Switch Theme:

"removed from play/as a casualty with no saves of any kind allowed" Vs FNP  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control





Englandia

As the title says: Can one take a FNP against anything that removes you as a casualty/removes you from play (other than natural wounding out) such as JotWW (I know this doesn't exist now, it's an example) or the Black mace's effect (either the first or second)?
I was told you can't, as it wounds you out completely.

(I was sure I'd asked this here before, but I couldn't find it in my posting history. If I have, I do apologise)

If I sound like I'm being a condescending butthole, I'm not. Read my reply as neutrally as possible, please and thank you. 
   
Made in au
Frenzied Berserker Terminator






FNP triggers on an unsaved wound. A model being removed isn't the same as an unsaved wound.
   
Made in gb
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control





Englandia

Ah! I thought I was missing something.
Thank you.

If I sound like I'm being a condescending butthole, I'm not. Read my reply as neutrally as possible, please and thank you. 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




 Cheexsta wrote:
FNP triggers on an unsaved wound. A model being removed isn't the same as an unsaved wound.


Just to be clear the rule states;

"When a model with this special rule suffers and unsaved Wound, it can make a special Feel No Pain roll to avoid being wounded([this is not a saving throw and so can be used against attacks that state that "no saving throws of any kind are allowed"..example those inflicted by Perils of the Warp).

So with that being said ..the model doesn't have to fail a wound save roll in order to have a fnp roll..it does give the conditions that need to be met in the parenthesis above for this though

And of course Destroyer weapons and those that inflict instant death(or double str over tough+) will not allow fnp as well.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/07/12 00:10:47


 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Minijack,
What do you mean by 'fail a Wound roll?'

8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




JinxDragon wrote:
Minijack,
What do you mean by 'fail a Wound roll?'



Ahh yeah..just fixed that,thnx for the catch
   
Made in gb
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control





Englandia

Now I'm confused.
Sorry.
So I can take a FNP against something that removes you as a casualty/from play (such as the Animus Malorum, Black Mace, JotWW, etc)? As it states
this is not a saving throw and so can be used against attacks that state that "no saving throws of any kind are allowed..example those inflicted by Perils of the Warp

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/07/12 19:52:58


If I sound like I'm being a condescending butthole, I'm not. Read my reply as neutrally as possible, please and thank you. 
   
Made in pl
Stinky Spore





Grot Orderly Lair

I would say you can't. FNP is also a save roll, that saves you from dying. So no, you CAN'T take any roll. Invul save is still a save.

www.grotorderly.blogspot.com
www.facebook.com/GrotOrderly 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

 Zigmunth wrote:
I would say you can't. FNP is also a save roll, that saves you from dying. So no, you CAN'T take any roll. Invul save is still a save.

Feel No Pain is not a save.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





If you took FnP against such an effect and passed it what do you expect to happen?

FnP only ignores wounds the results you are talking about don't cause wounds and thus don't trigger FnP nor would FnP help you even if you did take it.

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in nl
Loyal Necron Lychguard



Netherlands

 Ond Angel wrote:
Now I'm confused.
Sorry.
So I can take a FNP against something that removes you as a casualty/from play (such as the Animus Malorum, Black Mace, JotWW, etc)? As it states
this is not a saving throw and so can be used against attacks that state that "no saving throws of any kind are allowed..example those inflicted by Perils of the Warp

Don't be confused

-FnP can prevent a wound, but is not a save.
-Your examples 'kill' the model not by causing a wound, but because of the effect. There is no wound to prevent!
-Perils of the Warp causes a wound and you cannot save against it, but since FnP is not a save you can still use it.
   
Made in gb
Drakhun





There is being killed by running out of wounds and there is being removed from play regardless of the amount of wounds you have. FNP can't save against the latter, but depending on the strength you might get a save against the first one.

DS:90-S+G+++M++B-IPw40k03+D+A++/fWD-R++T(T)DM+
Warmachine MKIII record 39W/0D/6L
 
   
Made in gb
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control





Englandia

Kangodo wrote:
 Ond Angel wrote:
Now I'm confused.
Sorry.
So I can take a FNP against something that removes you as a casualty/from play (such as the Animus Malorum, Black Mace, JotWW, etc)? As it states
this is not a saving throw and so can be used against attacks that state that "no saving throws of any kind are allowed..example those inflicted by Perils of the Warp

Don't be confused

-FnP can prevent a wound, but is not a save.
-Your examples 'kill' the model not by causing a wound, but because of the effect. There is no wound to prevent!
-Perils of the Warp causes a wound and you cannot save against it, but since FnP is not a save you can still use it.


welshhoppo wrote:There is being killed by running out of wounds and there is being removed from play regardless of the amount of wounds you have. FNP can't save against the latter, but depending on the strength you might get a save against the first one.


Okay. NOW I understand.

Thank you all. I feel a little silly and stupid.

I'll just remember it as "Instant death that ignores all saves and EW"

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/07/12 23:16:02


If I sound like I'm being a condescending butthole, I'm not. Read my reply as neutrally as possible, please and thank you. 
   
Made in us
Focused Fire Warrior





Dunn, NC

FNP is not a saving throw therefore you can use it.

Tau
Votann
World Eaters
Khorne Daemons
Custodes 
   
Made in gb
Stalwart Veteran Guard Sergeant





Plymouth

think of it in laymen's terms... removed as casualty = any and everything you could take was failed

   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




 Gray1378 wrote:
FNP is not a saving throw therefore you can use it.

Only if an unsaved wound is caused. If no unsaved wound is caused, you CANNOT use FNP
   
Made in us
Focused Fire Warrior





Dunn, NC

nosferatu1001 wrote:
 Gray1378 wrote:
FNP is not a saving throw therefore you can use it.

Only if an unsaved wound is caused. If no unsaved wound is caused, you CANNOT use FNP




Very true, forgot to add this. Thank you.

Tau
Votann
World Eaters
Khorne Daemons
Custodes 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: