Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/15 04:42:14
Subject: Chapter tactics apply to vehicles?
|
 |
Speed Drybrushing
|
Stupid question but... I cannot remember for the life of me. Do space marine chapter tactics apply to a vehicle? (used in that chapter list of course)
|
Ravenwing 8,0 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/15 04:55:08
Subject: Re:Chapter tactics apply to vehicles?
|
 |
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon
Armageddon, Pry System, Armageddon Sector, Armageddon Sub-sector, Segmentum Solar.
|
As a general rule of thumb no cts apply to vehicles as vehicles don't have the cts special rule.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/15 06:21:56
Subject: Re:Chapter tactics apply to vehicles?
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
Most don't, but at least one specifically does though, so you'll have to actually read the rule.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/15 06:46:37
Subject: Chapter tactics apply to vehicles?
|
 |
Prophetic Blood Angel Librarian
|
Check Iron Hands CT.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/15 16:21:08
Subject: Re:Chapter tactics apply to vehicles?
|
 |
Speed Drybrushing
|
What about CT such as the Minotaurs. They have Preferred enemy Space marines
|
Ravenwing 8,0 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/15 16:23:58
Subject: Chapter tactics apply to vehicles?
|
 |
Kelne
|
It doesn't unless otherwise stated. I think the minotaurs one worked like the last codex traits, meaning you trade combat tactics for it. Vehicles didn't get combat tactics.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/16 04:31:58
Subject: Re:Chapter tactics apply to vehicles?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Here is a fun one. If all the models with the chapter tactics special rule are removed as casualties and all a player has left is, lets say, two land raiders whist playing an iron hands list do the land raiders have 'it will not die'?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/16 04:35:22
Subject: Chapter tactics apply to vehicles?
|
 |
Never Forget Isstvan!
|
yes, because they are still iron hands land raiders.
|
JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/16 06:59:51
Subject: Re:Chapter tactics apply to vehicles?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
i can see it another way.
The special rule creates and effect. Models with out that special rule normally cannot benefit from that effect. The Iron Hands rule is different in that it specifically says they can, but if no model has that rule, there is no rule for any other model to benefit from that effect.
I see it working the same as if a unit containing a single model with Monster Hunter was locked in close combat with a Monstrous Creature. If the monster hunter model dies at initiative 6, the remaining models in the unit fighting at initiative 4 will no longer be able to benefit from the monster hunter rule.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/16 11:28:58
Subject: Chapter tactics apply to vehicles?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Apart from it being a list building decision, not a game one.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/16 12:28:12
Subject: Re:Chapter tactics apply to vehicles?
|
 |
Preacher of the Emperor
|
DJGietzen wrote:i can see it another way.
The special rule creates and effect. Models with out that special rule normally cannot benefit from that effect. The Iron Hands rule is different in that it specifically says they can, but if no model has that rule, there is no rule for any other model to benefit from that effect.
I see it working the same as if a unit containing a single model with Monster Hunter was locked in close combat with a Monstrous Creature. If the monster hunter model dies at initiative 6, the remaining models in the unit fighting at initiative 4 will no longer be able to benefit from the monster hunter rule.
Chapter Tactics is not a model dependant rule. During list construction, you pick a set of chapter tactics. You then apply the rules and restrictions for those tactics to your lists. Thus by virtue of being an "Iron Hands" army, all your vehicles gain IWND for the duration of the game.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/16 14:24:12
Subject: Re:Chapter tactics apply to vehicles?
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
Black Templars CT gives them Admantium Will.
If a BT unit is in a transport does the transport get to Deny the Witch on a 5+ or is it still a 6+?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/16 14:28:28
Subject: Chapter tactics apply to vehicles?
|
 |
Veteran Inquisitorial Tyranid Xenokiller
|
It should still be a 6+ because the unit inside is not the one being targeted, the vehicle is, if the vehicle has Adamantium Will then yes it would be 5+.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/16 17:11:47
Subject: Re:Chapter tactics apply to vehicles?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Rustican wrote:Black Templars CT gives them Admantium Will.
If a BT unit is in a transport does the transport get to Deny the Witch on a 5+ or is it still a 6+?
A unit embarked on a transport vehicle is not the same unit as the transport vehicle.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/17 17:46:39
Subject: Chapter tactics apply to vehicles?
|
 |
Fighter Ace
|
I'm not looking at the Codex right now as I'm at work, but doesn't it say when you pick chapter tactics that they apply to all models within the detachment? Not units? In that case it would grant it to all models period. The chapter tactics rule on models within the lists usually classifies as this model must be in an army with these tactics, or have the same tactics as the primary choice, not whether or not they are qualified to have the tactics.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/17 17:48:55
Subject: Chapter tactics apply to vehicles?
|
 |
Kelne
|
Bobaram wrote:I'm not looking at the Codex right now as I'm at work, but doesn't it say when you pick chapter tactics that they apply to all models within the detachment? Not units? In that case it would grant it to all models period. The chapter tactics rule on models within the lists usually classifies as this model must be in an army with these tactics, or have the same tactics as the primary choice, not whether or not they are qualified to have the tactics.
right and wrong, it says that models from a detachment benefit from a chapter tactic if they have the Chapter tactics special rule.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/17 18:10:12
Subject: Chapter tactics apply to vehicles?
|
 |
Fighter Ace
|
Fair enough, I'll be digging around the codex tonight to get me some more knowledge!
|
|
|
 |
 |
|