Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/07 01:28:44
Subject: Re:Cannot charge first player turn.
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
sonicaucie wrote:So, you could move one dreadnought forward, drop pod a dreadnought in the centre+" and then use both to drag it into charge range of the first or another unit?
Yes, that would be possible (albeit unlikely).
Improbable for sure,and you would need a drop pod magna grapple that lands where you want, hit with the grapple, and then successfully pull said vehicle close enough that a different unit could charge it.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/07 01:32:38
Subject: Cannot charge first player turn.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Happyjew wrote:Magna-Grapple after arriving from reserve won't work. The magna-grapple stops the target vehicle from coming within 1" of another vehicle and you cannot charge out of reserves.
Ahh my bad, you are correct. I had completely forgotten about that last paragraph in the rules entry.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/07 02:12:36
Subject: Cannot charge first player turn.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Seizing the Initiative on an opponent who scouted forward is an easy way to do it.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/07 03:01:59
Subject: Cannot charge first player turn.
|
 |
Screaming Shining Spear
|
I would really like to see a Magna Grapple chain list someday
|
4000 points: Craftworld Mymeara |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/07 03:13:05
Subject: Cannot charge first player turn.
|
 |
Furious Fire Dragon
|
It is possible to use a land raider deployed horizontally, rotated at the beginning of your first turn (putting you about 3" across the line) and then moving 6" (9" from your deployment zone, 15" from your opponent) dump out your squad 6" ahead (9" from opponent) you are actually at a fairly decent opportunity to assault the opponent, especially with assault marines that will now re-roll their charge distance.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/07 05:00:48
Subject: Cannot charge first player turn.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan
|
danny1995 wrote:It is possible to use a land raider deployed horizontally, rotated at the beginning of your first turn (putting you about 3" across the line) and then moving 6" (9" from your deployment zone, 15" from your opponent) dump out your squad 6" ahead (9" from opponent) you are actually at a fairly decent opportunity to assault the opponent, especially with assault marines that will now re-roll their charge distance.
Vehicles pivot around their centre point, so for a Land Raider to gain 3" by pivoting it would have to be 6" longer than it is wide, which I very much doubt. They can certainly gain distance, but I don't think it's much more than an inch.
Dark Eldar Raiders, on the other hand, are significantly longer than they are wide. So they stand to gain a decent amount of distance.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/07 06:51:29
Subject: Re:Cannot charge first player turn.
|
 |
Stealthy Sanctus Slipping in His Blade
|
Infiltrators that go second can still charge in the first turn. FAQ spelled out that its only infiltrators that go first that can't assault, as the rule reads "player turn".
|
A ton of armies and a terrain habit...
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/07 09:24:10
Subject: Cannot charge first player turn.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
danny1995 wrote:It is possible to use a land raider deployed horizontally, rotated at the beginning of your first turn (putting you about 3" across the line) and then moving 6" (9" from your deployment zone, 15" from your opponent) dump out your squad 6" ahead (9" from opponent) you are actually at a fairly decent opportunity to assault the opponent, especially with assault marines that will now re-roll their charge distance.
How are they rerolling charge distance, when they dont have jump packs?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/07 09:45:17
Subject: Cannot charge first player turn.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:danny1995 wrote:It is possible to use a land raider deployed horizontally, rotated at the beginning of your first turn (putting you about 3" across the line) and then moving 6" (9" from your deployment zone, 15" from your opponent) dump out your squad 6" ahead (9" from opponent) you are actually at a fairly decent opportunity to assault the opponent, especially with assault marines that will now re-roll their charge distance.
How are they rerolling charge distance, when they dont have jump packs?
Chapter tactics would be my bet. Ultramarines Assault Doctrine.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/07 09:48:01
Subject: Cannot charge first player turn.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Ah fair enough, the "that will now..." was implying they hadnt used jump packs to move, hence "that will now"....
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/07 10:24:17
Subject: Cannot charge first player turn.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Ah fair enough, the "that will now..." was implying they hadnt used jump packs to move, hence "that will now"....
Well, he could be trying to load Jump Infantry into a Land Raider. Just cause you can do it without breaking the rules doesn't mean that's what people are talking about.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/07 10:54:52
Subject: Cannot charge first player turn.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Yep, my assumption was that they were trying to put JI inside a LR, hence my comment. I forgot there was a way to do it legally
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/07 11:44:12
Subject: Cannot charge first player turn.
|
 |
Slashing Veteran Sword Bretheren
|
danny1995 wrote:It is possible to use a land raider deployed horizontally, rotated at the beginning of your first turn (putting you about 3" across the line) and then moving 6" (9" from your deployment zone, 15" from your opponent) dump out your squad 6" ahead (9" from opponent) you are actually at a fairly decent opportunity to assault the opponent, especially with assault marines that will now re-roll their charge distance.
I like it. Or we could make it more of a Black Templar thing, use a whole crusader squad with Hellbrecht and use his once per game rule to give the squad Fleet and Hatred. This seems like something the Black Templar would do. Figure out how to get across the field and charge before any shots are fired.
|
DR:80+S++G++MB--IPw40k12#+D++++A++/fWD013R++T(T)DM+
"War is the greatest act of worship, and I perform it gladly for my Lord.... Praise Be"
-Invictus Potens, Black Templar Dreadnought |
|
 |
 |
|