Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/09 17:42:45
Subject: Teleport Homer and Gate of Infinity
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
Wanted to get opinions on how this would work if it would work.
I have a GK Librarian who rolled various powers, one of which is Gate of Infinity. 1 warp charge, Durring pychic phase, upon successful cast, remove model and can deploy model via Deep Strike rules durring that same phase (not verbatim but thats what it does)
My GK Librarian has a Teleport Homer upgrade, which makes units Deep Striking within 6" not scatter. Caveat to that is that the homer must already be on the table at the start of the Turn for it to be used
My question is, my Librarian started on the table at the beginning of my turn, can I use Gate, to deep strike him somewhere else, within that Psychic phase without either him or his unit scattering?
|
3000
4000 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/09 17:47:24
Subject: Teleport Homer and Gate of Infinity
|
 |
The Marine Standing Behind Marneus Calgar
|
GoI is Deep Striking, but not teleporting. I know things like locator beacons will work with that, but teleport homers (at least in the vanilla codex) do not, as they only work on a sub-set of deep striking (teleportation)
I’m unfamiliar with the verbiage in the GK codex. If it is as you have it, you should work fine. But you might want to double check...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/09 17:49:58
Subject: Teleport Homer and Gate of Infinity
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
Nevelon wrote:GoI is Deep Striking, but not teleporting. I know things like locator beacons will work with that, but teleport homers (at least in the vanilla codex) do not, as they only work on a sub-set of deep striking (teleportation)
I’m unfamiliar with the verbiage in the GK codex. If it is as you have it, you should work fine. But you might want to double check...
GK codex states:
If Grey Knights Strike Squads, Interceptor Squads or models in Terminator armor wish to teleport onto the battlefield via deep strike and choose to do so within 6" of a model carrying the homer, then they won't scatter. Note that the teleport homer only works for units that are teleporting, not other means. Also note that the homer must already be on the table at the start of the turn for it to be used
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/07/09 17:50:18
3000
4000 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/09 17:58:56
Subject: Teleport Homer and Gate of Infinity
|
 |
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar
|
As the Gate of Infinity rules state they are deep striking and does not say they are teleporting, the Teleport Homer will not have any effect on the scatter.
They are, definitely, reentering the battlefield via deep strike, but they are most definitely not teleporting.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/09 18:02:00
Subject: Teleport Homer and Gate of Infinity
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Also you cannot arrive within X distance of the homer, if your model is not on the table. The model only lands after you resolve scatter. Therefore he cannot be within 6" of himself on the table.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/09 18:15:00
Subject: Teleport Homer and Gate of Infinity
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
Rorschach9 wrote:As the Gate of Infinity rules state they are deep striking and does not say they are teleporting, the Teleport Homer will not have any effect on the scatter.
They are, definitely, reentering the battlefield via deep strike, but they are most definitely not teleporting.
The rules I posted though mentioned Deep Strike specifically for not scattering as an applicable use for the Homer
Fragile wrote:Also you cannot arrive within X distance of the homer, if your model is not on the table. The model only lands after you resolve scatter. Therefore he cannot be within 6" of himself on the table.
That makes more sense as to why it wouldnt work
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/07/09 18:15:33
3000
4000 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/09 18:20:43
Subject: Teleport Homer and Gate of Infinity
|
 |
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar
|
Yes, the rule does mention deepstriking. However, it specifically says "teleport via deepstrike" and not just deepstrike.
If Grey Knights Strike Squads, Interceptor Squads or models in Terminator armor wish to teleport onto the battlefield via deep strike and choose to do so within 6" of a model carrying the homer, then they won't scatter. Note that the teleport homer only works for units that are teleporting, not other means. Also note that the homer must already be on the table at the start of the turn for it to be used
Yes, the rule does mention "teleport via deep strike", however the deep strike rules themselves do not reference teleporting. Some units can, indeed, deepstrike via teleport while others deepstrike without the use of teleport. GoI does not make use of Teleport.
If they wish to teleport via deepstrike the homer works. It only works for units that are teleporting (as the rules reference above states).
GoI is not teleporting, even though it is deep striking.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/07/09 18:21:45
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/09 18:22:38
Subject: Teleport Homer and Gate of Infinity
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
So deep striking isnt always considered teleporting? I wasnt aware of that
|
3000
4000 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/09 18:24:39
Subject: Teleport Homer and Gate of Infinity
|
 |
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar
|
Nope. Drop pods deep strike, but they certainly do not teleport. Some other units "deep strike" by (fluff) "burrowing up from the ground below".
BRB wrote:Deep Strike :
Some units make their way to battle via tunnelling, teleportation, flying, or some other extraordinary means which allows them to appear in the thick of the fighting.
The mishap table even seperates Teleporting units from other Deepstriking units (Teleporting units are "lost in the warp" while other deepstriking units are shot down or suffer some other equally dramatic event)
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/07/09 18:26:25
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/09 18:29:30
Subject: Teleport Homer and Gate of Infinity
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
Out of curiosity, does the 6th ed Space marine codex have different verbage for teleport homers?
|
3000
4000 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/09 18:31:52
Subject: Teleport Homer and Gate of Infinity
|
 |
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar
|
Nearly identical (it specifies Terminators teleporting via deepstrike as those are the only units in the SM Codex that have teleport).
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/09 18:55:45
Subject: Teleport Homer and Gate of Infinity
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
Ninja'ed, addressed and now irrelevant... so removed.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/07/09 18:56:37
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/09 18:56:35
Subject: Teleport Homer and Gate of Infinity
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
JinxDragon wrote:Do read what you posted, focusing on the sentence which begins with 'Note....'
I was under the impression that Gate of Infinity was a type of Teleportation using the Deep Strike rules. Seems I was mistaken
|
3000
4000 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/09 19:05:24
Subject: Teleport Homer and Gate of Infinity
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
I realized after I had posted, when the page refreshed and there was half a dozen new posts explaining just that. Sorry, my bad, as I do sometimes open the page and don't immediately get around to addressing it.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/07/09 19:06:28
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
|