Switch Theme:

Powerfield Generator and Land Raider Crusader - does it currently work or not?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in fi
Battlewagon Driver with Charged Engine






Finland

So yeah, topic pretty much sums the question. At some point I believe it was FAQ'd that the Powerfield Generator can't affect the transport the unit carrying is embarked upon. It seems to have been removed in atleast the newest FAQ, atleast I didn't see it anymore.

Also on this page: http://1d4chan.org/wiki/Warhammer_40,000/Tactics/Dark_Angels%287E%29

it is said: "New FAQ for 7th Edition has brought back the Power Field Generator/Land Raider combo!"

So how is it now officially? No houserules please, I wish to know the actual solution. Can I stick it inside the LR:C currently and have it benefit from it, or do I need to carry it with a bike? If it does work inside the LR:C is the bubble measured from the hull of said vehicle, like before?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/08/26 15:38:07


   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Works inside the vehicle, and can be measured from the hull as per the rule for embarked units.
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






It depends entirely which Codex you have:

If you have the Digital Codex, bad luck, still doesn't work.
If you have the physical dead-tree Codex, then it works!

Individual tournaments etc. will have their own rulings, but I'd suspect if they ever FAQ it again, it will be formatted similarly to the Ork Kustom Force Field (when embarked, works on transport but doesn't bubble from hull).
Personally, I am still playing to the 6th Ed FAQ (including Standard of Devastation clarification etc.)
   
Made in fi
Battlewagon Driver with Charged Engine






Finland

 Quanar wrote:
It depends entirely which Codex you have:

If you have the Digital Codex, bad luck, still doesn't work.
If you have the physical dead-tree Codex, then it works!


Read about this too. Not sure if this is hilarious or sad, probably the all time low from GW. Luckily I have the physical one so I guess I'll roll with that.
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Anacortes

It's dosent work and the most updated dex's I'm pretty sure rule the roost on rules like that. It's like having the FAQ with out the printed black library page. You know it wasn't intended to work that way so your going to do it anyway?

In a dog eat dog be a cat. 
   
Made in us
5th God of Chaos! (Ho-hum)





Curb stomping in the Eye of Terror!

Lungpickle wrote:
It's dosent work and the most updated dex's I'm pretty sure rule the roost on rules like that. It's like having the FAQ with out the printed black library page. You know it wasn't intended to work that way so your going to do it anyway?

It's a discrepencies... not everyone can afford an iPad.

I have to go with the dead trees versions.

Live Ork, Be Ork. or D'Ork!


 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Lungpickle wrote:
It's dosent work and the most updated dex's I'm pretty sure rule the roost on rules like that.

The codex was released. The power field was updated in the digital codex and in the FAQ for the print codex. Then 7th edition rolled around, and the print FAQ was updated, to have the change to power fields removed.

So which is the most up to date? For my money, that would be the one that was changed most recently... which would be the print version.


You know it wasn't intended to work that way so your going to do it anyway?

We don't know how it was intended to work.

We know what was printed in the codex originally. We know what they changed it to in 6th edition, and we know that they removed that change in 7th.

What they intended is anyone's guess.

 
   
Made in tr
Willing Inquisitorial Excruciator





Also intention does change as well, they might have intended it not to work in 6th but to work in 7th. Check the helldrake, the poor thing had several neck surgeries since it came out.

Weyland-Yutani
Building Better Terrains

https://www.weyland-yutani-inc.com/

https://www.facebook.com/weylandyutaniinc/

 Grey Templar wrote:
The Riptide can't be a giant death robot, its completely lacking a sword or massive chainsaw. All giant death robots have swords or massive chainsaws.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





removing the question and answer in the faq is not the same as the answer being changed to the opposite.

if the answer was changed to the opposite they would have left the question, and changed the answer.

that is a bad argument to rule its legit just because the faq question is no longer present.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/08/27 02:01:19


 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

The FAQ was what told us to play it differently to how it was written in the book.

If that FAQ no longer exists, then there is no longer anything that tells us to play it differently to how it was written in the book.

 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

 insaniak wrote:
Lungpickle wrote:
It's dosent work and the most updated dex's I'm pretty sure rule the roost on rules like that.

The codex was released. The power field was updated in the digital codex and in the FAQ for the print codex. Then 7th edition rolled around, and the print FAQ was updated, to have the change to power fields removed.

So which is the most up to date? For my money, that would be the one that was changed most recently... which would be the print version.



That's not correct. The digital edition of the codex has been updated since the 7th edition FAQs were released.

So the most current version technically speaking is the digital edition, which still has the Powerfield errata in it.

But there is no 'right' answer here. Just two different legitimate rules depending on which version of the codex you're using.


So my recommendation to any DA players would be to use the version that is less beneficial to you, as in such an odd situation when you have no 'right' answer, the sporting way to play is to go with the version that is less advantageous to you, that way no one will ever complain.

Oh and write GW angry letters telling them to fix either the FAQ or the digital codex.




This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/08/27 02:06:08


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




 insaniak wrote:
If that FAQ no longer exists, then there is no longer anything that tells us to play it differently to how it was written in the book.
Except, of course, the eBook.
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

Pyrian wrote:
 insaniak wrote:
If that FAQ no longer exists, then there is no longer anything that tells us to play it differently to how it was written in the book.
Except, of course, the eBook.


 whembly wrote:
It's a discrepencies... not everyone can afford an iPad.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Pyrian wrote:
Except, of course, the eBook.

Which is great if you have the eBook.

I'm happy to accept Yakface's word for it on when the eBook update came through... but I wouldn't expect an opponent who only has the hardcopy codex to know about that update.

And given that it was included in the digital update but not in the FAQ, we're left having to decide for ourselves whether the digital update was an intentional change or a holdover from 6th edition that was included by mistake.

 
   
Made in de
Mysterious Techpriest






I might be a bit on the TFG side here, but DA's aren't one of the powerful codexes anyway (and I only have a dead-tree version, do not own neither plan to own any apple product ever and therefore have no access to any other ruling) , only have a techmarine without a bike (and I'm really bad at converting) therefore I will embark him on my vehicle and protect the LR (since I'm playing it with DW anyway, cut me some slack here ).
What I will NOT do, as kind of a middle ground, is extent the bubble from the LR so it will only work on the vehicle if embarked.

Data author for Battlescribe
Found a bug? Join, ask, report:
https://discord.gg/pMXqCqWJRE 
   
Made in fi
Battlewagon Driver with Charged Engine






Finland

This will probably be troublesome with some players. Indeed no one has factual knowledge if the change was left off by accident, or if it was intentionally removed ( which I see just as likely, given how crappy the DA Codex is allround. ) But I guess the "official" way to go is to abide the ruling/lack of it of the newest version of the Codex one is using, like mentioned before.

Is there another way to give a LR:C an invulnerable save ( aside from a biker libby, personally I can use either SM or DA ) ? Did Azrael give it to his transport?

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/08/27 14:51:15


   
Made in de
Mysterious Techpriest






The "standard" way before was to stick the Techmarine on a bike so he could keep up and just drive him behind the LR which was a movable LOS-Blocker.
So in most circumstances, the difference is 20pts (and the ability to maybe kill the now T5-PFG).

Data author for Battlescribe
Found a bug? Join, ask, report:
https://discord.gg/pMXqCqWJRE 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






FWIW, The BAO FAQ says:
Per the updated digital version of the codex, if the bearer of a Power Field Generator is embarked upon a vehicle/building, the generator only affects the embarked unit and the vehicle/building.

(The NOVA FAQ does not address the question.)


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 RunicFIN wrote:

Is there another way to give a LR:C an invulnerable save ( aside from a biker libby, personally I can use either SM or DA ) ? Did Azrael give it to his transport?

Azreal confers the save to the unit he joins. ICs cannot join units of vehicles.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/08/27 15:23:37


Battlescribe Catalog Editor - Please report bugs here http://battlescribedata.appspot.com/#/repo/wh40k 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

Any FAQ outside of those published by Games Workshop have no special insight into the rules. It's simply their ruling on the matter, nothing more.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in fi
Battlewagon Driver with Charged Engine






Finland

axisofentropy wrote:
FWIW, The BAO FAQ says:
Per the updated digital version of the codex, if the bearer of a Power Field Generator is embarked upon a vehicle/building, the generator only affects the embarked unit and the vehicle/building.

(The NOVA FAQ does not address the question.)


Just keeps getting weirder. It would seem BAO FAQ would have it affect the vehicle aswell ( pretty clearly, too ) ... BUT the "Per the updated digital version of the digital codex" -bugs me. The digital codex, to me, seems to be saying it doesn't affect the vehicle, just like the old FAQ did...

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/08/27 16:35:13


   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

 RunicFIN wrote:


Just keeps getting weirder. It would seem BAO FAQ would have it affect the vehicle aswell ( pretty clearly, too ) ... BUT the "Per the updated digital version of the digital codex" -bugs me. The digital codex, to me, seems to be saying it doesn't affect the vehicle, just like the old FAQ did...




See the attached pics below for what the digital version says. It is the same as what the old errata used to say.

Also, I'm including a pic of the digital update date, so everyone can see that, yes, it was updated AFTER the FAQ was put out.

[Thumb - image.jpg]
Powerfield digital rules

[Thumb - image.jpg]
DA digital update date

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/08/27 19:03:49


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in de
Mysterious Techpriest






Hm. I don't understand the wording..
Only the models embarked on the vehicle? So the only use of it is if the transport they are embarked in explodes?
Because otherwise there is no way to allocate wounds to them, so the PFG would basically do NOTHING. If it would affect the transport itself it would be something different, but that's not how I'd read that.

Data author for Battlescribe
Found a bug? Join, ask, report:
https://discord.gg/pMXqCqWJRE 
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





 Thairne wrote:
Hm. I don't understand the wording..
Only the models embarked on the vehicle? So the only use of it is if the transport they are embarked in explodes?
Because otherwise there is no way to allocate wounds to them, so the PFG would basically do NOTHING. If it would affect the transport itself it would be something different, but that's not how I'd read that.

Yes that's the point. It doesn't do anything for the transport they are in or units outside of it.
   
Made in de
Mysterious Techpriest






Never really thought about it and just accepted I had to put the PFG Tech on a bike... D'oh.
This makes the RAW really pointless. They could've just written "Power Field Generator has no effect while embarked". Why choose such a wording? Besides GW Style rules, of course...

Data author for Battlescribe
Found a bug? Join, ask, report:
https://discord.gg/pMXqCqWJRE 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 Thairne wrote:
Never really thought about it and just accepted I had to put the PFG Tech on a bike... D'oh.
This makes the RAW really pointless. They could've just written "Power Field Generator has no effect while embarked". Why choose such a wording? Besides GW Style rules, of course...


if the vehicle explodes you have the benefit of the PFG save if applicable.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





If they happened to be in an open topped transport it would.givethem an inv save vs. Templates
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





 Thairne wrote:
Never really thought about it and just accepted I had to put the PFG Tech on a bike... D'oh.
This makes the RAW really pointless. They could've just written "Power Field Generator has no effect while embarked". Why choose such a wording? Besides GW Style rules, of course...

There are ways to be wounded while embarked in a vehicle

Such as "No Escape"
   
Made in fi
Battlewagon Driver with Charged Engine






Finland

 yakface wrote:
 RunicFIN wrote:


Just keeps getting weirder. It would seem BAO FAQ would have it affect the vehicle aswell ( pretty clearly, too ) ... BUT the "Per the updated digital version of the digital codex" -bugs me. The digital codex, to me, seems to be saying it doesn't affect the vehicle, just like the old FAQ did...




See the attached pics below for what the digital version says. It is the same as what the old errata used to say.

Also, I'm including a pic of the digital update date, so everyone can see that, yes, it was updated AFTER the FAQ was put out.



I am aware of what both the FAQ and Digital Edition say, but my point is now this:

The BAO FAQ says clearly that it would affect the embarked vehicle aswell. It states:

"Per the updated digital version of the digital codex"

Now this is what I wonder about: To me the Digital Codex clearly says it doesn't affect the vehicle. Where did BAO get it from that it does? Is there an overriding rule somewhere ( AOE abilities/whatever? ) that I/we have missed, or why have they come to the conclusion it affects the vehicle?

Extreme, imaginary example of what I wonder about just to make it clear; "As per the 7th edition rulebook, Drop Pods do not scatter." - the ruling of the BAO FAQ contradicts itself with the stated source. That's what I don't understand, is there more to it?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/08/28 08:22:42


   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

 RunicFIN wrote:

I am aware of what both the FAQ and Digital Edition say, but my point is now this:

The BAO FAQ says clearly that it would affect the embarked vehicle aswell. It states:

"Per the updated digital version of the digital codex"

Now this is what I wonder about: To me the Digital Codex clearly says it doesn't affect the vehicle. Where did BAO get it from that it does? Is there an overriding rule somewhere ( AOE abilities/whatever? ) that I/we have missed, or why have they come to the conclusion it affects the vehicle?

Extreme, imaginary example of what I wonder about just to make it clear; "As per the 7th edition rulebook, Drop Pods do not scatter." - the ruling of the BAO FAQ contradicts itself with the stated source. That's what I don't understand, is there more to it?


Nothing special to understand, just a simple error in reading in this case that you can attribute to me.

The choice for the BAO FAQ was supposed to be between the digital codex+FAQ or the print codex+FAQ. The decision was made to go with the digital codex's wording, but I made a mistake as to what the wording in the digital edition said and everyone else involved took my word for it.

So apologies for the confusion.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in fi
Battlewagon Driver with Charged Engine






Finland

 yakface wrote:
The choice for the BAO FAQ was supposed to be between the digital codex+FAQ or the print codex+FAQ. The decision was made to go with the digital codex's wording, but I made a mistake as to what the wording in the digital edition said and everyone else involved took my word for it.


Do I understand correctly that you created the BAO FAQ/this portion of it? If so then I guess there couldn't be a more direct answer!

   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: