Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/17 00:04:02
Subject: Re:Independent Question
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
BlackTalos wrote: grendel083 wrote: BlackTalos wrote:Have you got the exact rules for the beam in your codex? Could you quote them?
I don't mean to sound rude, but if you don't have access to the rule being discussed you really shouldn't be telling people how it's played.
I suppose quoting and basing myself on the BrB RaW is not enough? We must own the codexes we discuss in YMDC?
You need access to a rule to discuss a rule, certainly. Otherwise you quite litterally don't know what you're talking about.
And this website cannot be used as a substitute for owning a codex.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/17 00:18:53
Subject: Re:Independent Question
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
grendel083 wrote: BlackTalos wrote: grendel083 wrote: BlackTalos wrote:Have you got the exact rules for the beam in your codex? Could you quote them?
I don't mean to sound rude, but if you don't have access to the rule being discussed you really shouldn't be telling people how it's played.
I suppose quoting and basing myself on the BrB RaW is not enough? We must own the codexes we discuss in YMDC?
You need access to a rule to discuss a rule, certainly. Otherwise you quite litterally don't know what you're talking about.
And this website cannot be used as a substitute for owning a codex.
Agreed, however a Death Ray follows the standard rules in the shooting sequence, if i am to believe most posters in the thread. It is compared to a template weapon.
Therefore my argument, contained within the BrB still applies?
|
DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage. Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/17 00:41:42
Subject: Re:Independent Question
|
 |
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver
|
If possible, sure. If not, then no. It definitely 'does' help to be able to discuss the rules found therein though no?
In this case though the weapon lacks any specific reason to all target the same point on the map, and 'definitely' supersedes the normal rules for targeting a unit. Ergo, you are free to fire it as it is written by selecting points on the table as per it's write-up and do not have to declare any given unit as the recipient of the death you are about to unleash.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/01/17 00:47:21
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/17 00:48:16
Subject: Independent Question
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
You know what I like most about Forgeworld, compared to GW? Ask them a question you get an answer.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/17 01:52:28
Subject: Independent Question
|
 |
Wicked Canoptek Wraith
The Golden Throne
|
It is very different from Beam, so don't get all snippy.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/01/17 01:56:04
Build a man a fire, he will be warm for a night. Set a man on fire, and he will be warm for the rest of his life. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/17 06:47:40
Subject: Independent Question
|
 |
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin
|
Psienesis wrote:The Pylon rules seem to suggest that the initial selected point on the table is the "target".
That would suggest, then, that every other Pylon in the squadron uses that point as well in this shooting phase, but rolls its 3d6 separately, and could then (conceivably) draw lines out to the limit of your 3d6 (for each Pylon) and land hits on who/whatever unlucky bastards happen to be under those lines.
Seems, to me, to be the best agreement between Pylons and regular unit-shooting rules. You're now all shooting at the same target, inasmuch as a Pylon has a target.
This sounds sensible. I've asked Forgeworld...
What's the normal process for faqs?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/18 23:33:22
Subject: Independent Question
|
 |
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin
|
Happyjew wrote:You know what I like most about Forgeworld, compared to GW? Ask them a question you get an answer.
I hope you're right. I have emailed. So far: no response.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/19 01:48:31
Subject: Independent Question
|
 |
Long-Range Land Speeder Pilot
|
normal process for a FAQ is you email the GW team, they send you an automated response thanking you for sending a question and explain that it may or may not make it into the FAQ when they update (on their invisible schedule)
the FW one is usually when they feel like it, although they used to at least answer questions via email too....that being said that will still fall victim to the 'joe blogs who checks the emails is not a rules writer and as such is not a credible source' or 'it cannot be verified, so it cannot be submitted as proof'.
in short you can ask but there's no guarantees of an answer or resolution to your issue.
back on topic a little, picking a point on the table does not = not electing a target unit.
your replacing your rolls to hit with the placement of a 'point' or marker and rolling 3D6 for the distance covered, you still have to nominate a unit to shoot at. the deathray rules themselves do not specifically state that they do not include the nomination process so by default they must.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/20 09:41:35
Subject: Independent Question
|
 |
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin
|
From Forgeworld, re Pylon squadrons:
Thank you for your email. All the Deathrays have to fire at the same target, but the each sentry pylon fires individually. So, they all have to nominate the same point on the table, but then each of them rolls 3D6 to see how far the ray extends, but this has to be in the same direction.
|
|
 |
 |
|