Switch Theme:

Cannot charge first player turn.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
Wicked Canoptek Wraith




The Golden Throne

I am having a friendly debate with my friend, and I swear I read somewhere that someone cannot charge on the first player turn but for the life of me I cannot find it.

Would someone be able to cite a page number if this is correct? Thanks guys.

Build a man a fire, he will be warm for a night. Set a man on fire, and he will be warm for the rest of his life. 
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut




You can charge first turn if you're in range and you're not prohibited from doing so by earlier actions.

I.E: If you deep strike, scout move, disembark, ect.

This means that if you do any of the latter in charge range of the enemy that you open yourself up to a charge in their first turn.

Then there's always the unlikely case that both players deploy exactly on the deployment line ahead of each other and the charging players move 12" and rolls doubles sixes for the charge.

Or, if you're using scarabs, you can spawn scarabs infront of your line of deployment and then move and charge...

The latter is kind of cheesy, but if you deploy on the deployment line, you should realise that you're opening yourself up to a turn 1 charge.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/03/06 04:56:15


 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

 Imperator_Class wrote:
Would someone be able to cite a page number if this is correct? Thanks guys.
It's in the Scout/Infiltrate rules. It's not a general rule.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




sonicaucie wrote:
Then there's always the unlikely case that both players deploy exactly on the deployment line ahead of each other and the charging players move 12" and rolls doubles sixes for the charge.


Barring strange deployments, this can't happen. In all the BRB deployments, you must deploy "Anywhere in their own table half that is more than 12" from the central line" (p.121). So at the start of turn 1 the two forces will be more than 24" apart and even a 12" move + 12" assault move isn't enough.
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

Orks can manage it without strange deployment.

Red wartrukks can move 1" more and still disembark.
Stormboys can add +D6" whenever they move
   
Made in ca
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar





Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

sonicaucie wrote:
You can charge first turn if you're in range and you're not prohibited from doing so by earlier actions.

I.E: If you deep strike, scout move, disembark, ect.

This means that if you do any of the latter in charge range of the enemy that you open yourself up to a charge in their first turn.

Then there's always the unlikely case that both players deploy exactly on the deployment line ahead of each other and the charging players move 12" and rolls doubles sixes for the charge.

Or, if you're using scarabs, you can spawn scarabs infront of your line of deployment and then move and charge...

The latter is kind of cheesy, but if you deploy on the deployment line, you should realise that you're opening yourself up to a turn 1 charge.


Not quite. Assuming any of the Eternal War missions from the BRB, "a player's deployment zone is defined as anywhere in their own table half that is more than 12" from the central line". Assuming a 4 foot wide table, you will be, even if you are toeing the line, a fraction more than 24" away from one another. You would require more than 24" to get into contact.

Red Paint Job (orks) is one way to get that. As are a number of other methods that I'm not familiar with (as I don't use those armies).

So you cannot charge first player turn, (GENERALLY), not because of a special rule stating such, but rather because you will in all likelihood either be using a special rule that denies it or you will not (generally, with some exceptions) be able to get the 24.000001" + to get into base contact.
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut




TehCheator wrote:
sonicaucie wrote:
Then there's always the unlikely case that both players deploy exactly on the deployment line ahead of each other and the charging players move 12" and rolls doubles sixes for the charge.


Barring strange deployments, this can't happen. In all the BRB deployments, you must deploy "Anywhere in their own table half that is more than 12" from the central line" (p.121). So at the start of turn 1 the two forces will be more than 24" apart and even a 12" move + 12" assault move isn't enough.


Huh, never realised that it was "more than 12".

I guess only units that can move > 12" or something similar to that effect are capable of turn 1 charges then.
   
Made in de
Repentia Mistress





Santuary 101

There is a way to be in range first turn. If you have a unit that can infiltrate and scout. This was even answered in the faq. You infiltrate to 12/18 inches away then do a scout move. Then first turn move and charge.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/03/06 05:56:26


DS:70+S+G+M-B--IPw40k94-D+++A++/wWD380R+T(D)DM+

Avatar scene by artist Nicholas Kay. Give credit where it's due! 
   
Made in ca
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar





Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

 milkboy wrote:
There is a way to be in range first turn. If you have a unit that can infiltrate and scout. This was even answered in the faq. You infiltrate to 12/18 inches away then do a scout move. Then first turn move and charge.


Except infiltrate and scout both explicity forbid you from charging first player turn.
   
Made in de
Repentia Mistress





Santuary 101

Ah that's right. I forgot about that. Then I guess you can gamble on that if you're going second.

DS:70+S+G+M-B--IPw40k94-D+++A++/wWD380R+T(D)DM+

Avatar scene by artist Nicholas Kay. Give credit where it's due! 
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

You can, of course, do it in the reverse situation. Namely if your opponent infiltrates/scouts into range of you there's nothing stopping you running up and snotting him if you're going first.
   
Made in us
Ragin' Ork Dreadnought




A couple ways I can think of to get first turn assault:
There's nothing stopping you from charging *their* scouts and Infiltrators.
Orks have two ways: Red Paint Job for that extra inch, or Stormboys who can move 13-18" with their jump packs.
Scarabs spawning in front of the deployment line.
Scarabs teleporting through a Monolith.

EDIT: Oh, and Furiosos in Drop Pods can, too, if I recall.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/03/06 07:21:28


 
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

Waaaghpower wrote:
A couple ways I can think of to get first turn assault:
There's nothing stopping you from charging *their* scouts and Infiltrators.
Orks have two ways: Red Paint Job for that extra inch, or Stormboys who can move 13-18" with their jump packs.
Scarabs spawning in front of the deployment line.
Scarabs teleporting through a Monolith.

EDIT: Oh, and Furiosos in Drop Pods can, too, if I recall.


The last two can't. The Scarabs are disembarking from a vehicle, and it's not open-topped or an Assault Vehicle. The Furiosos can't because they arrived from reserves. Although the Lucius Pattern drop pods from Forgeworld may let you, I'm not up to date on their current rules.

Dark Eldar, and anyone else with an assault/open-topped vehicle that's longer than it is wide, could potentially pull it off with the free pivot trick.

Blood Angel Dreads with Magna-Grapples could possibly pull it off against a vehicle.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Chrysis wrote:
Blood Angel Dreads with Magna-Grapples could possibly pull it off against a vehicle.

IIRC, Not on the first player turn.

The Magna grapple does not have the range needed to target a vehicle in your opponents deployment zone even if the dread moved 6 inches in the movement phase. (Of course that is assuming I recall correctly...)

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

 DeathReaper wrote:
Chrysis wrote:
Blood Angel Dreads with Magna-Grapples could possibly pull it off against a vehicle.

IIRC, Not on the first player turn.

The Magna grapple does not have the range needed to target a vehicle in your opponents deployment zone even if the dread moved 6 inches in the movement phase. (Of course that is assuming I recall correctly...)


You're right. I was thinking solely in terms of the (potential) 12" pull, which doesn't matter much if you can't fire in the first place due to a 12" range.
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





Yeah there are numerous ways to get a turn 1 charge by charging over 24" (pivot trick, red paint, storm boyz) or by charging an enemy that has come to you (infiltrators, scouts, necrons DSing in your turn). However all of these require the person charged to be a moron, which can happen. The expansive 40"+ charges of 5th Ed have all been banned.

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in gb
[DCM]
Et In Arcadia Ego





Canterbury

One of the warlord traits gives you an extra 1" when charging does it not ?

The poor man really has a stake in the country. The rich man hasn't; he can go away to New Guinea in a yacht. The poor have sometimes objected to being governed badly; the rich have always objected to being governed at all
We love our superheroes because they refuse to give up on us. We can analyze them out of existence, kill them, ban them, mock them, and still they return, patiently reminding us of who we are and what we wish we could be.
"the play's the thing wherein I'll catch the conscience of the king,
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 DeathReaper wrote:
Chrysis wrote:
Blood Angel Dreads with Magna-Grapples could possibly pull it off against a vehicle.

IIRC, Not on the first player turn.

The Magna grapple does not have the range needed to target a vehicle in your opponents deployment zone even if the dread moved 6 inches in the movement phase. (Of course that is assuming I recall correctly...)


You can if the Furioso is in the first wave of drop pods and lands close enough.
   
Made in us
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity





East Coast, USA

An Ork Big Mek firing the crazy gun that has a table you roll on can do it. One of the "misfire" options requires that you move the Mek forward and treat him as though he just successfully charged the unit he was shooting at. 1/36 chance to happen, but it CAN happen.

There are tons of other possibilities. None of them are likely and some require that your opponent makes poor decisions (deep striking or infiltrating too close to your close combat units, for example).

I had a buddy who played Deathwing and I would routinely get first turn charges off on him when he got to go first. Those termies are tough, but weight of numbers almost always works.

Check out my website. Editorials! Tutorials! Fun Times To Be Had! - kriswallminis.com


https://www.thingiverse.com/KrisWall/about


Completed Trades With: ultraatma 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





nobody wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
Chrysis wrote:
Blood Angel Dreads with Magna-Grapples could possibly pull it off against a vehicle.

IIRC, Not on the first player turn.

The Magna grapple does not have the range needed to target a vehicle in your opponents deployment zone even if the dread moved 6 inches in the movement phase. (Of course that is assuming I recall correctly...)


You can if the Furioso is in the first wave of drop pods and lands close enough.


But then you can't assault since you just came in from Deep Strike.

edited for JinxDragon

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/03/06 16:26:56


My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Rigeld2,
I'm likely misreading, but can you add an edit on whom you where replying to so it is more clear to me?

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2014/03/06 16:03:50


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Likely "nobody", who was talking about a magna grapple dreadnought 'podding in.
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Thanks,
my original post would of been sorely out of place, carry on when I get my first cup of coffee after a few days straight.

Side question:
What was the name of that pod that Forgeworld produced?
The one which originally could allow assault after deep strike, but now works a drop-able bunker with pre-packaged embarked unit inside?

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/03/06 16:56:40


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

Lucius Pattern
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Thanks, still like the image of a cowering dread hiding inside one but I am sure it probably is quite dangerous with the correct pay-load and a little luck....

8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




rigeld2 wrote:
nobody wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
Chrysis wrote:
Blood Angel Dreads with Magna-Grapples could possibly pull it off against a vehicle.

IIRC, Not on the first player turn.

The Magna grapple does not have the range needed to target a vehicle in your opponents deployment zone even if the dread moved 6 inches in the movement phase. (Of course that is assuming I recall correctly...)


You can if the Furioso is in the first wave of drop pods and lands close enough.


But then you can't assault since you just came in from Deep Strike.

edited for JinxDragon


I'll need to double check my BA codex when I get home, but you can drag into melee range no? Granted you aren't assaulting but you are in melee range during the assault phase.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





nobody wrote:
I'll need to double check my BA codex when I get home, but you can drag into melee range no? Granted you aren't assaulting but you are in melee range during the assault phase.

I didn't see allowance to just be in B2B with the magna grapple on my quick glance.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Magna-Grapple after arriving from reserve won't work. The magna-grapple stops the target vehicle from coming within 1" of another vehicle and you cannot charge out of reserves.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block



Missouri

If you had a magna grapple Dread in a pod land roughly midfield you could drag something to it. Then using a Librarian Dread with Wings of Sang. or another jump unit you could charge it.
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut




So, you could move one dreadnought forward, drop pod a dreadnought in the centre+" and then use both to drag it into charge range of the first or another unit?
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: