Switch Theme:

Ork stormboys assulting with zagstruck (assult range query)  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Stealthy Grot Snipa





Hey guys,

I now have another question on a slightly different topic:
I deepstrike a squad of stormboys onto the table with zagstruck, So basically zagstruck allows me to assult on the turn I arrive at the cost of D3 models(representing that they are swooping in according to fluff). Lets say I now want to charge. As I have deepstruck, that counts as moving, but it doesnt specifically say ive moved with my jumppacks. So can I assult with re-rolls to my assult range? As if I was using my jumppack?

But then! based on the ork rules of stormboys, when the boys utilise there jumppacks to move or fall back I roll a D6, on a 1 a model takes a wound, but whatever the roll that is added to the distance they move.

So based on that does an assult using my jumppacks count as moving with jumppacks, thus meaning on the assult from deepstrike I get :
2D6 (with re-rolls)+D6?
Cos that would be awesome isnt the average 2D6 7? 8.5 with re-rolls?, and 3.5 for a single, so my average charge range would be 12"? max of 18?




Spoiler is old question: already been answered
Spoiler:
Basically Ive started playing and I run orks speed freaks style with battlewagons and trukks etc. But Im not sure on the best method of actually getting into assult with my units and im not sure I am even clear on the rules to follow. At the moment I believe its:

Open-topped = assult vehicle - so may always assult after a disembark
Disembark - can only disembark if the vehicle moved upto 6"

first turn -- So to me this seems like I can move say 12", then turbo boost 6"
Second turn -- I can then move 6", disembark within 6" and then assult with my unit.

That seems ok with say a battlewagon for example, as its got 14 front armour and could cope a round sat in front of the enemy.
But looking at a trukk or a warkopta (Fast, skimmer, open-topped) I just dont get it? I can move 12" with the skimmer and can flat out another 18" being both skimmer and fast. But then in the turn I want to assult from it I can only move 6"???
That just seems bad for me, as its armour 10, and in order to be close enough to move 6" in movement, disembark and then assult my enemy I am going to basically have to be in his face. But with armour 10 im not likely to see that second turn. Even with the jink save im not likely to survive much shooting.

Am I doing this wrong? What is the best method to get an assult unit out of a transport and into combat?

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/11/15 15:19:19


Favourite Game: When your Warboss on bike wrecks 3 vehicles simply by HoW - especially when his bike is a custom monowheel.

 
   
Made in se
Been Around the Block



Stockholm

Use terrain and avoid LOS to units with strong weapons if you have low armor transports. Most people who play games seem to use very little terrain, the 5+/4+ saves you get quite easily/Jinks actually do lots for survivability (if you have average luck with the dicegods) imo.

Chaos: 6000pts
Death Korps of Krieg: 2500pts

Starting up a paintblog to keep track of my different hobby projects!
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/605993.page 
   
Made in gb
Stealthy Grot Snipa





ok, thats fine I can utilise cover, just wanted to check I wasn't missing a trick

I suppose with the warkopta I can boost down the side of the map and hide it behind some nice big terrain, then move in and disembark next turn for the assult.

there are no rules about disembarking into terrain is there? obviously charging in terrain I have the 3D6, dicard highest, but my 6" disembark isnt obstructed by difficult terrain?

Favourite Game: When your Warboss on bike wrecks 3 vehicles simply by HoW - especially when his bike is a custom monowheel.

 
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






The disembark move is slowed by terrain as normal (it's mentioned in the disembarking rules if memory serves? I might be miss-remembering).

Don't forget that Red Paint Jobs will add an extra inch to the vehicle move without penalty, so you can move up to 7" and still disembark.
   
Made in gb
Leader of the Sept







The other thing to do is have lots of them. If you throw 5 trukks straight at one unit they are unlikely to be able to get all of them. Especially if you have other elements of your force cutting away their supporting units.

Please excuse any spelling errors. I use a tablet frequently and software keyboards are a pain!

Terranwing - w3;d1;l1
51st Dunedinw2;d0;l0
Cadre Coronal Afterglow w1;d0;l0 
   
Made in gb
Stealthy Grot Snipa





 Quanar wrote:
The disembark move is slowed by terrain as normal (it's mentioned in the disembarking rules if memory serves? I might be miss-remembering).
Don't forget that Red Paint Jobs will add an extra inch to the vehicle move without penalty, so you can move up to 7" and still disembark.


it is indeed Just found it myself
And thats also a very good point to note! I always (have only played 3 times) forget RPJ. Yeh currently I think ive lacked the target saturation with my trukks, need a couple more for good measure.


I now have another question on a slightly different topic:
I deepstrike a squad of stormboys onto the table with zagstruck, So basically zagstruck allows me to assult on the turn I arrive at the cost of D3 models(representing that they are swooping in according to fluff). Lets say I now want to charge. As I have deepstruck, that counts as moving, but it doesnt specifically say ive moved with my jumppacks. So can I assult with re-rolls to my assult range? As if I was using my jumppack?

But then! based on the ork rules of stormboys, when the boys utilise there jumppacks to move or fall back I roll a D6, on a 1 a model takes a wound, but whatever the roll that is added to the distance they move.

So based on that does an assult using my jumppacks count as moving with jumppacks, thus meaning on the assult from deepstrike I get :
2D6 (with re-rolls)+D6?
Cos that would be awesome isnt the average 2D6 7? 8.5 with re-rolls?, and 3.5 for a single, so my average charge range would be 12"? max of 18?
   
Made in ca
Nurgle Predator Driver with an Infestation




Brantford, Ontario

Im pretty sure the extra d6 is only in the movement phase. Deep strike is your movement, so no you do not get the extra d6 in the assault. But i would allow the reroll unless its FAQ'd?

Iron Warriors  
   
Made in gb
Stealthy Grot Snipa





 Guitarquero wrote:
Im pretty sure the extra d6 is only in the movement phase. Deep strike is your movement, so no you do not get the extra d6 in the assault. But i would allow the reroll unless its FAQ'd?


Yeh I had that feeling it would be movement only, an ork can dream Hmm, I dont know, Im not actually 100% sure where I find these FAQ's? I have been linked them before and had a read, is there an official place to view them?

Favourite Game: When your Warboss on bike wrecks 3 vehicles simply by HoW - especially when his bike is a custom monowheel.

 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




If you go to the GW site, the FAQs are there - you have to click on one of the menus to get to the FAQ entry at the bottom.

Ork stormboyz gain the +D6 any time they use their jet pakc, so yet they would gain it if e.g. they did anormal 6" move followed by a jet pack assault move.

I think you definitely COULD get the reroll, and the +D6", as although jetpacks allow you to DS I do not believe it states you ahev "used" your jetpack to do so - however I would imagine opponents would probably not appreciate that line of thought
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






The Ork FAQ changes Zag's Swoop entry to clarify that it does count as using the jump pack http://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_CustomProductCatalog/m3180058a_Orks_v1.4_APRIL13.pdf
Page 63 – Boss Zagstrukk, Swoop Attack.
Change the second and third sentences to read “They may not shoot that turn, but to represent their swooping dive into the enemy ranks they may charge that turn (though they count as having used their rokkit packs to move that turn). If the Vulcha Squad successfully charges on the turn it Deep Strikes into play, remove D3 Stormboyz at the beginning of the Fight sub-phase as crash landing casualties".
(Emphasis mine)

Linky to the Main FAQ page: http://www.games-workshop.com/gws/content/article.jsp?categoryId=1000018&pIndex=1&aId=3000006&multiPageMode=true&start=2

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/11/15 16:26:29


 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

I could have sworn there was a blurb about Jump models deep striking having counted as using their jump packs, but now I cannot find it.


Nevermind, it was part of the change for Vanguard Vet Heroic Intervention. And as easysauce pointed out below (and Quanar above) in the FAQ. I was looking for "jump packs" not rokkit packs.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2013/11/15 19:08:27


Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in ca
Lieutenant Colonel






the special rules for zagstruk specifically state that they count as having used jump packs for movement so cannot use them for assault,

i think its inteh ork faq IIRC

oop ninjad above

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: