| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/11 23:19:52
Subject: "removed from play/as a casualty with no saves of any kind allowed" Vs FNP
|
 |
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control
|
As the title says: Can one take a FNP against anything that removes you as a casualty/removes you from play (other than natural wounding out) such as JotWW (I know this doesn't exist now, it's an example) or the Black mace's effect (either the first or second)?
I was told you can't, as it wounds you out completely.
(I was sure I'd asked this here before, but I couldn't find it in my posting history. If I have, I do apologise)
|
If I sound like I'm being a condescending butthole, I'm not. Read my reply as neutrally as possible, please and thank you. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/11 23:26:03
Subject: "removed from play/as a casualty with no saves of any kind allowed" Vs FNP
|
 |
Frenzied Berserker Terminator
|
FNP triggers on an unsaved wound. A model being removed isn't the same as an unsaved wound.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/11 23:28:04
Subject: Re:"removed from play/as a casualty with no saves of any kind allowed" Vs FNP
|
 |
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control
|
Ah! I thought I was missing something.
Thank you.
|
If I sound like I'm being a condescending butthole, I'm not. Read my reply as neutrally as possible, please and thank you. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/11 23:44:26
Subject: "removed from play/as a casualty with no saves of any kind allowed" Vs FNP
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Cheexsta wrote:FNP triggers on an unsaved wound. A model being removed isn't the same as an unsaved wound.
Just to be clear the rule states;
"When a model with this special rule suffers and unsaved Wound, it can make a special Feel No Pain roll to avoid being wounded([this is not a saving throw and so can be used against attacks that state that "no saving throws of any kind are allowed"..example those inflicted by Perils of the Warp).
So with that being said ..the model doesn't have to fail a wound save roll in order to have a fnp roll..it does give the conditions that need to be met in the parenthesis above for this though
And of course Destroyer weapons and those that inflict instant death(or double str over tough+) will not allow fnp as well.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/07/12 00:10:47
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/11 23:59:03
Subject: "removed from play/as a casualty with no saves of any kind allowed" Vs FNP
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
Minijack,
What do you mean by 'fail a Wound roll?'
|
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/12 00:12:19
Subject: "removed from play/as a casualty with no saves of any kind allowed" Vs FNP
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Ahh yeah..just fixed that,thnx for the catch
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/12 19:51:59
Subject: Re:"removed from play/as a casualty with no saves of any kind allowed" Vs FNP
|
 |
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control
|
Now I'm confused.
Sorry.
So I can take a FNP against something that removes you as a casualty/from play (such as the Animus Malorum, Black Mace, JotWW, etc)? As it states this is not a saving throw and so can be used against attacks that state that "no saving throws of any kind are allowed..example those inflicted by Perils of the Warp
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/07/12 19:52:58
If I sound like I'm being a condescending butthole, I'm not. Read my reply as neutrally as possible, please and thank you. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/12 19:59:33
Subject: "removed from play/as a casualty with no saves of any kind allowed" Vs FNP
|
 |
Stinky Spore
|
I would say you can't. FNP is also a save roll, that saves you from dying. So no, you CAN'T take any roll. Invul save is still a save.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/12 20:03:51
Subject: "removed from play/as a casualty with no saves of any kind allowed" Vs FNP
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Zigmunth wrote:I would say you can't. FNP is also a save roll, that saves you from dying. So no, you CAN'T take any roll. Invul save is still a save.
Feel No Pain is not a save.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/12 20:07:53
Subject: "removed from play/as a casualty with no saves of any kind allowed" Vs FNP
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
If you took FnP against such an effect and passed it what do you expect to happen?
FnP only ignores wounds the results you are talking about don't cause wounds and thus don't trigger FnP nor would FnP help you even if you did take it.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/12 22:23:46
Subject: Re:"removed from play/as a casualty with no saves of any kind allowed" Vs FNP
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
Netherlands
|
Ond Angel wrote:Now I'm confused.
Sorry.
So I can take a FNP against something that removes you as a casualty/from play (such as the Animus Malorum, Black Mace, JotWW, etc)? As it states this is not a saving throw and so can be used against attacks that state that "no saving throws of any kind are allowed..example those inflicted by Perils of the Warp
Don't be confused
- FnP can prevent a wound, but is not a save.
-Your examples 'kill' the model not by causing a wound, but because of the effect. There is no wound to prevent!
-Perils of the Warp causes a wound and you cannot save against it, but since FnP is not a save you can still use it.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/12 22:37:49
Subject: "removed from play/as a casualty with no saves of any kind allowed" Vs FNP
|
 |
Drakhun
|
There is being killed by running out of wounds and there is being removed from play regardless of the amount of wounds you have. FNP can't save against the latter, but depending on the strength you might get a save against the first one.
|
DS:90-S+G+++M++B-IPw40k03+D+A++/fWD-R++T(T)DM+
Warmachine MKIII record 39W/0D/6L
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/12 23:15:52
Subject: Re:"removed from play/as a casualty with no saves of any kind allowed" Vs FNP
|
 |
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control
|
Kangodo wrote: Ond Angel wrote:Now I'm confused.
Sorry.
So I can take a FNP against something that removes you as a casualty/from play (such as the Animus Malorum, Black Mace, JotWW, etc)? As it states this is not a saving throw and so can be used against attacks that state that "no saving throws of any kind are allowed..example those inflicted by Perils of the Warp
Don't be confused
- FnP can prevent a wound, but is not a save.
-Your examples 'kill' the model not by causing a wound, but because of the effect. There is no wound to prevent!
-Perils of the Warp causes a wound and you cannot save against it, but since FnP is not a save you can still use it.
welshhoppo wrote:There is being killed by running out of wounds and there is being removed from play regardless of the amount of wounds you have. FNP can't save against the latter, but depending on the strength you might get a save against the first one.
Okay. NOW I understand.
Thank you all. I feel a little silly and stupid.
I'll just remember it as "Instant death that ignores all saves and EW"
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/07/12 23:16:02
If I sound like I'm being a condescending butthole, I'm not. Read my reply as neutrally as possible, please and thank you. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/13 14:35:40
Subject: "removed from play/as a casualty with no saves of any kind allowed" Vs FNP
|
 |
Focused Fire Warrior
|
FNP is not a saving throw therefore you can use it.
|
Tau
Votann
World Eaters
Khorne Daemons
Custodes |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/13 15:25:04
Subject: "removed from play/as a casualty with no saves of any kind allowed" Vs FNP
|
 |
Stalwart Veteran Guard Sergeant
|
think of it in laymen's terms... removed as casualty = any and everything you could take was failed
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/14 07:35:45
Subject: "removed from play/as a casualty with no saves of any kind allowed" Vs FNP
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Only if an unsaved wound is caused. If no unsaved wound is caused, you CANNOT use FNP
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/14 20:21:23
Subject: "removed from play/as a casualty with no saves of any kind allowed" Vs FNP
|
 |
Focused Fire Warrior
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:
Only if an unsaved wound is caused. If no unsaved wound is caused, you CANNOT use FNP
Very true, forgot to add this. Thank you.
|
Tau
Votann
World Eaters
Khorne Daemons
Custodes |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|