| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/17 08:40:31
Subject: Gate of Infinity and Mishaps
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
This came up in a game I played. Draigo casts Gate of Infinity and the unit mishaps into another unit and goes back into Ongoing reserves. On their next turn, do they deepstrike in or do they just walk onto the table from their board edge? Please cite where in the rulebook that it says this (if any), as I have not been able to definitively find it. Thanks.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/17 08:46:49
Subject: Gate of Infinity and Mishaps
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
There was a FAQ I believe that meant they DS in, but that was technically a ruleschange, as when they go into Ongoing Resever they do not have access to the DS rule anylonger, and must therefore follow the normal rules for Reserves arriving, which is board edge.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/17 15:23:22
Subject: Gate of Infinity and Mishaps
|
 |
Shunting Grey Knight Interceptor
|
Seems like they should walk on from your board edge, even though it sounds kinda dumb fluff-wise. But that's how I used to play it when my Warpheads would mishap in the previous codex (I know, I know, but I was the only guy with Warpheads in that edition).
Anyway, I'm sure the old Ork psykic power was worded differently than GoI, but I think a similar Ongoing Reserves rule would be in effect here much like nosferatu said.
Then again, Orks generally do not have the deepstriking abilities of TDA, so I imagine someone might make that argument. Still, I would have you walk on next turn. You should still be able to Gate that same turn anyway.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/10/17 15:23:54
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/17 15:28:52
Subject: Gate of Infinity and Mishaps
|
 |
Never Forget Isstvan!
|
They go into ongoing reserves and may arrive automatically the following turn in the same manor that they were going to arrive (by deep strike scatter).
Ongoing reserve rules themselves state that the unit returns to the field moving at the same speed (or type of movement) that it was going at the time it was removed from the board (either by flying off, or mishapping).
|
JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/17 15:45:33
Subject: Re:Gate of Infinity and Mishaps
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
It is an oversight with ongoing reserves, but from ongoing reserves you enter through the reserve rules. It brings up some weird cases where a drop pod that mishaps has to come in from the table edge. No matter what you do here is a house rule, option 1 you enter in the same manner that you exited in, or option 2, entering ongoing reserves is equivalent to entering reserves and you must declare how you will enter from reserves (outflank/deepstrike/normal).
I personally lean option 2 as there is more rules justification for it, Ongoing Reserves states, "Ongoing reserves always re-enter play at the start of their controlling player's following turn, but otherwise follow the normal rules for Reserves" so when you enter ongoing reserves, you can declare to use deep strike, or declare not to, as you are being placed into reserves.
it also can be fluffy with a FMC flying higher to deepstrike further into the field, or a unit of terminators arrives only a few hundred meters behind the battle line and instead of risking more teleportation (or possibly not having enough energy to perform another teleport) decides to run to the battle line.
Eihnlazer wrote:They go into ongoing reserves and may arrive automatically the following turn in the same manor that they were going to arrive (by deep strike scatter).
Ongoing reserve rules themselves state that the unit returns to the field moving at the same speed (or type of movement) that it was going at the time it was removed from the board (either by flying off, or mishapping).
This is only stated on the Leaving Combat Airspace rule found under FMC and Fliers.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/10/17 15:46:40
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/17 17:15:53
Subject: Gate of Infinity and Mishaps
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Minneapolis, MN
|
We basically only have this line to go off of:
Units in Ongoing Reserve always re-enter play at the start of their controlling player’s following turn, but otherwise follow the normal rules for Reserves.
I think this pretty clearly means that instead of entering this turn, they enter the next by the method that they would normally enter. The confusion with GoI seems to be that, since they never enter Deep Strike Reserve, it means that they would have to walk onto the board. However, I don't think they have any permission to enter using normal Reserves (and importantly, Reserves ≠ Ongoing Reserves). RAW, it is ambiguous... but walking onto the board from Reserves is totally not supported by the rules.
The game breaks, so you err on the side of what makes sense - in this case, that they arrive from Ongoing Reserves using Deep Strike.
|
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2014/10/17 17:17:20
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/17 17:28:08
Subject: Gate of Infinity and Mishaps
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
They walk on to the board, unless they all have the Deep Strike rule, in which case they can proceed to Deep Strike.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/18 00:35:03
Subject: Gate of Infinity and Mishaps
|
 |
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps
Phoenix, AZ, USA
|
GoI requires the unit to be removed from the board, and immediately returned using the Deep Strike rules. Deep Strike requires units to be in Deep Strike Reserve before attempting to deploy during the game. This means that a GoI unit does briefly go into Deep Strike Reserves before returning to the board. As such, a mishapped GoI unit that is placed into Onging Reserves will remain in Deep Strike Reserves ... because the unit never left Deep Strike Reserves.
SJ
|
“For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world.”
- Ephesians 6:12
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/18 03:41:22
Subject: Gate of Infinity and Mishaps
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
jeffersonian000 wrote:GoI requires the unit to be removed from the board, and immediately returned using the Deep Strike rules. Deep Strike requires units to be in Deep Strike Reserve before attempting to deploy during the game. This means that a GoI unit does briefly go into Deep Strike Reserves before returning to the board. As such, a mishapped GoI unit that is placed into Onging Reserves will remain in Deep Strike Reserves ... because the unit never left Deep Strike Reserves.
SJ
Ahh, but in order to be in Deep Strike Reserves, you must start the game is Reserves and declare the unit is deep striking.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/18 05:22:13
Subject: Gate of Infinity and Mishaps
|
 |
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps
Phoenix, AZ, USA
|
Happyjew wrote: jeffersonian000 wrote:GoI requires the unit to be removed from the board, and immediately returned using the Deep Strike rules. Deep Strike requires units to be in Deep Strike Reserve before attempting to deploy during the game. This means that a GoI unit does briefly go into Deep Strike Reserves before returning to the board. As such, a mishapped GoI unit that is placed into Onging Reserves will remain in Deep Strike Reserves ... because the unit never left Deep Strike Reserves.
SJ
Ahh, but in order to be in Deep Strike Reserves, you must start the game is Reserves and declare the unit is deep striking.
Reserves and Deep Strike Reserves are not the same thing, despite GW's inability to use different words for different terms. To Deep Strike, a unit needs to be in Deep Strike Reserves; however, there are a number of ways to Deep Strike without first starting in Reserves, such as GoI. A GoI unit starts on the table, but goes into Deep Strike Reserves when removed from the table in order for them to arrive by Deep Strike on the same turn. Remember that Deep Striking involves placing one model as a marker, rolling scatter, then placing the rest of the models in the unit around the first model. Where are those models while the first is being placed and scattered? They are off the table, in Deep Strike Reserves per the Deep Strike USR. If those models are not able to complete their Deep Strike, yet are not removed from play nor placed by your opponent? Why, they stay were they are already at, in Deep Strike Reserves.
SJ
|
“For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world.”
- Ephesians 6:12
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/18 08:40:26
Subject: Gate of Infinity and Mishaps
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
GoI does not work if you don't start the game in reserves, as has been demonstrated in a thread about Skyleap.
To Deep Strike, a unit must have the Deep Strike rule, therefore you cannot just say "Deep Strike Reserves" and get away with it.
The override from GoI only works on the turn the spell is cast, and then it's gone and you walk from your board edge.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/10/18 08:41:22
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/18 14:42:24
Subject: Gate of Infinity and Mishaps
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Minneapolis, MN
|
morgoth wrote:GoI does not work if you don't start the game in reserves, as has been demonstrated in a thread about Skyleap.
The Skyleap thread did not reach as definitive of a conclusion as you're suggesting.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/19 14:34:06
Subject: Gate of Infinity and Mishaps
|
 |
Screaming Shining Spear
|
I think if they mishap, they have to walk on UNLESS they all the models in the unit have the DS rule.
Its really not that big of a deal anyway as you could just walk on and GoI again in the next phase.
|
4000 points: Craftworld Mymeara |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|