| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/02 23:47:45
Subject: A few rule questions about 7th Edition
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Feasting on the souls of unworthy opponents
|
Hey folks! Trying to figure out 7th Edition - haven't played since 5th. Have some questions / trying to figure out if I understand these things right.
Disembarkation / Assault:
Specific to say, Orks disembarking/charging from a battlewagon.
p80 - A unit may disembark if it begins the turn in a vehicle and the vehicle has not moved more than 6".
-Place models, one at a time, touching an access point. The model may then move, but must end the move within 6" of that access point.
Assault Vehicles: Passengers disembarking can charge, unless they arrived from reserve.
Question 1: No more disembarking within 2"? It has to touch? How on earth do you get 10 space marines out of a rhino, all touching an access point? Does that mean 20 boyz have to get out, surrounding a battle wagon to disembark?
Question 2: So instead of move 12", disembark 2", assault 6"...now it's move 6", disembark touching hull, move 6", then assault?
Question 3: Did the rule where exploding open-topped vehicles do a STR3AP- instead of a STR4AP- go away?
Challenges:
-p101: Player whose turn it in may nominate a character to issue a challenge first.
Question 1: If I assault an enemy, does that mean they cannot challenge me, since I assaulted on my turn?
Question 2: Does range matter for challenges? If my character is 12" behind the combat, trailing the mob - does he move up into base with the enemy character regardless of range?
-No other model may allocate wounds to the characters until there is nobody else left to allocate the wounds to...
Question 3: If my models are too far away to pile into combat with other models (or can't get within 2" of base contact of anything else) can they then attack the character, or do they just not get attacks at all?
Crew Question:
-Effect of damage on crew (Shaken, Stunned, Weapon Destroyed, Immobilized): Pass a Ld check or can only fire Snap Shots in the following turn.
Question 1: Making sure - ANY result requires an embarked unit to pass Ld or fire Snap Shots?
Question 2: Does jinking require embarked units to snap shot, or to pass Ld to prevent snap shots?
Warlords:
My Dark Eldar have a 5th Edition Codex, and Warlords are new. I see Tactical Warlord, Strategic Warlord, Command Warlord, and Personal Warlord.
Question 1: How do I tell which kind of Warlord my HQ is, or does Warlord even apply to DE at all?
Question 2: Are my raiders and venoms still dedicated transports, or what are they now? They come with troops...do they control objectives?
Question 3: Do transports count as "friendly units" for Warlord rules like, "Warlord and friendly units reroll 1s for hitting, etc."
Thanks in advance for help.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/03 00:02:04
Subject: A few rule questions about 7th Edition
|
 |
Never Forget Isstvan!
|
1. Since the models are moved one by one, you really just have to make sure that none go out farther than 6" from an access point. Its not really necessary to put each model touching the point then move them.
2. if your vehicle moves more than 6" they cant get out. They do effectively get 6+6 movement, then their charge.
3. Vehicles that explode now just hit every model within a D6 inch's of the hull with a Str 4 hit, no ap.
Challenges:
1. your turn, you get to challenge first. If you dont challenge first, your opponent can, then if neither of you did you start fighting.
2. If your character will not be in range to swing at his initiative, he cannot declare a challenge.
3. If you make pile in moves and no models are touching, combat is over.
Crew questions:
1. If your opponent rolls on the vehicle damage table, the guys inside have to take test.
2. Jinking does nothing to embarked units.
Warlords:
1. You pick a character to be your warlord. Doesnt matter who.
2. why wouldnt they be? You purchase them like your codex tells you to. If you bought them for a unit, they are dedicated.
3. There is no distinction between a transport and a unit. If a model has a profile with stats it is a unit. If its in your army it is friendly. Do not confuse this with battle brothers and Allies of Convenience however.
|
JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/03 00:11:45
Subject: A few rule questions about 7th Edition
|
 |
Sneaky Sniper Drone
|
Challenges Q1: they can challenge if you choose not too.
Q2: I believe they have to be within 3"?
Q3: raw it would seem they cannot.
Warlords Q1: that's not how warlords work. Those chart names are completely superficial. Any warlord can take a trait from whichever table you think is best. Also yes, DE do get warlords. You must have one.
Q2: yes to both parts. Sorta. In 7th everything can hold an objective other than zooming flyers and swooping flying monstrous creatures. What's special about dedicated transports is that they are treated as whatever is taking them. So say your troops choice is taking a dedicated transport, that transport is treated as a troops choice as well. What this means is that your troops transport gains objective secured. What that does is make it so the only thing that can contest an objective from them is another unit with objective secured.
Q3: yes? But those sorts of things will usually specify the unit type though, like it'll say infantry. But if not then yeah, those traits would apply to even them.
As for the disembarkation rules and whatnot, the only thing I can add really is that I think the whole 'place touching the access poi t' thing is one model at a time.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/03 00:55:36
Subject: Re:A few rule questions about 7th Edition
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Feasting on the souls of unworthy opponents
|
Thanks! All my questions answered.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/03 01:28:32
Subject: A few rule questions about 7th Edition
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Eihnlazer wrote:2. If your character will not be in range to swing at his initiative, he cannot declare a challenge.
This is not quite correct. Characters have to be engaged in order to issue challenges. Last edition, they also had to be engaged in order to accept a challenge, but now they just have to be in a unit that is locked in the combat.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/03 04:01:57
Subject: A few rule questions about 7th Edition
|
 |
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter
|
Eihnlazer wrote: 2. If your character will not be in range to swing at his initiative, he cannot declare a challenge. This is not correct. If your character is not engaged at the start of the Fight sub-phase, he cannot issue or accept challenges. You do not base challenges on where your models WILL be--you base it on where they ARE. Edit: I see I didn't quite get to Insaniak's answer before posting. Insaniak, please see the last sentence on the left column on p101 regarding accepting challenges: "Characters that cannot fight or strike blows (including those that are not engaged with an enemy model) cannot accept challenges."
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/09/03 04:04:26
LVO 2017 - Best GK Player
The Grimdark Future 8500 1500  6000 2000 5000
"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/03 09:08:55
Subject: A few rule questions about 7th Edition
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Elric Greywolf wrote:
Insaniak, please see the last sentence on the left column on p101 regarding accepting challenges: "Characters that cannot fight or strike blows (including those that are not engaged with an enemy model) cannot accept challenges."
Ah, there you go. I'm looking at the eBook version on a phone, and didn't go far enough.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/09/03 09:09:07
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/03 15:29:00
Subject: A few rule questions about 7th Edition
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Dashofpepper wrote:
Question 2: So instead of move 12", disembark 2", assault 6"...now it's move 6", disembark touching hull, move 6", then assault?
And it isn't as bad as you think, before you had 12" vehicle move, 2" disembark, 6" Assault... now it's 6" Vehicle, 6" Disembark, 2D6" Charge
So assuming no terrain, before you had a flat 20" threat range for assaulting. Now depending on you're roll you have 14" - 24" range, with averages pointing to 19" so on average a little worse, but potentially even better.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/03 19:55:42
Subject: A few rule questions about 7th Edition
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Dashofpepper wrote:
Question 2: So instead of move 12", disembark 2", assault 6"...now it's move 6", disembark touching hull, move 6", then assault?
And just for clarity, it's not actually 'disembark touching hull, move 6"...'
It's 'disembark touching hull, move to remain completely within 6"...'
So a model on a 1" base is only going to move a maximum of 5" after climbing out.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/03 21:34:53
Subject: A few rule questions about 7th Edition
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
I think the touching base thing is to account for obstacles, so you can't disembark and go 5" around impassable terrain. In practice I just measure from the access point ofc.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/03 23:59:25
Subject: A few rule questions about 7th Edition
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
axisofentropy wrote:I think the touching base thing is to account for obstacles, so you can't disembark and go 5" around impassable terrain. In practice I just measure from the access point ofc.
Or it's for those that somehow can't remember to use the access points.....
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|