Switch Theme:

Can a blast hit an FMC?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Bounding Dark Angels Assault Marine




Midwest,United States

So the sections concerning "Hard to Hit" for FMCs and Flyers are different in that Flyers specifically states that blasts and templates (or anything else that rolls to hit) can't hit flyers, however, the section for FMCs only says that snap shots must be used to hit FMCs, unless the firing model has the skyfire special rule. From this I've gleaned two things:

1) If you have a model with skyfire that can fire blasts, hit can hit FMCs (a GK stormraven's mind strike missiles for example)

and 2) If an FMC is under a blast or template (but not the target of it) can be hurt by them.

Am I understanding this correctly, or am I missing some critically important rule that makes this impossible?

~5000+ pts (95% Deathwing )
~1500 pts

"Uncertainty is an uncomfortable position. But certainty is an absurd one" - Voltaire

"You have to learn the rules of the game. And then you have to play better than anyone else." -Einstein 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




Terrifyingly that seems to be correct.

DFTT 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




1) yes
2) Not so sure, Really needs a FAQ.
   
Made in us
Sneaky Lictor





Not seeing any issues with it.

In the works

Warhammer 40k. Enjoy it or go play something else. Life is too short to complain.
 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Barnowl,
Is it a Model under the Scattered Marker?
Does it have a Rule stating it can not be Hit?

Either it is an oversight by the Authors, that they mistakenly left off the Rule stating Flying Monstrous Creates are immune to Blast Markers, or it was a deliberate removal to allow Flying Monstrous Creatures to be hit by Blast Markers. This only has two outcomes where the Flying Monstrous Creature will either be completely immune to Blast Markers after Errata or that the Errata will never come and the Flying Monstrous Creature will always be vulnerable to all Blast Markers, Scattered or Targeted. This because an answer of 'it can be targeted but not scattered over' would require some specific Rule stating that the Flying Monstrous Creature can ignore Scattered Blast Markers and only Scattered Blast Markers.

The absence of such a Rule means it would follow the default resolution for Blast Makers.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/06/21 17:45:06


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




JinxDragon wrote:


Either it is an oversight by the Authors, that they mistakenly left off the Rule stating Flying Monstrous Creates are immune to Blast Markers, or it was a deliberate removal to allow Flying Monstrous Creatures to be hit by Blast Markers. This only has two outcomes where the Flying Monstrous Creature will either be completely immune to Blast Markers after Errata or that the Errata will never come and the Flying Monstrous Creature will always be vulnerable to all Blast Markers, Scattered or Targeted. This because an answer of 'it can be targeted but not scattered over' would require some specific Rule stating that the Flying Monstrous Creature can ignore Scattered Blast Markers and only Scattered Blast Markers.

The absence of such a Rule means it would follow the default resolution for Blast Makers.


I don't quite agree there. If blast/template has Skyfire, then agree able to target FMC. No skyfire, then Hard to Hit and snap shot come in so no targeting. Scatter is were to me things get a little weird. Ca you scatter on to things that you can only hit with snap-shots?
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Yes,
Snap Shots are a specific type of Shooting attack, not a Special Rule which is present on the Shots, which only affects the Firing Models.

However I can see where confusion could be stemming form, but I would like to point out that the Hard to Hit Rule on the Flying Monstrous Creature requires it to be the target of the attack. The first sentence sets the context of the second, stating that Flying Monstrous Creatures are difficult for a Unit to Target. The second goes on to state that Shots resolved against such a target may only be resoled by the process known as Snap Shots. Given that the Flying Monstrous Creature was never nominated as a Target, and that the Shot gets past all the stages a Snap Shot effects prior to reaching this point so it would be impossible to 'undo' the Scatter, it would be very difficult to evoke a rule requiring said Flying Monstrous Creature to be the target of the attack before it can even function.

After all, scattered Blast Markers have permission to Hit things they did not originally Target.

This message was edited 6 times. Last update was at 2014/06/21 23:53:06


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard






Peoria IL

I am curious how this gets ruled. Can a scatter off a legal target hit an invisible unit, for example?

DO:70S++G++M+B++I+Pw40k93/f#++D++++A++++/eWD-R++++T(D)DM+
Note: Records since 2010, lists kept current (W-D-L) Blue DP Crusade 126-11-6 Biel-Tan Aspect Waves 2-0-2 Looted Green Horde smash your face in 32-7-8 Broadside/Shield Drone/Kroot blitz goodness 23-3-4 Grey Hunters galore 17-5-5 Khan Bikes Win 63-1-1 Tanith with Pardus Armor 11-0-0 Crimson Tide 59-4-0 Green/Raven/Deathwing 18-0-0 Jumping GK force with Inq. 4-0-0 BTemplars w LRs 7-1-2 IH Legion with Automata 8-0-0 RG Legion w Adepticon medal 6-0-0 Primaris and Little Buddies 7-0-0

QM Templates here, HH army builder app for both v1 and v2
One Page 40k Ruleset for Game Beginners 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

The way it looks to me is as follows.

In order to resolve the shot (note the rulebook says resolve, not hit) the shot must be fired as a snap shot.

If a blast weapon does not have Skyfire and scatters over a Swooping FMC, then it cannot affect the FMC as the shot was not resolved as a Snap Shot.

On the other hand, if a blast with Skyfire is fired at a Swooping FMC, but scatters into a non-Flyer/Skimmer/FMC unit, and can still affect the unit.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

HappyJew,
The Rule states that resolving Shots against such a target requires them to be fired as Snap Shots.
The Hit is being generated as part of a Shooting Sequence being resolved against an entirely different Target.

This message was edited 5 times. Last update was at 2014/06/22 03:23:33


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




The only thing that is specifically immune to a scattered blast, is a zooming flyer.

DFTT 
   
Made in us
Sneaky Lictor





 Lobukia wrote:
I am curious how this gets ruled. Can a scatter off a legal target hit an invisible unit, for example?


Yes, he is in the blast radius, but he isn't the initial target so you wouldn't apply invisibility. I believe this was covered in another topic earlier this week

In the works

Warhammer 40k. Enjoy it or go play something else. Life is too short to complain.
 
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





It doesn't even need to scatter you could just target something near to the FMC (or invisible unit) and place the marker so it hits both. This is a great use for example of Karamazov.

However I personally think the hard to hit rule is an oversight for FMCs so I discuss it with my opponent before playing RaW as I believe it is intended to work as it does for flyers. I expect this to get FAQ'D after the first WHW event when someone points this out to a TO or Staff member.

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in br
Fireknife Shas'el




Lisbon, Portugal

If you remember that now FMCs test Grounding only once per phase, it could be a deliberate change.

AI & BFG: / BMG: Mr. Freeze, Deathstroke / Battletech: SR, OWA / Fallout Factions: BoS / HGB: Caprice / Malifaux: Arcanists, Guild, Outcasts / MCP: Mutants / SAGA: Ordensstaat / SW Legion: CIS / WWX: Union

 Unit1126PLL wrote:
"FW is unbalanced and going to ruin tournaments."
"Name one where it did that."
"IT JUST DOES OKAY!"

 Shadenuat wrote:
Voted Astra Militarum for a chance for them to get nerfed instead of my own army.
 
   
Made in be
Khorne Chosen Marine Riding a Juggernaut





Belgium

I also though like that, but then someone pointed out to me that Skyfire only allows you to shoot at your normal BS value on the target when you Snapshot at it, not that you can also use Blasts and templates if you have Skyfire

   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




No, skyfire means you are not snapshotting. Reread.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: