Switch Theme:

Tau Support Fire and LoS  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in nl
Fresh-Faced New User




Hi All, was playing my Deamons agains Tau and obviously wanted to charge the gak out of Tau. However, when I charged some suits my opponent used support fire to fire with a squad of fire warriors that was within 6". Normally this is of course just following the rules, but in this case it was clear that the squad of fire warrior did not have a LoS on my charging unit.

I thought the squad would not be able to overwatch as they do not have LoS, however my opponent stated LoS was not needed as it was not explicitly mentioned in the rules. I would say we would therefore fall back on the 'normal' rules that state LoS is needed for firing.

What are your thoughts??
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Short of using something like a Smart Missile System, he cannot fire. He is perfectly free to use up his overwatch opportunity to not fire, but that doesn't get around the fact that actually firing will require LoS.
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Minifan,
You will find everyone here in agreement, because it is in the Rules that Line of Sight is required:
Over-watch uses the Shooting Sequence, which contains a requirement that the target be in range and in line of sight. If you have an opponent that states the Overwatch rule does not use the normal shooting sequence, even though it contains instructions to treat it as a normal shooting attack, then point out that they have no ability to Roll to Hit or Roll to Wound or Allocate Wounds and therefore can never remove a model as a Casualty. All of that comes from the same Shooting Sequence that contains the restrictions related to line of sight and weapon range.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/02/15 18:01:05


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut




Minifan wrote:
Hi All, was playing my Deamons agains Tau and obviously wanted to charge the gak out of Tau. However, when I charged some suits my opponent used support fire to fire with a squad of fire warriors that was within 6". Normally this is of course just following the rules, but in this case it was clear that the squad of fire warrior did not have a LoS on my charging unit.

I thought the squad would not be able to overwatch as they do not have LoS, however my opponent stated LoS was not needed as it was not explicitly mentioned in the rules. I would say we would therefore fall back on the 'normal' rules that state LoS is needed for firing.

What are your thoughts??


For the purposes of supporting fire, if a supporting unit can't see them, it can't overwatch.

I've always wondered about overwatch and terrain though. I've once been charged by daemons through a wall. So, I didn't have LoS and thus couldn't overwatch. But I was confused because it didn't make sense that a unit being charged would not get to wildly fire at daemons running towards them regardless of where they're coming from.

Would I say that the wall is impassable and they have to go round? Or do I just accept that I can't fire at what I'm being charged with if the guy is moving his units through terrain pieces?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/02/16 10:03:47


 
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






The Daemons need at least one model to have LoS to you, or they can't charge (p20 - Declare Charge). So you'd have at least one model able to Overwatch.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Not necessarily from the supporting squad though.
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






nosferatu1001 wrote:
Not necessarily from the supporting squad though.
Quite right: My post was in response to Sonicaucie, who sounded like his example was not about Supporting Fire. Given that the thread is about Supporting Fire, I definitely should have been clearer.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: