Switch Theme:

Does psychic shriek need a to-hit roll?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in hu
Dakka Veteran




It's a witchfire, but it doesn't have a weapon profile, so not sure.
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





No one else is either
   
Made in hu
Dakka Veteran




 CrownAxe wrote:
No one else is either


Does GW has some Q&A mail address where they communicate with lesser humans to clear questions like this?
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





They do but they are notorious for either not answering it or answering inconsistently/incorrectly even on obvious issues.

Also this was a problem last edition too and they still haven't answered it.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/10/11 12:26:16


 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Yes it needs to roll to hit.

You must roll an indeterminate number of dice, and as some will point out, successful Hits are only linked to To Wound rolls.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar






It's a witchfire, and witchfires roll to hit. After you hit, then the 3D6 LD test determines the "to wound". At least that's my understanding.


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





as a witchfire power it requires a to hit roll, the number of dice you roll is most likely 1 dice as you are not told to roll more, and if you rolled more than one you would have to resolve the 3d6 ld test for each one which obviously is not what you are told to do.

   
Made in us
Killer Klaivex




Oceanside, CA

blaktoof wrote:
as a witchfire power it requires a to hit roll, the number of dice you roll is most likely 1 dice as you are not told to roll more, and if you rolled more than one you would have to resolve the 3d6 ld test for each one which obviously is not what you are told to do.

While I think this might be how it's 'supposed' to work, the lack of a weapon profile means you don't know if you roll 1 die to hit. What's worse, even if you miss, the Ld test still goes off RAW, because to hit rolls only tie to the To Wound Rolls unless told otherwise.
Since it doesn't have a strength value or AP value (or a '-' for AP), applying shooting rules to the power requires the invention or rules that don't exist.
Failing to invent rules makes you largely bypass the intent of the witchfire rules.

In a nutshell, you're going to have to figure out how your meta/tournament is playing it.

-Matt

 thedarkavenger wrote:

So. I got a game with this list in. First game in at least 3-4 months.
 
   
Made in ca
Fresh-Faced New User




From the witchfire powers description:

"witchfire power must roll To Hit, unless it is has the Blast special rule, in which case it scatters as described in the Blast special rule, or it is a Template weapon"
   
Made in us
Killer Klaivex




Oceanside, CA

Asphyx wrote:
From the witchfire powers description:
"witchfire power must roll To Hit, unless it is has the Blast special rule, in which case it scatters as described in the Blast special rule, or it is a Template weapon"

Right. But working through the shooting sequence and the psychic power. Nothing ties the 3D6 LD test to the to hit roll.
It lacks the rule stating, "On a successful hit, the target takes and Ld test on 3D6 and...."

I'm not saying I play it that way, only showing how it's written.

 thedarkavenger wrote:

So. I got a game with this list in. First game in at least 3-4 months.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





West Chester, PA

Asphyx wrote:
From the witchfire powers description:

"witchfire power must roll To Hit, unless it is has the Blast special rule, in which case it scatters as described in the Blast special rule, or it is a Template weapon"


Yes, you need to roll to hit.

"Bringer of death, speak your name, For you are my life, and the foe's death." - Litany of the Lasgun

2500 points
1500 points
1250 points
1000 points 
   
Made in us
Freaky Flayed One





I think it's pretty safe to assume that it's easy to understand. In order for a witchfire ability to do anything, you must role to hit against the unit. If you do not hit, ie roll a 1 using your BS, the witchfire does not manifest. Otherwise how would any weapon work. Telsa Arc doesn't magically bounce to another unit if you do not hit the unit in the first place.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




It need s to hit roll, of an unspecified number of dice. As there is no to-wound roll, Whether you successfully hit with your indeterminate number of dice is irrelevant as you MUST resolve the power still.
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





I think it's pretty safe to assume that it's easy to understand. In order for a witchfire ability to do anything, you must role to hit against the unit.


The rules disagree with this statement. Psychic Shriek is a witchfire that works like a focussed witchfire in which you roll an undetermined number of dice to hit, then ignore those dice (or roll to wound with an undetermined strength) then you apply the effect. If you get 0 hits, 1 hit or 1000 hits the effect is the same. Thus the only way to resolve it is to ignore the roll to hit. Just as you would ignore the unresolvable -1 T from say Enfeeble cast on a Vehicle...

Why people feel the need to invent a number of dice to roll to hit for such witchfires and then try to make that roll relevant. Yet they don't invent a T value for vehicles or try to make that unresolvable action relevant like changing it to "obviously mean -1AV on vehicles because..." I just don't get the inconsistency in the thought process.

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in us
Freaky Flayed One





Why would you roll to hit with more than one dice for a psychic ability that effects the unit as a whole?

Ontop of that: It's blantantly obvious that -1 T would have no effect on a vehicle, if it was a walker with Strength (which I think Enfeeble also reduces) it would lose strength but not lose toughness as that isn't a characteristic it has. So I don't follow your skewed point of view on that part.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/10/11 22:07:23


 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Whacked wrote:
Why would you roll to hit with more than one dice for a psychic ability that effects the unit as a whole?

Ontop of that: It's blantantly obvious that -1 T would have no effect on a vehicle, if it was a walker with Strength (which I think Enfeeble also reduces) it would lose strength but not lose toughness as that isn't a characteristic it has. So I don't follow your skewed point of view on that part.


Why would you roll only one die for a psychic ability that effects the unit as a whole?

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Whacked wrote:
Why would you roll to hit with more than one dice for a psychic ability that effects the unit as a whole?

Ontop of that: It's blantantly obvious that -1 T would have no effect on a vehicle, if it was a walker with Strength (which I think Enfeeble also reduces) it would lose strength but not lose toughness as that isn't a characteristic it has. So I don't follow your skewed point of view on that part.

Sorry, please read the tenets. "It's blatantly obvious" isn't a rule
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





Whacked wrote:
Why would you roll to hit with more than one dice for a psychic ability that effects the unit as a whole?

Ontop of that: It's blantantly obvious that -1 T would have no effect on a vehicle, if it was a walker with Strength (which I think Enfeeble also reduces) it would lose strength but not lose toughness as that isn't a characteristic it has. So I don't follow your skewed point of view on that part.


They are the sane situation we are given an instruction me must follow (roll to hit, apply -1 T modifier) but lack the profile required to resolve it (weapon profile telling us how many shots to fire, toughness value to modify). Why would you treat one situation differently to the other?

The point is that we all ignore unresolvable actions all the time without thinking about it (for instance Psychic Shrieking a vehicle which has no wounds value to apply wounds to). This is the only way to keep the game flowing or it breaks at nearly every turn. Yet for Witchfires when we see the exact same situation a load of people assume the way to proceed is to make up rules and then tie those rules to effects. It is absolutely like either making up a T value for a Vehicle and modifying that or changing it to apply to AV instead. So again why would you approach the situations differently?

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in ca
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard






Vancouver, BC

I roll (one dice) to hit when I use it, simply because it 's the way that benefits me the least of the two options. (Roll to hit or not roll to hit, that is)

Tigurius really likes to miss with that power, and it makes me sad.

 warboss wrote:
Is there a permanent stickied thread for Chaos players to complain every time someone/anyone gets models or rules besides them? If not, there should be.
 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

So, as pointed out, this is a known hole in the rules as they currently stand.

Yes, you need to roll to hit. There are no rules telling us how many dice to roll, but there is also no consequence of an unsuccessful roll, so it doesn't really matter how many dice you roll.

Until GW FAQ it (which at this point isn't looking likely to be any time soon) I would recommend either discussing it with your opponent before the game, or just ignoring it entirely.


Locking this one down before it turns into another 10 pages of people arguing over how many dice you need to roll for a pointless to hit roll.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/10/12 06:45:19


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: