Switch Theme:

Blocked incoming reserves  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in pl
Fresh-Faced New User




What happens to incoming reserves in case they cannot be deployed (for example due to wall of units or impassable terrain)?

1. Do they die?
2. Do they wait for another turn?

I would opt for the first solution

In fact it's not that improbable situation - esp. in case of Vanguard Strike and Outflanking units
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

This is covered on the reserves rules. If they can't be placed, they're destroyed.

 
   
Made in pl
Fresh-Faced New User




I was reading this three times and now once more - where is it covered exactly? Sorry but I really can't find it ...
   
Made in us
Abhorrent Grotesque Aberration





If it's via Deep Strike, then it mishaps (pg 36)

However, regarding regular reserves walking on... I"m not seeing it either. pg 124, second column, 6th paragraph makes it clear that the unit must move fully onto the table.

So it seems we have a couple choices:

1. ignore normal movement rules and instead just let the models make their full normal movement distance, even if that means they are moving "over" other units.

2. Apply the rules in the 7th paragraph (same page) which states to just make sure the rear of the model is touching the board edge.. even though this could feasibly result in the models being in B2B with an enemy which isn't a covered scenario

3. House rule it such that the models stay in ongoing reserves or are destroyed based on what your local group wants to do.

4. Take the "must" part of the rule and state that if a model can't do something it "must" do then it therefore is destroyed.

I'd look for this in the FAQ, but, well, those aren't currently available...

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/04/14 14:36:43


------------------
"Why me?" Gideon begged, falling to his knees.
"Why not?" - Asdrubael Vect 
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

This issue was covered in 5th edition, I do remember that it is considered one of the Tau's greatest victories when an opponent was tabled in turn 1 by a single team of Kroot infiltrating across the back line during a main Tournament. I can not say how well it was covered in 6th though, the line which would make it so unplayable models are destroyed is lacking and there is even questions if this would prevent deployment from reserves in the first place. That last part stems from the fact that deployment, in and of itself, is 'placement' and therefore not movement or bound by movement related Rules.

I was meant to research this topic over the weekend, refresh myself to what it actually says, but I forgot... so the above is just rough memories from past debates on this very topic.

8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

JinxDragon wrote:
This issue was covered in 5th edition, I do remember that it is considered one of the Tau's greatest victories when an opponent was tabled in turn 1 by a single team of Kroot infiltrating across the back line during a main Tournament.

Considering the rules just did not cover what happened in that situation in 5th, the judge made an arbitrary decision to hand the game to the Tau player, so you really can not call it a victory when a judge made a decision with no rules backing at all..

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Thought it was addressed in 5th edition's version of the Frequently Asked Questions....

8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






 insaniak wrote:
This is covered on the reserves rules. If they can't be placed, they're destroyed.


Where? I looked through page 124 and 125 but saw nothing about what to do when the board edge is blocked.


HIWPI. They can't be placed on the board edge then they can't arrive from reserves that turn. Treat them as if they had entered ongoing reserves.
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

You don't place reserves on the edge of the board though. They're considered to be off the board, using the edge of the board to measure their movement, meaning if they can't move fully onto the board due to being blocked they would be destroyed.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




 Ghaz wrote:
...meaning if they can't move fully onto the board due to being blocked they would be destroyed.
Per what rule? I'm not claiming it doesn't exist, I'm just asking. Nobody seems to know.
   
Made in ca
Mekboy on Kustom Deth Kopta




Pyrian wrote:
 Ghaz wrote:
...meaning if they can't move fully onto the board due to being blocked they would be destroyed.
Per what rule? I'm not claiming it doesn't exist, I'm just asking. Nobody seems to know.


that was a 5th ed rule where if your unit couldn't move onto the board it was destroyed.

so you ignore the normal rules for movement, and in 99% of the cases you can find someplace within 6" of the table edge to place your unit.

in that 1% of the time, just put the unit against the board edge and nudge some models out of the way. (raw reserves, with ignoring the rules for movement for the other unit as well so they can be nudged.)

Because you Must move fully onto the table from your own edge. (raw)

or we can treat them as immobile and the unit enters by deep strike. (no rules basis, just a thought)

or hard line RAW, you must move your unit onto the table, but you can't place your unit on the table. the game freezes as an illegal game state is created with a endless loop.

 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





JinxDragon wrote:
Thought it was addressed in 5th edition's version of the Frequently Asked Questions....

The picture in question occurred before that was added to the FAQs.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Still a little interesting it wasn't something carried over to the 6th edition Frequently Asked Questions.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/04/14 19:44:13


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in ca
Mekboy on Kustom Deth Kopta




I had a better idea. since the site seems to be pro levitation.

claim WMS and bring your unit on up to 6" above the table.

 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

sirlynchmob wrote:
I had a better idea. since the site seems to be pro levitation.

claim WMS and bring your unit on up to 6" above the table.

Continually misrepresenting that argument achieves nothing useful.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
JinxDragon wrote:
Still a little interesting it wasn't something carried over to the 6th edition Frequently Asked Questions.

I could have sworn it was covered in the current rules, but on investigation this does indeed appear to not be the case.

Yay for GW.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/04/14 21:27:18


 
   
Made in us
Crazed Spirit of the Defiler





Nashville/Hendersonville, TN

Hmmm, unless they posted an errata about it, there is nothing in the movement section of the rules that says models can't move through friendly units. However, in the assault section and the rules for vehicles, they remind us that models can't move through friendly models or move through gaps in bases narrower than the moving model's base. For example, in the Vehicles section on page 71, it states "Just like other units, vehicles cannot move over friendly models." They say it like it was already established in the rules that models can't move over friendlies. With that said, since friendly models can't move through other friendly or enemy models, then if the table edge is blocked and the unit arriving from reserve isn't a jump unit or skimmer/flyer, then it looks like it would be destroyed.

   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 Lord_Mortis wrote:
Hmmm, unless they posted an errata about it, there is nothing in the movement section of the rules that says models can't move through friendly units.
That is because that rule is not in the movement section.

Page 30 has the rule for not being able to move through a space occupied by another model.

"Models falling back from a combat can freely move through all enemy models that were involved in that combat. This is an exception to the normal rules for moving that state that a model cannot move through a space occupied by another model." (30)

The give a rule and tell you it is an exception to the normal rules for moving that state...

So the normal rules for moving "state that a model cannot move through a space occupied by another model." (30) The just don't state it in the movement section, it is buried in the falling back section.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Eye of Terror

I wish they would make it so they go into ongoing reserves.

My blog... http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com

Facebook...
https://m.facebook.com/Terminus6Est/

DT:60+S++++G++++M+++B+++I+++Pw40k89/d#++D+++A++++/eWD150R++++T(T)DM+++ 
   
Made in gb
Airborne Infiltrating Tomcat




London

JinxDragon wrote:
This issue was covered in 5th edition, I do remember that it is considered one of the Tau's greatest victories when an opponent was tabled in turn 1 by a single team of Kroot infiltrating across the back line during a main Tournament.


http://img.4plebs.org/boards/tg/image/1365/37/1365376786844.jpg

I remember seeing the image well, hahahaha. The moment is so well captured by the smug Tau player, and the TO and opponent desperately trying to find a rule against it

But yes, in 5th a unit unable to enter the board was destroyed, and you could reserve everything if you wanted! Horrific exploitation of a seemingly harmless and infrequent occurence, but there it was.

 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Altayre wrote:
JinxDragon wrote:
This issue was covered in 5th edition, I do remember that it is considered one of the Tau's greatest victories when an opponent was tabled in turn 1 by a single team of Kroot infiltrating across the back line during a main Tournament.


http://img.4plebs.org/boards/tg/image/1365/37/1365376786844.jpg

I remember seeing the image well, hahahaha. The moment is so well captured by the smug Tau player, and the TO and opponent desperately trying to find a rule against it

But yes, in 5th a unit unable to enter the board was destroyed, and you could reserve everything if you wanted! Horrific exploitation of a seemingly harmless and infrequent occurence, but there it was.


Except at the time there was no rule on what happens, and IIRC, that specific photo was staged.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut






I'd make sure there's a tank in reserves if you're worried - just tankshock a way through ,then deploy out of the hole behind the tank.

old rules definitely had death if you can't get on the table as I remember that if you had ghazkull in a unit of boys who moved onto the table and ghazzy only rolled a 1" move, his entire base didn't get onto the table and the unit was destroyed, as per RAW.

frankly if you're relying on reserves and your opponent manages to get a line formed on your backfield, then he deseres the win. especially as you'll still have half your army on the field and at most you can expect half the opponents army to deepstrike in to make the line (drop pods) and if they are too close to the edge they themselves could mishap - there's no army i know that can deploy entirely off the board, then move on from their board edge turn 1 - any army that can deploy entirely off the board either deepstrikes in, flies in or just auto-loses for having no army on the field.

12,300 points of Orks
9th W/D/L with Orks, 4/0/2
I am Thoruk, the Barbarian, Slayer of Ducks, and This is my blog!

I'm Selling Infinity, 40k, dystopian wars, UK based!

I also make designs for t-shirts and mugs and such on Redbubble! 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 some bloke wrote:
I'd make sure there's a tank in reserves if you're worried - just tankshock a way through ,then deploy out of the hole behind the tank.


What hole? you do not move models unless they would end up under the tank...

old rules definitely had death if you can't get on the table as I remember that if you had ghazkull in a unit of boys who moved onto the table and ghazzy only rolled a 1" move, his entire base didn't get onto the table and the unit was destroyed, as per RAW.

frankly if you're relying on reserves and your opponent manages to get a line formed on your backfield, then he deseres the win. especially as you'll still have half your army on the field and at most you can expect half the opponents army to deepstrike in to make the line (drop pods) and if they are too close to the edge they themselves could mishap - there's no army i know that can deploy entirely off the board, then move on from their board edge turn 1 - any army that can deploy entirely off the board either deepstrikes in, flies in or just auto-loses for having no army on the field.


Remember though that you only lose at the end of any game turn that you do not have any models on the table.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Blood-Raging Khorne Berserker




South Chicago burbs

Altayre wrote:
JinxDragon wrote:
This issue was covered in 5th edition, I do remember that it is considered one of the Tau's greatest victories when an opponent was tabled in turn 1 by a single team of Kroot infiltrating across the back line during a main Tournament.


http://img.4plebs.org/boards/tg/image/1365/37/1365376786844.jpg

I remember seeing the image well, hahahaha. The moment is so well captured by the smug Tau player, and the TO and opponent desperately trying to find a rule against it

But yes, in 5th a unit unable to enter the board was destroyed, and you could reserve everything if you wanted! Horrific exploitation of a seemingly harmless and infrequent occurence, but there it was.


One of the players in that photo or the judge (cant remember which) has said that the photo was staged. The game had taken place between the 2 players in a previous tourney and they got together when they all saw each other again and set up the pic.

The tau player wanst being smug or rubbing it in, they were both having fun with it.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/04/16 17:35:32


insaniak wrote:
YMDC has plenty of room for discussion veering away from the RAW, particularly in cases like this where what is being put forward as the RAW is absurd.

11k
4K
4k
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: