Switch Theme:

Dedicated Transports and victory points.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




If you pop something like a Rhino or a Trukk, but you don't manage to kill the men that were inside, does it award a victory point and first blood or not?

Everyone at the hobbystore I play at says it doesn't count since it is part of that unit, and I'm the only one who says it does count. Also I'm right 99.9% of the time but they always contest my claims.

Is there a page in the BRB that states the rules behind this?
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

Transport and unit are completely seperate units.
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

Snoipah wrote:
If you pop something like a Rhino or a Trukk, but you don't manage to kill the men that were inside, does it award a victory point and first blood or not?

Everyone at the hobbystore I play at says it doesn't count since it is part of that unit, and I'm the only one who says it does count. Also I'm right 99.9% of the time but they always contest my claims.

Is there a page in the BRB that states the rules behind this?


If they're the same unit, then they have to maintain coherency and also when the unit embarks in the Rhino the Rhino would have to embark in the Rhino. If they were really the same unit, things would start to get messy very quickly.

Everyone at your hobbystore is wrong.
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

It counts. Transport is NOT part of that unit. Doesn't have to maintain coherency, can fire at a separate target even when the unit is embarked, etc etc etc.
And yes, I believe the rey box on Dedicated Transports mentions that they are separate units, but at work and no rulebook handy.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




I found it, page 127.

I was right, gee golly wilikers, what a surprise...

...freaking spess muhreen playerz
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Snoipah wrote:
I found it, page 127.

I was right, gee golly wilikers, what a surprise...

...freaking spess muhreen playerz

127 is just the reminder.

The rules are plainly written. DT's are just that a transport and a separate unit.

As others have said, if a DT was a part of a unit they would all have to shoot at the same target, stay in coherency, and they would all have to embark upon a transport or none of them could.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Every time this comes up I want to model a Klein Rhino...
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

If your group need something more Rule as Written then the above logic, which really should be enough because transports don't implode into themselves at the start of the game, point them to the Army List section of the codex. At the beginning of each is a page detailing how we go about reading the Army List and other little pieces of information I bet most people don't even bother reading. As far as I know, every single codex contains one very simple sentence that reads along the lines of "Each entry in this section is a separate unit" or the likes. It is pretty self explanatory after that point, simply showing where one enter ends and another begins is all it takes to prove something is a different unit.

Dedicated Transports, often in an entirely separate section of the Army List to the entry purchasing them, are their own units.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/02/19 18:54:15


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Lesser Daemon of Chaos




Pyrian wrote:
Every time this comes up I want to model a Klein Rhino...


Exalted Although to truly solve the rhino paradox you'd probably have to build it in 4 dimensions
   
Made in us
Calm Celestian




Florida, USA

JubbJubbz wrote:
Pyrian wrote:
Every time this comes up I want to model a Klein Rhino...


Exalted Although to truly solve the rhino paradox you'd probably have to build it in 4 dimensions
Good luck getting 10 SM to fit "inside" that.

There is a fine line between genius and insanity and I colored it in with crayon. 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




If I can build a rhino in four spatial dimensions, fitting 10 space marines is not going to be a problem, relatively speaking.
   
Made in ru
!!Goffik Rocker!!






A rhino embarking a rhino looks like a program from animal planet.
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

 koooaei wrote:
A rhino embarking a rhino looks like a program from animal planet.


And a Rhino embarking in itself is an MC Escher painting.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: