Switch Theme:

Teleport Homer and Gate of Infinity  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus





Wanted to get opinions on how this would work if it would work.

I have a GK Librarian who rolled various powers, one of which is Gate of Infinity. 1 warp charge, Durring pychic phase, upon successful cast, remove model and can deploy model via Deep Strike rules durring that same phase (not verbatim but thats what it does)

My GK Librarian has a Teleport Homer upgrade, which makes units Deep Striking within 6" not scatter. Caveat to that is that the homer must already be on the table at the start of the Turn for it to be used

My question is, my Librarian started on the table at the beginning of my turn, can I use Gate, to deep strike him somewhere else, within that Psychic phase without either him or his unit scattering?

3000
4000 
   
Made in us
The Marine Standing Behind Marneus Calgar





Upstate, New York

GoI is Deep Striking, but not teleporting. I know things like locator beacons will work with that, but teleport homers (at least in the vanilla codex) do not, as they only work on a sub-set of deep striking (teleportation)

I’m unfamiliar with the verbiage in the GK codex. If it is as you have it, you should work fine. But you might want to double check...

   
Made in us
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus





 Nevelon wrote:
GoI is Deep Striking, but not teleporting. I know things like locator beacons will work with that, but teleport homers (at least in the vanilla codex) do not, as they only work on a sub-set of deep striking (teleportation)

I’m unfamiliar with the verbiage in the GK codex. If it is as you have it, you should work fine. But you might want to double check...


GK codex states:

If Grey Knights Strike Squads, Interceptor Squads or models in Terminator armor wish to teleport onto the battlefield via deep strike and choose to do so within 6" of a model carrying the homer, then they won't scatter. Note that the teleport homer only works for units that are teleporting, not other means. Also note that the homer must already be on the table at the start of the turn for it to be used

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/07/09 17:50:18


3000
4000 
   
Made in ca
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar





Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

As the Gate of Infinity rules state they are deep striking and does not say they are teleporting, the Teleport Homer will not have any effect on the scatter.

They are, definitely, reentering the battlefield via deep strike, but they are most definitely not teleporting.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Also you cannot arrive within X distance of the homer, if your model is not on the table. The model only lands after you resolve scatter. Therefore he cannot be within 6" of himself on the table.
   
Made in us
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus





Rorschach9 wrote:
As the Gate of Infinity rules state they are deep striking and does not say they are teleporting, the Teleport Homer will not have any effect on the scatter.

They are, definitely, reentering the battlefield via deep strike, but they are most definitely not teleporting.


The rules I posted though mentioned Deep Strike specifically for not scattering as an applicable use for the Homer

Fragile wrote:
Also you cannot arrive within X distance of the homer, if your model is not on the table. The model only lands after you resolve scatter. Therefore he cannot be within 6" of himself on the table.


That makes more sense as to why it wouldnt work

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/07/09 18:15:33


3000
4000 
   
Made in ca
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar





Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

Yes, the rule does mention deepstriking. However, it specifically says "teleport via deepstrike" and not just deepstrike.

If Grey Knights Strike Squads, Interceptor Squads or models in Terminator armor wish to teleport onto the battlefield via deep strike and choose to do so within 6" of a model carrying the homer, then they won't scatter. Note that the teleport homer only works for units that are teleporting, not other means. Also note that the homer must already be on the table at the start of the turn for it to be used


Yes, the rule does mention "teleport via deep strike", however the deep strike rules themselves do not reference teleporting. Some units can, indeed, deepstrike via teleport while others deepstrike without the use of teleport. GoI does not make use of Teleport.
If they wish to teleport via deepstrike the homer works. It only works for units that are teleporting (as the rules reference above states).

GoI is not teleporting, even though it is deep striking.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/07/09 18:21:45


 
   
Made in us
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus





So deep striking isnt always considered teleporting? I wasnt aware of that

3000
4000 
   
Made in ca
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar





Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

 WrentheFaceless wrote:
So deep striking isnt always considered teleporting? I wasnt aware of that


Nope. Drop pods deep strike, but they certainly do not teleport. Some other units "deep strike" by (fluff) "burrowing up from the ground below".

BRB wrote:Deep Strike :
Some units make their way to battle via tunnelling, teleportation, flying, or some other extraordinary means which allows them to appear in the thick of the fighting.


The mishap table even seperates Teleporting units from other Deepstriking units (Teleporting units are "lost in the warp" while other deepstriking units are shot down or suffer some other equally dramatic event)

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/07/09 18:26:25


 
   
Made in us
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus





Out of curiosity, does the 6th ed Space marine codex have different verbage for teleport homers?

3000
4000 
   
Made in ca
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar





Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

Nearly identical (it specifies Terminators teleporting via deepstrike as those are the only units in the SM Codex that have teleport).
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Ninja'ed, addressed and now irrelevant... so removed.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/07/09 18:56:37


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus





JinxDragon wrote:
Do read what you posted, focusing on the sentence which begins with 'Note....'


I was under the impression that Gate of Infinity was a type of Teleportation using the Deep Strike rules. Seems I was mistaken

3000
4000 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

I realized after I had posted, when the page refreshed and there was half a dozen new posts explaining just that.
Sorry, my bad, as I do sometimes open the page and don't immediately get around to addressing it.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/07/09 19:06:28


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: