Switch Theme:

Chariots Vs. Graviton Weaponry  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver





Some Tomb World in some galaxy by that one thing in that one place (or Minnesota for nosy people)

People have been having various debates around my area now as to whether or not grav can effect both profiles of a Chariot. Specifically the Necron CCB has a 2+ armour save when taking Semp. Weave, so they feel that the 2+ armour save on a vehicle profile means 2+ to wound the rider regardless of where the hits are allocated. E.x. Hits are allocated to the Vehicle and they roll a 2+ it still wounds the rider, 6 still effects the chariot.

My problem with this interpretation is that A. you do not roll to wound vs. a vehicle profile and B. It again puts chariots in the useless category when all a grav unit needs to do is roll a 6 and they wound the rider and do damage to the chariot.

Debate away, I can post some of the arguments people have had at my club regarding this topic (some of them were posted onto our club's Facebook page.)

Edited for clarity*

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/06/19 16:07:50


"Put your 1st best against you opponents 2nd best, your 2nd best against their 3rd best, and your 3rd best against their 1st best"-Sun Tzu's Art of War

"If your not winning, try a bigger sword! Usually works..."

10k
2k
500 
   
Made in us
Reverent Tech-Adept





I think that it works like this:

If firing at a chariot unit, the firing unit makes a 'to Hit' pool which is then allocated to either the rider or the chariot itself by the chariot player's choice. Then, you would either roll to wound on a 2+ or to glance/immobilize on a 6 according to where the chariot's owners directed the hits.

If the hits are directed to the chariot, then wounds are no longer a possibility - only glances.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/19 16:15:35


Think first. 
   
Made in us
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver





Some Tomb World in some galaxy by that one thing in that one place (or Minnesota for nosy people)

 Rapture wrote:
I think that it works like this:

If firing at a chariot unit, the firing unit makes a 'to Hit' pool which is then allocated to either the rider or the chariot itself by the chariot player's choice. Then, you would either roll to wound on a 2+ or to glance/immobilize on a 6 according to where the chariot's owners directed the hits.

If the hits are directed to the chariot, then wounds are no longer a possibility - only glances.


That was my interpretation but others seem to ignore the context of the example grav provides when rolling to wound

"The roll needed To Wound when firing a weapon with this special rule is always equal to the armour save of the target, to a minimum of 6+. For example, when resolving a hit against a model with a 3+ armour save, you would need a 3+ To Wound. When resolving a hit against a vehicle, roll a D6 for each hit instead of rolling for armour penetration as normal. On a 1-5 nothing happens, but on a 6, the target suffers an Immobilised result and loses a Hull Point."

They seem to use that example as their side of the debate as to why hits allocated to the vehicle profile can still wound since it can wound a CCB on a 2+ since it has a 2+ armour save from the Semp Weave. They ignore that it is an example of how you make a to wound roll and not just a magic die roll that can do everything.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/19 16:23:53


"Put your 1st best against you opponents 2nd best, your 2nd best against their 3rd best, and your 3rd best against their 1st best"-Sun Tzu's Art of War

"If your not winning, try a bigger sword! Usually works..."

10k
2k
500 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

If they want to cause wounds to a vehicle, what are they planning on doing with them?
It's not like you can reduce "Null" to "Zero" and remove it.
Are they then planning on counting a wound caused as a Penetrating hit? And what rules are they using to convert them?
   
Made in gb
Confessor Of Sins





Newton Aycliffe

Can the Barge take 3+ Saves against Glances or Pens?

Or is it only the passenger's Save against wounds that he might suffer?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/19 16:26:46


DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage.
Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. 
   
Made in us
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver





Some Tomb World in some galaxy by that one thing in that one place (or Minnesota for nosy people)

 grendel083 wrote:
If they want to cause wounds to a vehicle, what are they planning on doing with them?
It's not like you can reduce "Null" to "Zero" and remove it.
Are they then planning on counting a wound caused as a Penetrating hit? And what rules are they using to convert them?


I honestly have no idea how they plan to wound the chariot, they seem to think that the wounds would be allocated to the rider since the rider can take wounds and the CCB cannot. They have convinced the TO that is running an RTT at the FFG games center that they have the correct interpretation as well.

"Put your 1st best against you opponents 2nd best, your 2nd best against their 3rd best, and your 3rd best against their 1st best"-Sun Tzu's Art of War

"If your not winning, try a bigger sword! Usually works..."

10k
2k
500 
   
Made in ca
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar





Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

How does a CCB (or any other chariot) *normally* work when shot at?

Following the rules for chariots, specifically "SHOOTING AT CHARIOTS", each hit pool is allocated by the chariots controlling player to either the rider OR the chariot (unless it's a precision shot, blast or template).

So it's one or the other, but not both.
   
Made in us
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver





Some Tomb World in some galaxy by that one thing in that one place (or Minnesota for nosy people)

Rorschach9 wrote:
How does a CCB (or any other chariot) *normally* work when shot at?

Following the rules for chariots, specifically "SHOOTING AT CHARIOTS", each hit pool is allocated by the chariots controlling player to either the rider OR the chariot (unless it's a precision shot, blast or template).

So it's one or the other, but not both.


I agree, but they seem to think that since the CCB has an armour save they can wound the rider if hits are allocated to the vehicle profile.

"Put your 1st best against you opponents 2nd best, your 2nd best against their 3rd best, and your 3rd best against their 1st best"-Sun Tzu's Art of War

"If your not winning, try a bigger sword! Usually works..."

10k
2k
500 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




The CBC doesn't have an armour save, the rider does.
   
Made in ca
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar





Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

 A GumyBear wrote:
Rorschach9 wrote:
How does a CCB (or any other chariot) *normally* work when shot at?

Following the rules for chariots, specifically "SHOOTING AT CHARIOTS", each hit pool is allocated by the chariots controlling player to either the rider OR the chariot (unless it's a precision shot, blast or template).

So it's one or the other, but not both.


I agree, but they seem to think that since the CCB has an armour save they can wound the rider if hits are allocated to the vehicle profile.


Then those people are not following the rule clearly written in the Chariots section regarding shooting at chariots. If someone has a reason that rule can be broken or ignored, then maybe they have a valid case, but I cannot personally think of one given by the Graviton rules.



Automatically Appended Next Post:
nosferatu1001 wrote:
The CBC doesn't have an armour save, the rider does.


^ this. You're rolling against one or the other. Vehicle? 6+ .. Rider? Armour save+

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/19 16:43:49


 
   
Made in gb
Confessor Of Sins





Newton Aycliffe

nosferatu1001 wrote:
The CBC doesn't have an armour save, the rider does.


This.

Hits on the CBC will never have an armour save.

DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage.
Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. 
   
Made in us
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver





Some Tomb World in some galaxy by that one thing in that one place (or Minnesota for nosy people)

Actually the CCB does have a 2+ armor save, for the same reason it can also have a 3++, the model gets a 2+ armor save and the CCB and Overlord are one model etc. etc.


"Put your 1st best against you opponents 2nd best, your 2nd best against their 3rd best, and your 3rd best against their 1st best"-Sun Tzu's Art of War

"If your not winning, try a bigger sword! Usually works..."

10k
2k
500 
   
Made in gb
Confessor Of Sins





Newton Aycliffe

 A GumyBear wrote:
Actually the CCB does have a 2+ armor save, for the same reason it can also have a 3++, the model gets a 2+ armor save and the CCB and Overlord are one model etc. etc.



They are 1 model but two profiles. Which profile is used?

DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage.
Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. 
   
Made in us
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver





Some Tomb World in some galaxy by that one thing in that one place (or Minnesota for nosy people)

Here's the full debate I most recently had on the Frozen North Gaming Club Facebook Page when I asked the TO how he will rule chariots. I am Julian, the person I am mainly debating with is Corey, Matt is the TO, and Nathan is more of a casual fluff player that isn't too adept at the whole RAW thing.

Spoiler:
Julian Franz- What will the ruling with the CCB and its 3++ and being an IC be just to avoid arguments in the future should they come up
June 16 at 10:28am · Like

Matthew Root- 3++: Allowed.
Joining Units: Not allowed.
June 16 at 10:41am · Like

Corey SPaith- Wait so the Chariot can take the hit and use the rider's invuln?
June 16 at 5:22pm · Like

Julian Franz- The chariot and the rider are treated as one model. The necron 3++ wargear states that the MODEL gets the 3++ so both profiles of the chariot will get the 3++. I'm sure there's a better RAW explanation out there this is just my quick crash course of it
21 hours ago · Like

Corey SPaith- Does semp weave also have similar language in that it gives the model a 2+ armor save?
17 hours ago · Edited · Like

Julian Franz- Not sure as the dex is not on hand atm but either way its irrelevant since armor saves cannot be taken against penetrating or glancing hits RAW
17 hours ago · Like

Corey SPaith- Correct, but if it does have that same language, the model still has a 2+ armor save. And if it is one model, as this claim lays, and I hit you with a gravity weapon, on one roll of 2+ your model takes a wound. Also on a separate roll of 6+ the model suffers an immobilized result and suffers a Hull Point in damage.
17 hours ago · Like

Julian Franz- Well a CCB cannot suffer a wound and since the hit is allocated to the CCB...
17 hours ago · Like

Corey SPaith- Nope, the hit is resolved against the vehicle profile, which now has a 2+ armor save. It is one model with both wounds and hull points.

Or it isn't one model.

Or semp weave doesn't have similar language and this is all irrelevant. Either way the argument is kind of dumb, I would be shocked if the first FAQ doesn't clarify the invuln is rider only.
17 hours ago · Edited · Like

Julian Franz- I'll look it up when I have my dex on hand unless anybody else pitches in before hand
17 hours ago · Like

Corey SPaith- Yeah, am morbidly curious how deep this rabbit hole goes, thankfully I don't really have to worry about attending events without meaningful FAQs, but I am sure people who can make this event would find it interesting.
17 hours ago · Like

Julian Franz- It does say that the model gets the 2+ armour save. However, the graviton rule states that the to wound roll is equal to the armour save, since you do not roll to wound vs vehicles there are no wounds caused by rolling a 2+ for armor pen, and vice-versa applies for hits allocated to the rider.
17 hours ago · Like

Corey SPaith- The Gravitron rule says, and I quote "For example, when resolving a hit against a model with a 3+ armour save, you would need a 3+ to Wound."

A Chariot is not a vehicle, it is a completely unique model with two profiles. You choose which profile I resolve my hit against, both of which have a 2+ armor save. Regardless of which profile you resolve it against, I wound your model on a 2+. If you choose to resolve the shot against the vehicle profile, in addition to that I roll again, on a 6+, the model suffers an immobilized result and loses a hull point. You take one save against the shot.
17 hours ago · Edited · Like

Corey SPaith- RAW abuse is fun, isn't it?
17 hours ago · Like

Julian Franz- Its especially fun when you ignore the context of the graviton rule

The roll needed To Wound when firing a weapon with this special rule is always equal to the armour save of the target, to a minimum of 6+. For example, when resolving a hit against a model with a 3+ armour save, you would need a 3+ To Wound. When resolving a hit against a vehicle, roll a D6 for each hit instead of rolling for armour penetration as normal. On a 1-5 nothing happens, but on a 6, the target suffers an Immobilised result and loses a Hull Point."

You would be rolling either to wound or to pen, not both. The example you quoted is an example of what you would need to roll to wound (note how they give the example after explaining how a roll to wound works with grav). If you resolve the hits vs. A vehicle, you do not roll to wound since you have no permission to, and instead of rolling to pen you roll a seperate d6 and on a 6 it does its damage.
16 hours ago · Like

Corey SPaith- I didn't ignore any context. A chariot IS NOT A VEHICLE. It is, as you would need to be the case for the CCB to have an invuln, one completely unique unit type with two profiles. The checklist on this is: Is it a model? Yes. Does it have an armor save? Yes. I cause a wound to your model on a 2+ if I hit it with weapon that has the Graviton USR. Against a vehicle, instead of rolling to pen, I roll a dice. On a roll of 6 your model suffers an immobilized result as well as a Hull Point in damage.

I am going to leave this thread at this point, mostly because this actually has 0 impact on my life in any sense. And partly because any argument is also irrelevant, sooner or later an actual FAQ will come out. However I do hope this was an eye opening experience into the kind consequences the broad interpretation of rules can result in.
16 hours ago · Like

Michael Nicchetta- Well, to be exact, it is a vehicle albeit one which possess' two profiles. Seeing as how the controller gets to allocate hits to either the chariot or the rider I think its safe to assume you'd get armor on hits vs the rider, and vehicle pen against the chariot
16 hours ago · Like

Matthew Root- Julian is having his first argument on FNGC with Corey - *sniff*, they grow up so fast!
16 hours ago · Unlike · 2

Nathan Sorenson- This was made a lot more difficult then it should have been. As Mr. Nicchetta just stated, you make two pools, one resolved against the riders profile, the other the chariots profile. Separate but equal.
16 hours ago · Like

Julian Franz- Don't worry Matt I've had my fair share of debates in YMDC on the Dakkadakka forums

And just incase Corey checks back in on this.

A chariot is a vehicle, in fact, here's the quote from the book

"A Chariot is an unusual unit with a dual profile – a non-vehicle profile for the rider of the Chariot (see below), and a vehicle profile for the Chariot itself. However, a Chariot is always treated as a single model. For the purposes of characteristics tests, always use the rider’s profile. Furthermore, any characteristics modifiers that affect a Chariot model apply to both rider and Chariot."

Right there it states that the chariot has two profiles, one of them happens to be a vehicle profile, if you can show me permission to roll to wound against a vehicle then by all means feel free to grav away. Until then, I will play my CCB the correct way and enjoy playing toy soldiers with Matt now that I'm a big boy.
16 hours ago · Like

Corey SPaith- No where in the Chariot rules does it say you roll to pen against the vehicle profile. It says you resolve the shot against the vehicle profile. The vehicle profile has a 2+ armor save. A model with an armor save suffers a wound from a Graviton weapon on a roll of its armor save. The model (chariot) has both wounds and hull points. Regardless of which profile you choose to resolve a Graviton hit against, the model suffers a wound on a roll of 2+.

Against normal vehicles this does not matter, they have neither armor saves (if they did, they have no wounds) nor wounds. A Chariot is a unique unit type. It is not a vehicle. If through pure RAW you get an invuln (and by extension if you buy semp weave, an armor save) then through pure RAW I wound your model on a 2+ with Graviton, even if you pick the chariots profile to resolve against. You cannot present any argument against this without a FAQ because I have literally taken these phrases word for word from the BBB, just like you are taking things word for word from BBB/Necron dex.
15 hours ago · Like

Julian Franz- Except you do not roll to wound against a vehicle... (a CCB has a vehicle profile, guess where those grav hits are being allocated to)

Unless something changed in 7th ed that I missed and you now roll to wound against vehicles I think I'm spot on with my argument
15 hours ago · Like

Corey SPaith- A Chariot is not a vehicle. It is a unique model with two profiles. This is why it gets a 3++.

A model with an armor save is wounded on a roll equal to or greater than that armor save. If it is one model for the purposes of phase shifter applying, it is one model for everything else. Yes it has two profiles, and yes you can choose which one to resolve that shot against. That does not change the fact that, per RAW, it is one model, and per RAW, a model with an armor save can be wounded by Graviton. Graviton does not require you to be a non vehicle to wound you, Graviton requires you to be a model with an armor save, which a CCB toting a semp weave overlord is. Period.
15 hours ago · Edited · Like

Julian Franz- Except your are not rolling to wound vs the CCB's vehicle profile, which you need to do inorder to use the method of wounding that the graviton special rule grants
15 hours ago · Like

Julian Franz- Also, your interpretation means that it is also causing a wound to the rider of the chariot regardless of the target since you auto wound on a 6+ regardless of armorsave
15 hours ago · Like

Nathan Sorenson- In which book does it talk about ridiculous rules arguments on the internet? Is it in the rule books appendix, or the opening part of book 2?
15 hours ago · Like

Julian Franz- I think its in the prequel to the sequel's 3 part
15 hours ago · Like

Corey SPaith- No, you don't. It needs to be a model with an armor save. It says no where in the Graviton rule that the target has to be a non vehicle to be wounded. There is 0 language about automatic wounds in the Graviton rule. No where in the shooting phase rules or the vehicle rules does it have any statements that prevent you from wounding vehicles, because normal vehicles have no wounds. Chariots are a unique unit type with both wounds and hull points. CCB+Semp weave overlord has both an armor and invuln save on BOTH profiles while also being ONE model.

You don't have to like it, I sure as feth don't, I think both my point and your point are fething stupid. That does not change the fact that they are both true, and they will remain true until we get a FAQ on exactly how these things work.
15 hours ago · Like

Nathan Sorenson- This is the models example profile.
Nathan Sorenson's photo.
15 hours ago · Like

Julian Franz- "The roll needed To Wound when firing a weapon with this special rule is always equal to the armour save of the target, to a minimum of 6+."

Hmm... Can't seem to find where it says I need an armor save in order to be wounded. Or where it says you may roll to wound against a vehicle profile
15 hours ago · Like

Nathan Sorenson- The model moves as one, shoots as one, and their fate is shared. When being shot at or attacked they are treated completely separately. This will only be changed with an FAQ. Other wise gear is not shared.
15 hours ago · Like

Julian Franz- Valid point Nathan, a CCB does not get the Overlords Warscythe/Staff of Light/Etc. However, the CCB can still be effected by wargear, the Phase Shifter and Sempiternal Weave both say that the model recieves the 3++/2+. Obviously you are going off of a RAI/HYWPI standpoint but thats up to the TO's to decide which interpretation they will use
15 hours ago · Like

Matthew Root- RAW-wise, grav guns will (in fact) wound the barge on a 2+, which means the rider takes a wound. Part of the price of taking RAW which means the chariot has a 3++.
15 hours ago · Like

Nathan Sorenson- What I'm saying is, besides how it actually works. Is, or if I haven't, please do not take "always treated as a single model" as gospel. First because once you attack it, it's two models all of a sudden, with different profiles as seen in the example from the book. Second no one has found it strange how it says no where about gaining a save from its occupant? This would be a grievous over site I don't believe could be missed.
15 hours ago · Like

Corey SPaith- https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qvp37o1jZUo
15 hours ago · Like

Corey SPaith- Nathan, where it gets the save from is language in the Necron book (IE "the model gains a 3+ invulnerable save") It also explicitly says at the beginning of the Chariots entry that it is ALWAYS treated as a single model (with multiple profiles)
15 hours ago · Like

Julian Franz- You win this round Matt...

Cursed TO powers but oh well.

Will this mean that grav will wound the occupants on a 6+ if they dont have a semp weave? Since they wound on a 6 regardless of armor (see daemons who lack armor for the most part)


The comments go on but the debate on chariots stops there and the opposing side doesn't bother to recognize my comment about the auto wounding the rider.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/19 16:58:47


"Put your 1st best against you opponents 2nd best, your 2nd best against their 3rd best, and your 3rd best against their 1st best"-Sun Tzu's Art of War

"If your not winning, try a bigger sword! Usually works..."

10k
2k
500 
   
Made in ca
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar





Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

 BlackTalos wrote:
 A GumyBear wrote:
Actually the CCB does have a 2+ armor save, for the same reason it can also have a 3++, the model gets a 2+ armor save and the CCB and Overlord are one model etc. etc.



They are 1 model but two profiles. Which profile is used?


To be fair, just looking at Sempiternal weave right now (have my opponents codex here today, lucky lucky) it does say "A *model* with .. has a 2+ armour save". So sure, the CCB has a 2+ save and I can (sort of) see how there may be some confusion.
You are STILL not hitting both profiles, only one of them. If you are hitting the vehicle, Graviton has its effect on vehicles on a 6+ as vehicles are not "wounded". So even with the CCB having a 2+ save, its still a vehicle and Graviton tells you how to roll vs vehicles.

Edit : Here is where the issue seems to lie :
"Corey SPaith No where in the Chariot rules does it say you roll to pen against the vehicle profile. It says you resolve the shot against the vehicle profile. The vehicle profile has a 2+ armor save. A model with an armor save suffers a wound from a Graviton weapon on a roll of its armor save. The model (chariot) has both wounds and hull points. Regardless of which profile you choose to resolve a Graviton hit against, the model suffers a wound on a roll of 2+. "


No, it does not say you roll to pen against the vehicle profile. However, if you are hitting the vehicle profile, you can "wound" all you want, it has no wounds. You need a 6+ to immobilize and remove a HP, as the Graviton rules state vs vehicles. There is no extra clause that allows you to immobilize and remove a HP on a 2+ in cases like this and it quite explicitly states "On a 1-5 nothing happens" .. period. The hit is against EITHER the rider OR the vehicle profile, not both.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/06/19 17:02:20


 
   
Made in us
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver





Some Tomb World in some galaxy by that one thing in that one place (or Minnesota for nosy people)

 BlackTalos wrote:
 A GumyBear wrote:
Actually the CCB does have a 2+ armor save, for the same reason it can also have a 3++, the model gets a 2+ armor save and the CCB and Overlord are one model etc. etc.



They are 1 model but two profiles. Which profile is used?


The vehicle is being used for purposes of this debate. But the wording for the Semp. Weave states that the model receives a 2+ armor save and since the chariot and rider are one model both profiles would receive the 2+ armor save. The same wording is used with the Phase Shifter which would grant both the rider and the chariot a 3++

"Put your 1st best against you opponents 2nd best, your 2nd best against their 3rd best, and your 3rd best against their 1st best"-Sun Tzu's Art of War

"If your not winning, try a bigger sword! Usually works..."

10k
2k
500 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

By all means let them cause a wound on the chariot.
It doesn't do anything...
   
Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter






Dimmamar

 A GumyBear wrote:

The vehicle is being used for purposes of this debate. But the wording for the Semp. Weave states that the model receives a 2+ armor save and since the chariot and rider are one model both profiles would receive the 2+ armor save. The same wording is used with the Phase Shifter which would grant both the rider and the chariot a 3++


Can armour saves be taken against things that are not Wounds?
I know that it had long been RAW that vehicles could not take invulnerable saves; thankfully, this was cleared up in 7e. Are they given permission to take armour saves, or is armour only good against Wounds? (Because if it is, then it doesn't matter that a chariot has an armour save...it never takes Wounds!)

LVO 2017 - Best GK Player

The Grimdark Future 8500 1500 6000 2000 5000


"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 
   
Made in us
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver





Some Tomb World in some galaxy by that one thing in that one place (or Minnesota for nosy people)

 Elric Greywolf wrote:
 A GumyBear wrote:

The vehicle is being used for purposes of this debate. But the wording for the Semp. Weave states that the model receives a 2+ armor save and since the chariot and rider are one model both profiles would receive the 2+ armor save. The same wording is used with the Phase Shifter which would grant both the rider and the chariot a 3++


Can armour saves be taken against things that are not Wounds?
I know that it had long been RAW that vehicles could not take invulnerable saves; thankfully, this was cleared up in 7e. Are they given permission to take armour saves, or is armour only good against Wounds? (Because if it is, then it doesn't matter that a chariot has an armour save...it never takes Wounds!)


Armor saves cannot be taken against anything but wounds IIRC so they would be irrelevant. I'll bring this up next time i have a chat with my TO

"Put your 1st best against you opponents 2nd best, your 2nd best against their 3rd best, and your 3rd best against their 1st best"-Sun Tzu's Art of War

"If your not winning, try a bigger sword! Usually works..."

10k
2k
500 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




You choose to take the hit on the chariot; they are rolling to armour pen, not wound. And vice versa.
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut




 Elric Greywolf wrote:
 A GumyBear wrote:

The vehicle is being used for purposes of this debate. But the wording for the Semp. Weave states that the model receives a 2+ armor save and since the chariot and rider are one model both profiles would receive the 2+ armor save. The same wording is used with the Phase Shifter which would grant both the rider and the chariot a 3++


Can armour saves be taken against things that are not Wounds?
I know that it had long been RAW that vehicles could not take invulnerable saves; thankfully, this was cleared up in 7e. Are they given permission to take armour saves, or is armour only good against Wounds? (Because if it is, then it doesn't matter that a chariot has an armour save...it never takes Wounds!)


You can't take invuls on vehicles?

What's the point in Flickerfields then...
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

Jacob29 wrote:
You can't take invuls on vehicles?

What's the point in Flickerfields then...
Of course you can. That's not the issue though.

And if a vehicle has an armour save or no has no bearing on the rules for Grav weapons.

Let for a moment assume they can.

From the Grav rules:
"The roll needed To Wound when firing a weapon with this special rule is always equal to the armour save of the target..."
First off it's a vehicle. You don't roll to wound against them, so straight away this rule is not used.

"When resolving a hit against a vehicle, roll a D6 for each hit instead of..."
It's a hit against a vehicle, so this is the procedure you follow.

A vehicle with an armour save does not suddenly cease to be a vehicle. It's a vehicle, so you use the rules for Grav weapons against vehicles.
Having an armour save or no really has no bearing as far as the Grav rules are concerned. It's either a vehicle or it isn't.
   
Made in us
Killer Klaivex




Oceanside, CA

 grendel083 wrote:

Having an armour save or no really has no bearing as far as the Grav rules are concerned. It's either a vehicle or it isn't.

But that's the whole problem. The CCB is and isn't a vehicle.
The easy fix is for TO to say no 2+ or 3++ for the barge, just for the rider. If you want to use the 3++ you can, just choose to take the hit on the overlord.

-Matt

 thedarkavenger wrote:

So. I got a game with this list in. First game in at least 3-4 months.
 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

Shooting attacks that are allocated to the chariot are, without doubt, against a vehicle.

"The player controlling the Chariot unit then allocates each hit pool either to the rider or the Chariot of the closest model in the unit"

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/19 19:46:33


 
   
Made in gb
Confessor Of Sins





Newton Aycliffe

 grendel083 wrote:
From the Grav rules:"When resolving a hit against a vehicle, roll a D6 for each hit instead of..."
It's a hit against a vehicle, so this is the procedure you follow.

A vehicle with an armour save does not suddenly cease to be a vehicle. It's a vehicle, so you use the rules for Grav weapons against vehicles.
Having an armour save or no really has no bearing as far as the Grav rules are concerned. It's either a vehicle or it isn't.


Please ignore my posts above: Even if the Vehicle has an armour Save, it's still a vehicle and the above applies.

DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage.
Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. 
   
Made in de
Decrepit Dakkanaut





 HawaiiMatt wrote:
 grendel083 wrote:

Having an armour save or no really has no bearing as far as the Grav rules are concerned. It's either a vehicle or it isn't.

But that's the whole problem. The CCB is and isn't a vehicle.
The easy fix is for TO to say no 2+ or 3++ for the barge, just for the rider. If you want to use the 3++ you can, just choose to take the hit on the overlord.

-Matt


Actually, the CCB is a Vehicle all the way through. It's a Vehicle (Chariot) with two profiles.

   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Anacortes

Rapture had it right. The chariot does not have a 2 plus save from semptemperal weave only the rider and it dosent matter because the hits are ap 2. And the rider can't jink only the chariot can. It's best you allocate the wounds to the chariot and hope sixes don't pop up or the 4 up jink works for ya.

Personally I want you to allocate the wounds to the rider so 3 2 up rolls he's dead no saves

In a dog eat dog be a cat. 
   
Made in de
Decrepit Dakkanaut





Lungpickle wrote:
Rapture had it right. The chariot does not have a 2 plus save from semptemperal weave only the rider and it dosent matter because the hits are ap 2. And the rider can't jink only the chariot can. It's best you allocate the wounds to the chariot and hope sixes don't pop up or the 4 up jink works for ya.


The Rider and the Chariot are one model, not two seperate models.

   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

A Model with the Unit Type: Vehicle at that...
Would this not create additional problem for Graviton Weapons, with them being forced to roll to penetrate even against the Rider?

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/06/20 17:29:24


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

JinxDragon wrote:
A Model with the Unit Type: Vehicle at that...
Would this not create additional problem for Graviton Weapons, with them being forced to roll to penetrate even against the Rider?
Yes, because it would result in an Immobilised result and lost hull point... on the rider...
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: