Switch Theme:

Death Ray qu + heldrake  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Wicked Canoptek Wraith






I still have two AA barges in my list, but i see your point

Planet 40k
 
   
Made in us
Shas'ui with Bonding Knife





A sneaky tactic is to use a, ADL Quadgun manned with Scarabs. Their Entropic Strike rule works in shooting attacks and you should be able to down the Heldrake quickly, and still be effective against heavy armor.

Note, this tactic can be considered super cheesy.
   
Made in gb
Wicked Canoptek Wraith






Wow thats legal? Thats ultra cheese lol. Shouldnt really be legal if your "ripping armour" via quad gun

Planet 40k
 
   
Made in fr
Trazyn's Museum Curator





on the forum. Obviously

Carl4t7 wrote:
Wow thats legal? Thats ultra cheese lol. Shouldnt really be legal if your "ripping armour" via quad gun


Sort of. It's more of a loop hole where the scarab's rules doesn't specify that it's limited to close combat attacks.

Same problem with Lilith, really.

What I have
~4100
~1660

Westwood lives in death!
Peace through power!

A longbeard when it comes to Necrons and WHFB. Grumble Grumble

 
   
Made in us
Shas'ui with Bonding Knife





Here is the thread on Scarabs using the Quadgun
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/571422.page

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/01/27 19:06:57


 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





Not real familier with new Necrons however if the weapon hits automatically then it can hit a flyer so long as it's not a template.

BRB FAQ "Q: Does a weapon that hits automatically, still hit automatically
when making a Snap Shot? (p13)
A: Yes."

   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Wagguy80,
This one is more specific, as it talks directly about the Hard to Hit special rule that flyers have and not just snap shots in general. The existence of the below Frequently Asked Question showed that the writers did not fore-see certain weapon interactions, such as what happens if a weapon hit's automatically or weapons that create a line instead of using any other template, and have since changed the Rule to include these weapon interactions as well. The answer which you quoted talkes only about weapons which are forced to fire Snap Shots while automatically hitting, granting permission for them to do so, and does not address the additional restrictions that weapons which automatically hit are unable to interact with flyers.


Q: How do maelstroms, novas and beams – or indeed any
weapon that doesn’t need to roll To Hit or hits automatically
interact with Zooming Flyers and Swooping Flying Monstrous
Creatures? (p13)
A: Only Snap Shots can hit Zooming Flyers and Swooping
Flying Monstrous Creatures. Therefore, any attacks that use
blast markers, templates, create a line of/area of effect or
otherwise don’t roll to hit cannot target them. This includes
weapons such as the Necron Doom Scythe’s death ray or the
Deathstrike missile of the Imperial Guard, and psychic
powers that follow the rule for maelstroms, beams, and Novas

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/01/28 00:36:30


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





Like I said I wasn't familier with this specific piece of Necron equipment.

Just didn't want confusion between not rolling to hit, and auto-hit.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: