Switch Theme:

deleted  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
Lurking Gaunt





Deleted

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/12/07 13:55:03


 
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





None. They have all been removed
   
Made in gb
Member of a Lodge? I Can't Say



UK

Nope, but you might be able to do it if you Assault out of an Assault Vehicle after arriving, but its just an idea, I don't have the rule book in front of me. That'd be the closest thing I can think of and using something like a Stormraven would be best I'd imagine


"That's how a Luna Wolf fights."
"If you can't keep up, go and join the Death Guard"
"It had often been said that Space Marines knew no fear, but when Angron charged, he ran" 
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





Taffy17 wrote:
Nope, but you might be able to do it if you Assault out of an Assault Vehicle after arriving, but its just an idea, I don't have the rule book in front of me. That'd be the closest thing I can think of and using something like a Stormraven would be best I'd imagine

No this doesn't work. Assault vehicle removes the "can't assault out of transport" clause, not all restrictions in general so the unit still would be suffering from not being able to assault out of reserves.
   
Made in au
Lurking Gaunt





So the only one unit/formation that can assault after deep striking is the Apocalypse formation The Great Promenade of Exquisite Excess using the special rule Grand Entrance which specifically states can assault after deep striking, right?
Special unique rules for specific units/formations overrides the general rules restriction in the basic rules book, right?
Another example is the Luscious Pattern Dreadnought Drop Pod allowing the dreadnought to assault out of the drop pod in same turn of deep striking using the special specific rule stating that it can thus overriding the basic rule book.
   
Made in gb
Confessor Of Sins





Newton Aycliffe

No because none of those rules say that you may "Assault upon entering from reserves", which is the main restriction referred to here.

"A unit cannot charge, or use any abilities or special rules that must be used at the start of the turn, in the turn it arrives from Reserve."

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/09/26 10:51:32


DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage.
Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. 
   
Made in ru
!!Goffik Rocker!!






I think blood angel's vanguard vets can still assault after deepstriking. But it's definitely gona be removed with the update. Or has allready been removed with a FAQ but i'm unaware of it.
   
Made in gb
Confessor Of Sins





Newton Aycliffe

 koooaei wrote:
I think blood angel's vanguard vets can still assault after deepstriking. But it's definitely gona be removed with the update. Or has allready been removed with a FAQ but i'm unaware of it.


Do they have a rule that lets them Assault after arriving from reserves? Because as i pointed out above:

Nothing can assault upon entering the game from reserves, and as far as i know, there is not a single rule that over-rides this...?

DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage.
Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. 
   
Made in ru
!!Goffik Rocker!!






"Glorious intervention" used to allow to charge after deepstriking in 5-th ed codexes. 6-th ed astartes codexes made "Glorious intervention" so that you don't loose attacks on a multi-charge or something like this. But blood angels still have 5-th ed codex.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Blacktalos - it states you may assault the turn you deepstrike, which is enough to override the no assaulting from reserves concept

Nid bits - Lucius no longer has that rule, it now is still an assault vehicle, but does not let you assault first turn. YOu can, however, stay inside the pod for a turn, to get some protection
   
Made in us
Trigger-Happy Baal Predator Pilot





Sparta, Ohio

Yes, the BA Vets have Heroic Intervention. If they have a JP they are allowed to assault they turn they arrive from Reserve from DS.

Now, we like big books. (And we cannot lie. You other readers can’t deny, a book flops open with an itty-bitty font, and a map that’s in your face, you get—sorry! Sorry!)  
   
Made in au
Lurking Gaunt





C H A O S DA E M O N S
THE GREAT PROMENADE OF EXQUISITE EXCESS

When the Dark Prince, Slaanesh, is in the mood for entertainment on a grand scale, he
summons the Masque and surrounds her with a troupe of enraptured Daemonettes.
Their arrival into realspace is accompanied by a great cacophony of sound and light
that can force even the most dour of warriors into a frenzied fit. All is a glorious dance
to the Dark Prince and his minions ...

SPECIAL RULES:

THE SLAUGHTER-DANCE
Attacks with the Rending special rule made by models in this formation strike a critical
blow on a 4 + instead of a 6 .

GRAND ENTRANCE
The formation must be placed in Strategic Reserve and arrive by Deep Strike. Units in
the formation may charge in the Assault phase of the turn they arrive from Strategic
Reserve.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
So The Grand Entrance lets you assault in same turn after deep striking, right?


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Where is the update that the Lucius drop pod rules have changed? I believe you but I want to know where it is

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/09/26 11:08:41


 
   
Made in gb
Moustache-twirling Princeps




United Kingdom

 Nid Bits wrote:

Where is the update that the Lucius drop pod rules have changed? I believe you but I want to know where it is


Imperial Armour Volume Two – Second Edition.
   
Made in au
Lurking Gaunt





checking it now


Automatically Appended Next Post:
So The Grand Entrance special rule is still valid, right?


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Cool.
I found the entry where the Lucius drop pod was updated.

So the Chaos Daemon Apocalypse formation The Great Promenade of Excess using the Grand Entrance special rule is the only unit left that can assault after deep striking same turn, right?

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2014/09/26 11:21:18


 
   
Made in gb
Confessor Of Sins





Newton Aycliffe

nosferatu1001 wrote:
Blacktalos - it states you may assault the turn you deepstrike, which is enough to override the no assaulting from reserves concept


Even though the other quoted rule:

 Nid Bits wrote:
GRAND ENTRANCE
The formation must be placed in Strategic Reserve and arrive by Deep Strike. Units in the formation may charge in the Assault phase of the turn they arrive from Strategic Reserve.


Clearly specifies it is allowing Assault from reserves?

I admit you cannot arrive by Deep Strike without arriving from reserves, but is that enough to override it?


Automatically Appended Next Post:
I guess we can just wait for the new BA codex to find out...

Is there any other current example of a similar rule in 7th Ed codexes?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/09/26 11:26:52


DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage.
Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. 
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





 Nid Bits wrote:
So the Chaos Daemon Apocalypse formation The Great Promenade of Excess using the Grand Entrance special rule is the only unit left that can assault after deep striking same turn, right?

It literally says so, why do you keep asking
   
Made in au
Lurking Gaunt





From 6th edition rule book onwards they have stated in the rule book that you cannot assault after deep striking same turn.
Apocalypse book came out after 6th editing rule book thus they have that specific rule stated that they can assault when arriving from strategic reserves. Which means it is a unique special rule overriding the general rule found in the basic rule book.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
My comments were directed at Blacktalos
Sorry but just wanted to assist him in interpreting the rules

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/09/26 11:34:33


 
   
Made in be
Longtime Dakkanaut




 BlackTalos wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:
Blacktalos - it states you may assault the turn you deepstrike, which is enough to override the no assaulting from reserves concept


Even though the other quoted rule:

 Nid Bits wrote:
GRAND ENTRANCE
The formation must be placed in Strategic Reserve and arrive by Deep Strike. Units in the formation may charge in the Assault phase of the turn they arrive from Strategic Reserve.


Clearly specifies it is allowing Assault from reserves?

I admit you cannot arrive by Deep Strike without arriving from reserves, but is that enough to override it?


How much can you hold on to an argument that's been proven false?
Just fething admit it, it allows assault after deepstrike and obviously overrides the codex ruling.

You don't have to be happy when you lose, just don't make winning the condition of your happiness.  
   
Made in us
Powerful Pegasus Knight





Elysians have a combat drop ability that allows them to deep strike and assault on the same turn if they forgo shooting.
   
Made in gb
Confessor Of Sins





Newton Aycliffe

DaPino wrote:
How much can you hold on to an argument that's been proven false?
Just fething admit it, it allows assault after deepstrike and obviously overrides the codex ruling.


You can't prove anything without quoting rules, Tenet 1.
I have seen no rules quoted saying so and i am only taking Nosferatu's word for it.

Is there a problem if I ask about more detail on it?

DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage.
Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. 
   
Made in ru
Speedy Swiftclaw Biker





Hive Moscow

 BlackTalos wrote:
DaPino wrote:
How much can you hold on to an argument that's been proven false?
Just fething admit it, it allows assault after deepstrike and obviously overrides the codex ruling.


You can't prove anything without quoting rules, Tenet 1.
I have seen no rules quoted saying so and i am only taking Nosferatu's word for it.

Is there a problem if I ask about more detail on it?


Space wolves formation

FALL UPON THE FOE
All units in the formation are allowed to charge on the turn they arrive from Strategic
Reserve.


BA asset

Blood Angels are renowned for the ferocity of their aerial assaults.
Discard this card at the start of any Imperial turn. Friendly Blood Angels
units that Deep Strike this turn (or disembark from Deep Striking
Transports) may charge this turn.


BLOOD FROM THE SKIES

Blood Angels. Strategic Resource .
Discard this card at the start of any Imperial turn. Friendly Blood Angels units that
Deep Strike this turn (or disembark from Deep Striking Transports) may charge this
turn.



Ork strom boys formation

CORKSCREW DIVE
Any unit of Stormboyz in the Stormer Elite may charge on the turn it enters play. If a
unit opts to do so, remove D3 Stormer Elites from that unit at the beginning of the
Fight sub-phase as crash-landing casualties.


+ Daemonettes formation

GRAND ENTRANCE
The formation must be placed in Strategic Reserve and arrive by Deep Strike. Units in
the formation may charge in the Assault phase of the turn they arrive from Strategic
Reserve.


+ SM asset from damnos

all sm may charge of the turn they arrive from Reserve

+ Scouts formation

DISRUPTION ATTACKS
Units from this formation may charge on the same turn that they enter play from
Strategic Reserve.


+ BA vanguards

+ Arkos (Alpha idependent character from IAA2013) fines hour

All warband formation may DP without scater, move, shoot and charge.

I think may be other
   
Made in nl
Loyal Necron Lychguard



Netherlands

Planet Strike also allows you to charge after Deep Strike.
   
Made in us
Never Forget Isstvan!






So apocalypse formations...........


Not regular 40k.

JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG 
   
Made in us
Shadowy Grot Kommittee Memba




The Great State of New Jersey

formations arent just for apocalypse anymore homeboy.

CoALabaer wrote:
Wargamers hate two things: the state of the game and change.
 
   
Made in us
Screaming Shining Spear





chaos0xomega wrote:
formations arent just for apocalypse anymore homeboy.


Yes, there are general formations that work in standiard 40k, but as far as I know, Apocalyse formations are still restricted to Apocalypse...homeboy.

4000 points: Craftworld Mymeara 
   
Made in ru
Speedy Swiftclaw Biker





Hive Moscow

chaos0xomega wrote:
formations arent just for apocalypse anymore homeboy.


apocalypse formations - only for apoc.
regular formations - for standard vanilla 40k and apoc.
   
Made in gb
Confessor Of Sins





Newton Aycliffe

 Darog wrote:
 BlackTalos wrote:
DaPino wrote:
How much can you hold on to an argument that's been proven false?
Just fething admit it, it allows assault after deepstrike and obviously overrides the codex ruling.


You can't prove anything without quoting rules, Tenet 1.
I have seen no rules quoted saying so and i am only taking Nosferatu's word for it.

Is there a problem if I ask about more detail on it?


Space wolves formation

FALL UPON THE FOE
All units in the formation are allowed to charge on the turn they arrive from Strategic
Reserve
.


BA asset

Blood Angels are renowned for the ferocity of their aerial assaults.
Discard this card at the start of any Imperial turn. Friendly Blood Angels
units that Deep Strike this turn (or disembark from Deep Striking
Transports) may charge this turn.


BLOOD FROM THE SKIES

Blood Angels. Strategic Resource .
Discard this card at the start of any Imperial turn. Friendly Blood Angels units that
Deep Strike this turn (or disembark from Deep Striking Transports) may charge this
turn.



Ork strom boys formation

CORKSCREW DIVE
Any unit of Stormboyz in the Stormer Elite may charge on the turn it enters play. If a
unit opts to do so, remove D3 Stormer Elites from that unit at the beginning of the
Fight sub-phase as crash-landing casualties.


+ Daemonettes formation

GRAND ENTRANCE
The formation must be placed in Strategic Reserve and arrive by Deep Strike. Units in
the formation may charge in the Assault phase of the turn they arrive from Strategic
Reserve
.


+ SM asset from damnos

all sm may charge of the turn they arrive from Reserve

+ Scouts formation

DISRUPTION ATTACKS
Units from this formation may charge on the same turn that they enter play from
Strategic Reserve
.


+ BA vanguards

+ Arkos (Alpha idependent character from IAA2013) fines hour

All warband formation may DP without scater, move, shoot and charge.

I think may be other


Thanks a lot for that!

Much clearer now, but i still think there might be an issue with the Red, because all the Orange parts are very clear. They all say "arrives from reserves" but red says Deep Strike.

I know Deep Striking is almost always entering from reserves, but the same argument from the Wall of Death Thread applies here.
1) You cannot assault when you arrive by Deep Strike.
2) You cannot assault when you arrive from Reserves.

Does "Deep Strike this turn (...) may charge this turn." allow to cover 1. and 2. ?
I suppose that if it does not, you could argue that the Orange parts do not tell you you can "assault after Deep Strike" so would not work either?
And then no one could assault and that would break RAI...

DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage.
Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut



chicagoland

 BlackTalos wrote:
 Darog wrote:
 BlackTalos wrote:
DaPino wrote:
How much can you hold on to an argument that's been proven false?
Just fething admit it, it allows assault after deepstrike and obviously overrides the codex ruling.


You can't prove anything without quoting rules, Tenet 1.
I have seen no rules quoted saying so and i am only taking Nosferatu's word for it.

Is there a problem if I ask about more detail on it?


Space wolves formation

FALL UPON THE FOE
All units in the formation are allowed to charge on the turn they arrive from Strategic
Reserve
.


BA asset

Blood Angels are renowned for the ferocity of their aerial assaults.
Discard this card at the start of any Imperial turn. Friendly Blood Angels
units that Deep Strike this turn (or disembark from Deep Striking
Transports) may charge this turn.


BLOOD FROM THE SKIES

Blood Angels. Strategic Resource .
Discard this card at the start of any Imperial turn. Friendly Blood Angels units that
Deep Strike this turn (or disembark from Deep Striking Transports) may charge this
turn.



Ork strom boys formation

CORKSCREW DIVE
Any unit of Stormboyz in the Stormer Elite may charge on the turn it enters play. If a
unit opts to do so, remove D3 Stormer Elites from that unit at the beginning of the
Fight sub-phase as crash-landing casualties.


+ Daemonettes formation

GRAND ENTRANCE
The formation must be placed in Strategic Reserve and arrive by Deep Strike. Units in
the formation may charge in the Assault phase of the turn they arrive from Strategic
Reserve
.


+ SM asset from damnos

all sm may charge of the turn they arrive from Reserve

+ Scouts formation

DISRUPTION ATTACKS
Units from this formation may charge on the same turn that they enter play from
Strategic Reserve
.


+ BA vanguards

+ Arkos (Alpha idependent character from IAA2013) fines hour

All warband formation may DP without scater, move, shoot and charge.

I think may be other


Thanks a lot for that!

Much clearer now, but i still think there might be an issue with the Red, because all the Orange parts are very clear. They all say "arrives from reserves" but red says Deep Strike.

I know Deep Striking is almost always entering from reserves, but the same argument from the Wall of Death Thread applies here.
1) You cannot assault when you arrive by Deep Strike.
2) You cannot assault when you arrive from Reserves.

Does "Deep Strike this turn (...) may charge this turn." allow to cover 1. and 2. ?
I suppose that if it does not, you could argue that the Orange parts do not tell you you can "assault after Deep Strike" so would not work either?
And then no one could assault and that would break RAI...


This is why I personally believe that when it comes to rules arguments it's 70% gw bad writing. And 30% that guys being that guy.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
http://1d4chan.org/wiki/That_guy

For those that don't know who that guy is.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/10/04 04:39:26


 
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





chaos0xomega wrote:
formations arent just for apocalypse anymore homeboy.

The Apocolypse Formations are.
   
Made in br
Fireknife Shas'el




Lisbon, Portugal

 BlackTalos wrote:
Thanks a lot for that!

Much clearer now, but i still think there might be an issue with the Red, because all the Orange parts are very clear. They all say "arrives from reserves" but red says Deep Strike.

I know Deep Striking is almost always entering from reserves, but the same argument from the Wall of Death Thread applies here.
1) You cannot assault when you arrive by Deep Strike.
2) You cannot assault when you arrive from Reserves.

Does "Deep Strike this turn (...) may charge this turn." allow to cover 1. and 2. ?
I suppose that if it does not, you could argue that the Orange parts do not tell you you can "assault after Deep Strike" so would not work either?
And then no one could assault and that would break RAI...


Dude, seriously. It's a more specific rule allowing you to surpass the general position of the book (can't assault from reservers/deep strike). specific trumps general, and it's quite clear the purpose of those rules in BA codex. Have you seen any BA player being unable to charge with his VVs after deepstriking, as long as they possess jump packs? Not only that, but Descent of Angels make their DS as 1d6 scatter.

Is it necessary to nitpick over the obviously RAI and not so unclear RAW?

AI & BFG: / BMG: Mr. Freeze, Deathstroke / Battletech: SR, OWA / Fallout Factions: BoS / HGB: Caprice / Malifaux: Arcanists, Guild, Outcasts / MCP: Mutants / SAGA: Ordensstaat / SW Legion: CIS / WWX: Union

 Unit1126PLL wrote:
"FW is unbalanced and going to ruin tournaments."
"Name one where it did that."
"IT JUST DOES OKAY!"

 Shadenuat wrote:
Voted Astra Militarum for a chance for them to get nerfed instead of my own army.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: