Switch Theme:

Interceptor Rule Clarification  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Hi all
Just a quick clarification on Interceptor needed:

If my opponent goes first and shoots all his Riptide's weapons and then I deep strike some pods in my movement phase, can he shoot at them?

Conversely if I go first and he fires his Riptide's weapons at me in my movement phase can he shoot in his subsequent shooting phase?

He says the rule states that he can not fire in his next turn saying that since it is turn 1 he would not be able to shoot in his turn 2. Then went on to fire interceptor in turn 2 saying he was using his turn 3 shooting phase this time and so forth until I had no reserves left to bring in.

I would have throught that he could only fire his weapon once, either my movement phase or his shooting phase....

Who was correct?

Thanks again!
Mike
   
Made in be
Kelne





That way,then left

If you go second, he can shoot you from Interceptor ,but won't be able to shoot with any of the weapons he shot in his next shooting phase.
If you go first his next shooting phase would be his first.
   
Made in gb
Wolf Guard Bodyguard in Terminator Armor





The rule says it cannot fire next turn. Not next shooting phase.

So to me this means he fires it in turn 1 and then cannot shoot it again until turn 3. Leaving you 1 moving phase to get more stuff in unharmed.


 
   
Made in be
Kelne





That way,then left

A turn is a player turn. Your opponent's next turn is the turn where he has a shooting phase next.If your opponent goes first and shoots on your first turn, his second turn is his next. If you go first your opponent's next turn is his first one.
   
Made in us
Sneaky Sniper Drone




Redding, California

 B0B MaRlEy wrote:
A turn is a player turn. Your opponent's next turn is the turn where he has a shooting phase next.If your opponent goes first and shoots on your first turn, his second turn is his next. If you go first your opponent's next turn is his first one.

This is correct.


NorCon 2010 - Best Overall
NorCon 2012 - Best General
Alight in the Grimdark invitational 2012 - Best General
NorCon 2013 - Player Choice
LVO Primer Tournament 2013 - Best General
NorCal 2014 ITC associate Tournament league - 1st place Know No Mercy GT "A second chance" 2016- Best General
Clash of the Titans 2015 - 2nd place
Contest of Campions #2 2015 - Best General
RageCon GT 2015 - 2nd Place "first loser"
Clash of the Titans 2016 - 2nd place... doh "Ill get it one day"
Contest of Champions #1 2016 - Best General
Contest of Champions #3 2016 - Best General
Know No Mercy GT 2016 - Best Daemons :-) "ROCK ON DAEMONS ill miss you D thirster" 
   
Made in ca
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar





Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

LongFang4Life wrote:
Hi all
Just a quick clarification on Interceptor needed:

If my opponent goes first and shoots all his Riptide's weapons and then I deep strike some pods in my movement phase, can he shoot at them?

Conversely if I go first and he fires his Riptide's weapons at me in my movement phase can he shoot in his subsequent shooting phase?

He says the rule states that he can not fire in his next turn saying that since it is turn 1 he would not be able to shoot in his turn 2. Then went on to fire interceptor in turn 2 saying he was using his turn 3 shooting phase this time and so forth until I had no reserves left to bring in.

I would have throught that he could only fire his weapon once, either my movement phase or his shooting phase....

Who was correct?

Thanks again!
Mike


BRB P9 "Whenever a rule refers to 'a turn' it always means 'playerturn' unless it specifically refers to a 'game turn'."

BRB P38 Interceptor "If this rule is used, the weapon cannot be fired in the next turn, but the firing model can shoot a different weapon if it has one."

So we get the player firing a model with Interceptor being unable to fire that weapon(s) in the next PLAYER turn.
If you went first and he intercepted, he cannot fire that weapon on his first turn (ie : 2nd player turn), but may fire another weapon
If you went second and he had already fired, he can use interceptor and then cannot fire that weapon in his next (ie: now the 3rd player turn) turn.

So yes, he can only fire that particular weapon once (either through shooting or interceptor) per game turn (essentially) and it may not fire the next player turn (which may be your turn if he fired in his shooting phase, or his if it was using interceptor during your movement phase).

However, I scratch my head at the statement "went on to fire interceptor in turn 2 saying he was using his turn 3 shooting phase this time and so forth until I had no reserves left to bring in."
Just confusing and makes no sense tbh (you cannot use a turn from later in the game in the current turn!)
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




R - you are missing the case where the unit that fired Interceptor is then charged in the same player turn; here the model that intercepted IS able to fire overwatch, as it is not the next turn.
   
Made in ca
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar





Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

nosferatu1001 wrote:
R - you are missing the case where the unit that fired Interceptor is then charged in the same player turn; here the model that intercepted IS able to fire overwatch, as it is not the next turn.


Sure, but the OP mentioned nothing about being charged so I didn't think to look at that.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




I was just correcting the assertion that you can only fire the weapon once per game turn - with interceptor and overwatch it is entirely possible to charge the same player turn a model has intercepted.
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




thanks for all ur help, it sounds like he was doing it correctly - he went first and shot, then intercepted on my movement in turn 1. In turn 2 he didn't shoot but intercepted on my movement phase again. In turn 3 he did the same and in turn 4 I didn't have anything for him to intercept so his riptides didn't shoot any weapons.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
And could he fire his missile pods and the ion accelerator when he is intercepting, or just one weapon?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/11/12 13:25:45


 
   
Made in nl
Blood-Drenched Death Company Marine





The Netherlands

He can fire both, but any weapon he fires with Interceptor cannot be fired in his next shooting phase.

   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




thanks again!
   
Made in us
Fighter Ace






Denver, CO

So he was saying he's usings his "Turn 3 shooting phase" in regards to firing his interceptors. Sounds like he was doing it right, just shooting his interceptor weapons during each of your movement phases and then not using them or using a different weapon in his shooting phase.

Eagles soar, but weasels don't get sucked into Jet Engines.

My Little P&M Blog.
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/559842.page

My Blog on Random 40k Things, Painting, and some Narrative Batreps every now and then.
http://313cadian.blogspot.com

2000 Points IG
2000 Points SM 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: