Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/11 12:37:04
Subject: IWND & Flyers
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Cannot find clarity in the ongoing reserves or IWND that allows/prohibits an Iron Hands Flyer or heldrake from taking an IWND roll on the turn it leaves combat.
Can someone point to the correct play?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/11 14:47:55
Subject: IWND & Flyers
|
 |
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity
|
Is it on the table when the roll would need to be made?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/11 15:33:09
Subject: IWND & Flyers
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
We know the roll for IWND is at the end of your turn.
At the end of your turn you are in ongoing reserves, which does not clarify if abillities or powers are not used in the phase (atleast i cannot find it).
Another Example - FMC takes a Soulblaze wound in enemy shooting phase. FMC flys off the board with the soulblaze marker which activates at the end of the turn. Will you need to roll for the soul blaze power and potentially kill it in ongoing reserve? Would it extinguish? Would it just delay until you come back into play and on that end of turn reactivate?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/11 15:49:54
Subject: IWND & Flyers
|
 |
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity
|
I've never seen an instance where an active ability can be used when a model is in reserves. Passive abilities, maybe, but not active.
IWND is an active ability. It requires that the model make an IWND dice roll.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/11 16:55:09
Subject: IWND & Flyers
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
Pennsylvania
|
Here's the reason for this is anomalous:
"It Will Not Die - At the end of each of your turns, roll a D6 for each of your models with this special rule that has less than its starting number of Wounds or Hull Points, but has not been removed as a casualty or destroyed. On a roll of a 5+, that model regains a Wound, or Hull Point, lost earlier in the game."
With that specific wording, units in Ongoing Reserves would benefit from IWND because they a) are not destroyed / removed as casualties and b) have less than their starting number of Hull Points.
Is there a specific rule that overrides this?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/11 16:59:05
Subject: IWND & Flyers
|
 |
Repentia Mistress
|
If this can happen, then maybe the soul blaze effect happens as well? So it can both recover and die when in ongoing reserves?
What does soul blaze say exactly?
|
DS:70+S+G+M-B--IPw40k94-D+++A++/wWD380R+T(D)DM+
Avatar scene by artist Nicholas Kay. Give credit where it's due! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/11 17:04:10
Subject: IWND & Flyers
|
 |
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity
|
I retract my prior statements. I would allow an opponent to use IWND while in reserves based on the wording.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/11 17:09:03
Subject: IWND & Flyers
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
I would do so too, because the ongoing Unit must return on the next turn.
If it could wait 3 turns in reserves, then i'd see an issue.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/11 17:09:13
DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage. Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/11 17:22:29
Subject: IWND & Flyers
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
Pennsylvania
|
milkboy wrote:If this can happen, then maybe the soul blaze effect happens as well? So it can both recover and die when in ongoing reserves?
What does soul blaze say exactly?
"Soul Blaze - If a unit suffers one or more unsaved Wounds from an attack with this special rule, it is set abalaze and continues to burn. Mark it with a coin or counter as a reminder.
At the end of each turn, roll a D6 for each unit with a Soul Blaze counter on it. On a 3 or less, the flames die out and the unit is no longer ablaze - remove your reminder counter. On a 4+, the unit takes D3 Strength 4 AP5 hits with the Ignores Cover special rule. These wounds are Randomly Allocated. A unit cannot have more than one Soul Blaze counter on it at a time."
No help there unfortunately.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/11 17:27:32
Subject: IWND & Flyers
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
The wording is very much like IWND and i would also say ticks on a unit in Ongoing reserves.
|
DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage. Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/12 14:38:43
Subject: IWND & Flyers
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Concensus is the rules that take effect at the end of the turn will do so even if the flyer leaves the battle and goes into ongoing reserves. We will play it this way.
Only question remaining is if there is a phrase or rule that states a unit in reserves cannot manifest or be affected by abilites or powers.
Do not see this in the current rules
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/12 16:33:29
Subject: IWND & Flyers
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
It is quite surprising, but i cannot indeed find anything along the lines of "Units off the board cannot interact"
So a psyker in reserves arriving on turn 5 can still cast on turns 1-4?
Considering of course line of sight, range, etc.
IE casting on himself would technically work?
|
DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage. Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/12 16:51:50
Subject: IWND & Flyers
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
Pennsylvania
|
True! Does a psyker in reserves generate warp charge?!
[EDIT] No they do not. You only generate warp charge for psykers on the tabletop.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/12 16:53:08
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/12 16:54:04
Subject: IWND & Flyers
|
 |
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar
|
BlackTalos wrote:It is quite surprising, but i cannot indeed find anything along the lines of "Units off the board cannot interact"
So a psyker in reserves arriving on turn 5 can still cast on turns 1-4?
Considering of course line of sight, range, etc.
IE casting on himself would technically work?
As you cannot measure range or line of sight from reserves.....
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/12 17:35:53
Subject: IWND & Flyers
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
Rorschach9 wrote: BlackTalos wrote:It is quite surprising, but i cannot indeed find anything along the lines of "Units off the board cannot interact"
So a psyker in reserves arriving on turn 5 can still cast on turns 1-4?
Considering of course line of sight, range, etc.
IE casting on himself would technically work?
As you cannot measure range or line of sight from reserves.....
My thoughts exactly for most Spells, but Foreboding? "Targets the psyker" (p193) and other similar examples? Could you cast from reserves and arrive with them activated? (I do not think it would make a difference gameplay-wise, but it is so very wrong! :p )
|
DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage. Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/12 17:46:04
Subject: IWND & Flyers
|
 |
Repentia Mistress
|
I think the two situations are different. Psykers who have not arrived from reserved have not deployed yet. Flyers who go into ongoing reserved come back by re-entering play, meaning that they have had their initial deployment from reserves.
But the warp charge thing is a pertinent question. Still looking through the book. Automatically Appended Next Post: Ah only psykers on the tabletop generate warp charge.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/12 17:48:46
DS:70+S+G+M-B--IPw40k94-D+++A++/wWD380R+T(D)DM+
Avatar scene by artist Nicholas Kay. Give credit where it's due! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/12 18:39:05
Subject: IWND & Flyers
|
 |
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar
|
BlackTalos wrote:Rorschach9 wrote: BlackTalos wrote:It is quite surprising, but i cannot indeed find anything along the lines of "Units off the board cannot interact"
So a psyker in reserves arriving on turn 5 can still cast on turns 1-4?
Considering of course line of sight, range, etc.
IE casting on himself would technically work?
As you cannot measure range or line of sight from reserves.....
My thoughts exactly for most Spells, but Foreboding? "Targets the psyker" (p193) and other similar examples? Could you cast from reserves and arrive with them activated? (I do not think it would make a difference gameplay-wise, but it is so very wrong! :p )
You still cannot target the psyker as it is not in play. And they don't generate warp charges unless they are deployed on the table, so it's a non-issue anyway.
|
|
 |
 |
|