Switch Theme:

Destroyer Weapons vs. Serpent Shields  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





There is an argument that Destroyer ignores those things too and IWND etc.

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





The Destroyer weapons state no saves of any kind can save a model, it lists FnP and then RP.

That it lists RP shows that they intend that nothing can undo/prevent the damage or bring the model back.
   
Made in us
Ragin' Ork Dreadnought




I think we can all agree that Games Workshop could use a lot of clarification in their rules, especially with their expansions. I can definitely see the reasoning behind no regeneration, it will not die, etc. But I also don't think that's RAI.
Anyways, destroyer weapons are dumb to begin with. A Doom of Malantai who's been around for a turn is just as likely to survive a hit as a Heirophant.
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





Waaaghpower wrote:
I think we can all agree that Games Workshop could use a lot of clarification in their rules, especially with their expansions. I can definitely see the reasoning behind no regeneration, it will not die, etc. But I also don't think that's RAI.
Anyways, destroyer weapons are dumb to begin with. A Doom of Malantai who's been around for a turn is just as likely to survive a hit as a Heirophant.


I agree it really isn't clear but the inclusion of RP for me illustrated that you can regrow stuff from a destroyer hit. It is all a bit sloppily defined. Which was fine when it just applied to Apocalypse which is always just a fun fest as it doesn't work competitively. Now they are in normal 40k with the Escalation Supplement it is more annoying.

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Waaaghpower wrote:
I think we can all agree that Games Workshop could use a lot of clarification in their rules, especially with their expansions. I can definitely see the reasoning behind no regeneration, it will not die, etc. But I also don't think that's RAI.
Anyways, destroyer weapons are dumb to begin with. A Doom of Malantai who's been around for a turn is just as likely to survive a hit as a Heirophant.


D weapons on a 1 have no effect on models with wounds

then they have a large chance to cause d3+1 wounds

and a 1/6 chance to cause d6+1 wounds.

a D weapon cannot 1 shot a Hierophant as easily as a Doom, and even against doom a hit from A D weapon has a decent chance to not remove it.
   
Made in us
Ragin' Ork Dreadnought




FlingitNow: Did you mean 'can't regrow stuff'? I assume so judging by context, but want to double check.
Blaktoof: I said 'Who's been around for a turn' because a Doom of Malantai usually has 10 wounds once he's been on the board for a couple of shooting phases. Especially in games with a ton of models on the board, like Apocalypse. Since the Destroyer hit doesn't cause instant death, just a bunch of wounds, the Doom is more at risk from a Deff Rolla than a Destroyer weapon.
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





FlingitNow: Did you mean 'can't regrow stuff'? I assume so judging by context, but want to double check.


Basically any rule that brings back models or wounds suffered. That is the only consistent conclusion I see from the inclusion of RP in the destroyer examples.

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter






Dimmamar

I'm actually pretty sure that Thawn's IWNY rule is not negated by casualty-via-Destroyer.
It says, "Every time Thawn is removed as a casualty, leave a suitable counter...." So the D-weapon can be satisfied because Thawn has been removed as a casualty--which is to say, he has not ignored or negated any wounds, he has received them all and died.
Then, on a good roll he can return to play.

I don't own SoB, and so cannot comment on Celestine.

Edit: and now I'm changing my claim to "pretty confused" regarding Thawn. RP uses the same wording, "removed as a casualty," and yet D-Weapons specifically call out this ability. Since it's the same wording, it'd be safe to say that Thawn cannot come back.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/12/11 18:52:45


LVO 2017 - Best GK Player

The Grimdark Future 8500 1500 6000 2000 5000


"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





Yeah same for Celestine too.

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Yep, any abilty SUCH AS RP that brings a model back is ignored with a D weapon, so no Thawn, Celestine, etc.
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





My interpretation for the question cited in the original post:

If a D weapon rolls a 1 - that single pen would be able to be downgraded to a glance. On a roll of a 2+, no penetrating hits are described; just that the an explodes result occurs.

Now as to if a Serpent Shield falls inline with the "such as" clause which cites FNP and RP as examples - that'll need to be FAQ'ed by someone since it can be argued either way in my opinion. Until there's a ruling, agree or roll for it prior to the game and then run with it that way.

EDIT:
As for Celestine - also a toss up since her Act of Faith happens the moment she dies but she's not truly returned until the start of the next turn. So again, discuss prior or roll for which way to play it and hope that it'll be FAQ'ed prior to 7th edition.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/12/12 18:08:28


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: