Switch Theme:

How Exactly does Scout confer?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




So then we are back to they are in the LR, they have to be, we just made the note right?

So when the LR redeploys, they also redeploy, with the LR

They are embarked (deployment status), the land raider redeploys, they redeploy (to stay embarked).

So they must redeploy to maintain thier status as embarked.

~2k
~4k

kill team 
   
Made in gb
Confessor Of Sins





Newton Aycliffe

Why would they need to redeploy to stay embarked?

They are embarked (deployment status) in the Land Raider.

You re-deploy the Land raider. Has the above statement changed in any way?

Why would moving a model from A to B stop them being embarked? You'd drop all your marines out of the Rhinos when you drive forward turn 1......
Same example: Turn 1 your scouts are embarked (deployment status) in the Land Speeder. Turn 4 your Land Speeder is on the other side of the board, are the Scouts still embarked?

DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage.
Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Does the unit inside move when the transport moves? Yes? Then the unit inside must also redeploy.

If the unit inside does not move that means they can fire heavy weapons at full BS when the transport moves. So if the vehicle redeploys, the unit inside redeploys, just like if it moves, the guys inside have moved.

~2k
~4k

kill team 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




No, that isn't how rules work

You are told the unit inside counts as moving. Because they haven't actually moved. If you insist on them having actually moved, you are admitting a transport can never travel more than 6" while an infantry unit is embarked.

They are embarked. The vehicle redeploys. Unless you can show an actual rule stating the contrary - and the ork formation rule suggests strongly that you cannot do so - this does not cause the embarked unit to redeploy.

Proven.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




So from your suggestion,

A unit is deployed as "embarked", the transport scouts, then in turn one move, they get out and can assault? Since they havent scouted?

And further, when does a unit count as being embarked, if they are embarked in reserve thier deployment status wont change when they arrive, Cause they are still embarked so the unit hasnt moved or changed their deployment at all.

I think every space marine player will love this since they can now assault from drop pods.

Edit:spelling

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/08/28 17:06:34


~2k
~4k

kill team 
   
Made in us
Never Forget Isstvan!






taurising wrote:
So from your suggestion,

A unit is deployed as "embarked", the transport scouts, then in turn one move, they get out and can assault? Since they havent scouted?

And further, when does a unit count as being embarked, if they are embarked in reserve thier deployment status wont change when they arrive, Cause they are still embarked so the unit hasnt moved or changed their deployment at all.

I think every space marine player will love this since they can now assault from drop pods.

Edit:spelling



There is no such thing as "Deployed as embarked" You are embarked if your inside a building or transport. Deployment has nothing to do with it. The unit is deployed and they are embarked, but there is no specific rule function that only considers deployment and embarkation as a whole.

The transport made the scout redeploy, not the unit inside, so yes, they can disembark and assault turn 1 as per the rules.

See above. Whether a unit is embarked or not, has no correlation with whether they are in reserves or not (unless your talking about drop pod assault).

By the By, the rules restrict you from charging if you entered play from reserves, and dont care whether your embarked or not.

JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




I am in fact talking about drop pods. They deploy, but if the unit inside doesnt move with it then its deployment status hasnt changed. The unit just disembarks. Since it was embarked, the vehicle deploying (or redeploying) has no effect on the passengers.

In any case, i don;t think either of us are going to budge on this, and just like the last debate about this, it is just going to deadlock with neither side backing down.

My final thoughts on this:

If you are in a diffrent place then when you were initally deployed that means you redeployed. Vehicle, no vehicle, crazy warp storm moving you to the game that is taking place on the table behind you, you redeployed.

Unless you have a rule that specifically states it, you can't assault if you were not on the board prior to turn one or the previous turn no matter how you got there (see above examples).

If you are saying that thru 2 tranfers of a rule that your LR can scout and the termies inside can assult me on turn one, I will respectfully suggest that we play a diffrent game.

~2k
~4k

kill team 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




I guess you didn't pick up on the ork reference.

They have a specific rule disallowing the embarked units from assaulting when the battlewagons scout. Implying, but not proving, that normally they could.

   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Never played with or against orks, so I will take your word on that one.

I do think this needs an FAQ though

~2k
~4k

kill team 
   
Made in gb
Confessor Of Sins





Newton Aycliffe

taurising wrote:
Never played with or against orks, so I will take your word on that one.

I do think this needs an FAQ though


I will agree that they need an FAQ to stop units from being able to charge after Scouting, yes (RaW)

Although i would have to point out that my local meta does not agree at all with Scout moves allowing charges, but that's HIWPI / Houserule


Automatically Appended Next Post:
taurising wrote:
If you are saying that thru 2 tranfers of a rule that your LR can scout and the termies inside can assult me on turn one, I will respectfully suggest that we play a diffrent game.


Also, unless i missed something, i thought page 1 of the thread had decided that this was not possible as only the Commander had Scout, not the Termy unit, so the transport (which could get scout from the Termies) does not have scout.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/08/28 21:22:19


DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage.
Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. 
   
Made in gb
Death-Dealing Devastator



Essex, UK

There is nothing stopping a unit in an assault vehicle that has Scouted from charging turn 1. That was a valid tactic as soon as Marines came out and nothing has changed.
   
Made in us
Wicked Canoptek Wraith





NYC

So if a unit has scout and they are embarked on their dedicated transport, is the redeployment 6" or 12" because the vehicle is scouting? I assume the vehicle trumps.

**Queens 40k Fight Club NYC**

http://www.meetup.com/Queens-FC/ 
   
Made in gb
Confessor Of Sins





Newton Aycliffe

You should probably create a new Thread if you have a specific Question.

This will probably be considered Thread Necro and no one will specifically give you an answer.

DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage.
Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. 
   
Made in gb
[DCM]
Et In Arcadia Ego





Canterbury

A new thread would indeed be better in this case.

No harm done.

The poor man really has a stake in the country. The rich man hasn't; he can go away to New Guinea in a yacht. The poor have sometimes objected to being governed badly; the rich have always objected to being governed at all
We love our superheroes because they refuse to give up on us. We can analyze them out of existence, kill them, ban them, mock them, and still they return, patiently reminding us of who we are and what we wish we could be.
"the play's the thing wherein I'll catch the conscience of the king,
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: