Switch Theme:

Mawloc and Transports  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in nl
Brainy Zoanthrope





What would happen if a Mawloc deepstrikes on a transport and destroys it?

If it gets destroyd on the first blast do the models inside take place in the crater thenn take the second hit?
Or does the mawloc get put down first meaning the passengers cannot deploy and be destroyd?

Same qeustion if its the second blast that destroyst it.

   
Made in gb
Tough Tyrant Guard





SHE-FI-ELD

Err, yes, models that were inside take the 2nd hit. The first is fully resolved before the 2nd happens, But the models will be deploying before you see if you can place the mawloc, and there is no targetting restrictions. That would mean if you destroy it on a 2nd hit you will roll mishap.

From what I remember.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/01/15 09:12:19


It's my codex and I'll cry If I want to.

Tactical objectives are fantastic 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





I think I agree with Nem, although the timing of who gets to place first, the Mawloc or the troops inside the transport if the transport gets destroyed in the second hit is interesting. Mawloc is placed after casualties are removed, but that would occur at the same time as the troops emergency disembarking. I think its going to come down to a die roll until they FAQ it.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Both players have to do something at the same time, so controlling player decides
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




nosferatu1001 wrote:
Both players have to do something at the same time, so controlling player decides


Yup, the Mawloc really got a buffing with that 2 hit rule.
   
Made in no
Liche Priest Hierophant





Bergen

Meaning a mawlock vs rhine has a chance to instant kill everone inside if it does not scatter? That sems to good.

   
Made in ca
Regular Dakkanaut




With near perfect rolls, sure it could. But anything less than perfect and you risk losing the mawloc.
   
Made in us
Combat Jumping Garuda



Everywhere

nosferatu1001 wrote:
Both players have to do something at the same time, so controlling player decides


Sweet.

 
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Busby,
Also if a single player has to do two things at the same time, the player whom's turn it is decides which to resolve first.

8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in im
Long-Range Land Speeder Pilot





ok this took a bit of digging on my part but p80 of the BRB has the placement of the passengers being a part of the damage to the vehicle process.

this would mean that the passengers would be placed before the mawlock
   
Made in us
Water-Caste Negotiator




Louisiana

What happens if the mawloc wrecks a vehicle on the first hit. Does that mean that it gets forced back into reserves since it can not displace the vehicle? Or does he have a special ruling that always makes them blow up, or choose another location?
   
Made in im
Long-Range Land Speeder Pilot





a wreked vehicle counts as terrain but is not impassable terrain, so it would arrive and take a DT test as normal for Deep striking (which due to it being an MC auto passes) however if it is a transport vehicle the unit would then be placed and mawloc would then need to resolve it's second hit and go back into reserves (I think that's how it works based of rumours ect, not sure what happens to it after the second hit is resolved)
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

 nutty_nutter wrote:
a wreked vehicle counts as terrain but is not impassable terrain, so it would arrive and take a DT test as normal for Deep striking (which due to it being an MC auto passes) however if it is a transport vehicle the unit would then be placed and mawloc would then need to resolve it's second hit and go back into reserves (I think that's how it works based of rumours ect, not sure what happens to it after the second hit is resolved)


Almost. If the second hit doesn't clear enough space for the Mawloc it's a mishap.
   
Made in im
Long-Range Land Speeder Pilot





ah cool, I don't have the nid codex so I wasn't sure on what it said, that is nutts that it get two tries to clear up space before being placed or misshaping, its going to take a serious amount of bad luck for it to not clear a path!
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

Unless you're gunning for a transport, in which case it takes a hell of a lot of good luck to clear a path.
   
Made in no
Liche Priest Hierophant





Bergen

I am a bit uncertai on the wording. How much space must the second warlock hit clear? Can he still be plaved withing 1" of other units like after the first hit?

   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




It specifically allows placement within 1" of an enemy unit with no mishap, stated in the codex.
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




nosferatu1001 wrote:
It specifically allows placement within 1" of an enemy unit with no mishap, stated in the codex.


You can be within 1" BUT if you end up in base contact with enemy models it is still a mishap.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Eye of Terror

If the vehicle is destroyed then the occupants are close hatched.

My blog... http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com

Facebook...
https://m.facebook.com/Terminus6Est/

DT:60+S++++G++++M+++B+++I+++Pw40k89/d#++D+++A++++/eWD150R++++T(T)DM+++ 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: