Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 0147/08/11 16:12:43
Subject: kharne deny the witch in 7th
|
 |
Stalwart Dark Angels Space Marine
|
does kharne still deny on 2 up in 7th if so how does this work is it on all dice or just one can some one site some rules or faq lines for this please
|
for the lion!!
3000+ painted
8th edition 23-12-3 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/28 17:06:21
Subject: kharne deny the witch in 7th
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
Kharn's DTW attempts succeed on of 2+. Nothing about it changes how 7ed DTW works.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/28 18:28:44
Subject: kharne deny the witch in 7th
|
 |
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot
|
An faq isn't needed as it's quite clear. Kharn Denys on a 2+ if his unit is the target of the psychic power. If his unit is not the target of the power, it's the standard 6+
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/28 21:11:15
Subject: kharne deny the witch in 7th
|
 |
Stalwart Dark Angels Space Marine
|
ok thank you
|
for the lion!!
3000+ painted
8th edition 23-12-3 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/29 11:38:03
Subject: kharne deny the witch in 7th
|
 |
Savage Khorne Berserker Biker
|
that's not entirely cut and dry.
there is an argument to say that kharn can dtw on all tests that don't target another friendly squad.
the rule book says to pick a squad for dtw, one could always claim that kharnes squad is chosen.
i don't think it's a valid argument, but the argument is there.
devils advocate.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/29 13:04:30
Subject: kharne deny the witch in 7th
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
zachwho wrote:that's not entirely cut and dry.
there is an argument to say that kharn can dtw on all tests that don't target another friendly squad.
the rule book says to pick a squad for dtw, one could always claim that kharnes squad is chosen.
i don't think it's a valid argument, but the argument is there.
devils advocate.
This applies to Kharne ""To make a Deny the Witch test, first select one of your units that was a target[u] of the enemy’s psychic power."" If he was the target of the spell its a 2+
This applies to others - ""If none of your units were the target of the enemy’s psychic power (the power in question might have been a blessing, a conjuration, or some other power that only affects the Psyker’s own troops) you can still attempt to Deny the Witch. To do so, follow the same process, but apply no modifiers to your dice rolls"" -- Kharne was not the target, therefore his modifiers cannot be used.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/29 13:13:50
Subject: kharne deny the witch in 7th
|
 |
Savage Khorne Berserker Biker
|
it can also be argued that a replacement value is not a modifier.
I'm not adding or subtracting from the natural dtw roll of 6.
kharn has a dtw of 2+, period, he's not modifying anything.
like i said, there's an argument to be made.
devils advocate.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/29 13:14:51
Subject: kharne deny the witch in 7th
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Set modifiers are a modifier.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/29 13:25:53
Subject: kharne deny the witch in 7th
|
 |
Savage Khorne Berserker Biker
|
yeah well that's true, he's modifying the dtw roll by making it a 2+. like i said not really a valid argument!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/29 13:46:50
Subject: kharne deny the witch in 7th
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
zachwho wrote:yeah well that's true, he's modifying the dtw roll by making it a 2+. like i said not really a valid argument!
Ah no, you said there was an argument, you never stated it wasn't valid.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/29 13:51:08
Subject: kharne deny the witch in 7th
|
 |
Furious Fire Dragon
|
nosferatu1001 wrote: zachwho wrote:yeah well that's true, he's modifying the dtw roll by making it a 2+. like i said not really a valid argument!
Ah no, you said there was an argument, you never stated it wasn't valid.
Um, yes he did.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/29 13:57:06
Subject: kharne deny the witch in 7th
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Well there is no argument because the rules are explicit.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/29 14:51:12
Subject: kharne deny the witch in 7th
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
danny1995 wrote:nosferatu1001 wrote: zachwho wrote:yeah well that's true, he's modifying the dtw roll by making it a 2+. like i said not really a valid argument!
Ah no, you said there was an argument, you never stated it wasn't valid.
Um, yes he did.
The DTW on 2+ not being a modifier was not stated as not being valid
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/29 14:51:39
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/29 19:52:36
Subject: kharne deny the witch in 7th
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
zachwho wrote:there is an argument to say that kharn can dtw on all tests that don't target another friendly squad..
There really isn't.
No modifiers on DtW if it doesn't target a unit.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/30 06:39:09
Subject: kharne deny the witch in 7th
|
 |
Savage Khorne Berserker Biker
|
we've established that.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/30 06:52:33
Subject: kharne deny the witch in 7th
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
And to reinforce things... it doesn't matter if a set change is a modifier or not... since unless Karn (or his unit) is the target of the spell, HE is not denying the witch, therefor his ability can't be triggered. Same things with powers like the witch eater ability, which doesn't effect the DtW roll but has a result if the unit with that power successfully denied. (causing perils on the psyker that attempted to cast a power they denied). Still would not have an effect since no individual unit made the DtW check.
|
|
 |
 |
|