Switch Theme:

Powerfield Generator and Land Raider Crusader - does it currently work or not?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Killer Klaivex




Oceanside, CA

 Thairne wrote:
Never really thought about it and just accepted I had to put the PFG Tech on a bike... D'oh.
This makes the RAW really pointless. They could've just written "Power Field Generator has no effect while embarked". Why choose such a wording? Besides GW Style rules, of course...

If you put the unit in a building, the PFG would protect the guys inside from template hits and the odd pen hit striking a guy inside.

-Matt

 thedarkavenger wrote:

So. I got a game with this list in. First game in at least 3-4 months.
 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User





nosferatu1001 wrote:
Works inside the vehicle, and can be measured from the hull as per the rule for embarked units.


I have the ebook, and I am having a hard time finding this rule, could you tell me exactly what section this is in? thanks
   
Made in us
Legendary Master of the Chapter






Sautek Supreme wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:
Works inside the vehicle, and can be measured from the hull as per the rule for embarked units.


I have the ebook, and I am having a hard time finding this rule, could you tell me exactly what section this is in? thanks


The measure from hull thing is in the BRB under embarking in transport.

 Unit1126PLL wrote:
 Scott-S6 wrote:
And yet another thread is hijacked for Unit to ask for the same advice, receive the same answers and make the same excuses.

Oh my god I'm becoming martel.
Send help!

 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Pag 80 under embarking. It's not in bold
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

 RunicFIN wrote:
Do I understand correctly that you created the BAO FAQ/this portion of it? If so then I guess there couldn't be a more direct answer!


More or less, yes, that is correct.

Someone else actually writes the document, but in this particular case the discussion was more or less about whether to go with the digital or print version and my (incorrect) understanding of the digital version was that it affected the vehicle (maybe I was getting the new KFF rules mixed up with the PFG in my mind), and nobody else involved noticed.

I'll bring it back up on the next conference call so that other events that use the same FAQ as a template can get it fixed for their event if they want.



I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Thanks for clearing that up yakface.

In related news, do the DA banners still work outside of embarked vehicles?

Battlescribe Catalog Editor - Please report bugs here http://battlescribedata.appspot.com/#/repo/wh40k 
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






axisofentropy wrote:
do the DA banners still work outside of embarked vehicles?
Yes (see the comment above referencing page 80 of the Rulebook), all "area of effect" effects work in this way (and have done since at least 6th) without specific wording otherwise (such as the Ork Kustom Force Field or... dang, I'm sure there were other recent examples but I can't think of any right now).
   
Made in ru
!!Goffik Rocker!!






If it helps, orks have the exact same wargear named Kustom Force Field. It doesn't extend from the hull if mounted inside. And it doesn't work vs template and explosions.
   
Made in fi
Battlewagon Driver with Charged Engine






Finland

So in conclusion (?)

-The PFG does not affect the vehicle the carrier is embarked upon.

-Orks have the exact piece of Wargear in form of KFF and they can utilize it for their Stompa even, meanwhile the DA can't utilize it for any vehicle?

Atleast you can still slap it on a bike and ride behind a Land Raider...


   
Made in gb
Confessor Of Sins





Newton Aycliffe

 RunicFIN wrote:
So in conclusion (?)

-The PFG does not affect the vehicle the carrier is embarked upon.

-Orks have the exact piece of Wargear in form of KFF and they can utilize it for their Stompa even, meanwhile the DA can't utilize it for any vehicle?

Atleast you can still slap it on a bike and ride behind a Land Raider...



1) yes if you follow the eBook rule (which is most recent as per yakface's pictures)

2) No the KFF does not work if you are embarked because of it's wording.

DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage.
Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




I thought the KFF only protected the vehicle while embarked, as a specific exemption to the page 80 measuring rule?
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

nosferatu1001 wrote:
I thought the KFF only protected the vehicle while embarked, as a specific exemption to the page 80 measuring rule?


It does. Not sure where all the misinformation is coming from.

[Thumb - image.jpg]
Ork KFF


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in gb
Confessor Of Sins





Newton Aycliffe

Yup that's me fully confused! Thanks for the rules post i am now clear on both...


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 BlackTalos wrote:
 RunicFIN wrote:
So in conclusion (?)

-The PFG does not affect the vehicle the carrier is embarked upon.

-Orks have the exact piece of Wargear in form of KFF and they can utilize it for their Stompa even, meanwhile the DA can't utilize it for any vehicle?

Atleast you can still slap it on a bike and ride behind a Land Raider...



1) yes if you follow the eBook rule (which is most recent as per yakface's pictures)

2) Similar rules, but ultimately very different.

Fixed

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/08/29 18:46:49


DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage.
Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. 
   
Made in fi
Longtime Dakkanaut




In a vehicle the KFF protects only the vehicle, not the passengers and the vehicle?
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





Naw wrote:
In a vehicle the KFF protects only the vehicle, not the passengers and the vehicle?

Yes that is correct
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: