Switch Theme:

Rule clarification: Boneswords  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





UK

For this scenario, say I have a group of Tyranid Shrikes, equipped with Boneswords locked in combat with a Wraithknight.

Codex: Tyranids states the Bonesword as:

S User, AP3, Melee, Life Drain

Life Drain: Any To Wound roll of a 6 made by this weapon has the Instant Death special rule.

The Wraithknights Toughness is 8, the Shrikes S is 4 - and according to the BRB, S4 can not possibly hurt T8.

But with Life Drain, could Shrikes kill a Wraithknight or equivalent if they rolled a 6 when rolling to wound? Or would the Wraithknight be unharmed?

Thanks in advance

YMDC = nightmare 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





instant death doesn't automatically mean you wound.

it just means if you wound the model does not get FnP and if it fails its save(s) it is removed as a casualty unless it has EW.

instant death is only applied after the model suffers a wound from something that causes instant death.

if you have toxin sacs its a whole different story as you now wound on a 4+ (which you get to reroll if your strength is greater than their toughness) and 6s are instant death.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/08/26 19:19:14


 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





UK

Ahh ok thanks, Toxin Sacs it is then

YMDC = nightmare 
   
Made in gb
Infiltrating Broodlord




UK

the rule for boneswords specifically say that;

“Life Drain: Any To Wound roll of a 6 made by this weapon has the Instant Death special rule.”

Excerpt From: Games Workshop Ltd. “Codex: Tyranids.” iBooks.
This material may be protected by copyright.

Meaning you could be strength 1 fighting toughness 10 and if you rolled a 6, it would still be instant death.

Yes?
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

 Wilson wrote:
Meaning you could be strength 1 fighting toughness 10 and if you rolled a 6, it would still be instant death.

Yes?
Yes.
It's Instant Death, but you've failed to wound.

And Instant Death requires that you inflict an unsaved wound.
No wound, no death.
   
Made in us
Slashing Veteran Sword Bretheren






 Wilson wrote:
the rule for boneswords specifically say that;

“Life Drain: Any To Wound roll of a 6 made by this weapon has the Instant Death special rule.”

Excerpt From: Games Workshop Ltd. “Codex: Tyranids.” iBooks.
This material may be protected by copyright.

Meaning you could be strength 1 fighting toughness 10 and if you rolled a 6, it would still be instant death.

Yes?


I think you now need to look-up the Instant Death rule. As listed above, the instant death rule just means that any model wounded by an attack with this special rule is removed as a casualty. The problem with str4 vs t8 is that even a roll of a 6 does not cause a wound. So if there is no wound, then Instant Death never gets to kick in.

DR:80+S++G++MB--IPw40k12#+D++++A++/fWD013R++T(T)DM+

"War is the greatest act of worship, and I perform it gladly for my Lord.... Praise Be"
-Invictus Potens, Black Templar Dreadnought 
   
Made in gb
Infiltrating Broodlord




UK

Ah alright it's more of the whole wound on a 6 thing that got me but sounds like you're right.
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

For an example of something that would be able to wound, regardless of the model's Toughness take a look at the wording of the Sniper special rule.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: