Switch Theme:

Monolith Mishap  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Deadly Dire Avenger




Canada

In a recent game my opponent chose to reserve a monolith and then deep strike it in on turn 2.

Is it possible for a Monolith to mishap by scattering onto other models?

The rules for skimmer movement state that if you end movement on other models you just move the minimum distance to make it legal. I would argue that deep strike deployment is not movement. I was under the impression that it did not function as SM drop pods do(inertial guidance or whatever). It turned out to be a non-issue in the game but I am still curious.

What do you think?
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Yes, Monoliths can mishap.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Agreed,
Scatter is not Movement, it is part of the process used to deploy a deep striking unit.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/03/31 22:13:56


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Never Forget Isstvan!






im pretty sure we went over this in another thread.

Deep striking is in fact a form of movement, as the model that deep strikes counts as having moved.

So the monolith would in fact move so that its hull was not over another model. However, this would not prevent it from mishapping, due to the fact that it would still end its move "within" 1 inch of an enemy model.


JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Eihnlazer wrote:
im pretty sure we went over this in another thread.

Deep striking is in fact a form of movement, as the model that deep strikes counts as having moved.

So the monolith would in fact move so that its hull was not over another model. However, this would not prevent it from mishapping, due to the fact that it would still end its move "within" 1 inch of an enemy model.

Deep Strike is a form of movement.
Scatter is not. Mishaps are resolved after scattering, so before a Monolith would move off.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in au
Tea-Kettle of Blood




Adelaide, South Australia

I don't see how counting as being moved makes it movement. In fact, I'd argue the opposite is the case, if it is movement it wouldn't need to state that it counts as having moved because the model has actually moved.

 Ailaros wrote:
You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.

"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" 
   
Made in ca
Deadly Dire Avenger




Canada

Rules for skimmer movement reads:
"If a Skimmer is forced to end its move over friendly or enemy models, move the Skimmer the minimum distance so that no
models are left underneath it." pg83 BRB

Deep strike mishaps reads:
"If any of the models in a deep striking unit cannot be deployed, because at least one model would land partially or fully off the table, in impassable terrain, on top of a friendly rnodel, or on top of or within 1 " of an enemy model, something has gone wrong." pg 36 BRB

So the way I see it is you move the Monolith off of the models it landed on but it is still within 1" and therefore triggers a mishap. Does that make enough sense?


This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/04/01 03:30:27


 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 PrinceRaven wrote:
I don't see how counting as being moved makes it movement. In fact, I'd argue the opposite is the case, if it is movement it wouldn't need to state that it counts as having moved because the model has actually moved.

Counts as must be the same as is.
Therefore Deep Strike is movement.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in au
Tea-Kettle of Blood




Adelaide, South Australia

So Vector Strike is a shooting attack?

 Ailaros wrote:
You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.

"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 PrinceRaven wrote:
So Vector Strike is a shooting attack?

Nope, because there isn't a rule in the book that says Vector Strike counts as a shooting attack.
You can attempt to misquote the actual rule, but rereading it should be sufficient to prove my point.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in au
Tea-Kettle of Blood




Adelaide, South Australia

A unit that deep strikes counts as having moved after the Deep Strike has happened, not during the actual deep strike. In the same way a unit that has used Vector Strike counts as having fired a weapon, but did not count as firing a weapon during the Vector Strike.

 Ailaros wrote:
You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.

"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" 
   
Made in gb
Virulent Space Marine dedicated to Nurgle




no idea

 PrinceRaven wrote:
A unit that deep strikes counts as having moved after the Deep Strike has happened, not during the actual deep strike.

P36, "In the movement phase in which they arrive, deep striking units may not move any further, other ..."
= deployment by deep strike is movement, scattering in of itself, is not.

You wart-ridden imbeciles! 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Eihnlazer wrote:
im pretty sure we went over this in another thread.

Deep striking is in fact a form of movement, as the model that deep strikes counts as having moved.

So the monolith would in fact move so that its hull was not over another model. However, this would not prevent it from mishapping, due to the fact that it would still end its move "within" 1 inch of an enemy model.


Yes, and what we proved is that:

a) the initial placmeent is of a marker, as it is wher eyou WANT the unit to arrive. The unit has yet to arrive, meaning functionally this is simply a marker
b) You are told to scatter. Scattering is not movement. IF it were movement it would be impossible to mishap, except by initially placing the marker over another model or impassable terrain. This is because we are only told we mishap IF x, y, Z occurs. We are not given permission to MOVE such that X, Y, Z can occur, meaning X, Y, Z can never happen as movement rules prohibit it. Arguing that scattering is movement is arguing that all models have IG protection - in fact, even better, as even IG doesnt protect against scattering off the table. Luckily, due to a) it cannot be movement, as movement applies to models, and we have determiend that this is not in fact, a model yet - just a marker
c) only once you have finished scattering, and confirmed there is no mishap, will the unit actually arrive at that location. Meaning that this is the only point at which the monolith rule can apply, as only HERE have you actually finished moving.

So yes, it is 100% clear. Monoliths can mishap

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/04/01 11:28:10


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: