Switch Theme:

Charging. Have I been doing it wrong?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord






Now, this is one of those things were I'm beginning to doubt everything I think I know...

We've got a large-ish Warmahordes group going now and yesterday there was some different interpretations of how a unit moving with a charge order operates.

Is it-

Suppose I have a unit of six infantry models and I'm going to charge a unit of 4 enemy infantry.

What I've been doing is moving all 6 into contact, then resolving the attacks.

OR

Re-reading should I be moving each one individually into contact, resolve its attack, then move onto the next model.

Which one is correct? I cannot seem to find anything in the rules to support how I'd been doing it and I'm doubting myself as we suddenly have several pairs of fresh eyes looking at the rulebook.

Thanks in advance.


Games Workshop Delenda Est.

Users on ignore- 53.

If you break apart my or anyone else's posts line by line I will not read them. 
   
Made in pt
Tea-Kettle of Blood




It's in the "Activating Units" part of the rules:

Activating Units
Troopers do not activate individually. Instead, the entire
unit activates at once. When a unit begins its activation,
every trooper in it activates. First determine if any models
in the unit are out of formation. A trooper that is out of
formation at the start of its unit’s activation must spend its
normal movement making a full advance toward or directly
toward its unit commander. If it makes a full advance, it
must forfeit its action.
After resolving the normal movement of each activated
trooper, each trooper can then make its action, one trooper
at a time. Completely resolve the movement of one trooper
before moving on to the next. After one trooper resolves its
action, another can begin its action.


So, move all the models, then each model makes its attack.
   
Made in gb
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord






Cheers me dears. Don't you just hate those seeds of doubt that suddendly grow into doubt trees?


Games Workshop Delenda Est.

Users on ignore- 53.

If you break apart my or anyone else's posts line by line I will not read them. 
   
Made in au
Longtime Dakkanaut




Brisbane, Australia

 Grimtuff wrote:
Cheers me dears. Don't you just hate those seeds of doubt that suddendly grow into doubt trees?


Heh, yeah that happens on occasion "did I completely misread the rules somewhere?". Then again, it's always best to ask as sometimes you find out something completely new - I was playing knocked down models completely wrong for a couple of years until someone from a different group came around to play a game (I didn't realize they couldn't engage or *be engaged*, so shooting didn't get the in-melee penalty).

Anyway, just remember that the models turn to face directly at their charge target at the end of their movement (which also helps to rememeber which model charged which target), and that if a model successfully makes a charge movement (that is moves into melee range), it can still make all it's attacks even if its charge target is killed, it's just the first attack wouldn't have boosted damage.

Looking for a club in Brisbane, Australia? Come and enjoy a game and a beer at Pubhammer, our friendly club in a pub at the Junction pub in Annerley (opposite Ace Comics), Sunday nights from 6:30. All brisbanites welcome, don't wait, check out our Club Page on Facebook group for details or to organize a game. We play all sorts of board and war games, so hit us up if you're interested.


Pubhammer is Moving! Starting from the 25th of May we'll be gaming at The Junction pub (AKA The Muddy Farmer), opposite Ace Comics & Games in Annerley! Still Sunday nights from 6:30 in the Function room Come along and play Warmachine, 40k, boardgames or anything else! 
   
Made in us
Rogue





Just to chime in, and you might already know this but I have semi-veteran players and have been in events at conventions where players still don't:

When your unit charges, each model declares it's charge target. They don't all have to charge the same thing. So long as they end up in formation (within the CMD range of the unit leader) anything goes.

I have had people double take and ask for others/judges to clarify that yes, I could do that, and now I have my 10 guys charge your 5 guys, 3 solos, and 2 jacks.

Again, you might (probably) already know this, but I've seen it so much and it get asked often enough on the PP rules forum t know it is a thing. If so...don't mind me, I'll just be over there.....

I shall express myself to the fullest, regardless of state or local laws. -me- 
   
Made in us
Praetorian




Just remember also with units, you give a charge/run order, so each model in Cmd range must charge a target or run. Each model then charges at a declared target or run.

So, unit member 1 charges at enemy model, move unit member 1 so that they would get into Melee, check to see if he go into Melee (sometimes obvious, sometimes not). Unit member 2 charges at enemy model 2, move, find out unit member 2 is short of Melee range, that activation is done. Unit member 3 runs, it's activation is done. Unit member 4 charges enemy model 2 and makes it into Melee. And so on. Then you make your attacks for models that have them.
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Not as Good as a Minion






Brisbane

Related question because I think I may have been doing it wrong forever as well, do you have to charge your full distance? Say you do the usual 1st turn run-everything-but-your-caster-who-casts-spells-and-charges thing, do you need to charge them, say, the full 9" (assuming SPD 6 with no buffs)? Or can you charge them less? I always thought you had to try and go the full 9 unless stopped by a building or something, but a recent opponent told me I had it wrong.

I wish I had time for all the game systems I own, let alone want to own... 
   
Made in pt
Tea-Kettle of Blood




 motyak wrote:
Related question because I think I may have been doing it wrong forever as well, do you have to charge your full distance? Say you do the usual 1st turn run-everything-but-your-caster-who-casts-spells-and-charges thing, do you need to charge them, say, the full 9" (assuming SPD 6 with no buffs)? Or can you charge them less? I always thought you had to try and go the full 9 unless stopped by a building or something, but a recent opponent told me I had it wrong.


Your opponent was wrong.

The charging model cannot voluntarily stop its
movement until its target is in its melee range, then it can end
this movement at any point
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Not as Good as a Minion






Brisbane

Hooray, cheers

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/07/02 12:16:32


I wish I had time for all the game systems I own, let alone want to own... 
   
Made in us
Battlefortress Driver with Krusha Wheel






Can you change direction before a charge? Like turn completely around if facing the wrong way for whatever the cost of movement is, then charge? And do you have to charge in a straight line?

warhammer 40k mmo. If I can drive an ork trukk into the back of a space marine dread and explode in a fireball of epic, I can die happy!

8k points
3k points
3k points
Admech 2.5k points
 
   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh




No, you must declare a charge target before you move (which includes changing the model's facing).
Yes, you must charge in a straight line of infinite length that would bring you into melee range with your charge target. So you can't declare a charge and then move whereever you want but you can declare a charge at a model farther than your charge range.
   
Made in us
Battlefortress Driver with Krusha Wheel






but you don't have to charge at his center right, you can charge to the right or left of him so you can fit more guys in?

warhammer 40k mmo. If I can drive an ork trukk into the back of a space marine dread and explode in a fireball of epic, I can die happy!

8k points
3k points
3k points
Admech 2.5k points
 
   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh




You don't need to charge "directly towards" your charge target. But you need to charge in a line that will leave you within melee range of your charge target.
"Towards" and "Directly towards" are game terms defined in the basic rules. This game is very literal in its rules interpretations.
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

Other than needing to have LoS to your target, you can turn to face it.

Then you must move in a straight line that(if you had infinite movement and no obstructions) would eventually take you into melee. You then move till in melee range or you exhaust your movement.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





If you Charge at an angle that is too far to the sides, left or right of the model and it up with a charge angle that could never reach the intended model it is considered an ILLEGAL charge (note, not a FAILED charge)

You then need to rewind, and try again... or if nothing was in the way, just nudge it forward........


6+ = 6/36 | Reroll 1s = 7/36 | Reroll Misses = 11/36 ||||||| 5+ = 12/36 | Reroll 1s 14/36 | Reroll Misses = 20/36 ||||||| 4+ = 18/36 | Reroll 1s 21/36 | Reroll Misses = 27/36
3+ = 24/36 | Reroll 1s 28/36 | Reroll Misses = 32/36 ||||||| 2+ = 30/36 | Reroll 1s 35/36 ||||||| Highest of 2d6 = 4.47
 
   
 
Forum Index » Privateer Press Miniature Games (Warmachine & Hordes)
Go to: