Switch Theme:

What is defined as "Different Blessings" being cumulative on page 68 of the BRB  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Monstrously Massive Big Mutant





Canada

Right now I can't wrap my head around people understanding that things being different =/= different blessings / maledictions.

Ran into a few Eldar Players trying to convince other people that their Runes of Battle can stack if the sources are from different Warlocks... How on earth does one blatantly vomit all over the English language so profusely?

Page 68 of the BRB states the following;

Note that bonuses and penalties from different blessings are always cumulative, but cannot, unless otherwise stated, take characteristics above 10 or below l.

Now it seems to me that people are getting rules either flat out wrong or purposely spinning lies to claim that a blessing (Taken from the table of Codex Eldar for instance) can be different, if they cast it from different sources.

Why oh why does it not surprise me that this would come to our FLGS. These same Eldar players are the ones also saying that Maledictions from Codecies such as CSM Discipline of Nurgle cannot stack (Which oddly enough they are right! Look at that lovely two faced action!)

Start of the Movement Phase Begins
Are Units affected by any maledictions / Blessings?
-> If yes They have Blessing of X / Malediction of X
-> If no They do not have Blessing of X / Malediction of X

You attempt to manifest Blessing of X on a unit that has Blessing of X already

They are not different Blessings. The effects of DIFFERENT BLESSINGS are cumulative. No where in the BRB does it state that the SAME blessings and Maledictions IF CAST FROM DIFFERENT SOURCES can be cumulative. They MUST be DIFFERENT.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/05/05 20:06:17


Life: An incomprehensible, endless circle of involuntary self-destruction.

12,000
14,000
11,000

 
   
Made in gb
Nimble Mounted Yeoman




UK

Correct, as far as I am aware, on all counts.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

If this is a "Same Powers Do Not Stack because the Rule Book says Different Powers Stack" thread, please refer to the "Hammerhand, Does it Stack?" Thread still on the first page.

If it is about people arguing that the same power stacks when beneficial but not when a hindrance...those people are idiots and need to be slapped upside the head.

Disclaimer: I take no responsibility for any actions taken against head-slapping of any kind.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

I am with HappyJew,
This is a question that is raised so many times that you can bet some variation is on the first three pages on any given day, so please add to the discussion already underway instead of creating a new thread.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/05/05 20:48:43


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in ca
Monstrously Massive Big Mutant





Canada

From my reading of the rules for Hammerhand, Hammerhand itself isn't a Blessing. And therefore isn't restricted to the Blessings rules of Page 68 of the BRB.

This is separate.

Life: An incomprehensible, endless circle of involuntary self-destruction.

12,000
14,000
11,000

 
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Yet it has boiled down to the same points being discussed over and over again.
I'm just really tired of seeing threads based around 'do the same power stack,' Games Workshop's complete silence on the matter the most tiring aspect of it all.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/05/05 21:00:26


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





GoliothOnline wrote:
From my reading of the rules for Hammerhand, Hammerhand itself isn't a Blessing. And therefore isn't restricted to the Blessings rules of Page 68 of the BRB.

There is no restriction on page 68 that same blessings cannot stack.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in ca
Monstrously Massive Big Mutant





Canada

Which is stupid because 2 people who have abilities that aren't Blessings with the same stat increasing buff should be allowed to do so.

Blessings have their own rules, and must be followed accordingly. Which seems to be an issue for people who want to take things out of context and blatantly lie about it.

Life: An incomprehensible, endless circle of involuntary self-destruction.

12,000
14,000
11,000

 
   
Made in gb
Nimble Mounted Yeoman




UK

The easiest way to look at it is in thee wording of the psychic powers themselves, as far as I'm aware.


Take Iron Arm, number 1 in Biomancy.

'...Whilst this power is in effect, the Psyker gains +D3 strength and Toughness..."
BRB, page 143

If I cast it a dozen times, or once, makes no difference. No matter how many times I cast it, 1 or 12, it never changes the fact that it's in effect. It's in effect from one source, it's in effect from a dozen, makes no difference.

I could cast it 12 times, and it's still 'in effect', so I still only gain D3 S/T.

If it were worded that casting it grants the unit/model +D3, then it could stack. The trigger 'in effect' cannot be duplicated; it's on or off, 0 or 1, no matter the casting multiplier.
   
Made in ca
Monstrously Massive Big Mutant





Canada

Aye

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/05/05 22:04:16


Life: An incomprehensible, endless circle of involuntary self-destruction.

12,000
14,000
11,000

 
   
Made in gb
Nimble Mounted Yeoman




UK

GoliothOnline wrote:
It sure doesn't say "The psyker gains +D3 Strength and Toughness for each time you cast Iron Arm...


It wouldn't even need to be that specific. It could just say that casting Iron Arm grants the above. That is a condition you can satisfy more than once.

AFAIK, all psychic powers with buffs involved in 6th ed specify 'whilst in effect'.
   
Made in au
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon




Armageddon, Pry System, Armageddon Sector, Armageddon Sub-sector, Segmentum Solar.

Its not just Blessings and Maledictions

General rule for all powers: Page 68 under Resolve Psychic Power; Unless otherwise stated, the effects of multiple different psychic powers are cumulative.

Specific to Blessings and Maledictions (exact same wording in each bar type): Not the bonuses and penalties from different Blessings/Maledictions are always cumulative, but cannot, unless otherwise stated, characteristics above 10 or below 1.

Also did you mean this Malediction from CSM Gift of Contagion on Page 71?

Which States: The effects of Multiple Gifts of Contagion are cumulative.

Because Weapon Virus' effect is a USR and is by default not cumulative.

It also may be worth noting that Symphony of Pain on the same page states: Note the effects of more than one Symphony of Pain are cumulative.

While Hysterical Frenzy does not have such text permitting accumulation of the Blessings effects.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

OP.

It is also worth noting that "Unless otherwise stated, the effects of multiple different psychic powers are cumulative." does not mean the effects of the same psychic powers are not cumulative.

"Permission to do X means you CANNOT do Y!" is logically incorrect.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/05/05 23:17:59


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in ca
Monstrously Massive Big Mutant





Canada

Which means that Runes of Battle aren't cumulative on the same unit even when cast by multiple different sources. It's still the same, and not told in it's description that it can be stacked.

The simple fact is it's the same thing no matter how you try to spin it.

Does the unit have Blessing X?

Yes?

Then the unit cannot benefit from blessing X if it doesn't state it can be cumulative. Everywhere else where the applicable blessing can be stacked it is said so in its description. Blessing rules state that DIFFERENT blessing can stack.


Life: An incomprehensible, endless circle of involuntary self-destruction.

12,000
14,000
11,000

 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

GoliothOnline wrote:
Which means that Runes of Battle aren't cumulative on the same unit even when cast by multiple different sources. It's still the same, and not told in it's description that it can be stacked.

The simple fact is it's the same thing no matter how you try to spin it.

Does the unit have Blessing X?

Yes?

Then the unit cannot benefit from blessing X if it doesn't state it can be cumulative. Everywhere else where the applicable blessing can be stacked it is said so in its description. Blessing rules state that DIFFERENT blessing can stack.


And remember that the blessing rules state that DIFFERENT blessing can stack.

It does not state that the same blessing can not stack.

"Permission to do X means you CANNOT do Y!" is logically incorrect.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in ca
Monstrously Massive Big Mutant





Canada

And no, reaper.

If you have 2 differently named blessings that do the same thing, they stack on one another. if you have 2 of the SAME blessing, unless otherwise stated, they DO NOT stack.

This indirect approach to making things broken is exactly why people don't want to get into a hobby which encourages illiterate uses of manipulation of the English language and writing.

Life: An incomprehensible, endless circle of involuntary self-destruction.

12,000
14,000
11,000

 
   
Made in gb
Nimble Mounted Yeoman




UK

 DeathReaper wrote:

And remember that the blessing rules state that DIFFERENT blessing can stack.

It does not state that the same blessing can not stack.

"Permission to do X means you CANNOT do Y!" is logically incorrect.


They're not forbidden to stack, but the way their rules are worded don't actually permit it, is more the thing. At least the BRB powers. Not up to speed with the Eldar ones.

A unit doesn't get any more under the effect of a power for multiple castings. Iron Arm cast once is in effect. Iron arm cast ten times is in effect. If Iron Arm is in effect on a model, +D3 strength and toughness.
   
Made in ca
Monstrously Massive Big Mutant





Canada

Are you really saying that things that SPECIFCIALLY SAY you cannot do something, means you can actually do the opposite because it doesn't state you can't?

Wow.... just wow

Life: An incomprehensible, endless circle of involuntary self-destruction.

12,000
14,000
11,000

 
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Springfield, VA

GoliothOnline wrote:
Are you really saying that things that SPECIFCIALLY SAY you cannot do something, means you can actually do the opposite because it doesn't state you can't?

Wow.... just wow


Where does it SPECIFICALLY SAY that blessings do not stack?
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

GoliothOnline wrote:
Are you really saying that things that SPECIFCIALLY SAY you cannot do something, means you can actually do the opposite because it doesn't state you can't?


It would be really great if you could show where the rules specifically say this, as no one has been able to provide it yet.

And just has a heads up, "Remember that different powers/blessings/maledictions/etc are cumulative" does not mean the same are not.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

GoliothOnline wrote:
if you have 2 of the SAME blessing, unless otherwise stated, they DO NOT stack.


Do you have a rules quote that says this?

I can not find it in the BRB.

Page 2, gives permission for multiple modifiers to stack.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in ca
Monstrously Massive Big Mutant





Canada

Page 68 reads as follows

Note that bonuses and penalties from different blessings are
always cumulative...

If people want to sit there and argue that DIFFERENT BLESSINGS means the same blessings but from different sources (Which is complete rubbish as it's not stated as such in the RULE FOR USING BLESSINGS) then by all means go ahead and blatantly ignore the rules

Different Blessings means Different Blessings. It doesn't say Different in terms of sources from which that blessing is being casted.




Automatically Appended Next Post:
 DeathReaper wrote:
GoliothOnline wrote:
if you have 2 of the SAME blessing, unless otherwise stated, they DO NOT stack.


Do you have a rules quote that says this?

I can not find it in the BRB.

Page 2, gives permission for multiple modifiers to stack.


Modifiers aren't specifically locked to Blessings, which have their own specific rule set.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/05/05 23:50:36


Life: An incomprehensible, endless circle of involuntary self-destruction.

12,000
14,000
11,000

 
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Springfield, VA

GoliothOnline wrote:
Page 68 reads as follows

Note that bonuses and penalties from different blessings are
always cumulative...

If people want to sit there and argue that DIFFERENT BLESSINGS means the same blessings but from different sources (Which is complete rubbish as it's not stated as such in the RULE FOR USING BLESSINGS) then by all means go ahead and blatantly ignore the rules

Different Blessings means Different Blessings. It doesn't say Different in terms of sources from which that blessing is being casted.



That never says that the same blessings are not cumulative.

Permission for different blessings to be cumulative has no bearing on the state of similar blessings. It would be like saying "Same blessings cannot stack because immobilized vehicles can't move!"

They're unrelated statements.
   
Made in ca
Monstrously Massive Big Mutant





Canada

 Unit1126PLL wrote:
GoliothOnline wrote:
Are you really saying that things that SPECIFCIALLY SAY you cannot do something, means you can actually do the opposite because it doesn't state you can't?

Wow.... just wow


Where does it SPECIFICALLY SAY that blessings do not stack?


It says on Page 68 of the BRB

Note that bonuses and penalties from different blessings are always cumulative,


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 Unit1126PLL wrote:
GoliothOnline wrote:
Page 68 reads as follows

Note that bonuses and penalties from different blessings are
always cumulative...

If people want to sit there and argue that DIFFERENT BLESSINGS means the same blessings but from different sources (Which is complete rubbish as it's not stated as such in the RULE FOR USING BLESSINGS) then by all means go ahead and blatantly ignore the rules

Different Blessings means Different Blessings. It doesn't say Different in terms of sources from which that blessing is being casted.



That never says that the same blessings are not cumulative.

Permission for different blessings to be cumulative has no bearing on the state of similar blessings. It would be like saying "Same blessings cannot stack because immobilized vehicles can't move!"

They're unrelated statements.



Again, blatantly disregarding the notion of DIFFERENT BLESSINGS. It's not saying you can stack the same Blessings.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/05/05 23:54:13


Life: An incomprehensible, endless circle of involuntary self-destruction.

12,000
14,000
11,000

 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





GoliothOnline wrote:
 Unit1126PLL wrote:
GoliothOnline wrote:
Are you really saying that things that SPECIFCIALLY SAY you cannot do something, means you can actually do the opposite because it doesn't state you can't?

Wow.... just wow


Where does it SPECIFICALLY SAY that blessings do not stack?


It says on Page 68 of the BRB

Note that bonuses and penalties from different blessings are always cumulative,


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 Unit1126PLL wrote:
GoliothOnline wrote:
Page 68 reads as follows

Note that bonuses and penalties from different blessings are
always cumulative...

If people want to sit there and argue that DIFFERENT BLESSINGS means the same blessings but from different sources (Which is complete rubbish as it's not stated as such in the RULE FOR USING BLESSINGS) then by all means go ahead and blatantly ignore the rules

Different Blessings means Different Blessings. It doesn't say Different in terms of sources from which that blessing is being casted.



That never says that the same blessings are not cumulative.

Permission for different blessings to be cumulative has no bearing on the state of similar blessings. It would be like saying "Same blessings cannot stack because immobilized vehicles can't move!"

They're unrelated statements.



Again, blatantly disregarding the notion of DIFFERENT BLESSINGS. It's not saying you can stack the same Blessings.


Capitalizing the irrelevant words isn't helping your point.
Please cite a rule restricting same blessings.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in ca
Monstrously Massive Big Mutant





Canada

rigeld2 wrote:
GoliothOnline wrote:
 Unit1126PLL wrote:
GoliothOnline wrote:
Are you really saying that things that SPECIFCIALLY SAY you cannot do something, means you can actually do the opposite because it doesn't state you can't?

Wow.... just wow


Where does it SPECIFICALLY SAY that blessings do not stack?


It says on Page 68 of the BRB

Note that bonuses and penalties from different blessings are always cumulative,


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 Unit1126PLL wrote:
GoliothOnline wrote:
Page 68 reads as follows

Note that bonuses and penalties from different blessings are
always cumulative...

If people want to sit there and argue that DIFFERENT BLESSINGS means the same blessings but from different sources (Which is complete rubbish as it's not stated as such in the RULE FOR USING BLESSINGS) then by all means go ahead and blatantly ignore the rules

Different Blessings means Different Blessings. It doesn't say Different in terms of sources from which that blessing is being casted.



That never says that the same blessings are not cumulative.

Permission for different blessings to be cumulative has no bearing on the state of similar blessings. It would be like saying "Same blessings cannot stack because immobilized vehicles can't move!"

They're unrelated statements.



Again, blatantly disregarding the notion of DIFFERENT BLESSINGS. It's not saying you can stack the same Blessings.


Capitalizing the irrelevant words isn't helping your point.
Please cite a rule restricting same blessings.


Cite me a rule stating the same blessing cast multiple times (And don't bring up that BS about modifiers as they aren't Blessings, they can be provided or lowered due to Blessings.) can stack from different sources on a single target.

Life: An incomprehensible, endless circle of involuntary self-destruction.

12,000
14,000
11,000

 
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Springfield, VA

GoliothOnline wrote:

It's not saying you can stack the same Blessings.


Right - it also isn't saying you can't stack the same blessings. It has as much bearing on whether or not the same blessing stacks as the Vehicle Damage Chart.
   
Made in au
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon




Armageddon, Pry System, Armageddon Sector, Armageddon Sub-sector, Segmentum Solar.

The process for Manifesting and Resolving a power is based on manifesting and resolving a single power by itself with no others powers or effects present.

The only mention of multiple powers or effects is a permission for different powers to be cumulative. There is no mention of multiple same powers ability to be cumulative, for or against, outside of specific individual power listings.

Frankly I couldn't care less which side the coin drops I'd just like a definitive answer on the matter.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





GoliothOnline wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:Capitalizing the irrelevant words isn't helping your point.
Please cite a rule restricting same blessings.


Cite me a rule stating the same blessing cast multiple times (And don't bring up that BS about modifiers as they aren't Blessings, they can be provided or lowered due to Blessings.) can stack from different sources on a single target.

Depends on the blessing. I have permission to resolve the power according to its text, yes?

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Calm Celestian




Florida, USA

I actually have a question that I haven't yet seen brought up in this often discussed topic, which I will get to in a bit.

GoliothOnline, it is your opinion that the same blessing cast multiple times cannot stack from different sources on a single target correct?

GoliothOnline wrote:Cite me a rule stating the same blessing cast multiple times (And don't bring up that BS about modifiers as they aren't Blessings, they can be provided or lowered due to Blessings.) can stack from different sources on a single target.


I bring it up because it is about to be very relevant. I direct everyone to look at the Telekinesis Psychic Discipline and specifically the Gate of Infinity blessing.

My question is thus: what would happen to a unit that has two Psykers attached to it, both with the Gate of Infinity power and sufficient warp charges, etc. where both Psykers cast Gate of Infinity? Would that unit not then follow the process for resolving the Gate of Infinity power, twice? Once for each casting?

After all, it is the same blessing being cast on the same target from different sources, but according to GoliothOnline and others with the same viewpoint, one would not be able to resolve the second Gate of Infinity power, or rather it would have no effect as the unit already had Gate of Infinity cast upon it before in the same turn.

Gate of Infinity doesn't say that it is cumulative with itself, as is being asked for by some people.

Frankly, I disagree with the notion that the blessing Gate of Infinity wouldn't affect the same unit twice.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/05/06 01:05:38


There is a fine line between genius and insanity and I colored it in with crayon. 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: