Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/06 04:48:43
Subject: Cannot charge first player turn.
|
 |
Wicked Canoptek Wraith
The Golden Throne
|
I am having a friendly debate with my friend, and I swear I read somewhere that someone cannot charge on the first player turn but for the life of me I cannot find it.
Would someone be able to cite a page number if this is correct? Thanks guys.
|
Build a man a fire, he will be warm for a night. Set a man on fire, and he will be warm for the rest of his life. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/06 04:55:41
Subject: Re:Cannot charge first player turn.
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
You can charge first turn if you're in range and you're not prohibited from doing so by earlier actions.
I.E: If you deep strike, scout move, disembark, ect.
This means that if you do any of the latter in charge range of the enemy that you open yourself up to a charge in their first turn.
Then there's always the unlikely case that both players deploy exactly on the deployment line ahead of each other and the charging players move 12" and rolls doubles sixes for the charge.
Or, if you're using scarabs, you can spawn scarabs infront of your line of deployment and then move and charge...
The latter is kind of cheesy, but if you deploy on the deployment line, you should realise that you're opening yourself up to a turn 1 charge.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/03/06 04:56:15
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/06 04:57:49
Subject: Cannot charge first player turn.
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
It's in the Scout/Infiltrate rules. It's not a general rule.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/06 05:05:23
Subject: Re:Cannot charge first player turn.
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
sonicaucie wrote:Then there's always the unlikely case that both players deploy exactly on the deployment line ahead of each other and the charging players move 12" and rolls doubles sixes for the charge.
Barring strange deployments, this can't happen. In all the BRB deployments, you must deploy "Anywhere in their own table half that is more than 12" from the central line" (p.121). So at the start of turn 1 the two forces will be more than 24" apart and even a 12" move + 12" assault move isn't enough.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/06 05:07:36
Subject: Cannot charge first player turn.
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Orks can manage it without strange deployment.
Red wartrukks can move 1" more and still disembark.
Stormboys can add +D6" whenever they move
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/06 05:10:29
Subject: Re:Cannot charge first player turn.
|
 |
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar
|
sonicaucie wrote:You can charge first turn if you're in range and you're not prohibited from doing so by earlier actions.
I.E: If you deep strike, scout move, disembark, ect.
This means that if you do any of the latter in charge range of the enemy that you open yourself up to a charge in their first turn.
Then there's always the unlikely case that both players deploy exactly on the deployment line ahead of each other and the charging players move 12" and rolls doubles sixes for the charge.
Or, if you're using scarabs, you can spawn scarabs infront of your line of deployment and then move and charge...
The latter is kind of cheesy, but if you deploy on the deployment line, you should realise that you're opening yourself up to a turn 1 charge.
Not quite. Assuming any of the Eternal War missions from the BRB, "a player's deployment zone is defined as anywhere in their own table half that is more than 12" from the central line". Assuming a 4 foot wide table, you will be, even if you are toeing the line, a fraction more than 24" away from one another. You would require more than 24" to get into contact.
Red Paint Job (orks) is one way to get that. As are a number of other methods that I'm not familiar with (as I don't use those armies).
So you cannot charge first player turn, (GENERALLY), not because of a special rule stating such, but rather because you will in all likelihood either be using a special rule that denies it or you will not (generally, with some exceptions) be able to get the 24.000001" + to get into base contact.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/06 05:11:27
Subject: Re:Cannot charge first player turn.
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
TehCheator wrote:sonicaucie wrote:Then there's always the unlikely case that both players deploy exactly on the deployment line ahead of each other and the charging players move 12" and rolls doubles sixes for the charge.
Barring strange deployments, this can't happen. In all the BRB deployments, you must deploy "Anywhere in their own table half that is more than 12" from the central line" (p.121). So at the start of turn 1 the two forces will be more than 24" apart and even a 12" move + 12" assault move isn't enough.
Huh, never realised that it was "more than 12".
I guess only units that can move > 12" or something similar to that effect are capable of turn 1 charges then.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/06 05:55:45
Subject: Cannot charge first player turn.
|
 |
Repentia Mistress
|
There is a way to be in range first turn. If you have a unit that can infiltrate and scout. This was even answered in the faq. You infiltrate to 12/18 inches away then do a scout move. Then first turn move and charge.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/03/06 05:56:26
DS:70+S+G+M-B--IPw40k94-D+++A++/wWD380R+T(D)DM+
Avatar scene by artist Nicholas Kay. Give credit where it's due! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/06 05:57:40
Subject: Cannot charge first player turn.
|
 |
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar
|
milkboy wrote:There is a way to be in range first turn. If you have a unit that can infiltrate and scout. This was even answered in the faq. You infiltrate to 12/18 inches away then do a scout move. Then first turn move and charge.
Except infiltrate and scout both explicity forbid you from charging first player turn.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/06 06:03:31
Subject: Cannot charge first player turn.
|
 |
Repentia Mistress
|
Ah that's right. I forgot about that. Then I guess you can gamble on that if you're going second.
|
DS:70+S+G+M-B--IPw40k94-D+++A++/wWD380R+T(D)DM+
Avatar scene by artist Nicholas Kay. Give credit where it's due! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/06 06:10:07
Subject: Cannot charge first player turn.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan
|
You can, of course, do it in the reverse situation. Namely if your opponent infiltrates/scouts into range of you there's nothing stopping you running up and snotting him if you're going first.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/06 07:20:46
Subject: Cannot charge first player turn.
|
 |
Ragin' Ork Dreadnought
|
A couple ways I can think of to get first turn assault:
There's nothing stopping you from charging *their* scouts and Infiltrators.
Orks have two ways: Red Paint Job for that extra inch, or Stormboys who can move 13-18" with their jump packs.
Scarabs spawning in front of the deployment line.
Scarabs teleporting through a Monolith.
EDIT: Oh, and Furiosos in Drop Pods can, too, if I recall.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/03/06 07:21:28
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/06 07:32:56
Subject: Cannot charge first player turn.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan
|
Waaaghpower wrote:A couple ways I can think of to get first turn assault:
There's nothing stopping you from charging *their* scouts and Infiltrators.
Orks have two ways: Red Paint Job for that extra inch, or Stormboys who can move 13-18" with their jump packs.
Scarabs spawning in front of the deployment line.
Scarabs teleporting through a Monolith.
EDIT: Oh, and Furiosos in Drop Pods can, too, if I recall.
The last two can't. The Scarabs are disembarking from a vehicle, and it's not open-topped or an Assault Vehicle. The Furiosos can't because they arrived from reserves. Although the Lucius Pattern drop pods from Forgeworld may let you, I'm not up to date on their current rules.
Dark Eldar, and anyone else with an assault/open-topped vehicle that's longer than it is wide, could potentially pull it off with the free pivot trick.
Blood Angel Dreads with Magna-Grapples could possibly pull it off against a vehicle.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/06 08:06:07
Subject: Cannot charge first player turn.
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Chrysis wrote:Blood Angel Dreads with Magna-Grapples could possibly pull it off against a vehicle.
IIRC, Not on the first player turn.
The Magna grapple does not have the range needed to target a vehicle in your opponents deployment zone even if the dread moved 6 inches in the movement phase. (Of course that is assuming I recall correctly...)
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/06 09:25:11
Subject: Cannot charge first player turn.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan
|
DeathReaper wrote:Chrysis wrote:Blood Angel Dreads with Magna-Grapples could possibly pull it off against a vehicle.
IIRC, Not on the first player turn.
The Magna grapple does not have the range needed to target a vehicle in your opponents deployment zone even if the dread moved 6 inches in the movement phase. (Of course that is assuming I recall correctly...)
You're right. I was thinking solely in terms of the (potential) 12" pull, which doesn't matter much if you can't fire in the first place due to a 12" range.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/06 10:04:51
Subject: Cannot charge first player turn.
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
Yeah there are numerous ways to get a turn 1 charge by charging over 24" (pivot trick, red paint, storm boyz) or by charging an enemy that has come to you (infiltrators, scouts, necrons DSing in your turn). However all of these require the person charged to be a moron, which can happen. The expansive 40"+ charges of 5th Ed have all been banned.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/06 14:29:18
Subject: Re:Cannot charge first player turn.
|
 |
[DCM]
Et In Arcadia Ego
|
One of the warlord traits gives you an extra 1" when charging does it not ?
|
The poor man really has a stake in the country. The rich man hasn't; he can go away to New Guinea in a yacht. The poor have sometimes objected to being governed badly; the rich have always objected to being governed at all
We love our superheroes because they refuse to give up on us. We can analyze them out of existence, kill them, ban them, mock them, and still they return, patiently reminding us of who we are and what we wish we could be.
"the play's the thing wherein I'll catch the conscience of the king, |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/06 14:43:25
Subject: Cannot charge first player turn.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
DeathReaper wrote:Chrysis wrote:Blood Angel Dreads with Magna-Grapples could possibly pull it off against a vehicle.
IIRC, Not on the first player turn.
The Magna grapple does not have the range needed to target a vehicle in your opponents deployment zone even if the dread moved 6 inches in the movement phase. (Of course that is assuming I recall correctly...)
You can if the Furioso is in the first wave of drop pods and lands close enough.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/06 14:48:04
Subject: Cannot charge first player turn.
|
 |
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity
|
An Ork Big Mek firing the crazy gun that has a table you roll on can do it. One of the "misfire" options requires that you move the Mek forward and treat him as though he just successfully charged the unit he was shooting at. 1/36 chance to happen, but it CAN happen.
There are tons of other possibilities. None of them are likely and some require that your opponent makes poor decisions (deep striking or infiltrating too close to your close combat units, for example).
I had a buddy who played Deathwing and I would routinely get first turn charges off on him when he got to go first. Those termies are tough, but weight of numbers almost always works.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/06 14:50:14
Subject: Cannot charge first player turn.
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
nobody wrote: DeathReaper wrote:Chrysis wrote:Blood Angel Dreads with Magna-Grapples could possibly pull it off against a vehicle. IIRC, Not on the first player turn. The Magna grapple does not have the range needed to target a vehicle in your opponents deployment zone even if the dread moved 6 inches in the movement phase. (Of course that is assuming I recall correctly...) You can if the Furioso is in the first wave of drop pods and lands close enough. But then you can't assault since you just came in from Deep Strike. edited for JinxDragon
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/03/06 16:26:56
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/06 15:56:42
Subject: Cannot charge first player turn.
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
Rigeld2, I'm likely misreading, but can you add an edit on whom you where replying to so it is more clear to me?
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2014/03/06 16:03:50
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/06 16:14:36
Subject: Cannot charge first player turn.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Likely "nobody", who was talking about a magna grapple dreadnought 'podding in.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/06 16:53:34
Subject: Cannot charge first player turn.
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
Thanks, my original post would of been sorely out of place, carry on when I get my first cup of coffee after a few days straight. Side question: What was the name of that pod that Forgeworld produced? The one which originally could allow assault after deep strike, but now works a drop-able bunker with pre-packaged embarked unit inside?
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/03/06 16:56:40
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/06 17:07:43
Subject: Cannot charge first player turn.
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Lucius Pattern
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/06 17:11:41
Subject: Cannot charge first player turn.
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
Thanks, still like the image of a cowering dread hiding inside one but I am sure it probably is quite dangerous with the correct pay-load and a little luck....
|
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/06 21:24:16
Subject: Cannot charge first player turn.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
rigeld2 wrote:nobody wrote: DeathReaper wrote:Chrysis wrote:Blood Angel Dreads with Magna-Grapples could possibly pull it off against a vehicle.
IIRC, Not on the first player turn.
The Magna grapple does not have the range needed to target a vehicle in your opponents deployment zone even if the dread moved 6 inches in the movement phase. (Of course that is assuming I recall correctly...)
You can if the Furioso is in the first wave of drop pods and lands close enough.
But then you can't assault since you just came in from Deep Strike.
edited for JinxDragon
I'll need to double check my BA codex when I get home, but you can drag into melee range no? Granted you aren't assaulting but you are in melee range during the assault phase.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/06 21:25:08
Subject: Cannot charge first player turn.
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
nobody wrote:I'll need to double check my BA codex when I get home, but you can drag into melee range no? Granted you aren't assaulting but you are in melee range during the assault phase.
I didn't see allowance to just be in B2B with the magna grapple on my quick glance.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/06 22:55:23
Subject: Cannot charge first player turn.
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Magna-Grapple after arriving from reserve won't work. The magna-grapple stops the target vehicle from coming within 1" of another vehicle and you cannot charge out of reserves.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/07 00:17:58
Subject: Cannot charge first player turn.
|
 |
Been Around the Block
Missouri
|
If you had a magna grapple Dread in a pod land roughly midfield you could drag something to it. Then using a Librarian Dread with Wings of Sang. or another jump unit you could charge it.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/07 00:55:11
Subject: Re:Cannot charge first player turn.
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
So, you could move one dreadnought forward, drop pod a dreadnought in the centre+" and then use both to drag it into charge range of the first or another unit?
|
|
 |
 |
|