writes any 'set to' or 'resolve at' rule-sets.


Not that it is applicable anymore, but the old Tau faq said that a vehicle could snapshot a missile at bs5 (other than shooting a flyer), which did set a precedent.

And considering page 7 of BRB: "On rare occasions, a conflict will arise between a rule in this rulebook, and one printed in a codex. Where is occurs, the rule printed in the codex always takes precedence." I'd have to say, right now, that the missiles snapshot at bs5.
^ Good arguement
Old rules from an old Codex.
They normally incorperate FAQ's into newer versions of the rules, the fact that they didn't is telling.
   
Made in us
Road-Raging Blood Angel Biker






or GW just forgets to inlcude alot of things in their new books. But I guess it all really matters on two things now
1) Players in a friendly game agreeing on the rule
and
2) What the TO says is the rule.

------------------------------------------------------------------
Why would you deep strike a lander raider?

Because i can and hey it worked didn't it?

BA-4k+ Gaurd 4K+
Tau 4k+ 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Schrodingers_Kitty wrote:
And considering page 7 of BRB: "On rare occasions, a conflict will arise between a rule in this rulebook, and one printed in a codex. Where is occurs, the rule printed in the codex always takes precedence." I'd have to say, right now, that the missiles snapshot at bs5.

Where is the conflict? There is no rules that Seekers make snap shots at BS5 - only that they're fired at BS5. Snap Shot says that they must resolve at Bs1.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/10/01 14:53:09


My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




rigeld2 wrote:
Schrodingers_Kitty wrote:
And considering page 7 of BRB: "On rare occasions, a conflict will arise between a rule in this rulebook, and one printed in a codex. Where is occurs, the rule printed in the codex always takes precedence." I'd have to say, right now, that the missiles snapshot at bs5.

Where is the conflict? There is no rules that Seekers make snap shots at BS5 - only that they're fired at BS5. Snap Shot says that they must resolve at Bs1.


Except the rules say that snapshot are treated as bs1 and seeker missiles are resolved as bs5.
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

Schrodingers_Kitty wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
Schrodingers_Kitty wrote:
And considering page 7 of BRB: "On rare occasions, a conflict will arise between a rule in this rulebook, and one printed in a codex. Where is occurs, the rule printed in the codex always takes precedence." I'd have to say, right now, that the missiles snapshot at bs5.

Where is the conflict? There is no rules that Seekers make snap shots at BS5 - only that they're fired at BS5. Snap Shot says that they must resolve at Bs1.
Except the rules say that snapshot are treated as bs1 and seeker missiles are resolved as bs5.
And FAQ trumps Codex:

Q: Can the BS1 of a Snap Shot ever be modified by special rules that modify the BS of a model’s Shooting attack (such as Space Marine Signums or Sergeant Telion’s Voice of Experience)? (p13)
A: No.

Unless Seeker Missiles specifically say it's BS5 for Snap Shots, it isn't (and it doesn't).
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

It is long argued:

It is a matter of order of events, an issue of timing, which brings us the the answer of Ballistic Score 1. The resolved as rule is a set modification which is normally applied last. Snap shots are an advanced rule that are also resolved last. Thanks to FAQ's we are informed that the Snap Shot set modification is of higher priority then any other set modifications, that no modifications can occur afterwards. Therefore it goes last in the order of events, even when those events are simultaneous, in order to ensure that it is not modified further.

So marker light sets the BS to 5 then snap shots lowers it to 1.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/10/01 15:13:07


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




 grendel083 wrote:
Schrodingers_Kitty wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
Schrodingers_Kitty wrote:
And considering page 7 of BRB: "On rare occasions, a conflict will arise between a rule in this rulebook, and one printed in a codex. Where is occurs, the rule printed in the codex always takes precedence." I'd have to say, right now, that the missiles snapshot at bs5.

Where is the conflict? There is no rules that Seekers make snap shots at BS5 - only that they're fired at BS5. Snap Shot says that they must resolve at Bs1.
Except the rules say that snapshot are treated as bs1 and seeker missiles are resolved as bs5.
And FAQ trumps Codex:

Q: Can the BS1 of a Snap Shot ever be modified by special rules that modify the BS of a model’s Shooting attack (such as Space Marine Signums or Sergeant Telion’s Voice of Experience)? (p13)
A: No.

Unless Seeker Missiles specifically say it's BS5 for Snap Shots, it isn't (and it doesn't).


Could you tell me where it says that faqs trump codices? I can't find it anywhere. Also, that faq that you quoted is for the main rulebook. The Tau codex explicitly says that marker lights can increase the bs on a snapshot. So you are saying that a BRB faq overrides the codex? It seems to me that it would have to be a codex faq for it to. Though, this is a different argument entirely.
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

Schrodingers_Kitty wrote:
Could you tell me where it says that faqs trump codices? I can't find it anywhere.
If they didn't, they wouldn't actually work, would they?
And as with all things, a conflict is needed.
The Tau codex explicitly says that marker lights can increase the bs on a snapshot.
It does indeed! Does the Seeker missile rules also say this?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/10/01 15:36:51


 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Schrodingers_Kitty wrote:
The Tau codex explicitly says that marker lights can increase the bs on a snapshot.

But it does not say that for Seeker Missiles.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






 grendel083 wrote:
Schrodingers_Kitty wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
Schrodingers_Kitty wrote:
And considering page 7 of BRB: "On rare occasions, a conflict will arise between a rule in this rulebook, and one printed in a codex. Where is occurs, the rule printed in the codex always takes precedence." I'd have to say, right now, that the missiles snapshot at bs5.

Where is the conflict? There is no rules that Seekers make snap shots at BS5 - only that they're fired at BS5. Snap Shot says that they must resolve at Bs1.
Except the rules say that snapshot are treated as bs1 and seeker missiles are resolved as bs5.
And FAQ trumps Codex:

Q: Can the BS1 of a Snap Shot ever be modified by special rules that modify the BS of a model’s Shooting attack (such as Space Marine Signums or Sergeant Telion’s Voice of Experience)? (p13)
A: No.

Unless Seeker Missiles specifically say it's BS5 for Snap Shots, it isn't (and it doesn't).


Which does not apply, we are not modifying the BS1, we are resolving an attack at a different BS.

Modifying would be +/- 1 or more, Doubling, halving, or setting the value. You are doing none of these, you are resolving an attack at a set value(you are still being treated as BS 1). The same would be true for a Stalker using the split-fire profile against non-skimmer/flyer/FMC targets; it must snapshot and therefore is treated as BS1, but the shots are resolved at BS2 via the rule.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




I appreciate you guys taking what I said out of context.
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






Schrodingers_Kitty wrote:
I appreciate you guys taking what I said out of context.


Context has no place in YMDC.

Trust me, I know

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 Kommissar Kel wrote:
 grendel083 wrote:
Schrodingers_Kitty wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
Schrodingers_Kitty wrote:
And considering page 7 of BRB: "On rare occasions, a conflict will arise between a rule in this rulebook, and one printed in a codex. Where is occurs, the rule printed in the codex always takes precedence." I'd have to say, right now, that the missiles snapshot at bs5.

Where is the conflict? There is no rules that Seekers make snap shots at BS5 - only that they're fired at BS5. Snap Shot says that they must resolve at Bs1.
Except the rules say that snapshot are treated as bs1 and seeker missiles are resolved as bs5.
And FAQ trumps Codex:

Q: Can the BS1 of a Snap Shot ever be modified by special rules that modify the BS of a model’s Shooting attack (such as Space Marine Signums or Sergeant Telion’s Voice of Experience)? (p13)
A: No.

Unless Seeker Missiles specifically say it's BS5 for Snap Shots, it isn't (and it doesn't).


Which does not apply, we are not modifying the BS1, we are resolving an attack at a different BS.

Modifying would be +/- 1 or more, Doubling, halving, or setting the value. You are doing none of these, you are resolving an attack at a set value(you are still being treated as BS 1). The same would be true for a Stalker using the split-fire profile against non-skimmer/flyer/FMC targets; it must snapshot and therefore is treated as BS1, but the shots are resolved at BS2 via the rule.

You are setting a value. Just like the Signum does, just like Telion does.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





At the edge of Oblivion looking out.

See my understanding is i can use marker light "pinpoint" to increase the seeker missiles snapshot bs 1 skill to say 5 (depending on how many markerlights) that part i can understand (if its true). But its if a seeker missile has the 5 bs even tho in BRB it says snapshots are resolved at bs 1, but seeing that the codex says "is resolved at BS 5" would make me believe no matter what it always uses bs 5.

9700 pts W:3-T:3-L:3
6700 pts W:5-T:2-L:3
165 pts W:3-L:4
169 pts W:0-L:0

Never stopping never slowing ever moving with a steady unyielding force that crushes everything, from bugs to birds to buildings to mountains to planets.... It moves forward with a unrelenting ruthlessness that never tires.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: