Switch Theme:

Riptide joined by a commander  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




 Moridan wrote:
The rule difference here is with regards to Monstrous Creatures. Look there.

Any chance you can be less cryptic?

What "rules difference", in 6th edition, exists with MCs? ICs have one page, page 39, and that describes the sum of their allowances and restrictions when joining units.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 Moridan wrote:
The rule difference here is with regards to Monstrous Creatures. Look there.

There's literally no difference between MCs and non-MCs as far as ICs are concerned.

Mephiston is as unjoinable as a C'Tan.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Martial Arts Fiday






Nashville, TN

I think it's legal, just not the intention. Which explains Tau's current dominance somewhat.

I'd love a FAQ one way or the other though.

"Holy Sh*&, you've opened my eyes and changed my mind about this topic, thanks Dakka OT!"

-Nobody Ever

Proverbs 18:2

"CHEESE!" is the battlecry of the ill-prepared.

 warboss wrote:

GW didn't mean to hit your wallet and I know they love you, baby. I'm sure they won't do it again so it's ok to purchase and make up.


Albatross wrote:I think SlaveToDorkness just became my new hero.

EmilCrane wrote:Finecast is the new Matt Ward.

Don't mess with the Blade and Bolter! 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






 Slayer le boucher wrote:
Riptides are units of a SINGLE model, the difference is that they can buy drones.


Crisis teams are units of SINGLE models, the difference is that they can gain more Crisis suits and Drones.

Broadside Teams are units of SINGLE models, the difference is that they can gain more Broadside suits and Drones.

Obliterators are units of SINGLE models, the difference is that they can gain more Obliterators.


This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Drones are strange and shouldn't count, because if only drones are left the unit is considered killed and some other strangeness that makes them not count as part of the unit (such as ICs with drones can still join units etc). However it doesn't explicitly say that drones don't count for the purposes of not being a single model unit, therefore you get to join your commander. If they FAQ ANYTHING at all at this point I would be happy, so don't hold your breath for this to get FAQ'd one way or another.
   
Made in us
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine



San Diego, CA

Kisada II wrote:
Drones are strange and shouldn't count, because if only drones are left the unit is considered killed and some other strangeness that makes them not count as part of the unit (such as ICs with drones can still join units etc). However it doesn't explicitly say that drones don't count for the purposes of not being a single model unit, therefore you get to join your commander. If they FAQ ANYTHING at all at this point I would be happy, so don't hold your breath for this to get FAQ'd one way or another.


This topic has been a hot mess for players for almost a whole year. It's hard to imagine that they will FAQ this at all. It took them less than a month to come out with an FAQ to allow Crisis Suits to equip two of the same weapon, but yet this remains unchanged.

7000
5000
1000
3000 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






Kisada II wrote:
Drones are strange and shouldn't count, because if only drones are left the unit is considered killed and some other strangeness that makes them not count as part of the unit (such as ICs with drones can still join units etc). However it doesn't explicitly say that drones don't count for the purposes of not being a single model unit, therefore you get to join your commander. If they FAQ ANYTHING at all at this point I would be happy, so don't hold your breath for this to get FAQ'd one way or another.



Most of that is incorrect.

A riptide that has died with 2 drones will still be a unit of 2 drones(and still be a riptide unit if that were to matter, it does in the case of a Fire warrior unit that is reduced to just 2 drones, it can still be joined by a fireblade)

ICs with drones have a special allowance to still join and leave units, but that is a special rule(the only special rule drones really have), and an IC with drones that Dies has his Drones still operate and his unit is not destroyed until the drones are destroyed

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Kisada II wrote:
because if only drones are left the unit is considered killed

Incorrect.

and some other strangeness that makes them not count as part of the unit (such as ICs with drones can still join units etc).

Incorrect. They are part of the unit. Perhaps you should read the rules for drones as to why your parenthetical is allowed.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




rigeld2 wrote:
Kisada II wrote:
because if only drones are left the unit is considered killed

Incorrect.

Sorry that shouldn't have been a blanked statement as it only applies to vehicles and ICs, reference section right after the army listings "the characters unit has, for the purposes of victory points, been destroyed" , something similar for vehicles

rigeld2 wrote:

and some other strangeness that makes them not count as part of the unit (such as ICs with drones can still join units etc).

Incorrect. They are part of the unit. Perhaps you should read the rules for drones as to why your parenthetical is allowed.

When the IC joins the unit the drones are no longer part of the IC's unit and become part of the unit joined, and read above "the character's unit has been destroyed" so clearly they are not counted as part of it for some purposes.
   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh






Dallas, TX

We'll the TO informed me it will not be allowed, for game balance reasons.

But that it's perfectly fine to take o'vesa and attach a commander to him.

Which does the exact same thing.

Meaning it's not a game balance issue at all, because this ruling puts the combo back into the game.

So the ruling is completely arbitrary.

Oh well. Can't expect everything to actually have a good reason.

40k Armies I play:


Glory for Slaanesh!

 
   
Made in us
Blood-Raging Khorne Berserker




South Chicago burbs

It slightly nerfs it since you can't join both of them to a second riptide giving both riptides the buff commander bonus.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/01/15 18:26:28


insaniak wrote:
YMDC has plenty of room for discussion veering away from the RAW, particularly in cases like this where what is being put forward as the RAW is absurd.

11k
4K
4k
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: