| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/15 19:19:28
Subject: First blood on gun emplacements?
|
 |
Hooded Inquisitorial Interrogator
|
So if I dart across the field on turn 1 and obliterate my opponents quad gun on his aegis defense line, would that count as first blood? (assuming of course that its the first thing destroyed)
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/11/17 04:16:15
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/15 19:21:25
Subject: First bood on gun emplacements?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Is the quad gun a unit?
If so it counts for first blood.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/15 19:35:37
Subject: First bood on gun emplacements?
|
 |
Fighter Ace
|
If it's terrain though, and not considered a unit for something like tank shock, would it count then?
|
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/11/15 19:40:10
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/15 19:43:42
Subject: First bood on gun emplacements?
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
|
It's considered terrain for all purposes, you cannot bleed what has no blood right?
|
40K:
5000+ points W/D/L: 10/0/6
4000+ points W/D/L: 7/0/4
1500+ points W/D/L: 16/1/4
Fantasy
4000+ points W/D/L: 1/1/2
2500+ points W/D/L: 0/0/3
Legends 2013 Doubles Tournament Champion |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/15 20:48:02
Subject: Re:First bood on gun emplacements?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
How can an ADL be destroyed?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/15 20:49:29
Subject: First bood on gun emplacements?
|
 |
Legendary Master of the Chapter
|
Makutsu wrote:It's considered terrain for all purposes, you cannot bleed what has no blood right?
Tell that to drones and necrons
|
Unit1126PLL wrote: Scott-S6 wrote:And yet another thread is hijacked for Unit to ask for the same advice, receive the same answers and make the same excuses.
Oh my god I'm becoming martel.
Send help!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/15 21:15:22
Subject: First bood on gun emplacements?
|
 |
Abhorrent Grotesque Aberration
|
Actually it's not "for all purposes". pg 105. "The gun emplacement can be shot at and attacked in close combat." Pretty clear that for the purposes of being a target it is treated like a regular model.
That said, I find nothing that would suggest it is a "unit" and therefore, no, first blood can't be awarded.
|
------------------
"Why me?" Gideon begged, falling to his knees.
"Why not?" - Asdrubael Vect |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/15 21:24:51
Subject: Re:First bood on gun emplacements?
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
The ADL can't. The weapon emplacement can.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/15 22:29:29
Subject: First bood on gun emplacements?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
clively wrote:Actually it's not "for all purposes". pg 105. "The gun emplacement can be shot at and attacked in close combat." Pretty clear that for the purposes of being a target it is treated like a regular model.
That said, I find nothing that would suggest it is a "unit" and therefore, no, first blood can't be awarded.
It's not enough to be a "regular model" to be shot and attacked, it must also be treated as a unit for those rules to work.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/16 19:32:32
Subject: First bood on gun emplacements?
|
 |
Fighter Ace
|
Pyrian wrote:clively wrote:Actually it's not "for all purposes". pg 105. "The gun emplacement can be shot at and attacked in close combat." Pretty clear that for the purposes of being a target it is treated like a regular model.
That said, I find nothing that would suggest it is a "unit" and therefore, no, first blood can't be awarded.
It's not enough to be a "regular model" to be shot and attacked, it must also be treated as a unit for those rules to work.
Exactly, the book only gives you permission to shoot and close combat attack it, it says nowhere in that statement to treat it as a model or unit.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/17 03:50:44
Subject: First bood on gun emplacements?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
So... You're saying you cannot select it as a target?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/17 04:02:49
Subject: First bood on gun emplacements?
|
 |
Douglas Bader
|
Pyrian wrote:So... You're saying you cannot select it as a target?
No, you can obviously select it as a target because the rules grant special permission to treat a single specific object (which is not a model or unit) as a unit for one specific purpose (attacking it with shooting or close combat). It does not make it count as a model or unit in any other situation.
|
There is no such thing as a hobby without politics. "Leave politics at the door" is itself a political statement, an endorsement of the status quo and an attempt to silence dissenting voices. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/17 04:43:12
Subject: First blood on gun emplacements?
|
 |
Infiltrating Broodlord
|
Even if it were a unit(which it is not) it would only be worth a VP to the 'the opposing player'. Since it's not an enemy to anyone it would still not be worth anything.
|
-It is not the strongest of the Tyranids that survive but the ones most adaptive to change. |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|