Switch Theme:

Imperial Knights, Strength D in melee  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
The Hive Mind





Hits are not allocated either. So as written D weapons don't function.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




rigeld2 wrote:
Hits are not allocated either. So as written D weapons don't function.


Which is true, which is why the D rules are sketchy at best. However, hits are allocated in squadron rules, which sets a decent precedent to follow for D weapons.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

rigeld2 wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
So the D weapon can not harm any models with it because you skip populating the wound pool, and as such you can not allocate any wounds...

Or it works by populating the wound pool by using the chart instead of rolling To Wound.

Your way makes D weapons not function and can not be the correct way read that rule.

No.
Your method is a literal houserule to make the D weapon work.
My method is a literal houserule to make the D weapon work.

It doesn't work as written. My method keeps closest to the D weapon rule of wounding models. Your method requires us to literally ignore the word models on the D weapon chart.


My method does not require literally ignoring the word models on the D weapon chart. Units are made up of models, so if you wound a unit you are wounding a collection of models.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 DeathReaper wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
So the D weapon can not harm any models with it because you skip populating the wound pool, and as such you can not allocate any wounds...

Or it works by populating the wound pool by using the chart instead of rolling To Wound.

Your way makes D weapons not function and can not be the correct way read that rule.

No.
Your method is a literal houserule to make the D weapon work.
My method is a literal houserule to make the D weapon work.

It doesn't work as written. My method keeps closest to the D weapon rule of wounding models. Your method requires us to literally ignore the word models on the D weapon chart.


My method does not require literally ignoring the word models on the D weapon chart. Units are made up of models, so if you wound a unit you are wounding a collection of models.

Please cite the words "collection of models" in the D weapon rule.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

rigeld2 wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
My method does not require literally ignoring the word models on the D weapon chart. Units are made up of models, so if you wound a unit you are wounding a collection of models.

Please cite the words "collection of models" in the D weapon rule.

You are looking in the wrong place if you think the rules for units are in the D weapon rule...

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Your army is also just a collection of models. Your stretching way to far now.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 DeathReaper wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
My method does not require literally ignoring the word models on the D weapon chart. Units are made up of models, so if you wound a unit you are wounding a collection of models.

Please cite the words "collection of models" in the D weapon rule.

You are looking in the wrong place if you think the rules for units are in the D weapon rule...

I'm confused now - the D weapon rules never refer to units, nor a collection of models, but you're insisting that wounding a model is the same as wounding a unit?

Could you clarify everything for me?

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Fragile wrote:
Your army is also just a collection of models. Your stretching way to far now.

Except there is a actual rules quote that I posted telling us that a unit is is a collection of models.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
rigeld2 wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
My method does not require literally ignoring the word models on the D weapon chart. Units are made up of models, so if you wound a unit you are wounding a collection of models.

Please cite the words "collection of models" in the D weapon rule.

You are looking in the wrong place if you think the rules for units are in the D weapon rule...

I'm confused now - the D weapon rules never refer to units, nor a collection of models, but you're insisting that wounding a model is the same as wounding a unit?

Could you clarify everything for me?

I have, in a previous post on the last page.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/05/13 01:13:49


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





No, you haven't.
You've asserted that any rule that wounds a model must use the wound allocation and wound pool rules, despite the fact that this breaks Perils, Gets Hot, etc.

Yes, a unit is a collection of models. That statement has no relevancy.

Cite allowance to populate the wound pool when only a model is caused wounds, not the unit.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Nimble Mounted Yeoman




UK

Okay. Lets look at the most recent update to S D weapons. Escalation & Stronghold Assault

"DESTROYER WEAPONS
Also known as Titan-killers, a Destroyer weapon delivers an immense amount of
damage to any target that it hits. Only a Destroyer weapon is capable of taking out a
Super-heavy vehicle or Gargantuan Creature with a single shot.
If a weapon has a D instead of a Strength value in its profile, it means it is a Destroyer
weapon. To resolve a Destroyer weapon’s attack, roll To Hit as you would for a standard
attack. If the attack hits, roll on the table below instead of rolling To Wound or for
armour penetration. No saving throws of any kind are allowed against damage from a
Destroyer weapon, including special rolls such as Feel No Pain or Necron Reanimation
Protocols.

DESTROYER WEAPON ATTACK TABLE
D6 - 1
Vehicle or Building - Clipped: The target suffers a penetrating hit.
Non-vehicle - Lucky Escape: The model is unharmed.
D6 - 2-5
Vehicle or Building - Solid Hit: A Super-heavy vehicle loses D3+1 Hull Points. Other
vehicles suffer an Explodes! result from the Vehicle Damage table. Buildings suffer a
Detonation! result from the Building Damage table.
Non-vehicle - Seriously Wounded: The model loses D3+1 Wounds.
D6 - 6
Vehicle or Building - Devastating Hit: As for Solid Hit, above, except a Super-heavy
vehicle loses D6+6 Hull Points instead.
Non-vehicle - Deathblow: The model loses D6+6 Wounds."

Codex: Escalation, epub edition

Instead of rolling to wound, you roll on the table.

The table specifies that 'The model loses..." on any roll of a 2+.

'The model' is not the unit. 'The model' has zero permission to move wounds to other models. The roll has zero permission to populate a wound pool from these attacks.

You hit one model per successful attack and those models take every wound from the roll.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/05/13 01:20:43


 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

rigeld2 wrote:

Yes, a unit is a collection of models. That statement has no relevancy.

And this is why you do not understand.

It is 100% relevant.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/05/13 02:04:36


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Nimble Mounted Yeoman




UK

 DeathReaper wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:

Yes, a unit is a collection of models. That statement has no relevancy.

And this is why you do not understand.

It is 100% relevant.


It dosen't even begin to matter.

The rule states 'The model'

The is singular. It means one. It means the model who takes the hit takes the wound. You're not allowed to put them onto other models, because any other model is not the model taking the hit.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 DeathReaper wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:

Yes, a unit is a collection of models. That statement has no relevancy.

And this is why you do not understand.

It is 100% relevant.

Where do the D weapon rules reference a unit?

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 DeathReaper wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:

Yes, a unit is a collection of models. That statement has no relevancy.

And this is why you do not understand.

It is 100% relevant.


Its good to know that a D weapon that does 12 wounds with deathblow can not only kill that unit, but also members of units that were not even near the blast, since your army is made of units which are made of a collection of models.

Again your argument has no basis.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Fragile wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:

Yes, a unit is a collection of models. That statement has no relevancy.

And this is why you do not understand.

It is 100% relevant.


Its good to know that a D weapon that does 12 wounds with deathblow can not only kill that unit, but also members of units that were not even near the blast, since your army is made of units which are made of a collection of models.

Again your argument has no basis.


It does if you do not ignore the quotes I posted.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 DeathReaper wrote:
Fragile wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:

Yes, a unit is a collection of models. That statement has no relevancy.

And this is why you do not understand.

It is 100% relevant.


Its good to know that a D weapon that does 12 wounds with deathblow can not only kill that unit, but also members of units that were not even near the blast, since your army is made of units which are made of a collection of models.

Again your argument has no basis.


It does if you do not ignore the quotes I posted.

Except you haven't posted a relevant one. At all. Not clearly anyway. Perhaps you'd like to restate more clearly?

Because I don't see any quotes supporting your assertions that don't ignore how the rules work.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






Destroyer weapons never cause wounds.

The model hit loses wounds, which is a characteristic which when reduced to 0 destroys that model.

There is no wound pool, because there is no wounds caused, Those wounds are "a telling amount of damage" caused by a hit.

So no DR, No one is coung to be able to show you where the rules state you allocate d3+1 wounds to a model, because no wounds are caused.

I can show you where it says "The Model loses d3+1 wounds" that is found in Escalation under Destroyer weapon attack table, and is the result of rolling a 2-5 on a d6.


This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Anacortes

D weapon works fine. Re-read its entry in the imperial knights book. Roll to hit as normal, instead of rolling to wound or armor penetration use the chart below. Simple easy done.

The chart goes on to explain things like ". The MODEL take d3+1 , or escapes , or d6+6.. Sometimes it's just easier to re-read it .

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/05/13 19:43:29


In a dog eat dog be a cat. 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Lungpickle wrote:
D weapon works fine. Re-read its entry in the imperial knights book. Roll to hit as normal, instead of rolling to wound or armor penetration use the chart below. Simple easy done.

The chart goes on to explain things like ". The MODEL take d3+1 , or escapes , or d6+6.. Sometimes it's just easier to re-read it .


Then explain the process for allocating those hits to any non squadron unit.
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






Fragile wrote:
Lungpickle wrote:
D weapon works fine. Re-read its entry in the imperial knights book. Roll to hit as normal, instead of rolling to wound or armor penetration use the chart below. Simple easy done.

The chart goes on to explain things like ". The MODEL take d3+1 , or escapes , or d6+6.. Sometimes it's just easier to re-read it .


Then explain the process for allocating those hits to any non squadron unit.


For shooting it is simple, The Blasts/Templates tell you the models beneath them are the models hit(mindstrike missiles further confirm this).

I don't believe there are any "direct-fire" destroyer weapons

It is in Close combat that the rules fall apart.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
Wise Ethereal with Bodyguard




Catskills in NYS

 Kommissar Kel wrote:
Fragile wrote:
Lungpickle wrote:
D weapon works fine. Re-read its entry in the imperial knights book. Roll to hit as normal, instead of rolling to wound or armor penetration use the chart below. Simple easy done.

The chart goes on to explain things like ". The MODEL take d3+1 , or escapes , or d6+6.. Sometimes it's just easier to re-read it .


Then explain the process for allocating those hits to any non squadron unit.


For shooting it is simple, The Blasts/Templates tell you the models beneath them are the models hit(mindstrike missiles further confirm this).

I don't believe there are any "direct-fire" destroyer weapons

It is in Close combat that the rules fall apart.

There are two direct fire, the tau heavy railgun, and one of the modes on the giant necron turret.

Homosexuality is the #1 cause of gay marriage.
 kronk wrote:
Every pizza is a personal sized pizza if you try hard enough and believe in yourself.
 sebster wrote:
Yes, indeed. What a terrible piece of cultural imperialism it is for me to say that a country shouldn't murder its own citizens
 BaronIveagh wrote:
Basically they went from a carrot and stick to a smaller carrot and flanged mace.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: