Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/30 12:32:24
Subject: hammer hand
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
grendel083 wrote:kambien wrote:you have never proved you are allowed to stack the same power twice in your equation
"+" is the mathematical symbol for addiction correct?
And the rule in question uses this symbol, correct?
And we're told to resolve the power?
And that multiple castings of the same power is allowed from separate Psykers?
Let's get these questions out if the way first. Your answer is yes to all of them?
Yep
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/30 12:38:17
Subject: hammer hand
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
kambien wrote: grendel083 wrote:kambien wrote:you have never proved you are allowed to stack the same power twice in your equation
"+" is the mathematical symbol for addiction correct?
And the rule in question uses this symbol, correct?
And we're told to resolve the power?
And that multiple castings of the same power is allowed from separate Psykers?
Let's get these questions out if the way first. Your answer is yes to all of them?
Yep
Great.
And your happy with Stacking and cumulative being pretty much the same thing?
Now, are you arguing that addition is not cumulative?
Or
That the game doesn't say that something that is cumulative is cumulative?
(In other words, does the game need to tell you that a duck is a duck? Personally if the game says duck, I'm happy that it it's talking about a duck. No need to tell me that a duck is in fact a duck, the double explanation isn't needed).
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/30 12:39:33
Subject: hammer hand
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Believe the mathematical symbol for addiction is a small pile of white powder.
Any debate should be centered around the restriction of multiple applications of the same blessing power stacking (see psychic section of the brb) and whether Hammer Hand should be considered a blessing. After all multiple applications of bolters all stack up in the wound pool
I'd let it stack.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/30 12:42:33
Subject: hammer hand
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
wtnind wrote:
Believe the mathematical symbol for addiction is a small pile of white powder.
Ha! Curse you autocorrect!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/30 12:58:49
Subject: hammer hand
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
grendel083 wrote:And your happy with Stacking and cumulative being pretty much the same thing?
They are close
Nope
grendel083 wrote:That the game doesn't say that something that is cumulative is cumulative?
(In other words, does the game need to tell you that a duck is a duck? Personally if the game says duck, I'm happy that it it's talking about a duck. No need to tell me that a duck is in fact a duck, the double explanation isn't needed).
So the game says duck and you crouch , then the game says duck again , do you stand back up and duck again ( permission wasn't given to stand though ) or do you look foul ?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/04/30 12:59:17
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/30 13:08:07
Subject: hammer hand
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
kambien wrote:So the game says duck and you crouch , then the game says duck again , do you stand back up and duck again ( permission wasn't given to stand though ) or do you look foul ?
Ha! Ok, Duck wasn't the best example.
How about "chair". There's no game defined definition of a chair.
If the rule refers to a chair, do you need a further rule stating that a chair is a chair?
Or are you happy enough with what they're referring to?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/30 13:09:16
Subject: hammer hand
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
So addition is cumulative?
And you are told to add twice?
Yet you are saying you are not allowed to add twice?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/30 13:23:14
Subject: hammer hand
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:So addition is cumulative?
And you are told to add twice?
Yet you are saying you are not allowed to add twice?
not quite , are you told you are allowed to add the same modifier twice ?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/30 13:25:10
Subject: hammer hand
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
kambien wrote:nosferatu1001 wrote:So addition is cumulative?
And you are told to add twice?
Yet you are saying you are not allowed to add twice?
not quite , are you told you are allowed to add the same modifier twice ?
You said yourself the same power can be resolved more than once by different Psykers.
They both giving +1
And addition is cumulative.
There's even a rule called Multiple Modifiers.
So yes. You can add twice.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/04/30 13:27:49
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/30 13:28:45
Subject: hammer hand
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
grendel083 wrote:kambien wrote:nosferatu1001 wrote:So addition is cumulative?
And you are told to add twice?
Yet you are saying you are not allowed to add twice?
not quite , are you told you are allowed to add the same modifier twice ?
You said yourself the same power can be resolved more than once by different Psykers.
They both giving +1
And addition is cumulative.
So yes. You can add twice.
Being resolved does not mean the effects are applied .
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/30 13:30:06
Subject: hammer hand
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Then what permission do you have to apply the first effect?
We're told to resolve. That means applying a +1 modifier. So that's what we do. It's as simple as that.
First time, second, fortieth doesn't matter.
Can you apply more than one modifier? Yes, see the rule "multiple modifiers"
Is +1 cumulative, can it be added to another number? Yes it can.
All the permissions are there.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/04/30 13:33:25
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/30 13:45:53
Subject: hammer hand
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
grendel083 wrote:We're told to resolve. That means applying a +1 modifier. So that's what we do. It's as simple as that.
is wrong and has been pointed out multiple times
resolve is not blanket permission to apply the effects. you can resolve and have no effects applied. that entire premise is wrong
grendel083 wrote:Can you apply more than one modifier? Yes, see the rule "multiple modifiers"
No the reasoning is wrong, you can apply more then one modifier because you are given permissions to do so from different sources. Then you use pg2 on how to apply them. The same source is never mentioned as being cumulative
the adding of modifiers has never been in question.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/30 14:22:00
Subject: hammer hand
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
kambien wrote: grendel083 wrote:We're told to resolve. That means applying a +1 modifier. So that's what we do. It's as simple as that.
is wrong and has been pointed out multiple times
resolve is not blanket permission to apply the effects. you can resolve and have no effects applied. that entire premise is wrong
Then how to we apply the first modifier, if we're only told to resolve it, and that somehow doesn't involve applying the effects?
How do we apply the effects of any power or special rule? If they only say resolve?
How do we resolve the power without apply the effects?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/04/30 14:23:33
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/30 14:27:36
Subject: hammer hand
|
 |
Rampaging Carnifex
|
I think someone needs to quote the exact rule for Hammerhand for kambien. iirc it's wording is such that you must immediately add +1 strength to the characteristic of the effected models. You can't finish casting hammerhand without doing what the power says, and the power tells you to add +1 strength to the model's characteristic. It doesn't say "while under the effects of hammerhand models get +1 strength". It simply gives the characteristic modifier and finishes.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/30 14:49:03
Subject: hammer hand
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
kambien wrote: grendel083 wrote:kambien wrote:nosferatu1001 wrote:So addition is cumulative?
And you are told to add twice?
Yet you are saying you are not allowed to add twice?
not quite , are you told you are allowed to add the same modifier twice ?
You said yourself the same power can be resolved more than once by different Psykers.
They both giving +1
And addition is cumulative.
So yes. You can add twice.
Being resolved does not mean the effects are applied .
So cite permission to apply the effects of the first hammerhand
It is the exact same permission each time, yet you have decided that applying a second one needs special permission.
The argument is internally deficient.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/30 15:47:44
Subject: hammer hand
|
 |
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter
|
kambien wrote:are you told you are allowed to add the same modifier twice ?
Are you talking about the modifier "1"? Because if your objection is that you can't use a "+1" modifier two times, then what happens when I use Hammerhand and Iron Arm (+1) on the same model? A Biomancy Librarian with an attached Inquisitor would be S+1+1 at that point.
|
LVO 2017 - Best GK Player
The Grimdark Future 8500 1500  6000 2000 5000
"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/30 15:59:39
Subject: hammer hand
|
 |
Tea-Kettle of Blood
Adelaide, South Australia
|
Haven't we done this recently? I mean, usually we wait a couple of months before doing it again. But if we must, I don't really want to go through all 3 pages, so could someone tell me what bogus argument is the non-stacking side is using this time?
Multiple modifiers doesn't apply to modifiers that are multiple?
You can't have two Hammerhands "in effect" on the same unit despite it not using the in effect wording at all?
You can resolve the power according to its entry without actually doing the things it tells you to do in the entry?
Everything* is inherently non-cumulative despite what Multiple Modifiers says?
* Everything not including hits, wounds, Vector Strikes, and anything else you use to disprove their argument
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/04/30 16:10:47
Ailaros wrote:You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.
"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/30 16:15:39
Subject: hammer hand
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
PrinceRaven wrote:Haven't we done this recently? I mean, usually we wait a couple of months before doing it again.
It's about that time, we've had a couple of "void shields and blasts" which threw the schedule.
Our weekly "does X get a cover save behind an Aegis" is due soon.
so could someone tell me what bogus argument is the non-stacking side is using this time?
Theres a lack of permission somewhere. Not sure where.
You can resolve a power, but that doesn't mean you can apply the effects, except for the first one magically, but we don't know why.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/30 16:19:55
Subject: hammer hand
|
 |
Tea-Kettle of Blood
Adelaide, South Australia
|
Oh, it's going to be one of those threads.
|
Ailaros wrote:You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.
"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/30 17:17:27
Subject: hammer hand
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
kambien wrote: DeathReaper wrote: jeffersonian000 wrote:And again with the failed logic. No where in the BRB is permission given for multiple uses of the same ability on the same target to have a cumulative effect,
We have permission to cast and Resolve the blessings or any psychic power really with no restriction on them stacking, that is why they stack.
The restriction on them stacking is 40k is a permissive rule set , and permissions for them to be cumulative is missing.
Incorrect, we already have permission to cast Hammerhand, or indeed any blessing, on a single unit multiple times from different psykers.
Now you need to find the restriction that disallows this.
kambien wrote: DeathReaper wrote:But Permission to cast and resolve = always cumulative. such is the case here.
This is only true if you are misusing the terminology of resolve. It does not let you do what you think it lets you do. Determining an outcome is not permission for them to cumulative. It's completely missing from the actual definition of the word.
If you can prove permission is given in anyway for them to stack , page 2 kicks in and tells you how to apply them.
Permission is given by the psychic rules telling us we are allowed to cast and resolve the power. In hammerhand's case resolving the power results in adding a +1 strength to the unit.
We are also allowed to cast and resolve Hammerhand again on that same target unit, and that is what brings us to page 2 as we now have multiple +1's to the unit's strength.
It is really all right there in the rules.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/30 19:30:34
Subject: hammer hand
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
grendel083 wrote: PrinceRaven wrote:Haven't we done this recently? I mean, usually we wait a couple of months before doing it again.
It's about that time, we've had a couple of "void shields and blasts" which threw the schedule.
Our weekly "does X get a cover save behind an Aegis" is due soon.
We interrupt this thread to bring you a non-related question.
If I have a Grot 3" behind an ADL does it get a cover save? Some people at my store said you need to be within 2" but couldn't find anything about that.
We now return to the debate already in progress.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/30 19:38:16
Subject: hammer hand
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Happyjew wrote: grendel083 wrote: PrinceRaven wrote:Haven't we done this recently? I mean, usually we wait a couple of months before doing it again.
It's about that time, we've had a couple of "void shields and blasts" which threw the schedule.
Our weekly "does X get a cover save behind an Aegis" is due soon.
We interrupt this thread to bring you a non-related question.
If I have a Grot 3" behind an ADL does it get a cover save? Some people at my store said you need to be within 2" but couldn't find anything about that.
We now return to the debate already in progress.
Just use a Warhammer Fantasy Grot that's standing on a crate.
It's not MFA, it says Grot on the tab mister honest!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/30 21:10:01
Subject: hammer hand
|
 |
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps
Phoenix, AZ, USA
|
Elric Greywolf wrote:kambien wrote:are you told you are allowed to add the same modifier twice ?
Are you talking about the modifier "1"? Because if your objection is that you can't use a "+1" modifier two times, then what happens when I use Hammerhand and Iron Arm (+1) on the same model? A Biomancy Librarian with an attached Inquisitor would be S+1+1 at that point.
Both an excellent and a horrible example. Excellent, because the BRB tells us the Bonuses from Iron Arm and Hammerhand are cumulative, which supports the Non-Stacking side of the argument. Horrible, because its a bad example to cite if you are attempting to support the Stacking side of the argument.
SJ
|
“For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world.”
- Ephesians 6:12
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/30 21:14:03
Subject: hammer hand
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
jeffersonian000 wrote: Elric Greywolf wrote:kambien wrote:are you told you are allowed to add the same modifier twice ?
Are you talking about the modifier "1"? Because if your objection is that you can't use a "+1" modifier two times, then what happens when I use Hammerhand and Iron Arm (+1) on the same model? A Biomancy Librarian with an attached Inquisitor would be S+1+1 at that point.
Both an excellent and a horrible example. Excellent, because the BRB tells us the Bonuses from Iron Arm and Hammerhand are cumulative, which supports the Non-Stacking side of the argument. Horrible, because its a bad example to cite if you are attempting to support the Stacking side of the argument.
SJ
Functionally it reminds us. It does nothing to support e inn stack side. Nothing at all.
Find a single restriction yet? Or a reason why 4+1+1 doesn't equal 6?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/30 21:21:58
Subject: hammer hand
|
 |
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps
Phoenix, AZ, USA
|
4 + HH + MoT + IA = 7
4 + HH + HH + HH = 5
Why? Because different sources are cumulative, per pages 32 and 68 of the BRB.
SJ
|
“For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world.”
- Ephesians 6:12
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/30 21:25:22
Subject: hammer hand
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
jeffersonian000 wrote:4 + HH + MoT + IA = 7
4 + HH + HH + HH = 5
Why? Because different sources are cumulative, per pages 32 and 68 of the BRB.
SJ
And it states same sources aren't?
Im sure you can provide a page number for that quote
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/30 21:34:03
Subject: hammer hand
|
 |
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps
Phoenix, AZ, USA
|
grendel083 wrote: jeffersonian000 wrote:4 + HH + MoT + IA = 7
4 + HH + HH + HH = 5
Why? Because different sources are cumulative, per pages 32 and 68 of the BRB.
SJ
And it states same sources aren't?
Im sure you can provide a page number for that quote
Bolded and underlined, for those unable to find the info in my wall of text.
SJ
|
“For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world.”
- Ephesians 6:12
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/30 21:34:40
Subject: hammer hand
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
jeffersonian000 wrote: grendel083 wrote: jeffersonian000 wrote:4 + HH + MoT + IA = 7
4 + HH + HH + HH = 5
Why? Because different sources are cumulative, per pages 32 and 68 of the BRB.
SJ
And it states same sources aren't?
Im sure you can provide a page number for that quote
Bolded and underlined, for those unable to find the info in my wall of text.
SJ
That says that some sources are cumulative.
It does not say that other sources are not cumulative.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/30 21:50:45
Subject: hammer hand
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
jeffersonian000 wrote:4 + HH + MoT + IA = 7
4 + HH + HH + HH = 5
Why? Because different sources are cumulative, per pages 32 and 68 of the BRB.
SJ
I see we are back to the "Modifiers are special rules" argument again. Which means a +1 from HH, and a +1 from IA would not stack because models cannot benefit from the same special rule (+1) multiple times.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/30 21:52:59
Subject: hammer hand
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
jeffersonian000 wrote: grendel083 wrote: jeffersonian000 wrote:4 + HH + MoT + IA = 7
4 + HH + HH + HH = 5
Why? Because different sources are cumulative, per pages 32 and 68 of the BRB.
SJ
And it states same sources aren't?
Im sure you can provide a page number for that quote
Bolded and underlined, for those unable to find the info in my wall of text.
SJ
Strange, I've checked those pages several times, and not once does it say same sources are NOT cumulative.
Could you please quote the line?
|
|
 |
 |
|