Switch Theme:

Charge(s)  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gr
Regular Dakkanaut




Let's say I have 2 characters(ie chaos lord and exalted hero) in a unit(ie chaos warriors). The lord declares a charge out of a unit. Can the hero declare an out of the unit charge as well? Or he has to do what the unit does?
   
Made in au
Stubborn White Lion





Of course he can. Why would he be bound to doing what the unit does?

You would declare both charges that the two characters are making, then resolve the charges separately, then move the unit of warriors after all charges are resolved as per normal.

Warhammer is the right of all sentient nerds!
 
   
Made in de
Decrepit Dakkanaut





The first character can charge. As soon as he charged, however, the entire rest of his former unit is no longer allowed to charge (p.101). This includes all other characters in the unit.

   
Made in ie
Sniping Hexa




Dublin

As Sigvatr says
You can only declare one charge from a single unit, what matters is the composition of the unit at the start of the movement phase, not at every charge declaration

 
   
Made in bg
Cosmic Joe





Bulgaria

I have a semi-related question.
Can the two characters charge out together as a character unit?


Nosebiter wrote:
Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army.
 
   
Made in de
Decrepit Dakkanaut





No, they can't as you have to declare one charge after another.

   
Made in au
Stubborn White Lion





The rulebook doesn't specifically state that other characters cannot charge out of the unit, just that the unit itself cannot declare its own charge. I guess the other character is bound by that wording to stay within the unit for that turn. Interesting, I honestly don't think I've ever actually played with someone who insisted thats how it should be played though...

You learn something new each day.

Warhammer is the right of all sentient nerds!
 
   
Made in de
Decrepit Dakkanaut





alex87 wrote:
The rulebook doesn't specifically state that other characters cannot charge out of the unit, just that the unit itself cannot declare its own charge.


It does explicitely say so because an IC that joins a unit is considered a part of the unit for all purposes except for the exceptions made on page 99. It explicitely states that any movement restrictions apllied to the unit applies to the IC as well.

   
Made in bg
Cosmic Joe





Bulgaria

 Sigvatr wrote:
No, they can't as you have to declare one charge after another.

No i mean they charge the same target together effectively becoming a new unit whyle doing so.


Nosebiter wrote:
Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army.
 
   
Made in gb
Sinister Shapeshifter




The Lair of Vengeance....Poole.

This all depends on how you rule charging. As all charges are declared at the same time, but resolved separately.

Malifaux masters owned: Guild(Sans McCabe), Outcasts(Sans Misaki), Arcanists(Sans Marcus)

Check my blog that I just started: http://unionfaux.blogspot.co.uk/ 
   
Made in de
Decrepit Dakkanaut





 HoverBoy wrote:
 Sigvatr wrote:
No, they can't as you have to declare one charge after another.

No i mean they charge the same target together effectively becoming a new unit whyle doing so.


They can't. You have to declare a charge with one character first. You cannot declare a charge with both at the same time as this would be declaring a charge with 2 different units at the same time. You can only single out 1 character model at a time, 2 character models in a unit are still one unit with the regular models except for the exceptions given in the BRB.

 thedarkavenger wrote:
This all depends on how you rule charging. As all charges are declared at the same time, but resolved separately.


They aren't declared at the same time. You declare one charge and then your enemy chooses a Charge reaction. Afterwards, you declare the next Charge. (p.16)

This message was edited 7 times. Last update was at 2014/06/12 15:12:35


   
Made in gb
Sinister Shapeshifter




The Lair of Vengeance....Poole.

 Sigvatr wrote:
 thedarkavenger wrote:
This all depends on how you rule charging. As all charges are declared at the same time, but resolved separately.


They aren't declared at the same time. You declare one charge and then your enemy chooses a Charge reaction. Afterwards, you declare the next Charge. (p.16)


Also on P. 16. "The first thing you need to do in the charge phase is declare any charges you wish to make."

Which is what makes it a grey area. and sparked my post. You pick them one at a time, this is true, but for game purposes they're all resolved at the same times.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/12 17:32:09


Malifaux masters owned: Guild(Sans McCabe), Outcasts(Sans Misaki), Arcanists(Sans Marcus)

Check my blog that I just started: http://unionfaux.blogspot.co.uk/ 
   
Made in de
Decrepit Dakkanaut





Continue reading the paragraph. The sentence you quoted does not tell you how to do it, it tells you what to do - and how follows right after it.

In 7th, you were correct, all charges were called at the same time. Different in 8th.

   
Made in us
Sslimey Sslyth




 thedarkavenger wrote:
 Sigvatr wrote:
 thedarkavenger wrote:
This all depends on how you rule charging. As all charges are declared at the same time, but resolved separately.


They aren't declared at the same time. You declare one charge and then your enemy chooses a Charge reaction. Afterwards, you declare the next Charge. (p.16)


Also on P. 16. "The first thing you need to do in the charge phase is declare any charges you wish to make."

Which is what makes it a grey area. and sparked my post. You pick them one at a time, this is true, but for game purposes they're all resolved at the same times.


Actually, no.

The charges are resolved one at a time.

That's how you can declare a charge with unit A, and then declare a second charge with unit B, despite the fact that unit A is completely blocking unit B's path. If you select unit A to resolve the charge first, you are then clear to resolve unit B's charge.
   
Made in de
Decrepit Dakkanaut





Correct.

Read page 18, the upper right text for further explanation why Charges are resolved one after another

As I said before, this was changed in 8th back from 7th, where all Charges were resolved simultaneously.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/12 19:32:44


   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User



Portland, Oregon

Saldiven wrote:
 thedarkavenger wrote:
 Sigvatr wrote:
 thedarkavenger wrote:
This all depends on how you rule charging. As all charges are declared at the same time, but resolved separately.


They aren't declared at the same time. You declare one charge and then your enemy chooses a Charge reaction. Afterwards, you declare the next Charge. (p.16)


Also on P. 16. "The first thing you need to do in the charge phase is declare any charges you wish to make."

Which is what makes it a grey area. and sparked my post. You pick them one at a time, this is true, but for game purposes they're all resolved at the same times.


Actually, no.

The charges are resolved one at a time.

That's how you can declare a charge with unit A, and then declare a second charge with unit B, despite the fact that unit A is completely blocking unit B's path. If you select unit A to resolve the charge first, you are then clear to resolve unit B's charge.

Whaa?! What if unit a fluffs the charge roll and moves one inch, then that charge with unit b is suddenly illegal.

When a unit is giving you problems, throw skink skirmishers at it. 
   
Made in us
Dwarf Runelord Banging an Anvil





Way on back in the deep caves

And then they fail.

Trust in Iron and Stone  
   
Made in gb
Sinister Shapeshifter




The Lair of Vengeance....Poole.

Saldiven wrote:
 thedarkavenger wrote:
 Sigvatr wrote:
 thedarkavenger wrote:
This all depends on how you rule charging. As all charges are declared at the same time, but resolved separately.


They aren't declared at the same time. You declare one charge and then your enemy chooses a Charge reaction. Afterwards, you declare the next Charge. (p.16)


Also on P. 16. "The first thing you need to do in the charge phase is declare any charges you wish to make."

Which is what makes it a grey area. and sparked my post. You pick them one at a time, this is true, but for game purposes they're all resolved at the same times.


Actually, no.

The charges are resolved one at a time.

That's how you can declare a charge with unit A, and then declare a second charge with unit B, despite the fact that unit A is completely blocking unit B's path. If you select unit A to resolve the charge first, you are then clear to resolve unit B's charge.


So multicharges are mostly illegal then?

Malifaux masters owned: Guild(Sans McCabe), Outcasts(Sans Misaki), Arcanists(Sans Marcus)

Check my blog that I just started: http://unionfaux.blogspot.co.uk/ 
   
Made in us
Sslimey Sslyth




@thedarkavenger:

There's a specific caveat in the rules for when you are charging multiple units at the same target unit you must conduct your wheeling such that all charging units are maximized with the target unit.

Edit:

Let me expound a bit.

It is completely possible that if you declare a multiple charge against a single unit that during the resolution of each individual charging unit's move that you will make it impossible for one or more subsequent units to complete their charge. Charge moves have specific rules for how they are completed. You do not merely pick up the charging unit(s) and place it BtB with the target unit with maximized frontage.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/13 14:50:34


 
   
Made in de
Decrepit Dakkanaut





 thedarkavenger wrote:

So multicharges are mostly illegal then?


Why?

   
Made in gb
Sinister Shapeshifter




The Lair of Vengeance....Poole.

Saldiven wrote:
@thedarkavenger:

There's a specific caveat in the rules for when you are charging multiple units at the same target unit you must conduct your wheeling such that all charging units are maximized with the target unit.

Edit:

Let me expound a bit.

It is completely possible that if you declare a multiple charge against a single unit that during the resolution of each individual charging unit's move that you will make it impossible for one or more subsequent units to complete their charge. Charge moves have specific rules for how they are completed. You do not merely pick up the charging unit(s) and place it BtB with the target unit with maximized frontage.


If all charges are declared and/or resolved individually, all the caveats don't change a thing. You charge, resolve it and maximise, then move the next one. If you have two units of saurus(5 wide) charging a 5 wide unit of empire halberds, this means you cannot physically multicharge if you declare them individually, because of the way charging works.

Now. Onto what I said earlier. Charges are declared at once, and resolved separately. They are still conducted at the same time. Which is why multicharging works the way it does.

This is also why I said that it depends how you rule charges. The rulebook states "A character" but it's example uses a unit with a single character. This can also be interpreted as each character being able to charge out of a unit, as well as it being a single charge.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/13 15:35:58


Malifaux masters owned: Guild(Sans McCabe), Outcasts(Sans Misaki), Arcanists(Sans Marcus)

Check my blog that I just started: http://unionfaux.blogspot.co.uk/ 
   
Made in de
Decrepit Dakkanaut





Dark? O_o

Not sure what's happened to ya...

Read the entire chapter on Charging and how it's resolved, you seem to have a lot of misunderstandings (or misrememberings) here.

1. You declare all Charges and Charge reactions ONE BY ONE.

2. THEN, one by one, you roll for Charge and resolve the Charges.

Here, directly from the BRB, 100% crystal clear :(

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/06/13 16:07:23


   
Made in us
Sslimey Sslyth




Dark, you need to go back and re-read the charge section.

There is a line that specifically addresses multiple units charging a single unit and states that the units have to charge such that all charging units are maximized.

You're completely incorrect.

Edit:

Again, if all the charges were simultaneous, then it would be impossible for a screened unit to complete a charge. However, that is explicitly allowed by the rules, so we know that's not he case.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/13 16:38:42


 
   
Made in gb
Sinister Shapeshifter




The Lair of Vengeance....Poole.

 Sigvatr wrote:
Dark? O_o

Not sure what's happened to ya...

Read the entire chapter on Charging and how it's resolved, you seem to have a lot of misunderstandings (or misrememberings) here.

1. You declare all Charges and Charge reactions ONE BY ONE.

2. THEN, one by one, you roll for Charge and resolve the Charges.

Here, directly from the BRB, 100% crystal clear :(



You do declare them one by one, BUT when you resolve all charges, this means that they are all done at the same time. But, as it's physically impossible to resolve multiple charges at the same time, you roll for them separately. FURTHERMORE, regarding Saldiven's post. If you resolve each charge individually, you maximise the first charge, THEN resolve the second, after maximising.

Malifaux masters owned: Guild(Sans McCabe), Outcasts(Sans Misaki), Arcanists(Sans Marcus)

Check my blog that I just started: http://unionfaux.blogspot.co.uk/ 
   
Made in de
Decrepit Dakkanaut





Dark...page 18...

Work through the charges one at a time, in any order decided by the player whose turn it is[...] before moving on to the next unit.


The only difference to this is explicitely stated on page 23:

If several units have declared a charge against a single unit, then roll the charge distance of these units at the same time.[...]


It then goes on to say that you have to maximize the number of models fighting. You do NOT maximize with 1 and then maybe try to clip unit 2. BOTH units have to maximize.

This is a 100% crystal clear case. You are wrong.


   
Made in gb
Sinister Shapeshifter




The Lair of Vengeance....Poole.

 Sigvatr wrote:
Dark...page 18...

Work through the charges one at a time, in any order decided by the player whose turn it is[...] before moving on to the next unit.


The only difference to this is explicitely stated on page 23:

If several units have declared a charge against a single unit, then roll the charge distance of these units at the same time.[...]


It then goes on to say that you have to maximize the number of models fighting. You do NOT maximize with 1 and then maybe try to clip unit 2. BOTH units have to maximize.

This is a 100% crystal clear case. You are wrong.




Exactly. Charging units individually would make this impossible. As maximising is part of the charge step.

Malifaux masters owned: Guild(Sans McCabe), Outcasts(Sans Misaki), Arcanists(Sans Marcus)

Check my blog that I just started: http://unionfaux.blogspot.co.uk/ 
   
Made in de
Decrepit Dakkanaut





I'm confused on what your point was then and how it relates to OP

   
Made in gb
Sinister Shapeshifter




The Lair of Vengeance....Poole.

 Sigvatr wrote:
I'm confused on what your point was then and how it relates to OP


My point is, depending on how you rule the sequencing of charges affects his answer.

Malifaux masters owned: Guild(Sans McCabe), Outcasts(Sans Misaki), Arcanists(Sans Marcus)

Check my blog that I just started: http://unionfaux.blogspot.co.uk/ 
   
Made in de
Decrepit Dakkanaut





But there is only one way to rule the sequencing of charges and that's the one presented in the BRB...I'm confused :O

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/15 12:31:14


   
Made in gb
Sinister Shapeshifter




The Lair of Vengeance....Poole.

 Sigvatr wrote:
But there is only one way to rule the sequencing of charges and that's the one presented in the BRB...I'm confused :O



The BRB sequences them as individual rolls. But it also resolves them at a simultaneous moment. This means that until a charge is resolved, multiple charges can be declared. Check the FAQ for details. A charge only becomes invalid after a unit has moved. So, if you declare multiple charges, you resolve them all.

Malifaux masters owned: Guild(Sans McCabe), Outcasts(Sans Misaki), Arcanists(Sans Marcus)

Check my blog that I just started: http://unionfaux.blogspot.co.uk/ 
   
 
Forum Index » The Old World & Legacy Warhammer Fantasy Discussion
Go to: