Switch Theme:

Summoning Daemons from an Eldar or Space Marine psyker. (RAW seems to say that they can't.)  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fixture of Dakka



Chicago, Illinois

emmagine wrote:
You are inferring an alternate definition where none exists, but that really doesn't matter. regardless of if the standard battle deployment rules apply or not, deep striking would be a more specific rule, and thus trump it. Either way, you can summon a deamon within 12 inches of an eldar or sm.

But to argue for the sake of accuracy, there are plenty of holes in your theory... we can look at reserves for example as you stated.

"Combined Reserve Units During deployment, when deciding which units are kept as Reserves,"
-Games Workshop Ltd. Warhammer 40,000 (Kindle Locations 10000-10001).

You will note it doesn't say "during deployment for battle"



Really because I just gave a clear example of where the rulebook defines what Deploy means, see previous post.

Deploy can also mean set on .

Now tell me by your definition a unit coming in from reserve can it move with in 12 inches of a Come the Apocalypse.

If I lose it is because I had bad luck, if you win it is because you cheated. 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Of course it can, read my previous posts (easiest would be the one with red to see how). I've been saying that for several posts. It doesn't matter which of us is correct. Either way it can be summoned within 12".

And yes you did give one where it seems to imply that... However I just gave a clear example of where they refer to the initial deployment as "deployment" instead of "deploying for battle", when clearly meaning initial deployment. So at best, you've managed to prove the whole thing is poorly written. But we already knew that.
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka



Chicago, Illinois

Again, Editor is a Ceremonial title at Gamesworkshop.

If I lose it is because I had bad luck, if you win it is because you cheated. 
   
Made in ca
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver





Yep. I think they throw darts at a 'word of the week' calendar to determine most things.

I kid, I kid. In fairness the wording for most rules has firmed up and typically becomes more consistent as the editions roll by, They just generally tend to mess up a lot on the new stuff they add in.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/05 03:40:27


 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Hollismason wrote:
It's not me arguing RAI, it's me saying it literally has two different meanings . In that it's usage is changed because of the context in which it is written specifically.

......

All of these are different usages of the word DEPLOY, Reserves are not in the STANDARD DEPLOYMENT, where COME THE APOCALYPSE applies.


If you cannot understand how words have different usage depending on context, I seriously doubt you function at any level in society.






emphasis mine.

Also please refrain from these type of comments. They are against the forum rules, and make you look like you are more attached to your viewpoint due to emotional reasons than logical ones.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/05 03:48:14


 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka



Chicago, Illinois

I stand by my statement.

If I lose it is because I had bad luck, if you win it is because you cheated. 
   
Made in us
Neophyte Undergoing Surgeries



Silverdale, Washington

Pg. 133 seems to give the description for (spawned, summoned, and replaced units). Conjured Units & Victory Conditions at the bottom right of the page seems to put them in your army as far as Victory Conditions and Victory Points are concerned.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/05 05:43:32


 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Hollismason wrote:
I stand by my statement.


Simple enough to report then. Happy hunting to you sir.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: