Switch Theme:

Malifaux newb with questions  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh




I just starting playing and have some questions:

In the Framed for Murder scheme what happens if the model chosen can be resummoned? The person I played picked Teddy and had a model who come summon him. I killed him and they claimed the VPs. Then they summoned Teddy back to the board. So can they score the same scheme a second time? Or, does it just trigger once? Or, something else?


I just read the errata and it says that if a condition kills a model then the model is not considered killed by anyone. How does this effect assassination? If I put a burning condition on a model and it dies does it count toward the assassination scheme?


If someone can transfer damage to another model what happens to blast markers? Can the original model be hit by a blast marker what is the origin point for blast markers?

What happens to blast markers if you draw the red joker in terms of damage?

Are you limited to 1 totem or can you buy and summon more than 1?

Thanks for your answers and I would appreciate citations if possible so that I can show the answers to others.
   
Made in us
Policing Securitate





Leo_the_Rat wrote:
I just starting playing and have some questions:

Welcome. I'll do what I can...

Leo_the_Rat wrote:
In the Framed for Murder scheme what happens if the model chosen can be resummoned? The person I played picked Teddy and had a model who come summon him. I killed him and they claimed the VPs. Then they summoned Teddy back to the board. So can they score the same scheme a second time? Or, does it just trigger once? Or, something else?

Re-summoned models are brand new models, not their old self. So if they pick Frame for Murder and you kill their choice then they get the points. If they Summon a new version of whatever that doesn't matter... the original choice was fulfilled. pg 51

Schemes have a flat max of 3 VPs per scheme. So if you take one in which you place Markers and then add up those Markers at end of game (Protect Territory, Breakthrough, Plant Evidence, etc) even if you place 10 Markers during the game, you max at 3 VPs for each Scheme you select. That makes 6 total VPs available between your two Schemes, and then a max cap of 4 for the Strategy you're playing. pg 74

Leo_the_Rat wrote:
I just read the errata and it says that if a condition kills a model then the model is not considered killed by anyone. How does this effect assassination? If I put a burning condition on a model and it dies does it count toward the assassination scheme?

Assassinate is pretty simple, it only cares if the model is killed or sacrificed during the game. If so, you get the points. If the model is killed because it fell from a high height or hazardous terrain, it is still gets you the VP. the only question is when did it die for total value. Pg 68

Leo_the_Rat wrote:
f someone can transfer damage to another model what happens to blast markers? Can the original model be hit by a blast marker what is the origin point for blast markers?
Humm.. sorry, I don't know this rule, can you tell me which model can do this?

Leo_the_Rat wrote:
What happens to blast markers if you draw the red joker in terms of damage?

The target of the Action receives Severe plus weak damage. All models under the template(s) take Moderate damage. pg 50

Leo_the_Rat wrote:
Are you limited to 1 totem or can you buy and summon more than 1?

at Hiring you are limited to a single Totem unless a rule tells you otherwise (Young LaCroix are an example) pg 54. Unless the totem has a Rare value, you could then summon additional ones as the Totem rule only effects Hiring.

Leo_the_Rat wrote:
Thanks for your answers and I would appreciate citations if possible so that I can show the answers to others.

Your welcome.
   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh




The dreamer can transfer damage to nightmares within 3" of him (IIRC). So, if I target him with an attack that does blast damage and he transfers the attack to someone else what happens with the blast?

Thank you for you time, answers, and especially citations.
   
Made in us
Old Sourpuss






Lakewood, Ohio

Leo_the_Rat wrote:
The dreamer can transfer damage to nightmares within 3" of him (IIRC). So, if I target him with an attack that does blast damage and he transfers the attack to someone else what happens with the blast?

Thank you for you time, answers, and especially citations.

Unless this changed in second edition, Dreamer is immune to blast damage from his ghost in malifaux ability. If they changed it, and you targeted dreamer with a blast you'd resolve the blasts as normal dishing out damage to things under the blast and then dreamer would transfer the damage to something within 3" of him.

DR:80+S++G+M+B+I+Pwmhd11#++D++A++++/sWD-R++++T(S)DM+

Ask me about Brushfire or Endless: Fantasy Tactics 
   
Made in us
Policing Securitate





Leo_the_Rat wrote:
The dreamer can transfer damage to nightmares within 3" of him (IIRC). So, if I target him with an attack that does blast damage and he transfers the attack to someone else what happens with the blast?.

I thought you were talking about the Dreamer but your description has some misleading wording so I was unsure...

 Alfndrate wrote:
Unless this changed in second edition, Dreamer is immune to blast damage from his ghost in malifaux ability. If they changed it, and you targeted dreamer with a blast you'd resolve the blasts as normal dishing out damage to things under the blast and then dreamer would transfer the damage to something within 3" of him.

This is not correct. (because he's working from incorrect information)

The 10/29 rules of The Dreamer state that he can have a nearby friendly Nightmare "suffer the effects of the action." So I would assume that to mean the Nightmare would then take the damage and the Blasts would originate from the new target as well, as both are "effects of the action." So it's very likely that The Dreamer would take some damage from the blasts. Something to be aware of...
   
Made in us
Old Sourpuss






Lakewood, Ohio

 Dainty Twerp wrote:
Leo_the_Rat wrote:
The dreamer can transfer damage to nightmares within 3" of him (IIRC). So, if I target him with an attack that does blast damage and he transfers the attack to someone else what happens with the blast?.

I thought you were talking about the Dreamer but your description has some misleading wording so I was unsure...

 Alfndrate wrote:
Unless this changed in second edition, Dreamer is immune to blast damage from his ghost in malifaux ability. If they changed it, and you targeted dreamer with a blast you'd resolve the blasts as normal dishing out damage to things under the blast and then dreamer would transfer the damage to something within 3" of him.

This is not correct. (because he's working from incorrect information)

The 10/29 rules of The Dreamer state that he can have a nearby friendly Nightmare "suffer the effects of the action." So I would assume that to mean the Nightmare would then take the damage and the Blasts would originate from the new target as well, as both are "effects of the action." So it's very likely that The Dreamer would take some damage from the blasts. Something to be aware of...

It's not technically incorrect, it's just out of date, and I did say, "Unless this changed in second edition."

DR:80+S++G+M+B+I+Pwmhd11#++D++A++++/sWD-R++++T(S)DM+

Ask me about Brushfire or Endless: Fantasy Tactics 
   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh




This is what I'm working from:

Df/Wp (M) Safe In My Bed: After failing, discard a card to make target friendly Nightmare within 3" suffer the effects of the Action as if it had been the target.

The beta card labeled 10/15/13


Automatically Appended Next Post:
So, if I hit him with an ability that has blast damage attatched to it where do I place the blast marker? On the dreamer or on the transferee? And, can I then place a blast marker on the dreamer if the origin spot is on the other model?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/11/05 21:34:45


 
   
Made in us
Policing Securitate





Leo_the_Rat wrote:
So, if I hit him with an ability that has blast damage attatched to it where do I place the blast marker? On the dreamer or on the transferee? And, can I then place a blast marker on the dreamer if the origin spot is on the other model?

The other Nightmare is effectively the target now, so you would follow the normal blast rules from that point on, which include (assuming The Dreamer is close enough to be touch by any Blast Marker(s) then he would suffer the normal damage, which he would not be able to shove off (with this rule).
   
Made in us
Using Object Source Lighting





Portland

yeah, pretty sure the target is completely changed and then proceed as normal.


My painted armies (40k, WM/H, Malifaux, Infinity...) 
   
 
Forum Index » Other Fantasy Miniatures Games
Go to: