Switch Theme:

Stacking of psychic powers?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Fresh-Faced New User




Do powers stack with each other?

Im mainly thinking about casting hammerhand twice or casting jinx/protect twice as eldar, i cant see anything in the BRB that addresses this one way or the other?
   
Made in us
Ragin' Ork Dreadnought





All I've got to say on the subject...

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/03/22 05:28:19


 
   
Made in ca
Furious Fire Dragon




In my personal opinion, and the way I play it, yes. Wait don't shoot!!! And this entire discussion is going to break down to this line right here "Note that bonuses and penalties from different blessings are always cumulative," (BRB page 68) it's going to turn into a fight over what "different" means.
   
Made in gb
Fresh-Faced New User




Is that the only line that talks about stacking powers? hmmmm thats quite ambiguous :(
   
Made in ca
Furious Fire Dragon




And to Waaaaghpower; Why no popcorn??? I'm hungry!!!
   
Made in us
Ragin' Ork Dreadnought




danny1995 wrote:
And to Waaaaghpower; Why no popcorn??? I'm hungry!!!

No popcorn until the show starts.
   
Made in ca
Furious Fire Dragon




Welcome to the world of 40k
   
Made in gb
Fresh-Faced New User




Even the line about different powers dosent even mention stacking of powers of the same name and wheather they can or not, does it say what "different" means. :(
   
Made in ca
Furious Fire Dragon




Nope! Time to start house ruling! Generally people accept stacking in my experience (I'm pretty sure most people's seer councils rely on it so they can make even marines a 6+ save)
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





Powers don't stack because their is a CSM Nurgle power that says it can stack

Why would it have to specify it can stack if powers could stack normally?
   
Made in ca
Mekboy on Kustom Deth Kopta




No, they don't stack.

See the 500 previous threads on the subject. mostly titled enfeeble.

 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 CrownAxe wrote:
Powers don't stack because their is a CSM Nurgle power that says it can stack

Why would it have to specify it can stack if powers could stack normally?

Why do they have any of the reminders in the BRB?

"Unless otherwise stated, the effects of multiple different psychic powers are cumulative." (BRB page 68)

Does not mean that the same power is not cumulative. That would be a completely different rule, and of course it does not exist.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/03/22 06:04:30


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





 DeathReaper wrote:
 CrownAxe wrote:
Powers don't stack because their is a CSM Nurgle power that says it can stack

Why would it have to specify it can stack if powers could stack normally?

Why do they have any of the reminders in the BRB?

"Unless otherwise stated, the effects of multiple different psychic powers are cumulative." (BRB page 68)

Does not mean that the same power is not cumulative. That would be a completely different rule, and of course it does not exist.

What does that have anything to do with what i said?

The CSM power gives its self permission to stack with its self. If you could stack multiples of the same power normally they wouldn't have put that permission in the CSM power. Ergo you can't normal stack the same power with its self.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/03/22 08:33:43


 
   
Made in au
Tea-Kettle of Blood




Adelaide, South Australia

Some do, some don't , some may or may not depending on your interpretation of vague wording. You have to say which power(s) you are trying to stack before I can give you a proper answer.

 Ailaros wrote:
You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.

"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Waaaghpower wrote:
danny1995 wrote:
And to Waaaaghpower; Why no popcorn??? I'm hungry!!!

No popcorn until the show starts.


The show is about to start. I'm getting a drink. You guys want anything while I'm up?

To answer the OP, there are two sides to this:

A) They do not stack because, "Unless otherwise stated, the effects of multiple different psychic powers are cumulative." and "Unless specifically stated, a model cannot gain the benefit of a special rule more than once."

B) They stack, because the first quote does not say "only different psychic powers are cumulative." and "I have permission to cast and resolve power A. I have permission to cast and resolve power A again. Why do you not let me resolve Power A?"

Now prepare for a back and forth of those two arguments.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in au
Nurgle Predator Driver with an Infestation



Perth, Western Australia

By the gods! Not this again!?!?!
   
Made in ca
Furious Fire Dragon






Still waiting
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Given the first reactions I doubt it will flare up as badly as it usually does.

8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in au
Tea-Kettle of Blood




Adelaide, South Australia

Let me start then:
Both Hammerhand and Jinx/Protect definitely stack as their effects are capable of being cumulative and they do not have the ambiguous "while this power is in effect" wording that other powers do.

Come on, let's do this.

 Ailaros wrote:
You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.

"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" 
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





 PrinceRaven wrote:
Let me start then:
Both Hammerhand and Jinx/Protect definitely stack as their effects are capable of being cumulative and they do not have the ambiguous "while this power is in effect" wording that other powers do.

Come on, let's do this.


Protect/Jinx has the wording only Horrify doesn't. As pointed out this is a hotly debated subject.

Basically RaW there are arguments both ways on some powers (Horrify and Hammerhand for example) but most certainly don't. Also clear RaI is that they don't in general as some powers specifically call out that they stack with themselves which is strong evidence that normally they don't. Also the "reminder" on 3 separate occasions that different powers stack means that either the same powers don't stack or the GW design team are intentionally misleading the reader. This kind of partial reminder makes absolutely no sense yet the pro-stacking side will cling to thus being a reminder and firmly believe the design team are deliberately trying to trick us when writing the rules.

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in au
Tea-Kettle of Blood




Adelaide, South Australia

Ah, so it does, I must've read the cliff notes version instead of gf the full one.

Aren't we arguing RAW here, not RAI? Because if we're arguing RAI I say that being affected by a power is not intended to make you temporarily immune to to further instances of that power.

 Ailaros wrote:
You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.

"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" 
   
Made in ca
Mekboy on Kustom Deth Kopta




 Happyjew wrote:
Waaaghpower wrote:
danny1995 wrote:
And to Waaaaghpower; Why no popcorn??? I'm hungry!!!

No popcorn until the show starts.


The show is about to start. I'm getting a drink. You guys want anything while I'm up?

To answer the OP, there are two sides to this:

A) They do not stack because, "Unless otherwise stated, the effects of multiple different psychic powers are cumulative." and "Unless specifically stated, a model cannot gain the benefit of a special rule more than once."

B) They stack, because the first quote does not say "only different psychic powers are cumulative." and "I have permission to cast and resolve power A. I have permission to cast and resolve power A again. Why do you not let me resolve Power A?"

Now prepare for a back and forth of those two arguments.


More to the point

A) they do not stack because special rules do not stack. (long drawn out expiation with many rules cited)

B) they're not a special rule, their psychic powers. (opinion)

A) if it's not a special power then it can't modify the characteristics to begins with. (fact)


 
   
Made in se
Glorious Lord of Chaos






The burning pits of Hades, also known as Sweden in summer

RAW, seems they stack to me.

RAI, probably not.

Currently ongoing projects:
Horus Heresy Alpha Legion
Tyranids  
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





 BrotherHaraldus wrote:
RAW, seems they stack to me.

RAI, probably not.


RaW there is an argument for literally 1 or 2 powers stacking. Most of the relevant powers state "whilst the power is in effect the target unit... blah blah blah" thus if you cast the power once twice or a thousand times it is in effect and the unit receives the benefit once.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 PrinceRaven wrote:
Ah, so it does, I must've read the cliff notes version instead of gf the full one.

Aren't we arguing RAW here, not RAI? Because if we're arguing RAI I say that being affected by a power is not intended to make you temporarily immune to to further instances of that power.


So your RaI argument is that the GW design team intentionally try to mislead the reader. Really you believe that they are trying to confuse the reader? Why would they deliberately try to mislead the reader?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/03/22 16:24:35


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Crown - you're assuming that the rules never contain redundnant rules, or reminders. Given that they do, and proof had been given previously, your premise is proven false, and your conclusion now lacks support.
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





nosferatu1001 wrote:
Crown - you're assuming that the rules never contain redundnant rules, or reminders. Given that they do, and proof had been given previously, your premise is proven false, and your conclusion now lacks support.


No he's assuming the rules don't contain intentionally misleading reminders which you've failed to disprove.

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

sirlynchmob wrote:
MB) they're not a special rule, their psychic powers. (opinion)

Not sure why it says (opinion) there.

Psychic powers are demonstrably not special rules.
 CrownAxe wrote:
If you could stack multiples of the same power normally they wouldn't have put that permission in the CSM power. Ergo you can't normal stack the same power with its self.

This is 100% false.

They have redundant reminders all over the place.

Such as P. 69 "Note that, as witchfire is a Shooting attack, a Psyker embarked on a vehicle can target an enemy outside that vehicle by using a Fire Point."

P. 78 "Note that the passengers can shoot at a different target to the vehicle itself."

P. 93 "Note that all of the models in a unit firing from a building must target a single enemy unit, as normal."

Etc.

All redundant reminders...

If the passengers can shoot at a different target to the vehicle itself normally why is that permission in the Transport/Fire Point rules as a reminder?

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





@Deathreaper - All of your examples start with "Note that" as in those sentances are specifically reminding you of the how the rules work in those situations. The CSM Nurgle power does not have such language.

Also, to be a redundancy the rules have to have said it before. But no where in the rules does it say Psychic Powers stack with themselves, ergo the CSM psychic power statement of allowing it to be stacked with its self can't be a redundancy
   
Made in ca
Mekboy on Kustom Deth Kopta




 DeathReaper wrote:
sirlynchmob wrote:
MB) they're not a special rule, their psychic powers. (opinion)

Not sure why it says (opinion) there.

Psychic powers are demonstrably not special rules.


And pg 2 demonstrable says, special rules and war gear, psychic powers are not listed as modifiers. so stack away the modifiers do absolutely nothing.

 
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





This is 100% false. 

They have redundant reminders all over the place. 

Such as P. 69 "Note that, as witchfire is a Shooting attack, a Psyker embarked on a vehicle can target an enemy outside that vehicle by using a Fire Point." 

P. 78 "Note that the passengers can shoot at a different target to the vehicle itself." 


Whilst redundant reminders they are not partial intentionally misleading reminders.

To be comparable they'd have to say something like this:

Such as P. 69 "Note that, as witchfire is a Shooting attack, a Psyker embarked on a vehicle can target an enemy outside that vehicle if the vehicle is open topped." 

Here the functional reminder implies that only open topped vehicles would allow firing of witch fires, rather than any other firepoint.

P. 78 "Note that the passengers embarked on a non-dedicated transport can shoot at a different target to the vehicle itself." 

Whilst here they would have been implying the option wasn't open to dedicated transports. Please find an example like above where they remind you of a random subset of permission that would mislead you. Anywhere else in the rules?

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: