Switch Theme:

Portalglyph'd pink horrors  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Frenzied Berserker Terminator






Can pink horros shoot the turn they were summoned from the portal glyph?



" $@#& YOU! There are 3 things I want in a guy: Tall, Handsome, and plays Dark Eldar!"-every woman since
November 2010 
   
Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter






Dimmamar

When does a Psyker generate WC?
If the Horrors do not exist at the time WC is generated, where does the WC for their shooting come from?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/10/29 20:18:06


LVO 2017 - Best GK Player

The Grimdark Future 8500 1500 6000 2000 5000


"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 
   
Made in us
Tzeentch Aspiring Sorcerer Riding a Disc






Battle Barge Impossible Fortress

Edit: I don't know what we're yelling about

(I have no idea)

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/10/30 15:32:31


 
   
Made in us
Sure Space Wolves Land Raider Pilot




This has been argued many ways before. The Portaglyphed Troops disembark from it, not deepstrike. So if they disembark, aren't they already in it, even if we don't how many dudes will disembark? Librarians in transports disembark from their vehicles, and they generate WC at the beginning of the turn even though they're not standing on the table.

That's the only reason I could think of why the Horrors would have a Warp Charge.
   
Made in us
Frenzied Berserker Terminator






Well, the librarian starts the game in the transport, or comes on from reserves. The portal glyph is manifested. That's what confuses me.



" $@#& YOU! There are 3 things I want in a guy: Tall, Handsome, and plays Dark Eldar!"-every woman since
November 2010 
   
Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter






Dimmamar

 Lord Krungharr wrote:
This has been argued many ways before. The Portaglyphed Troops disembark from it, not deepstrike. So if they disembark, aren't they already in it, even if we don't how many dudes will disembark? Librarians in transports disembark from their vehicles, and they generate WC at the beginning of the turn even though they're not standing on the table.


The comparison to other Psykers is invalid, as other Psykers exist and can thus generate WC. They are paid for in your list, and the models exist somewhere (either in reserve or on the table). (Being in a transport counts as being on the table, in this instance.)
Horrors, before disembarking from the Portalgglyph, do not actually exist. Something that does not exist cannot generate WC.

HIWPI: let the Horrors shoot.
RAW: no WC to shoot with.

LVO 2017 - Best GK Player

The Grimdark Future 8500 1500 6000 2000 5000


"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





 Lord Krungharr wrote:
The Portaglyphed Troops disembark from it, not deepstrike. So if they disembark, aren't they already in it...?.

The rules don't say this so no they aren't already in it.

Also the portalglyph is not a transport, so there is nothing for the unit to already be in
   
Made in fi
Confessor Of Sins




IIRC the daemon player has to roll a dice to see if anything comes out. Then he has to choose what that might be. So no, there's no way to "know" there are Horrors ready to come out.
   
Made in us
Nurgle Chosen Marine on a Palanquin






Everyone I have played with has allowed pinkies to shoot on the turn they arrive from the portal glyph. The biggest argument is what power they start with, so I always tell them I will be spawning pink horrors, who will be using primaris power.

   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





I play competitive daemons and Nope, they arent alive to generate warp charges (on the board or in reserves or in a transport. Pretty sure they come into play from the portal and do this by using the rules for disembark rathr then acutally disembarking). Same as the spawned herald from 11 on the warpstorm table, again not alive to generate warp charges.

There is clear RAW rules to cover this, sadly we dont have any RAW rules to cover if the horrors are allowed to roll or take any powers, i usually play house rules as they can.

40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final 
   
Made in us
Hellish Haemonculus






Boskydell, IL

This came up in a recent tournament I ran, and the decision I went with was that they cannot shoot the turn they arrive.

Welcome to the Freakshow!

(Leadership-shenanigans for Eldar of all types.) 
   
Made in us
Fleshound of Khorne




Emporia, KS

I would most like this to psykers starting in reserve, in that they are not on the table to generate warp charge. The real question then becomes, do they have a pschic power, because they were not in your army at the point everyone else generated their powers.

What I would like is for this to be clarified by GW, but RAW they should not have a power and should not come out of the portal with any warp charge, because they did not exist at the time these events took place.
   
Made in my
Tea-Kettle of Blood




Adelaide, South Australia

Unlike psykers in reserves, Horrors aren't alive to generate Warp Charges at the start of your turn, so no, they can't shoot, as they don't have a warp charge to expend.

 Ailaros wrote:
You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.

"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





 KhorneDawg wrote:
I would most like this to psykers starting in reserve, in that they are not on the table to generate warp charge. The real question then becomes, do they have a pschic power, because they were not in your army at the point everyone else generated their powers.

What I would like is for this to be clarified by GW, but RAW they should not have a power and should not come out of the portal with any warp charge, because they did not exist at the time these events took place.


This is a common misconception. Psykers in reserve still generate warp charges, why would they not?. Can i use my warlord trait while off the table, can fatey use his re roll, can autarch adjust the reserve roll, can tiggy use his reseve re roll while off the board. of course they can as there is nothing to stop it.

I have seen the 'models cannot use any abilities or rules that must be used at start of turn' rule to say warp charges are not generated, the fact the psykers do not have a choice to generate them or not means that rule does not apply, it is not something they can use or not use it is something that happens.

40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final 
   
Made in us
Never Forget Isstvan!






MarkyMark wrote:
 KhorneDawg wrote:
I would most like this to psykers starting in reserve, in that they are not on the table to generate warp charge. The real question then becomes, do they have a pschic power, because they were not in your army at the point everyone else generated their powers.

What I would like is for this to be clarified by GW, but RAW they should not have a power and should not come out of the portal with any warp charge, because they did not exist at the time these events took place.


This is a common misconception. Psykers in reserve still generate warp charges, why would they not?. Can i use my warlord trait while off the table, can fatey use his re roll, can autarch adjust the reserve roll, can tiggy use his reseve re roll while off the board. of course they can as there is nothing to stop it.

I have seen the 'models cannot use any abilities or rules that must be used at start of turn' rule to say warp charges are not generated, the fact the psykers do not have a choice to generate them or not means that rule does not apply, it is not something they can use or not use it is something that happens.




Acctually, most of those examples cannot use their abilities while off the table as it states they have to be on the table to use them i believe.

JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




MarkyMark wrote:
Psykers in reserve still generate warp charges, why would they not?
That's not really the subject of this discussion, though. The Portalglyph models are never in reserve. They are generated by the portal.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Isn't the real question whether they even have a power to use, since power generation is before deployment and they don't exist then?

My blog - Battle Reports, Lists, Theory, and Hobby:
http://synaps3.blogspot.com/
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Indeed. not only do they not have a warpcharge, as they did not exist until after WC are generated, they dont get to even have a psychic power.
   
Made in my
Tea-Kettle of Blood




Adelaide, South Australia

nosferatu1001 wrote:
Indeed. not only do they not have a warpcharge, as they did not exist until after WC are generated, they dont get to even have a psychic power.


Yet, as a Brotherhood of Psykers, are required to have a psychic power by their rules, so this is a bit of an issue...

 Ailaros wrote:
You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.

"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Yeah, the power thing can result in a rules contradiction, which makes it easier to invent a solution, as a rule is being overridden one way or the other. It seems to me the least contradictory solution is to generate hypothetical powers for hypothetical units at the normal time, which such units will then have if they ever come into play.
   
Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter






Dimmamar

Pyrian wrote:
Yeah, the power thing can result in a rules contradiction, which makes it easier to invent a solution, as a rule is being overridden one way or the other. It seems to me the least contradictory solution is to generate hypothetical powers for hypothetical units at the normal time, which such units will then have if they ever come into play.


I can roll up to seven times on the Warp Storm. That's a potential seven Tzeralds, or seven units of Horrors. The Portalglyph can also spawn a potential of seven times.
This means that, according to your recommendation Pyrian, I have to roll 21 psychic powers and keep track of which order they will be applied throughout the game. This sounds the opposite of easy!

The EASIEST way is to roll for a random power once the unit comes into existence. For Horrors, that's on Change (you can even house-rule that they can only get the Primaris), and for Tzeralds it's Divination or Change (again, can house-rule to only get the Primaris).

LVO 2017 - Best GK Player

The Grimdark Future 8500 1500 6000 2000 5000


"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

 PrinceRaven wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:
Indeed. not only do they not have a warpcharge, as they did not exist until after WC are generated, they dont get to even have a psychic power.


Yet, as a Brotherhood of Psykers, are required to have a psychic power by their rules, so this is a bit of an issue...



Where do the rules say that a Brotherhood of Psykers are required to have psychic powers?

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Elric Greywolf wrote:
Pyrian wrote:
Yeah, the power thing can result in a rules contradiction, which makes it easier to invent a solution, as a rule is being overridden one way or the other. It seems to me the least contradictory solution is to generate hypothetical powers for hypothetical units at the normal time, which such units will then have if they ever come into play.
This sounds the opposite of easy!
"Easy" was never my intent.

Happyjew wrote:
 PrinceRaven wrote:
Yet, as a Brotherhood of Psykers, are required to have a psychic power by their rules, so this is a bit of an issue...
Where do the rules say that a Brotherhood of Psykers are required to have psychic powers?
Under psykers - not under the Brotherhood specifically, but any psyker.
   
Made in us
Thrall Wizard of Tzeentch




Left Coast

The GW psychic powers app generates warp charges for Pink Horrors that are added to the game mid-game. Certainly not a definitive answer, but since it has been updated multiple times and the Daemon Codex is still sans FAQ, I have taken that to be the best available evidence from GW on how they intend this to work. If nothing else, it is the most recent evidence and supports the general mindset of every TO I've talked to.

   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





Pyrian wrote:
MarkyMark wrote:
Psykers in reserve still generate warp charges, why would they not?
That's not really the subject of this discussion, though. The Portalglyph models are never in reserve. They are generated by the portal.


Can you please follow the thread. I was replying to one person about one facet of his post, my post above clearly states my opinion on the OP.

Eihnlazer wrote:
MarkyMark wrote:
 KhorneDawg wrote:
I would most like this to psykers starting in reserve, in that they are not on the table to generate warp charge. The real question then becomes, do they have a pschic power, because they were not in your army at the point everyone else generated their powers.

What I would like is for this to be clarified by GW, but RAW they should not have a power and should not come out of the portal with any warp charge, because they did not exist at the time these events took place.


This is a common misconception. Psykers in reserve still generate warp charges, why would they not?. Can i use my warlord trait while off the table, can fatey use his re roll, can autarch adjust the reserve roll, can tiggy use his reseve re roll while off the board. of course they can as there is nothing to stop it.

I have seen the 'models cannot use any abilities or rules that must be used at start of turn' rule to say warp charges are not generated, the fact the psykers do not have a choice to generate them or not means that rule does not apply, it is not something they can use or not use it is something that happens.




Acctually, most of those examples cannot use their abilities while off the table as it states they have to be on the table to use them i believe.


I suggest you check again.

Tiggy, if your army contains tiggy you can...

Fatey, the staff allows you to re roll one dice per turn

Havent got the eldar dex to hand but pretty sure its the same.


This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/10/31 09:33:04


40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




MarkyMark wrote:
Can you please follow the thread. I was replying to one person about one facet of his post...
Well, you quoted the whole thing, so it looked like you were responding to the whole thing.

MarkyMark wrote:
...my post above clearly states my opinion on the OP.
I am not interested in memorizing everybody's position.
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




Macclesfield, UK

 Lord Krungharr wrote:
This has been argued many ways before. The Portaglyphed Troops disembark from it, not deepstrike. So if they disembark, aren't they already in it, even if we don't how many dudes will disembark? Librarians in transports disembark from their vehicles, and they generate WC at the beginning of the turn even though they're not standing on the table.

That's the only reason I could think of why the Horrors would have a Warp Charge.


Well it depends on if the horrors count as coming in from reserve or not is my guess. I play that psykers can shoot the turn they come in but others may argue differently.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/10/31 14:25:31


 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

 DarthOvious wrote:
 Lord Krungharr wrote:
This has been argued many ways before. The Portaglyphed Troops disembark from it, not deepstrike. So if they disembark, aren't they already in it, even if we don't how many dudes will disembark? Librarians in transports disembark from their vehicles, and they generate WC at the beginning of the turn even though they're not standing on the table.

That's the only reason I could think of why the Horrors would have a Warp Charge.


Well it depends on if the horrors count as coming in from reserve or not is my guess. I play that psykers can shoot the turn they come in but others may argue differently.


Psykers can shoot witchfire powers the turn they come in (unless it is a blast/template and they have to Snapfire). The problem, is by the time the Horrors come into the game, Psykers have already generated Warp Charges.

And of course there is the whole thing on whether or not they even generate a power (I'd be surprised if GW said no).

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in gb
Irked Necron Immortal




gravesend kent

they are spawned at the end of the movement phase, witchfire is generated in the shooting phase so yes they get to shoot just like disembarking from a vehicle

6th ed w/l/d
=3000pts 39/19/2
The Mavelance Dynasty=4000pts 28/42/6

short stories:
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/558468.page
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/0/558967.page#6170866
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/559971.page 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

 necronspurs2012 wrote:
they are spawned at the end of the movement phase, witchfire is generated in the shooting phase so yes they get to shoot just like disembarking from a vehicle


Where are they getting a Warp Charge from to fuel the power? They spawn at the end of the movement phase. At the start of the movement phase psykers generate Warp Charges. where were they at the start of the Movement phase?

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: