Switch Theme:

Twin Linked Plasma  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Stealthy Dark Angels Scout with Shotgun





Gloucester, UK

If you roll a 1, does the weapon get hot, so preventing the re-roll.
Or do you ignore the gets hot and roll for the second weapon
or do you take the gets hot (and take the save) and the roll to see whether the second weapon hits. If that gets hot, is it a second save?

For the Lion, for the , for humanity, for goodness sake
StewRat 
   
Made in pt
Sister Vastly Superior







If you miss with your first shot, you reroll it. If the reroll is a 1 Gets Hot! kicks in and you suffer the wound.

I play Space Marines, Dark Angels, Blood Angels, Astra Militarum, Militarum Tempestus, Chaos Space Marines, Dark Eldar, Eldar, Orks, Adepta Sororitas, 'Nids, Necrons, Tau and Grey Knights. 
   
Made in au
Frenzied Berserker Terminator






Have a read of the whole Gets Hot rule, it tells you how to handle re-rolls.
   
Made in gb
Stealthy Dark Angels Scout with Shotgun





Gloucester, UK

Thanks both. I found it later - I thought it would come under twin linked. Didn't think to see whether there was a Gets Hot section! Doooooh.

Thanks again.

For the Lion, for the , for humanity, for goodness sake
StewRat 
   
Made in us
Hellish Haemonculus






Boskydell, IL

I've had an opponent who has put forth that the 'as well' in the section on 'Gets Hot! and re-rolls' means that both the initial miss AND the re-roll have to come up 1 in order to trigger the wound.

Welcome to the Freakshow!

(Leadership-shenanigans for Eldar of all types.) 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

 Jimsolo wrote:
I've had an opponent who has put forth that the 'as well' in the section on 'Gets Hot! and re-rolls' means that both the initial miss AND the re-roll have to come up 1 in order to trigger the wound.
Is that the previous edition?

The current Gets Hot and Re-rolls doesn't say "as well" at all, and is very clear that this doesn't happen.
   
Made in us
Hellish Haemonculus






Boskydell, IL

 grendel083 wrote:
 Jimsolo wrote:
I've had an opponent who has put forth that the 'as well' in the section on 'Gets Hot! and re-rolls' means that both the initial miss AND the re-roll have to come up 1 in order to trigger the wound.
Is that the previous edition?

The current Gets Hot and Re-rolls doesn't say "as well" at all, and is very clear that this doesn't happen.


Sorry. It says 'is also a 1,' not 'is a 1 as well.'

Different wording, same question really.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/06/11 07:56:17


Welcome to the Freakshow!

(Leadership-shenanigans for Eldar of all types.) 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

Ah right.

"...a Wound is only suffered if the To Hit re-roll is also a 1."

I really can't see it the same way as your opponent, especially given the rules for re-rolls that it's the second die that counts.
   
Made in au
Purposeful Hammerhead Pilot






Newcastle, NSW ,Australia

He talking about a situation where I shoot my weapon and roll a 2 and miss the shot, but I re-roll because of twin-linked and then roll a one. You don't get hot because the rule says you need to roll a 1 and that the second result is also a one.

However I the RAI it's just meant to be what the second result says.

For The Greater Good - Desert Tau Painting Blog!
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/0/670437.page#8273427
Chaos Space Marines 4100 Points
Tau Empire 3000 Points

Blood For The Blood God !!!
 
   
Made in us
Sneaky Lictor





You would need both dice to be a one actually.

That word also is a necessity for the Gets Hot! to be activated.

The second roll "Also" needs to be a one means the first one should be a one as well or it would not count for anything.

The ruling for this would override the ruling for the second dice result rule as Gets Hot! is a special rule and special rules override normal rules as far as I have been reading.

In the works

Warhammer 40k. Enjoy it or go play something else. Life is too short to complain.
 
   
Made in us
Ship's Officer





Reading, UK

 Lobomalo wrote:
You would need both dice to be a one actually.

That word also is a necessity for the Gets Hot! to be activated.

The second roll "Also" needs to be a one means the first one should be a one as well or it would not count for anything.

The ruling for this would override the ruling for the second dice result rule as Gets Hot! is a special rule and special rules override normal rules as far as I have been reading.
That's an interesting point.

If a model has the ability to re-roll its rolls To Hit (including because of BS6+ or the Twin-linked special rule), a Wound is only suffered if the To Hit re-roll is also a 1; it may also re-roll Gets Hot results of 1 for weapons that do not roll To Hit.

For me, I think of it as two subsets of situations (assume a BS4 model with the ability to reroll misses):

Situation 1
1 - To Hit roll of 1.
2 - Gets Hot! rule kicks in and indicates that the re-roll rule takes precedence.
3 - Re-roll rule kicks in.
4 - Re-roll To Hit roll of 1.
5 - Gets Hot! rule is resolved and model suffers a wound.

Situation 2
1 - To Hit roll of 2.
2 - Re-roll rule kicks in.
3 - Re-roll To Hit roll of 1.
4 - Gets Hot! rule kicks in. Model no longer has the ability to re-roll so Gets Hot! resolves and model suffers a wound.

I completely agree that it should say exactly what the 'Venerable' rule for Dreadnoughts says (e.g. "you must abide by the second result"), but I don't think it's completely illogical to say that a model that rolled a miss (but not a 1) on the first roll is not still beholden to first section of the Gets Hot! rule. The "a wound is only suffered if the second result is also a 1" is specifically dealing with the situation where a 1 was rolled first, but I don't think it necessarily overrides the alternate case where the first roll was simply a miss (and not a 1).

Either way, I think most people would agree with you that even if the rule is poorly worded, HYWPI you still suffer the wound on a re-roll of 1 regardless.

DoW

"War. War never changes." - Fallout

4000pts
3000pts
1000pts
2500pts 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

 Jimsolo wrote:
 grendel083 wrote:
 Jimsolo wrote:
I've had an opponent who has put forth that the 'as well' in the section on 'Gets Hot! and re-rolls' means that both the initial miss AND the re-roll have to come up 1 in order to trigger the wound.
Is that the previous edition?

The current Gets Hot and Re-rolls doesn't say "as well" at all, and is very clear that this doesn't happen.


Sorry. It says 'is also a 1,' not 'is a 1 as well.'

Different wording, same question really.

The section being quoted is "Gets Hot and Rerolls" I believe. It only covers what happens when a model suffers a "Gets Hot" result and has a reroll available. Its not a general "Misses and Rerolls" rule.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Hellish Haemonculus






Boskydell, IL

 DogOfWar wrote:

Either way, I think most people would agree with you that even if the rule is poorly worded, HYWPI you still suffer the wound on a re-roll of 1 regardless.


Oh, a hundred percent.

But since I've variously been accused of being stupid, a madman, or mentally disabled, I thought I'd just double check to make sure I wasn't the crazy one.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/11 23:20:38


Welcome to the Freakshow!

(Leadership-shenanigans for Eldar of all types.) 
   
Made in us
Ship's Officer





Reading, UK

 Jimsolo wrote:
But since I've variously been accused of being stupid, a madman, or mentally disabled, I thought I'd just double check to make sure I wasn't the crazy one.
Just the sort of thing a madman would say... seize him!

DoW



Automatically Appended Next Post:
But seriously, anyone who uses the Oxford comma cannot possibly be insane. Fact.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/12 02:05:05


"War. War never changes." - Fallout

4000pts
3000pts
1000pts
2500pts 
   
Made in us
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard






Peoria IL

Wow, I guess I'm the odd man out. It's seems very clear to me that RAW and RAI mean it has to be a one followed by a one. It simply says so to me.

DO:70S++G++M+B++I+Pw40k93/f#++D++++A++++/eWD-R++++T(D)DM+
Note: Records since 2010, lists kept current (W-D-L) Blue DP Crusade 126-11-6 Biel-Tan Aspect Waves 2-0-2 Looted Green Horde smash your face in 32-7-8 Broadside/Shield Drone/Kroot blitz goodness 23-3-4 Grey Hunters galore 17-5-5 Khan Bikes Win 63-1-1 Tanith with Pardus Armor 11-0-0 Crimson Tide 59-4-0 Green/Raven/Deathwing 18-0-0 Jumping GK force with Inq. 4-0-0 BTemplars w LRs 7-1-2 IH Legion with Automata 8-0-0 RG Legion w Adepticon medal 6-0-0 Primaris and Little Buddies 7-0-0

QM Templates here, HH army builder app for both v1 and v2
One Page 40k Ruleset for Game Beginners 
   
Made in us
Ship's Officer





Reading, UK

RAW I could give you (the language certainly seems to indicate as such) but the vast preponderance of re-roll related rules (blast weapons, damage results, armour penetration, etc.) all follow the same theme that "the second result stands, even if it's worse" and the result of the first roll is completely ignored once the re-roll takes place.

Which would lead me to believe the intention is that you Gets Hot! when you choose to re-roll and get a , no matter what the first roll was. To argue it another way, if a piece of wargear required a model to re-roll hits, would a re-roll result of cause them to suffer Gets Hot?

DoW

"War. War never changes." - Fallout

4000pts
3000pts
1000pts
2500pts 
   
Made in us
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard






Peoria IL

 DogOfWar wrote:
RAW I could give you (the language certainly seems to indicate as such) but the vast preponderance of re-roll related rules (blast weapons, damage results, armour penetration, etc.) all follow the same theme that "the second result stands, even if it's worse" and the result of the first roll is completely ignored once the re-roll takes place.

Which would lead me to believe the intention is that you Gets Hot! when you choose to re-roll and get a , no matter what the first roll was. To argue it another way, if a piece of wargear required a model to re-roll hits, would a re-roll result of cause them to suffer Gets Hot?

DoW


IMO, no.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
This was a question before and was FAQd in 6th. I don't hand the old FAQs anymore. Could someone check? Pretty sure it was required for two sequential ones to Get Hot.

I've got some explaining to do to my RTT opponents from our 7th ed kickoff if I'm wrong here. My plasma talons dodged quite a few saves. Guess it's good to know sooner than later.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/12 02:36:14


DO:70S++G++M+B++I+Pw40k93/f#++D++++A++++/eWD-R++++T(D)DM+
Note: Records since 2010, lists kept current (W-D-L) Blue DP Crusade 126-11-6 Biel-Tan Aspect Waves 2-0-2 Looted Green Horde smash your face in 32-7-8 Broadside/Shield Drone/Kroot blitz goodness 23-3-4 Grey Hunters galore 17-5-5 Khan Bikes Win 63-1-1 Tanith with Pardus Armor 11-0-0 Crimson Tide 59-4-0 Green/Raven/Deathwing 18-0-0 Jumping GK force with Inq. 4-0-0 BTemplars w LRs 7-1-2 IH Legion with Automata 8-0-0 RG Legion w Adepticon medal 6-0-0 Primaris and Little Buddies 7-0-0

QM Templates here, HH army builder app for both v1 and v2
One Page 40k Ruleset for Game Beginners 
   
Made in us
Ship's Officer





Reading, UK

Fair enough. I have to disagree and I would use the (admittedly inductive) evidence of every other instance of re-rolling rules that require the second roll to take precedence, regardless of the first. It's certainly not proof, but it's something to consider.

Out of curiosity, considering your view of the RAW and RAI, would you play it as a re-roll Gets Hot! requiring you to roll two 1's in a row only?

EDIT - I only ask because I have never played it that way and have never met anyone who played it that way. Doesn't mean it's necessarily wrong, but I'm surprised that it's never come up in any of the groups I've played with.

DoW

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/12 02:39:53


"War. War never changes." - Fallout

4000pts
3000pts
1000pts
2500pts 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

 Lobukia wrote:
This was a question before and was FAQd in 6th. I don't hand the old FAQs anymore. Could someone check? Pretty sure it was required for two sequential ones to Get Hot.


I just went through the last BRB FAQ for 6th edition. nothing on the question at hand.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




It is faulty to say that, because of the 1 on the first roll requiring another 1 from the reroll to gets hot, that the ONLY way to gets hot is if you first roll a 1

If you roll a 2 first, on a BS3 model, then you miss and can reroll. If this is a 1, you cannot reference that rule as you did not roll a 1 initially

Yes, if you roll a 1 on your first roll, you only gets hot on another 1. That has no effect on any other roll you make on your first roll though.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




nosferatu1001 wrote:
It is faulty to say that, because of the 1 on the first roll requiring another 1 from the reroll to gets hot, that the ONLY way to gets hot is if you first roll a 1

If you roll a 2 first, on a BS3 model, then you miss and can reroll. If this is a 1, you cannot reference that rule as you did not roll a 1 initially

Yes, if you roll a 1 on your first roll, you only gets hot on another 1. That has no effect on any other roll you make on your first roll though.


"For each To Hit roll of 1, the firing model immediately suffers a wound." That part of the rule still applies on the re-roll. The rules under the 'Get's Hot and Re-rolls' subsection only applies if you Get Hot, and can re-roll it. If you didn't get hot the first time there's no reason to reference that section and you still have To Hit roll of 1... which triggers the first paragraph of hte Gets Hot rule.

   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Whcih is what I was saying.

There is no need for a FAQ, as any situation where you got hot on the first roll is covered by the section mentioned, and any other situation where you get hot on the second roll is covered by the normal rules for gets hot.
   
Made in gb
Confessor Of Sins





Newton Aycliffe

 DogOfWar wrote:
Fair enough. I have to disagree and I would use the (admittedly inductive) evidence of every other instance of re-rolling rules that require the second roll to take precedence, regardless of the first. It's certainly not proof, but it's something to consider.

Out of curiosity, considering your view of the RAW and RAI, would you play it as a re-roll Gets Hot! requiring you to roll two 1's in a row only?

EDIT - I only ask because I have never played it that way and have never met anyone who played it that way. Doesn't mean it's necessarily wrong, but I'm surprised that it's never come up in any of the groups I've played with.

DoW


I do not have my book with me, but i do believe some of the "must abide by second roll" wording is on pages 1-5, where the rulebook explains what a re-roll is in the first place. Worth a check.

DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage.
Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. 
   
Made in us
Ship's Officer





Reading, UK

 BlackTalos wrote:

I do not have my book with me, but i do believe some of the "must abide by second roll" wording is on pages 1-5, where the rulebook explains what a re-roll is in the first place. Worth a check.
It certainly does, but I think most people would see the Gets Hot! rule as taking precedence (insofar as it's implying that two 1s must be rolled in a row) over the generic re-roll rules. Additionally, I think the fact that many of the rules that talk about "abiding by the second roll" specifically mention that the player must do this (despite the overarching rule in the beginning of the BRB) can, unfortunately, lend credence to either argument.

DoW

"War. War never changes." - Fallout

4000pts
3000pts
1000pts
2500pts 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

Except as noted the "Get Hot and Rerolls" section only applies if you had a 'Gets Hot' result on the first roll and had a reroll available.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Ship's Officer





Reading, UK

 Ghaz wrote:
Except as noted the "Get Hot and Rerolls" section only applies if you had a 'Gets Hot' result on the first roll and had a reroll available.
Exactly, which is what I argued in my first post:

For me, I think of it as two subsets of situations (assume a BS4 model with the ability to reroll misses):

Situation 1
1 - To Hit roll of 1.
2 - Gets Hot! rule kicks in and indicates that the re-roll rule takes precedence.
3 - Re-roll rule kicks in.
4 - Re-roll To Hit roll of 1.
5 - Gets Hot! rule is resolved and model suffers a wound.

Situation 2
1 - To Hit roll of 2.
2 - Re-roll rule kicks in.
3 - Re-roll To Hit roll of 1.
4 - Gets Hot! rule kicks in. Model no longer has the ability to re-roll so Gets Hot! resolves and model suffers a wound.

It's certainly not QED, but I side with the "a re-roll of a on a Gets Hot! weapon causes a wound, regardless of the result of the first roll" camp. The further discussion about precedence and inductive reasoning was just out of idle interest.

DoW

"War. War never changes." - Fallout

4000pts
3000pts
1000pts
2500pts 
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

The Re-roll clause that the 'second result stands' can easily be overturned by more Advanced Rules, there are more then a handful of Rules out there granting permission to do something to the first result. The most obvious example would be all the Rules allowing us to keep the first result if it would be better then the second. This gets us to the core of the problem: That example clearly address the Restriction in question in order to provide us with permission to use the first result, no one can lay any doubt to the intention of such a Rule as it has only that purpose. Other Rules might not be as clear cut as that, they might simply require us to reference what the first result was in relation to the second, modify the second based on the first or whom knows what else the Authors might decide to pen in the future.

All we would hope is the Author would be a lot more clear then using terminology such as 'is also' in those hypothetical situations....

8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard






Peoria IL

"Is also" is an inclusive and joining qualifier. I don't see how you could argue it isn't clear.

If A is also B, do C.... Look at A, see if it includes B, proceed to C. I'm missing the ambiguity.

DO:70S++G++M+B++I+Pw40k93/f#++D++++A++++/eWD-R++++T(D)DM+
Note: Records since 2010, lists kept current (W-D-L) Blue DP Crusade 126-11-6 Biel-Tan Aspect Waves 2-0-2 Looted Green Horde smash your face in 32-7-8 Broadside/Shield Drone/Kroot blitz goodness 23-3-4 Grey Hunters galore 17-5-5 Khan Bikes Win 63-1-1 Tanith with Pardus Armor 11-0-0 Crimson Tide 59-4-0 Green/Raven/Deathwing 18-0-0 Jumping GK force with Inq. 4-0-0 BTemplars w LRs 7-1-2 IH Legion with Automata 8-0-0 RG Legion w Adepticon medal 6-0-0 Primaris and Little Buddies 7-0-0

QM Templates here, HH army builder app for both v1 and v2
One Page 40k Ruleset for Game Beginners 
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Given that more then one interpretation exists it is not something we can say is 'clear.'
The 'disregard the first result' side has multiple groups, all coming to the same conclusion based on different interpretations of that very sentence and a few others, which is not possible if it is so cut and dry.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/13 00:51:00


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard






Peoria IL

If they wanted all new 1s to be gets hot, then why put anything in at all?

DO:70S++G++M+B++I+Pw40k93/f#++D++++A++++/eWD-R++++T(D)DM+
Note: Records since 2010, lists kept current (W-D-L) Blue DP Crusade 126-11-6 Biel-Tan Aspect Waves 2-0-2 Looted Green Horde smash your face in 32-7-8 Broadside/Shield Drone/Kroot blitz goodness 23-3-4 Grey Hunters galore 17-5-5 Khan Bikes Win 63-1-1 Tanith with Pardus Armor 11-0-0 Crimson Tide 59-4-0 Green/Raven/Deathwing 18-0-0 Jumping GK force with Inq. 4-0-0 BTemplars w LRs 7-1-2 IH Legion with Automata 8-0-0 RG Legion w Adepticon medal 6-0-0 Primaris and Little Buddies 7-0-0

QM Templates here, HH army builder app for both v1 and v2
One Page 40k Ruleset for Game Beginners 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: