Switch Theme:

Void Shield Generator and blast markers  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Ground Crew




GTA

 Happyjew wrote:
 CveleZT wrote:
 Happyjew wrote:
 CveleZT wrote:
Its only incorrect to those that believe that 1 shot causes 7,233,532 hits like you. Hahahaha go make up your rules somewhere else.

Obviously, just like in a bunker or a vehicle 1 shot causes 1 hit unless the weapon profile states otherwise. Not as many hits as there are inside a vehicle or bunker.

Its obvious this is too complicated for you.


Just a few friendly reminders:

 Lorek wrote:
1. Rule #1 is Be Polite! It's easy!
6. No Thread Necromancy. If a thread is more than a month old, leave it alone. If you're really interested in the topic, start a new thread! There are exceptions, like updates to modelling blogs or threads in forums that don't get much traffic, but in general bringing back old threads is simply annoying to the bulk of the posters who have already moved on.


 Lorek wrote:
1. Don't make a statement without backing it up.
- You have to give premises for a conclusive statement; without this, there can be no debate. For more detail on how to actually create a logically supported conclusion, please read this article on how to have an intelligent rules debate.

1a. Don't say that someone is wrong, instead you explain why you think their opinion is wrong. Criticize the opinion, not the person.

5. Stick to discussing the rules, not the poster. Phrases like "Rules Lawyer", "Cheater" and "TFG" have no place in rules discussions. Don't depart from rules discussions by attaching value judgments to different interpretations.


Hahaha so you can say someone is wrong but when someone tells you you are wrong you get offended. Please. Get a life.

I provided my rule its right in the VSG entry. States 12 inch radius. Which means up down left right. Like a dome.

If you dont have the book you should not comment on this thread. As you are not reading the actual rule. I am and am providing you the facts for all my arguments. You just choose to ignore them.

Now instead of asking me to repeat myself how about YOU provide the rule that proves me wrong? Go on please, humor me.

Otherwise you posting this above is simply just sour grapes because you dont have an argument or a rule to back up your claims.

Sounds good?



Somebody saying I'm wrong does not bother me. I've been corrected numerous times in this forum, including on things regarding units I use, in the armies I play (rather recently I might add). What annoys me, is:
a) People being impolite. Sure I could click on the yellow triangle of friendliness and alert a mod, but why waste their time? It is possible, the other poster doesn't realize their comment offends. Of course, calling people immature, or saying something is complicated, is not very polite, and the poster should realize this.
b) digging up a thread that is over a month old, shortly after a more recent thread on the exact same topic has been locked.
c) People making claims and refuse to back them up with rules. For example, if someone claims that 1 shot = 1 hit, then when asked for a citation, they should be able to, and willing to give it. If I claimed that models without eyes cannot shoot, and I'm asked for a citation, I can (and will) give it.
d) If I tell someone they are wrong, I will try to show them why they are wrong. Usually the wording of the rule confuses them and clarification is needed. However, I don't ever recall saying to you "You're wrong." You on the other hand have posted multiple times things along the lines of "You're wrong, you haven't read the rule and it is very simple."

You've made claims and when asked to back them up you ignore it. You continually state that poster s have not read the rule. I have. In fact I've read it enough times on these threads I can probably quote it almost verbatim. Probably something along the lines of "Any shooting attacks that originates from outside the shield zone and hits a target within the shield zone instead hits the shield." You are arguing that any weapon that generates multiple hits per shot, instead only generates 1 hit. Where are you getting 1 hit from? Clearly, you are not getting it from the Void Shield rules, because it never mentions shots. It's not the blast rules, as the only way to determine hits with blast weapons is to count the models underneath the marker, and the shield is clearly not a model. So I'm asking for a page number in the BRB that states "1 shot = 1 hit". Please tell me what page number that it is on and I'll not only concede but will apologize to all who said 1 hit with blast weapons.


Again I am not insulting anyone, I have also only returned in kind the comments that were given to me. If someone says I am wrong I will say they are wrong.

As for the rule 1 shot = 1 hit

Go to page 12 of BRB and read the Roll to Hit rule.

"Roll "A" D6 for each shot that is in range." Not Roll X D6 for each shot that is in range"

Now please do as you said you would do since you were so adamant about it.

Thanks


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 grendel083 wrote:
 CveleZT wrote:
Obviously I was referring only to treating it like a bunker to units within its range. But I see again that's WAY to complicated for you.
Insults again? Can't come up with a rules based argument, so you still resort to them?

Here is something simple enough, shield takes only 1 hit from a template weapon unless the profile of the weapon specifically says so. Regardless of how many troops are under it.
That's an assumption. Can you quote any rule to back that up?

Again you haven't shown me the rule that say it takes any more than that. You are just as you say... imagining and inventing rules that don't exist without proving anything to back up your argument.
It's your statement. As per the rules of this forum you should back it up.

And you want me to prove a rule doesn't exist? My proof is simple, your lack of being able to supply it. I've asked you, and anyone else to provide the rule. No one can.

I've given examples before showing that 1 shot at a single model target can generate more than 1 hit.
You chose to ignore that.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 CveleZT wrote:
It clearly states shots from outside the 12'' radius hit the shield first.
No it doesn't. The rule is the unit must be hit, before the shooting attack is transferred. The unit must be hit first.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 Happyjew wrote:
So I'm asking for a page number in the BRB that states "1 shot = 1 hit". Please tell me what page number that it is on and I'll not only concede but will apologize to all who said 1 hit with blast weapons.
Count me in, I'll even hand write the letter of concession and post it.

How many times has this question been asked? How many threads?
No one has provided the quote, nor made a decent attempt to prove it.


Go to page 12 of BRB and read the Roll to Hit rule.

"Roll "A" D6 for each shot that is in range." Not Roll X D6 for each shot that is in range"

Thats the definition of 1 shot = 1 hit. Regardless if its template or not. You roll 1 scatter die instead of a D6. Now I expect an apology from you as well.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/03/06 02:59:51


Get your facts first, then you can distort them as you please. -- Mark Twain 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

 CveleZT wrote:
Again I am not insulting anyone,

You've not been insulting?

Just a small list:
 CveleZT wrote:
Its obvious this is too complicated for you.

CveleZT wrote:People here must be willfully ignorant.

CveleZT wrote:You are extremely ignorant but I forgive you.


I'm curious as how you do not see those as not insulting.

I have also only returned in kind the comments that were given to me. If someone says I am wrong I will say they are wrong.

No, people say you are wrong, and you reply with things such as "You are ignorant". While there are a couple people who tend to get a little impolite, for the most part people here don't respond by saying that people are stupid. Sorry, ignorant, don't want to be accused of putting words in your mouth.

As for the rule 1 shot = 1 hit

Go to page 12 of BRB and read the Roll to Hit rule.

"Roll "A" D6 for each shot that is in range." Not Roll X D6 for each shot that is in range"


That tells you how to generate hits. Again there is no rule that says that 1 shot=1 hit.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

 CveleZT wrote:
Go to page 12 of BRB and read the Roll to Hit rule.

"Roll "A" D6 for each shot that is in range." Not Roll X D6 for each shot that is in range"

Thats the definition of 1 shot = 1 hit. Regardless if its template or not. You roll 1 scatter die instead of a D6. Now I expect an apology from you as well.
That rule at no point ever says one shot can only generate one hit.
That rule simply says how you roll to hit. There is no limitation placed on number of hits.

So you still haven't proved your statement. Unless you can prove (with rules) that one shot can only generate one hit, then your theory on shields remains incorrect.

And your apology for all the insults you threw at various users is still long overdue.
   
Made in ca
Ground Crew




GTA

 Happyjew wrote:
 CveleZT wrote:
Again I am not insulting anyone,

You've not been insulting?

Just a small list:
 CveleZT wrote:
Its obvious this is too complicated for you.

CveleZT wrote:People here must be willfully ignorant.

CveleZT wrote:You are extremely ignorant but I forgive you.


I'm curious as how you do not see those as not insulting.

I have also only returned in kind the comments that were given to me. If someone says I am wrong I will say they are wrong.

No, people say you are wrong, and you reply with things such as "You are ignorant". While there are a couple people who tend to get a little impolite, for the most part people here don't respond by saying that people are stupid. Sorry, ignorant, don't want to be accused of putting words in your mouth.

As for the rule 1 shot = 1 hit

Go to page 12 of BRB and read the Roll to Hit rule.

"Roll "A" D6 for each shot that is in range." Not Roll X D6 for each shot that is in range"


That tells you how to generate hits. Again there is no rule that says that 1 shot=1 hit.


HAHAHAHAAAAaaaaaaa 1 shot = 1 hit is the definition of "Roll "A" D6 for each shot that is in range."

No apology? I see how good your word is and I am not surprised. You have lost all credibility here and to anyone reading this.

Get your facts first, then you can distort them as you please. -- Mark Twain 
   
Made in ca
Regular Dakkanaut




I agree with the rude guy.

Otherwise I'm supposed to pretend the blast magically knows how many models it would have hit. Then goes back in time and hits the shield instead.

However we know it hits the shield first.


   
Made in ca
Mekboy on Kustom Deth Kopta




you mean 1 shot is a roll for a chance to hit. it won't always equal 1 hit. you can miss after all.

you can also quote template weapons pg 52, units with more than 1 shot with a template type is resolved one at a time.

I voted 10 hits in the poll, but who knows how GW will faq it if they ever do. good luck to you.



 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

 CveleZT wrote:
 Happyjew wrote:
That tells you how to generate hits. Again there is no rule that says that 1 shot=1 hit.


HAHAHAHAAAAaaaaaaa 1 shot = 1 hit is the definition of "Roll "A" D6 for each shot that is in range."

No apology? I see how good your word is and I am not surprised. You have lost all credibility here and to anyone reading this.
Lost credibility? Happyjew has posted well thought out responses, rules quotes where required, and despite your constant insults has managed to not loose his temper and remain polite. A credit to good posters everywhere.

The same cannot be said for you.

The rule you provided does not show that 1 shot can only generate 1 hit.
Can you provide a rule showing this, and can you do it politely?
   
Made in ca
Ground Crew




GTA

 grendel083 wrote:
 CveleZT wrote:
Go to page 12 of BRB and read the Roll to Hit rule.

"Roll "A" D6 for each shot that is in range." Not Roll X D6 for each shot that is in range"

Thats the definition of 1 shot = 1 hit. Regardless if its template or not. You roll 1 scatter die instead of a D6. Now I expect an apology from you as well.
That rule at no point ever says one shot can only generate one hit.
That rule simply says how you roll to hit. There is no limitation placed on number of hits.

So you still haven't proved your statement. Unless you can prove (with rules) that one shot can only generate one hit, then your theory on shields remains incorrect.

And your apology for all the insults you threw at various users is still long overdue.


I was expecting this. Your word is just as good as your argument. Virtually non-existent.

Obviously something as simply stated as "Roll "A" D6 for each shot that is in range." is way to complicated for you. And you just cant admit being wrong.

You asked for something. You were provided the exact page and rule. And now you are in denial.

Thanks for proving me right. Have a nice life.



Get your facts first, then you can distort them as you please. -- Mark Twain 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

Stormbreed wrote:
However we know it hits the shield first.
I would say fluff it hits the shield first. The actual rule says the unit must be hit.
So rules wise the unit is hit first.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 CveleZT wrote:
You asked for something. You were provided the exact page and rule. And now you are in denial.
Its called "failure to deliver" which is how I would describe your rules quote.
It doesn't say what you claim it says.
Please try again, see if you can do it with rules instead of insults (something I doubt based on track record).

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/03/06 03:25:22


 
   
Made in ca
Ground Crew




GTA

As I said above in the rules it says the shield is hit first at a 12'' radius. Hence the need for AV12. Otherwise, this would be just a cover save.

Hence, just like with regards to shooting at a bunker or a vehicle it doesn't make any difference how many models are in the bunker or vehicle to how many hits the bunker or vehicle take.

PS Im gonna ignore some people on here from now on as they dont mean what they say and they break their word when they are proven obviously wrong when provided clear evidence they ask for.

Get your facts first, then you can distort them as you please. -- Mark Twain 
   
Made in ca
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar





Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

 CveleZT wrote:
As I said above in the rules it says the shield is hit first at a 12'' radius. Hence the need for AV12. Otherwise, this would be just a cover save.

Hence, just like with regards to shooting at a bunker or a vehicle it doesn't make any difference how many models are in the bunker or vehicle to how many hits the bunker or vehicle take.

PS Im gonna ignore some people on here from now on as they dont mean what they say and they break their word when they are proven obviously wrong when provided clear evidence they ask for.


Underlined : But that's not at all what the rules for the VSG say.
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

 CveleZT wrote:
As I said above in the rules it says the shield is hit first at a 12'' radius.
No it doesn't. The rules don't say that at all.
The unit must be hit, then the shooting attack is transferred. According to the rules the unit is hit first. And it never says the hit occurs at 12"

Hence, just like with regards to shooting at a bunker or a vehicle it doesn't make any difference how many models are in the bunker or vehicle to how many hits the bunker or vehicle take.
Vehicle and bunker rules are nothing like the PVS rules. The only similarity is the AV value. Nothing tells you to treat it like a vehicle or bunker. So rules for those are irrelevant.

PS Im gonna ignore some people on here from now on as they dont mean what they say and they break their word when they are proven obviously wrong when provided clear evidence they ask for.
You've proven no one wrong.
The rule you've posted does not state that one shot can only cause one hit.
Rules have been provided showing the opposite.

Your apology to all the users you insulted is now very long overdue.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/03/06 03:54:54


 
   
Made in ca
Ground Crew




GTA

Rorschach9 wrote:
 CveleZT wrote:
As I said above in the rules it says the shield is hit first at a 12'' radius. Hence the need for AV12. Otherwise, this would be just a cover save.

Hence, just like with regards to shooting at a bunker or a vehicle it doesn't make any difference how many models are in the bunker or vehicle to how many hits the bunker or vehicle take.

PS Im gonna ignore some people on here from now on as they dont mean what they say and they break their word when they are proven obviously wrong when provided clear evidence they ask for.


Underlined : But that's not at all what the rules for the VSG say.


Indeed, the part that says you are shooting at the unit is simply because of range of your weapons.

You must be in range to target a unit but even though you shoot at it, all shoots (template or not) will hit the shield first until the shield is destroyed. They hit the shield at a different location than the unit. Somewhere on that 24''+ diameter.


Get your facts first, then you can distort them as you please. -- Mark Twain 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

 CveleZT wrote:
Indeed, the part that says you are shooting at the unit is simply because of range of your weapons.
No it's not. The rule requires the unit be hit. That's a lot more than simply range. More made up rules.

You must be in range to target a unit but even though you shoot at it, all shoots (template or not) will hit the shield first until the shield is destroyed. They hit the shield at a different location than the unit. Somewhere on that 24''+ diameter.
Again wrong. No part of the rule ever says the shield is hit first. Completely made up.
No rule says the hit is at a different location. Completely made up.
No rule says the shot hits at the edge of the shields radius. Completely made up.

So you admit your making up rules then? Or can you quote these rules?
   
Made in ca
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar





Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

 CveleZT wrote:
Rorschach9 wrote:
 CveleZT wrote:
As I said above in the rules it says the shield is hit first at a 12'' radius. Hence the need for AV12. Otherwise, this would be just a cover save.

Hence, just like with regards to shooting at a bunker or a vehicle it doesn't make any difference how many models are in the bunker or vehicle to how many hits the bunker or vehicle take.

PS Im gonna ignore some people on here from now on as they dont mean what they say and they break their word when they are proven obviously wrong when provided clear evidence they ask for.


Underlined : But that's not at all what the rules for the VSG say.


Indeed, the part that says you are shooting at the unit is simply because of range of your weapons.

You must be in range to target a unit but even though you shoot at it, all shoots (template or not) will hit the shield first until the shield is destroyed. They hit the shield at a different location than the unit. Somewhere on that 24''+ diameter.


The VSG rules state absolutely none of what you're claiming here.
In fact, it says that a shooting attack that originates from outside the projected shield that HITS a unit inside the shield instead hits the shield. Clearly stating you must hit the unit first, then the attack hits the shield instead. There is nothing about the range or "hits the shield first" .. instead, not first. You absolutely must hit the unit first to instead hit the shield.

How do you determine if you have hit the unit? Roll to hit. That has now determined a number of hits. Now instead, hit the shield. You've already determined # of hits. Resolve those hits on the shield.
   
Made in ca
Ground Crew




GTA

Rorschach9 wrote:
 CveleZT wrote:
Rorschach9 wrote:
 CveleZT wrote:
As I said above in the rules it says the shield is hit first at a 12'' radius. Hence the need for AV12. Otherwise, this would be just a cover save.

Hence, just like with regards to shooting at a bunker or a vehicle it doesn't make any difference how many models are in the bunker or vehicle to how many hits the bunker or vehicle take.

PS Im gonna ignore some people on here from now on as they dont mean what they say and they break their word when they are proven obviously wrong when provided clear evidence they ask for.


Underlined : But that's not at all what the rules for the VSG say.


Indeed, the part that says you are shooting at the unit is simply because of range of your weapons.

You must be in range to target a unit but even though you shoot at it, all shoots (template or not) will hit the shield first until the shield is destroyed. They hit the shield at a different location than the unit. Somewhere on that 24''+ diameter.


The VSG rules state absolutely none of what you're claiming here.
In fact, it says that a shooting attack that originates from outside the projected shield that HITS a unit inside the shield instead hits the shield. Clearly stating you must hit the unit first, then the attack hits the shield instead. There is nothing about the range or "hits the shield first" .. instead, not first. You absolutely must hit the unit first to instead hit the shield.

How do you determine if you have hit the unit? Roll to hit. That has now determined a number of hits. Now instead, hit the shield. You've already determined # of hits. Resolve those hits on the shield.



This is the whole reason there is a debate on this. Since they use the word instead the shield is its own unit with an AV12. While generator is AV13. Based on this my interpretation is that even if there is no unit under the template after it scatters the shield still takes a hit as long as part of the template is anywhere within 12 inches of the generator. Hence it cannot cause multiple hits on anything under the shield as the shield is hit instead of whatever its protecting until its destroyed.



Get your facts first, then you can distort them as you please. -- Mark Twain 
   
Made in ca
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar





Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

 CveleZT wrote:

This is the whole reason there is a debate on this. Since they use the word instead the shield is its own unit with an AV12. While generator is AV13. Based on this my interpretation is that even if there is no unit under the template after it scatters the shield still takes a hit as long as part of the template is anywhere within 12 inches of the generator. Hence it cannot cause multiple hits on anything under the shield as the shield is hit instead of whatever its protecting until its destroyed.


That is a perfectly fine house rule, but it is merely that. If there is no unit under the template (or no unit hit within the shield) then the shield is not hit. The rule clearly states that you must first determine that you have hit a unit inside the shield. If you have not met that condition you have no permission to still hit the shield (nor any way to work out a number of hits on the shield as it is not a unit). If you have not, in order to hit the shield at that point requires making up a rule that does not exist.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/03/06 05:42:43


 
   
Made in ca
Ground Crew




GTA

Rorschach9 wrote:
 CveleZT wrote:

This is the whole reason there is a debate on this. Since they use the word instead the shield is its own unit with an AV12. While generator is AV13. Based on this my interpretation is that even if there is no unit under the template after it scatters the shield still takes a hit as long as part of the template is anywhere within 12 inches of the generator. Hence it cannot cause multiple hits on anything under the shield as the shield is hit instead of whatever its protecting until its destroyed.


That is a perfectly fine house rule, but it is merely that. If there is no unit under the template (or no unit hit within the shield) then the shield is not hit. The rule clearly states that you must first determine that you have hit a unit inside the shield. If you have not met that condition you have no permission to still hit the shield (nor any way to work out a number of hits on the shield as it is not a unit). If you have not, in order to hit the shield at that point requires making up a rule that does not exist.



That's where we disagree, their wording in the SA clearly makes the shield itself a unit with AV12, 1 to 3 layers and radius of 12". Since they don't call it one either way, unless they clear it up this is open to interpretation and not just a house rule.

Get your facts first, then you can distort them as you please. -- Mark Twain 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





You'd have to quote that wording then because it literally doesn't exist in my copy.

Because you've invented it. As you said above, that's your interpretation - which has no basis in actual rules.

Please engage in an honest debate where no rules are made up. Thanks.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut




So if I death ray infantry underneath a void shield, I get hits equal to the number of models under the line on the shield with a S10 AP1 weapon?

Seems pretty silly when if I was shooting the unit itself, I'd only get one hit... But because I shoot those guys sitting at the side of it, I get 10.

I'd probably just take one hit and assume that I hit the shield once.
   
Made in ca
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar





Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

sonicaucie wrote:
So if I death ray infantry underneath a void shield, I get hits equal to the number of models under the line on the shield with a S10 AP1 weapon?

Seems pretty silly when if I was shooting the unit itself, I'd only get one hit... But because I shoot those guys sitting at the side of it, I get 10.

I'd probably just take one hit and assume that I hit the shield once.


"The unit itself" .. as in the infantry unit? You'd get the hits equal to the number of models under the line. The line is not "on" the shield. You target the unit that happens to be within the shield. You roll (or in the case of the deathray or template, count) for hits. Then instead, you hit the shield.
Silly or not, that is the rule.
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA


This topic apparently is too hot for people to discuss in a rational manner, so it's going to be locked for the time being.

Please DO NOT start another thread on this topic in the meantime.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: