Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/25 17:19:05
Subject: Markerlights and 7th
|
 |
Slippery Ultramarine Scout Biker
Northampton
|
RIght, bear with me:
The rules for marker lights say that as shooting is resolved simultaneously it is impossible (not banned) from a unit to benefit from it's own marker lights.
Now, thanks to the nice new shooting rules, shooting is NOT resolved simultaneously and therefore it is no longer impossible for a unit to benefit from it's own marker lights.
This would obviously contradict with the existence of networked markerlights - but that isn't a rules problem, there are many things that contradict each other's existence just fine.
So firing order could go:
6 Markerlights
3 Hits resolved (3 marker tokens added)
Remove three marker tokens
Fire Darkstrider at +3 BS
Resolve Darkstrider
Fire Rail rifles at -1T and +3BS
Barring an FAQ, what is stopping that?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/25 17:25:14
Subject: Markerlights and 7th
|
 |
Screaming Shining Spear
|
I think that "impossible" can only ever mean that it is not a possible option. The reason given is now incorrect, but that doesnt change the fact that it is not possible.
Thats just how I see it anyway, but I'm almost 100% sure they will FAQ it in that manner. Otherwise, as you said, Networked Markerlights would be pointless.
|
4000 points: Craftworld Mymeara |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/25 17:28:18
Subject: Markerlights and 7th
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Every army is in need of an FAQ at the moment.
But the intent of this rules is 100% clear, even if the RAW is currently a bit shaky.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/25 17:33:32
Subject: Markerlights and 7th
|
 |
Slippery Ultramarine Scout Biker
Northampton
|
I see what you're getting at, and an FAQ may be possible, but I have less faith in how much they will fix - FAQ's lately haven't been great and rarely answer any questions that are frequently asked.
I think the issue if left open to interpretation is the fact the Tau book specifically references a firing order which no longer exists - ultimately all that is left with a tatter of a rule is to apply one's own interpretation and there is no formal was of doing this. In fact the new book goes one step further and clearly references a shooting attack is not 'made' until the firer elects to use that weapon type.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/25 17:55:56
Subject: Markerlights and 7th
|
 |
Sneaky Kommando
North Carolina
|
Until there's an FAQ I'd say that codex trumps rule book. Regardless of the new order of shooting I'd say RAI mean a unit can't benefit from its own markerlights.
At least that's how I'd want it played until something specific overules that.
|
40k
8,500
6,000
5,000
4,000
WFB
Skaven 6,500
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/25 21:20:48
Subject: Re:Markerlights and 7th
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
The codex is not wrong. While the weapons are resolved one at a time, the shooting is still happening simultaneously.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/25 21:26:21
Subject: Markerlights and 7th
|
 |
Poisonous Kroot Headhunter
|
I thought under the Markerlight rules it specifically says that a unit can't benefit from its own Markerlight? In fact I think it clearly states it's impossible for the same unit to benefit from it.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/25 21:42:46
Subject: Markerlights and 7th
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
PastelAvenger wrote:I thought under the Markerlight rules it specifically says that a unit can't benefit from its own Markerlight? In fact I think it clearly states it's impossible for the same unit to benefit from it.
It does, The OP mentioned that.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/26 15:38:20
Subject: Markerlights and 7th
|
 |
Poisonous Kroot Headhunter
|
Morale of this story....don't skim read and reply
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/26 17:29:20
Subject: Markerlights and 7th
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
Shoreline
|
It should be the same as 6e mainly because it says "Immediately before a unit from C:TE shoots at a target..." pg 68
So before any shots are made by a unit it must make use of the markerlights already.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/05/26 17:29:43
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/27 05:47:58
Subject: Markerlights and 7th
|
 |
Stalwart Veteran Guard Sergeant
|
A similar argument is made about vehicles shooting ordinance weapons last to avoid snap firing. Gotta faq dat, stat.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/27 05:58:49
Subject: Markerlights and 7th
|
 |
Slippery Ultramarine Scout Biker
Northampton
|
Tautastic wrote:It should be the same as 6e mainly because it says "Immediately before a unit from C:TE shoots at a target..." pg 68
So before any shots are made by a unit it must make use of the markerlights already.
Yo know what, that's just about the strongest argument against it that I've seen - good spot.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/27 07:09:30
Subject: Markerlights and 7th
|
 |
Purposeful Hammerhead Pilot
Newcastle, NSW ,Australia
|
random_man wrote:Tautastic wrote:It should be the same as 6e mainly because it says "Immediately before a unit from C:TE shoots at a target..." pg 68
So before any shots are made by a unit it must make use of the markerlights already.
Yo know what, that's just about the strongest argument against it that I've seen - good spot.
I made that argument in a different thread a day before him lol I want the credit lol
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/27 07:18:36
Subject: Markerlights and 7th
|
 |
Boom! Leman Russ Commander
|
Actually, this is wrong.
The rules say
PG68 Tau Codex wrote:Immediately before a unit from Codex: Tau Empire shoots at a target that has one or more markerlight counters...
Further...
Note that as the Markerlight Counters are removed from the target before the shooting attack is made, it is impossible for a unit to benefit from its own markerlights.
Regardless of how shooting is resolved, the markerlights need to be in place before the unit shoots, not before the model shoots. The rules here are very explicit, no matter how the shooting phase has changed. The unit's shooting is resolved before you go onto the next unit's shooting. It does not matter if a model's shooting is separate.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|