Switch Theme:

The Ork Horde FoC  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Hardened Veteran Guardsman





Hi There

Just a fairly simple clarification needed. In the new Ork dex, there is the unique FoC for them; The Ork Horde, which has extra troop & HQ options etc.

My question is, if you want to do a bound army of Orks do you HAVE to use this unique FoC or can you elect to use the standard FoC?

Thanks

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/07/14 10:01:19


DC:80S--G+M---B---IPw40k08#-D+A+++/eWD-R+T(T)DM+

1500
1500
1500 - Retired
 
   
Made in us
Waaagh! Warbiker







It is an option for orkz to use instead of the normal CAD.

It is not mandatory for a battle forged ork army to use it.

1000+
1850+
1850+
4000+

DS:90-S++G++MB++IPw40k11++D+A++/sWD-R+T(D)DM+

01001101 01100001 01100100 01100101 00100000 01011001 01101111 01110101 00100000 01001100 01101111 01101111 01101011
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




The "how to make an army" section of the rulebook is VERY clear on this - your army is made up of detachments, examples of which are CAD and Ally. So if you have an alternative detachment for use, you CAN use it, you are not REQUIRED to use it
   
Made in gb
Hardened Veteran Guardsman





 Awfeel wrote:

It is an option for orkz to use instead of the normal CAD.

It is not mandatory for a battle forged ork army to use it.


Thank you.


nosferatu1001 wrote:
The "how to make an army" section of the rulebook is VERY clear on this - your army is made up of detachments, examples of which are CAD and Ally. So if you have an alternative detachment for use, you CAN use it, you are not REQUIRED to use it


I had read the CODEX and the RULEBOOK but still found the issue CONFUSING, which is why I asked the QUESTION.

DC:80S--G+M---B---IPw40k08#-D+A+++/eWD-R+T(T)DM+

1500
1500
1500 - Retired
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Orem, UT

You can use either...but remember, if you use the CAD from BRB you get Objective Secured. If you use the chart from Ork book, you get Hammer of Wrath, but not Objective Secured.
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

 Diggory_x wrote:
I had read the CODEX and the RULEBOOK but still found the issue CONFUSING, which is why I asked the QUESTION.

From 'Selecting Detachments' in the main rulebook (emphasis added for clarity):

You can include any number and any type of Detachments in a Battle-forged army provided you have sufficient units.

What's not clear about that?

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Waaagh! Warbiker







What's not clear about that?


Well aren't you condescending haha. He just didn't understand man. He wanted it in laymen's. Maybe it's not his first language. Why does it matter ?

1000+
1850+
1850+
4000+

DS:90-S++G++MB++IPw40k11++D+A++/sWD-R+T(D)DM+

01001101 01100001 01100100 01100101 00100000 01011001 01101111 01110101 00100000 01001100 01101111 01101111 01101011
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Because when it is spelled out as clearly as that, the answer is usually that they just hadn't read it. If they have genuine confusion then it's better if they explain what they don't understand and why, which the op didn't do.
   
Made in gb
Hardened Veteran Guardsman





 Awfeel wrote:

What's not clear about that?


Well aren't you condescending haha. He just didn't understand man. He wanted it in laymen's. Maybe it's not his first language. Why does it matter ?



Exactly this, minus the part about my primary language (I am English). I just wanted a simple answer to something I was a little confused about. I am an amateur player so sometimes the rules are not abundantly clear to me.

Thank you Awfeel for not being a dick about it.

DC:80S--G+M---B---IPw40k08#-D+A+++/eWD-R+T(T)DM+

1500
1500
1500 - Retired
 
   
Made in au
Frenzied Berserker Terminator






Welcome to YMDC. Don't take it personally
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Not to mention how easy it is to over-look a single sentence, particularly with Game Workshop's love of hiding Rules in odd places.

8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Also... sometimes people are confused by things we can't even guess about. So while it can seem snarky (and sometimes that may be the intent) a question like that also serves a purpose.
Did the OP not see that sentence?
Is there a different rule that was creating the confusion?
Is there some interaction that the OP was confused about?
Is there some other rule misunderstanding that led to this misunderstanding?


These questions actually make *more* sense for such clearly written rules. Because it is more likely that there is some other reason that caused the confusion...

No one is calling anyone names....

   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: