Switch Theme:

kharne deny the witch in 7th  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Stalwart Dark Angels Space Marine





ada,ohio

does kharne still deny on 2 up in 7th if so how does this work is it on all dice or just one can some one site some rules or faq lines for this please

for the lion!!
3000+ painted
8th edition 23-12-3  
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





Kharn's DTW attempts succeed on of 2+. Nothing about it changes how 7ed DTW works.
   
Made in us
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot





Fort Benning, Georgia

An faq isn't needed as it's quite clear. Kharn Denys on a 2+ if his unit is the target of the psychic power. If his unit is not the target of the power, it's the standard 6+
   
Made in us
Stalwart Dark Angels Space Marine





ada,ohio

ok thank you

for the lion!!
3000+ painted
8th edition 23-12-3  
   
Made in us
Savage Khorne Berserker Biker





Texarkana TX

that's not entirely cut and dry.

there is an argument to say that kharn can dtw on all tests that don't target another friendly squad.
the rule book says to pick a squad for dtw, one could always claim that kharnes squad is chosen.

i don't think it's a valid argument, but the argument is there.
devils advocate.

5000+ 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 zachwho wrote:
that's not entirely cut and dry.

there is an argument to say that kharn can dtw on all tests that don't target another friendly squad.
the rule book says to pick a squad for dtw, one could always claim that kharnes squad is chosen.

i don't think it's a valid argument, but the argument is there.
devils advocate.


This applies to Kharne ""To make a Deny the Witch test, first select one of your units that was a target[u] of the enemy’s psychic power."" If he was the target of the spell its a 2+

This applies to others - ""If none of your units were the target of the enemy’s psychic power (the power in question might have been a blessing, a conjuration, or some other power that only affects the Psyker’s own troops) you can still attempt to Deny the Witch. To do so, follow the same process, but apply no modifiers to your dice rolls"" -- Kharne was not the target, therefore his modifiers cannot be used.

   
Made in us
Savage Khorne Berserker Biker





Texarkana TX

it can also be argued that a replacement value is not a modifier.

I'm not adding or subtracting from the natural dtw roll of 6.

kharn has a dtw of 2+, period, he's not modifying anything.

like i said, there's an argument to be made.

devils advocate.

5000+ 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Set modifiers are a modifier.
   
Made in us
Savage Khorne Berserker Biker





Texarkana TX

yeah well that's true, he's modifying the dtw roll by making it a 2+. like i said not really a valid argument!

5000+ 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




 zachwho wrote:
yeah well that's true, he's modifying the dtw roll by making it a 2+. like i said not really a valid argument!

Ah no, you said there was an argument, you never stated it wasn't valid.
   
Made in ca
Furious Fire Dragon




nosferatu1001 wrote:
 zachwho wrote:
yeah well that's true, he's modifying the dtw roll by making it a 2+. like i said not really a valid argument!

Ah no, you said there was an argument, you never stated it wasn't valid.


Um, yes he did.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Well there is no argument because the rules are explicit.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




danny1995 wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:
 zachwho wrote:
yeah well that's true, he's modifying the dtw roll by making it a 2+. like i said not really a valid argument!

Ah no, you said there was an argument, you never stated it wasn't valid.


Um, yes he did.

The DTW on 2+ not being a modifier was not stated as not being valid

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/29 14:51:39


 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

 zachwho wrote:
there is an argument to say that kharn can dtw on all tests that don't target another friendly squad..

There really isn't.

No modifiers on DtW if it doesn't target a unit.

 
   
Made in us
Savage Khorne Berserker Biker





Texarkana TX

we've established that.

5000+ 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




And to reinforce things... it doesn't matter if a set change is a modifier or not... since unless Karn (or his unit) is the target of the spell, HE is not denying the witch, therefor his ability can't be triggered. Same things with powers like the witch eater ability, which doesn't effect the DtW roll but has a result if the unit with that power successfully denied. (causing perils on the psyker that attempted to cast a power they denied). Still would not have an effect since no individual unit made the DtW check.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: